Dublin v Meath

Is it only in meath that people can have outlandish statement said that is said in total jest to get a reaction from others?
I mean have people lost all their humour?. I will be honest I expected this from kildare but not the dubs. Where's the you can stick your royal county etc gone?

Sounds like your big Dublin-Meath love-in is not going to way you planned? Either that or maybe you're just not funny. My opinion, there are exceptions but generally repeating the same thing over and over again is not great craic.

doublehop (Kildare) - Posts: 4172 - 19/07/2012 13:57:13    1222518

royaldunne are u mad? we dont have better forwards than Dublin. This is a fact. whos better than the brogans, conelly ( i know hes suspended) or brian cullen? weve good forwards thats for sure but as a unit Dublin are better. Ive been reading your posts over the last week or two.i think your putting yourself in for a huge fall come sunday evening....

edd (Meath) - Posts: 48 - 19/07/2012 14:00:19    1222526

You could be right edd. Or then like after kildare game. I could be only one to call it exactly. Time will tell. But until then isn't great fun lol

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 19/07/2012 14:57:50    1222619

People who are suggesting Graham Reilly is a great footballer need to relax. The term great is used far too loosely, I wouldnt describe Bernard Brogan as great never mind Graham Reilly. Fantastic player he may well be, But nowhere near the great category. Greats are players like Trevor Giles, Maurice Fitzgerald, Paddy Christie etc. Graham , While exceptionally talented and a very nice lad aswell , has a serious amount of improving to do.

As for best forwards in the country , Look , Does it matter all that much. Dublin in Alan Brogan, Bernard Brogan, Paul Flynn, Kev Mc , Bryan Cullen and Diarmo Connolly have some of the better forward thinking players in IReland , But as you saw against Wexford this year , Donegal last year , Meath in 2010 ... it dpesnt matter. For every good forward there is a defender there to stop him. Some times the defender is good enough , sometimes he isnt. collectively though if a defence plays well , more times than not the opposition forwards supply and time on the ball is stifled and the space is closed down meaning these good forwards are not completely ineffective but not as potent.. Meath have some very good forward players like Reilly, Peader Byrne , Ward, Sheridan, Bray, Farrell etc .. but if the Dublin defence do their job, then they wont be made look as good as they are, And the end of the day whoever does that defensive job better , will most likely win the game.

So meath have 6 very good forwards , some would say the best in the country , thats fine thats an opinion , but what have they got to show for that since 2005 for instance ? one leinster title, two possibly on sunday and no all irelands ? At the end of the day thats not a great return

waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13654 - 19/07/2012 15:09:23    1222631

waynoI

1222631 People who are suggesting Graham Reilly is a great footballer need to relax. The term great is used far too loosely, I wouldnt describe Bernard Brogan as great never mind Graham Reilly. Fantastic player he may well be, But nowhere near the great category. Greats are players like Trevor Giles, Maurice Fitzgerald, Paddy Christie etc. Graham , While exceptionally talented and a very nice lad aswell , has a serious amount of improving to do.

Haha jaysus wayno1 of all the dub greats you could've went for you chose Paddy Christie and made a complete contradiction of your point. Fantastic player he may have been, But nowhere near the great category

Breffni40 (Cavan) - Posts: 12332 - 19/07/2012 15:23:22    1222641

Dublin to beat Meath by at least 10 points.

Meath are not good at all. They deservedly beat us, but that was the worst Kildare have played in 2 or 3 years. Antrim would of beaten us on that day aswell for god sake!

suncroft_abu (Kildare) - Posts: 298 - 19/07/2012 15:23:28    1222642

Bernard Brogan is a great.

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 19/07/2012 15:26:33    1222645

Only a forward on an all ireland winning team is in contention for player of the year more or less. That doesn't mean they are the best forward in the country. Look at the likes of Paul Barden, L Glynn, Jamie Clarke, Emlyn Mulligan, Ian Ryan. They could be better than a lot of forwards that have won player of the year eg. Brogans, it just depends on whether their TEAM is around in September. Whatever team wins the All Ireland yes they have to have good forwards, but they mightn't be the best in the country. I can guarantee you if Kevin Reilly has fully recovered from injury and is in flying form on Sunday, Bernard Brogan will not look like a player of the year.

ClassApart (Meath) - Posts: 1200 - 19/07/2012 15:28:30    1222650

Waynol I love your posts but your one just there is just stating the obvious.

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 19/07/2012 15:30:05    1222651

suncroft_abu

1222642 Dublin to beat Meath by at least 10 points.

Meath are not good at all. They deservedly beat us, but that was the worst Kildare have played in 2 or 3 years. Antrim would of beaten us on that day aswell for god sake!

Spoken by a man who survives on a diet of Lemons and Grapes.

