Dublin v Meath

Liam ill pose the same question to you on monday. Believe me we have the better forward unit. As you will see first hand on sunday. Ward won't score much as he is outfield. But watch the work rate of them, it really is simple if we break even at midfield we will win, we have the better scoring forwards. Now all this is presuming none get injured etc. But if they get the ball we will win.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 19/07/2012 09:44:08    1222200

MeathAllTheWay,

I wasn't comparing them directly as in the match ups have all the same attributes or style, I just put them opposite each other in the postions they are lining up & said who I would prefer. This wasn't possible with Bray because it doesn't look like he will start!

I know plenty about Bray and have seen plenty of the meath players trust me! I was needling RD a bit about Bray but only because he makes such outlandish statements all day long! I would pick Bray any day of the week ahead of Ward and have always said on here I can't understand why Meath persist with this enigma! I would also consider playing Queeney ahead of sheridan although you probably won't agree but I have seen enough of him to know he never plays for 70 mins and could be a better impact sub!

I haven't doubted that Meath have young talent in Carroll & Forde but claiming they are top 6 in the country already is naiive I would have thought! Give them a chance to develop to there full potential without that noose....surely such early declarations have done ward, sheridan, farrell & bray no favours as they have all had rocky patches after making a big impact initially!

I don't deny that meath could beat Dublin on Sunday although I am confident of a Dublin win whoever gets the cross the line is going to need a huge team effort!

pigonastick (Dublin) - Posts: 487 - 19/07/2012 09:47:15    1222204

Liam
You seem taken aback with Royaldunne/bobjaffa's comments re best 6 forwards. He has been saying this for months now !! At one point he downgraded to '6 of the best' now he's changed his stance again. His next comments will undoubtedly be that he's 'only winding you up'. But alas he does genuinely believe they have the best six forwards in the country, and more on the bench.

St.Conleth (Kildare) - Posts: 1723 - 19/07/2012 09:48:57    1222205

RD on what planet do MEATH....yes thats what you said haha...........MEATH have better forwards than the team with the last 2 footballers of the year, plus Kevin McManaman, All Star Paul Flynn and All Ireland Winning Captain Bryan Cullen

Now on what delusional planet are Meaths forwards better than that :)

Conleth, I am starting to see what you have been saying all along my friend!!!

Liamwalkinstown (Dublin) - Posts: 8166 - 19/07/2012 09:58:03    1222215

All Stars and player of the years will count for nothing Sunday. Lads, Meath will win, believe.

posh (Meath) - Posts: 633 - 19/07/2012 10:09:59    1222230

royaldunne

And just to clear up in case others might get wrong idea I do believe graham reilly would be in top 6 forwards in country but unfortunately no others from meath I also rate bernard brogan in same.

I think this comment by royaldunne clearly states that meath dont contain the top 6 forwards in the country . My understanding is that he believes when on top form meath forwards could outscore yours easily. Which I do believe. Graham Reilly is one the most consistent forwards I know of. He wasnt on the ball much against kildare as there were 2/3 men on him but still scored 3 fine points. And haha whoever said the only man that would make the dublin team is Joe Sheridan well..You's are in for a huge shock from the rest of our forwards so. . . .(It really shows how little you know)

ClassApart (Meath) - Posts: 1200 - 19/07/2012 11:43:31    1222329

LIAM

Well Kildare will have you believe they have the best forwards around..

If Meath have the balance right there is no doubt that they have forwards with natural ability,none are manufactured,and whereas Kev Mc for the Dubs is a serious threat,he's not the most natural forward on the planet,and often runs with ball while over-carrying,but his power is immense.

ziggy32001 (Meath) - Posts: 8354 - 19/07/2012 11:49:11    1222338

Royladunne

Breaking ball is crucial,yes Dublin have not got a great midfield,but,Cluxton is very intelligent with his kick-outs,and the Dublin half-forwards and half-backs are the best in the country at sweeping up.
Plus we have only one decent midfielder

ziggy32001 (Meath) - Posts: 8354 - 19/07/2012 11:51:00    1222342

Joe always scores a few goals in the championship,and he hasn't yet,sunday could be the game!

ziggy32001 (Meath) - Posts: 8354 - 19/07/2012 11:52:15    1222346

Natural forwards/forwards - who cares once they can get the scores!!!

Jackeen (Dublin) - Posts: 4097 - 19/07/2012 11:56:38    1222352

royaldunne

Bluedubstar. I have to have a bit of humility in some posts. But ask anyone said we have 6 best forwards in jan/feb.
But I don't want to constantly rub it into people so I do try to be humble about our forwards.

Class apart

I think what Royaldunne/bobjaffa means is clearly stated above ...as he has done several times. You have the same dilemma as the rest of us...how can you take him seriously when he constantly contradicts himself ?

St.Conleth (Kildare) - Posts: 1723 - 19/07/2012 11:58:08    1222356

Ok well the kildare lads obviously have no sense of humour,
I also said that 3 of them would ride in as horsemen I am waiting on conleth and co to ask what horses?
Lads if you can't take the **** on forums like these then where can you. My 6 best forwards is clearly a wind up and guess what whoever we meet in next match I will say the same as a means of getting a bit of craic going. But anyone who genuine thinks that I am rating 2 players who have had 2 games as top 6 forwards needs to get out a bit more (oh and I have been critical of one of them 2 during obyrne cup for not seeing players in better position btw.
But jasus lads when you start analysing this that or the other it becomes more mundane than watching paint dry.
I have stated many times that if we use rankings that so many of kildare lads are obsessed with graham reilly would be in the top 6 no doubt.
Is it only in meath that people can have outlandish statement said that is said in total jest to get a reaction from others?
I mean have people lost all their humour?. I will be honest I expected this from kildare but not the dubs. Where's the you can stick your royal county etc gone?

