Dublin v Meath

Yes I do....what has he done to be judged as a top 6 forward in the country though? Thats exactly my point!!!

I don't deny he may look promising but he has done nothing yet that would warrant such an outlandish statement!

pigonastick (Dublin) - Posts: 487 - 18/07/2012 20:33:42    1222052

18/07/2012 20:19:22
royaldunne

Re david gallagher LEINSTER winning u 21 captain (put in ll ire as was thinking about his senior all ire medal). Which he won in 99 as sub keeper.
You would have to be totally out of touch , biased or anti meath to say graham reilly has not been player of the year so far.
Our forwards are on a par with dublins at least and I believe are better.
Those are the facts doublehop.

You know something RD your like the town clock a face for every hour. Your statement on Dublins forwards and Meaths forwards I didn't think it was possible to contradict oneself in the same sentence.

As for Graham Reilly been player of the year so far, thats debatable, time will tell...

bluedubstar (Dublin) - Posts: 835 - 18/07/2012 20:41:24    1222058

Ha 10 was a freak....fair play on the day you's anihilated us! But guess what we are in the present, the Dubs ae an organised unit now and I will be extremely surprised if Meath break us down like that again! Reilly won't score 5 points this time out...he will be running into a congested area and will be under extreme pressure all the time...Ill give him 3 points max...don't think he'll even get that!

Bray? how many forwards you want to play? Ok I will sum it up for you....not good enought to make your starting line up never mind the dubs ;)

pigonastick (Dublin) - Posts: 487 - 18/07/2012 20:42:10    1222059

Bluedubstar. I have to have a bit of humility in some posts. But ask anyone said we have 6 best forwards in jan/feb.
But I don't want to constantly rub it into people so I do try to be humble about our forwards.

Lol. Where's clondalkin? Dave, and limo? This is more like it lads.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 18/07/2012 20:51:38    1222068

18/07/2012 20:31:32
royaldunne

Pigonstick you neglected stephen bray all star.
And Graham reilly made mince meat of dublin defence in 10, as a 20 year old. He is miles better than 5 of dublins forwards only one that might come close would be b brogan and as I said he went walkies in 10 as he did last game. And trust me he will be better marked than wexford did.

Dubby don't think our lads need zimmer frame training?

=======================Maybe the Kildare lads had a point in there endless mocking of your posts. For a grown man with children some of the stuff you post is redicously childish. In fact RD can you not debate the game with someone that has a basic understanding of the game?

Take this statement for example

And trust me he will be better marked than wexford did.

Sp Banty and Co have some master plan to mark Benrard out of the game and they have emailed that to you on your smart phone.

I know Graham Reilly is your star player and in fairness is excellent, and you have pride as Meath Man in him, but untill Graham performs at the highest level against the Corks and the Kerrys of this world in AI final, wins an all Star x2, Player of the Year, and AI medal and pile of Leinsters dont be making absolute bullshit remarks like the one I have highlighted. Its just embarrasing.

Admin please let this post go through.

bluedubstar (Dublin) - Posts: 835 - 18/07/2012 20:57:19    1222070

To be honest, none of this comparing fire power makes a world of difference. Its all about producing the goods on the biggest stage. The biggest stage is not Division 2/3 or against Carlow or Wicklow. It looks to me like many Meath posters are hoping some Dublin players have an off day. Maybe they will time will tell, but its a precarious way to go into a game. One thing im confident of is that even if Meath produce their best id still be confident of our defense holding them. I don't think the same can be said for Meath holding Dublin.

A Dublin team on fire is a collective unit. It defends as a unit and attacks as one. If Dublin produce a level of application akin to apres Leinster last year i think we will come home nicely. However, if Dublin want another All Ireland this year, we need Meath to hit us with everything they have. I think people are under the impression we're vary of a tough game. We need one!

seany16 (Dublin) - Posts: 1663 - 18/07/2012 21:00:04    1222079

Jaysus I was wondering when this thread was going to kick into life. It had a week headstart on the Meath - Kildare game and is still behind in the number of posts coming up to the game.
It seems to be following the same pattern now. RD claiming this, that and th'other while opposition fans mock him and seem certain that they will beat Meath. Here's hoping it sticks to the same pattern after the game too.