Jinxie (Meath) - Posts: 6347 - 19/07/2012 15:32:56    1222659

Class Apart : Only a forward on an all ireland winning team is in contention for player of the year

I didnt realise we won 2 all irelands in a row.......u know...the year Bernard won it, and the Alan won it....we musta been champions by your rationale....correct?

Wayno....Bernard not a great....Giles a great........would you go on outa that!!!!

Liamwalkinstown (Dublin) - Posts: 8166 - 19/07/2012 15:35:23    1222665

Bernard Brogan is the greatest player to play in the full forward line for Dublin in the last 40 years.

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 19/07/2012 15:40:54    1222672

19/07/2012 15:09:23
waynoI

People who are suggesting Graham Reilly is a great footballer need to relax. The term great is used far too loosely, I wouldnt describe Bernard Brogan as great never mind Graham Reilly. Fantastic player he may well be, But nowhere near the great category. Greats are players like Trevor Giles, Maurice Fitzgerald, Paddy Christie etc. Graham , While exceptionally talented and a very nice lad aswell , has a serious amount of improving to do.

As for best forwards in the country , Look , Does it matter all that much. Dublin in Alan Brogan, Bernard Brogan, Paul Flynn, Kev Mc , Bryan Cullen and Diarmo Connolly have some of the better forward thinking players in IReland , But as you saw against Wexford this year , Donegal last year , Meath in 2010 ... it dpesnt matter. For every good forward there is a defender there to stop him. Some times the defender is good enough , sometimes he isnt. collectively though if a defence plays well , more times than not the opposition forwards supply and time on the ball is stifled and the space is closed down meaning these good forwards are not completely ineffective but not as potent.. Meath have some very good forward players like Reilly, Peader Byrne , Ward, Sheridan, Bray, Farrell etc .. but if the Dublin defence do their job, then they wont be made look as good as they are, And the end of the day whoever does that defensive job better , will most likely win the game.

So meath have 6 very good forwards , some would say the best in the country , thats fine thats an opinion , but what have they got to show for that since 2005 for instance ? one leinster title, two possibly on sunday and no all irelands ? At the end of the day thats not a great return

Bernard not great..? are ya startin? Hang your head in shame! :)

bluedubstar (Dublin) - Posts: 835 - 19/07/2012 15:43:55    1222678

Great Dublin players...as in true GREATS.........of recent times

Bernard Brogan, Alan Brogan, Stephen Cluxton

And by the time he is finished Rory O'Carroll will be on that list, nothing surer.
Wayne, sorry man I know you think I am always picking on you, I'm not ok, but for you to say Trevor Giles is a great or Paddy Christie is a great and Bernard Brogan or Stephen Cluxton arent.... utter horse manure.
And c'mere you admit yourself you werent even into GAA when Giles was finishing up his career so no way u saw him in his prime in the 90's/early 00's....so what are you basing your argument on? Are you one of these lads who will tell you Di Stefano was a better footballer than Ronaldo, even tho you never saw Di Dtefano play?

Look Wayne, as I said, I am NOT out to get you.....you think I am, you often said it, well I'm not.....but I just thought that post was pretty poor and disrespectful to be honest.

Liamwalkinstown (Dublin) - Posts: 8166 - 19/07/2012 15:44:48    1222681

1222672 Bernard Brogan is the greatest player to play in the full forward line for Dublin in the last 40 years.

+1 to that.

Liamwalkinstown (Dublin) - Posts: 8166 - 19/07/2012 15:45:31    1222683

Look Wayne, as I said, I am NOT out to get you.....you think I am, you often said it, well I'm not.....but I just thought that post was pretty poor and disrespectful to be honest.

Disrespectful to who ?

Get a grip Liam!! Get the chip of your shoulder.

waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13654 - 19/07/2012 16:09:12    1222713

Liamwalkinstown - You forgot to quote the more or less part. Bernard won it in 2010, you reached the AI semi-final!

ClassApart (Meath) - Posts: 1200 - 19/07/2012 16:18:48    1222738

Justify your last post so Wayne
Instead of giving me grief for having a chip on my shoulder about you (lord save us like!).......justify your post earlier

Liamwalkinstown (Dublin) - Posts: 8166 - 19/07/2012 16:22:03    1222745

waynoI

Thats him told! If not for your input and level head poor Graham might not even be in the starting 15!

Beautiful.Meath (Meath) - Posts: 537 - 19/07/2012 16:23:15    1222746

suncroft_abu

Theres always an excuse, ya can't go round saying, this team will beat us today and we'll beat them tomorrow.( We're not good at all sure thats why we're in leinster final, but it's not against Kildare,O YEH we bet them. So if we're not good, then i wonder what they are hmm..?)

ClassApart (Meath) - Posts: 1200 - 19/07/2012 16:39:29    1222772