But anyway back to game. Yes classapart your 100% right.

Ziggy yep breaking ball is going to be very important you and I have agreed many times re midfield. This is the key area. We know we will get scores if our forwards get the ball, backs will be tight too so this imo is where game is won or lost, there is undoubtedly a massive amount of pressure on young gillespie, my one wish is that we had orourke to partner him and then I think we could be pretty confident

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 19/07/2012 12:27:08    1222403

Liamwalkinstown

RD on what planet do MEATH....yes thats what you said haha...........MEATH have better forwards than the team with the last 2 footballers of the year, plus Kevin McManaman, All Star Paul Flynn and All Ireland Winning Captain Bryan Cullen

Now on what delusional planet are Meaths forwards better than that :)

Conleth, I am starting to see what you have been saying all along my friend!!!

now in all fairness, that isnt really fair saying that those forwards are better because they have won all irelands and all. meath havnt really been at the top level for awhile where as dublin are ahead of us, the reason why im more optimistic this year anyway is with the young players coming through who have really stepped it up on the big stage in croke park and have giving our forwards more pace which we have been lacking.

but to say one player is better because he had an all ireland isnt right, what about players on the smaller teams who are really good? players like brendan murphy of carlow, john galvin of limerick, even Sean McCormack (longford) who's top scorer at the minute. these players are very good and would get on to alot of teams but with their current team they will probly never win an all ireland or player of the year but it doesnt make them bad players.

And with our forwards who would get on the dublin team, i dont see how only joe would, what about bray who got an all star? cian ward who has been in the top scorers in the country over the last few years? graham reilly who should have got an all star in 2010, only reason he didnt was because of the thing over louth and maybe some people just dont realise that graham reilly started for us in 2010 and was brilliant, then last year he wasnt right, he was injured. now this year hes fine and hes showing again he wasnt just a one year wonder and hopefully he will get an all star this year.

meathalltheway (Meath) - Posts: 789 - 19/07/2012 12:44:12    1222424

Yeh Royaldunne, I was just thinking that it would be great to see Shane O'Rourke out there on Sunday. Could score 3/4 points from midfield with Gillespie, and we could have G Reilly at 12 where he can do serious damage.

Again with regard to our forwards, they are VERY dangerous if they get the ball. Dublin should know that or is 2010 too long ago to remember! We probably have more recognised goalscorers than most teams do.
But obviously if Dublin win more ball in midfield and their forwards get more ball, then they are going to outscore us! So midfield will be key.

ClassApart (Meath) - Posts: 1200 - 19/07/2012 12:50:30    1222438

royaldunne

Yeah I agree Gillespie and O'Rourke would be fine,seriously concerned about Meade,it's ok for fellas to say we have Byrne to come in etc,but,what if the damage is done? Meade and Mc at 6 are our weak links without a doubt..

ziggy32001 (Meath) - Posts: 8354 - 19/07/2012 12:51:30    1222440

Jackeen

Yes you are right and he can create scores too,but just a point I was making..

ziggy32001 (Meath) - Posts: 8354 - 19/07/2012 12:53:13    1222442

St.Conleth

Liam
You seem taken aback with Royaldunne/bobjaffa's comments re best 6 forwards. He has been saying this for months now !! At one point he downgraded to '6 of the best' now he's changed his stance again. His next comments will undoubtedly be that he's 'only winding you up'. But alas he does genuinely believe they have the best six forwards in the country, and more on the bench.

See what I mean ?

St.Conleth (Kildare) - Posts: 1723 - 19/07/2012 12:57:48    1222450

St.Conleth

Sure how could we have the 6 best? 5 at most because Kildare fans are rambling on about TOC being "the best target man in the game".
Ever heard of the Donaghy chap? He can score too. And theres plenty more ahead of him too.

Jinxie (Meath) - Posts: 6347 - 19/07/2012 13:06:07    1222462

Jinxie

St.Conleth

Sure how could we have the 6 best? 5 at most because Kildare fans are rambling on about TOC being "the best target man in the game".
Ever heard of the Donaghy chap? He can score too. And theres plenty more ahead of him too.

What a brilliant counter argument !!!

Don't see what it has to do with Royaldunne and co. saying Meath have the best six forwards in the country though ?

St.Conleth (Kildare) - Posts: 1723 - 19/07/2012 13:20:46    1222477

St.Conleth

1222477 Jinxie

St.Conleth

What a brilliant counter argument !!!

Don't see what it has to do with Royaldunne and co. saying Meath have the best six forwards in the country though ?

It simply highlights that somebodys Maths is wrong. 6 forwards - 1 (best target man) would mean Meath have only the 5 best. Or, Meath have the 6 best(not my words) and TOC "isnt" the best Traget man. The question is, whos wrong? (personally I think both, but for the sake of the arguement)

Jinxie (Meath) - Posts: 6347 - 19/07/2012 13:44:05    1222509