Ratoath Royal (Meath) - Posts: 1383 - 18/07/2012 21:15:58    1222096

Pigonastick- How can you come up with this post?? Different forwards play different roles etc, You cant go comparing players who wear the same number on their back..whatever about comparing players who mark each other. Also I think it's a bit far-fetched giving a big account of our players and slating some of them.(most of whom you've probably only seen play once.) Also you can't go forcasting and handing out what players are going to score...they set up one today that they could score tomorrow...

With regards to Graham Reilly.. All I have to say is that the fact that people are making such a big deal about him is that they are SCARED
of what he will do and rightly so!!!

ClassApart (Meath) - Posts: 1200 - 18/07/2012 21:20:20    1222107

I agree Seaney I just wanted to highlight that whe you compare apples with apples that they are not the superior forward unit they think they were!

If Dublin bring the intensity to the game that they are capable of for close to 70 mins we will win at a canter....if not we could let Meath grow into it and they could pip us...but all in all I would be confident

pigonastick (Dublin) - Posts: 487 - 18/07/2012 21:23:48    1222111

18/07/2012 21:15:58
Ratoath Royal

Jaysus I was wondering when this thread was going to kick into life. It had a week headstart on the Meath - Kildare game and is still behind in the number of posts coming up to the game.
It seems to be following the same pattern now. RD claiming this, that and th'other while opposition fans mock him and seem certain that they will beat Meath. Here's hoping it sticks to the same pattern after the game too.

There are many a Dublin fan throwing caution to the wind against Meath, I for one will treat them with respect. But RD is just coming out with some absolute rubbish remarks about Dublin footballers. To use a poxy phrase 'Play the ball not the man' RD needs to do the opposite if some of the Dublin posters are getting on his wick.

bluedubstar (Dublin) - Posts: 835 - 18/07/2012 21:24:42    1222112

I think its quite straightforward regarding the Meath v Dublin forward units. If Meath allow the Dublin forwards the sort of space down the wings that Louth did it's curtains for them. I think Meath will close them down sufficiently to keep them going for long rangers. Meath are strongest through the middle and if they are more versatile then they will have most scoring chances. I am putting a few bob on a draw before the weekend. Does anyone know the odds?

ged (Louth) - Posts: 313 - 18/07/2012 21:28:29    1222120

18/07/2012 21:20:20
ClassApart

Pigonastick- How can you come up with this post?? Different forwards play different roles etc, You cant go comparing players who wear the same number on their back..whatever about comparing players who mark each other. Also I think it's a bit far-fetched giving a big account of our players and slating some of them.(most of whom you've probably only seen play once.) Also you can't go forcasting and handing out what players are going to score...they set up one today that they could score tomorrow...

With regards to Graham Reilly.. All I have to say is that the fact that people are making such a big deal about him is that they are SCARED
of what he will do and rightly so!!!

Your stating the obivous! We know what he is capable of we have seen what he is capable and I know Gilroy does as well which is why he/we will tailor our tactics to contain him. If thats not showing respect well then lay me up. So tell us something we dont knwo? ;)

bluedubstar (Dublin) - Posts: 835 - 18/07/2012 21:29:23    1222122

pigonastick

I agree Seaney I just wanted to highlight that whe you compare apples with apples that they are not the superior forward unit they think they were!

Our footballers are no apples lol..And we'll think what we want because we know our players well and know that they are well capable of bettering your forwards.

ClassApart (Meath) - Posts: 1200 - 18/07/2012 21:39:56    1222135

bluedubstar

Your stating the obivous! We know what he is capable of we have seen what he is capable and I know Gilroy does as well which is why he/we will tailor our tactics to contain him. If thats not showing respect well then lay me up. So tell us something we dont knwo? ;)

Thats your problem yas think yas know everything..well if you's keep concentrating on Biggy and circle your game around him that will work well.. all yas have to do is ask kildare about that ;)

ClassApart (Meath) - Posts: 1200 - 18/07/2012 21:48:45    1222148

Well bluedubstar someone got out of bed on wrong side.
If you seen a couple of pages back in response to clondalkindub saying this thread was getting boring a few of us myself included up the tempo. In relation to having the craic, liamo, clondalkin, dubbydave all responded in kind and actually not one of them got on my wick. I was having a mighty laugh at the banter, now how can any of us be blamed if certain posters cannot decipher what is clearly meant as banter and as serious. ??
I will stand over what I said re grahm reilly I would not swap him for bernard brogan. Imo he is a better player.
But you seem to judge players on accolades they have received, ? The fact is brendan murphy would walk onto either team on sunday, he will never have a leinster medal and never be player of the year, and sad to say may not get a all star, yet he is miles better than either fennell or meade. There is countless other ones I could use too. For instance there will be 2 men trevor giles and graham geraghty on sideline on sunday who have 2 all ire medals poty titles all stars and countless leinsters, while both were excellent you cannot say that brogan is beneath them just cause he has less accolades am I right? Same as you cannot say reilly is beneath brogan cause he has less.
Also while bernard brogan is a fantastic player, he did not perform in 10 that's a fact, reilly did,
And I don't think banty is going to say lads don't mark brogan tightly let him have free space either keoghan or menton will be stuck to him like glue. and I'm sure biggy will get similar treatment.
So sorry if I got your gander up, the are my thoughts on it. And I am sure many dubs on hear will well know I tend to use this forum for both the serious thoughts on the game and the light hearted banter
And just to clear up in case others might get wrong idea I do believe graham reilly would be in top 6 forwards in country but unfortunately no others from meath I also rate bernard brogan in same.
So I guess that's me told lads. Sorry liam dubbydave and co.
No more taking the #*#* from me. Only serious analysing from now on.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 18/07/2012 21:50:22    1222149

18/07/2012 21:48:45
ClassApart

bluedubstar

Thats your problem yas think yas know everything..well if you's keep concentrating on Biggy and circle your game around him that will work well.. all yas have to do is ask kildare about that ;)

Was that when Kildare had 15 men or when they had 14?

bluedubstar (Dublin) - Posts: 835 - 18/07/2012 21:53:31    1222151

pigonastick

Ha 10 was a freak....fair play on the day you's anihilated us! But guess what we are in the present, the Dubs ae an organised unit now and I will be extremely surprised if Meath break us down like that again! Reilly won't score 5 points this time out...he will be running into a congested area and will be under extreme pressure all the time...Ill give him 3 points max...don't think he'll even get that!

Bray? how many forwards you want to play? Ok I will sum it up for you....not good enought to make your starting line up never mind the dubs ;)

you cant compare forwards just because they wear the same number? look at cian ward, hes been playing out the field but he has 15 on his back you cant compare him to a forward whos just sitting infront of goal all game waiting to score. and you must not know much about stephen bray if you simply think hes not good enough to get on to our team, he would walk onto most teams, the reason we most likely wont have him starting is because he has been injured and thats how our young players got a chance but if he doesnt start then he will come on as a sub and you will know him then because he could have a big impact in the game, also with the other forwards you'l have to see them on sunday too because they are much better than you have described.

meathalltheway (Meath) - Posts: 789 - 18/07/2012 22:01:14    1222164

My point is kildare focused so much on Graham Reilly that they knew nothing about our younger players who effectively ran the show. All im saying is were not totally dependant on Reilly so don't be fooled!!

ClassApart (Meath) - Posts: 1200 - 18/07/2012 22:01:50    1222165

RD you are absolutely delusional
genuinely, you are. Its actually hilarious reading your posts
Of all the Meath forwards, the only one who would get in the Dublin team, is Joe.
Not one of the rest of them would. Reilly would bench and the rest wouldnt be within in asses roar of our team
You would really want to come in out of the fog my friend.
Its only Meath fans who rate ye're forwards, NO ONE else does :)

Liamwalkinstown (Dublin) - Posts: 8166 - 19/07/2012 08:49:44    1222180

Lads, its difficult to compare any players especially when they haven't played each other for two years, many didn't play at all in 2010. Performances depend a lot on the opposition and the tactics used by the managers on both sides. You can compare players after the game when the two teams have actually played against each other. And by the way, Meath are far from a one man show. Any one of those players can shine on any given day. So don't expect one or two individuals to dominate Meath's performance.

MarkMyWords (Meath) - Posts: 522 - 19/07/2012 09:42:40    1222199