Dublin v Meath

yeah thats the thing with dublin, they do have good forwards but yous are always hoping that bernard has a brilliant game or connolly but he wont be there so the pressure is on brenard and alan now. brenard brogan is no doubt one of the best forwards and probly better than any individual forward we have because ours can be more inconsistent but you have to admit as a whole, the forwards we have are better.for a team to have bray, cian ward, joe, farrell, paddy gilsenan, alan forde, damion carroll, queeny and then peadar who has been a brilliant impact sub this year. to have that many talented forwards on the panel is very good and it makes for a very strong bench.
Bernard probly will have a big game in him but its not like some of our forwards dont have a point to prove either, joe can still play better than he has been, cian ward has a big point to prove hes been the doing the work out the field but if he does start i wouldnt be surprised to see him come up with afew scores and get abit closer to goals, aswel with bray if he doesnt get to to start he'll be wanting to make a big impact when he comes on. and dont forget either that bray and cian were the forwards who scored the most against dublin in 2010 and they both played very well that day.

meathalltheway (Meath) - Posts: 789 - 18/07/2012 17:28:20    1221826

Hahaha your forwards are not better. What are you Meath boys on seriously?

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 18/07/2012 18:01:32    1221861

If Dublin focuses so much on stopping Graham Reilly, it will backfire on them. Theres no doubt he is one of our best players, but it's not a one man show. We have PLENTY of other players who can have huge games too. Kildare got a fair shock when our young lads stood up the last day.

ClassApart (Meath) - Posts: 1200 - 18/07/2012 18:05:52    1221868

I think everyone needs to remember that the two Brogans won player of the year for the last two years. Flynn and Cullen aren't playing cameo roles but they are brilliantly effective at the roles they fill. McMenamon is almost unmarkable when he gets a run at you. Connolly is missing but the likes of O'Gara and Quinn have achieved a lot more in the game and are far more proven against top sides than any Meath forward. Even Barry Cahill is an former Leinster Under-21 winning captain and former All-Star. Add in young Kilkenny to the mix and it's a very strong mix. Can Meath really compete with that?

doublehop (Kildare) - Posts: 4172 - 18/07/2012 18:06:55    1221869

well thats what i think anyway, we'll have to wait and see on sunday

meathalltheway (Meath) - Posts: 789 - 18/07/2012 18:07:13    1221870

Liamwalkinstown

Nally Tce is still Hill 16
The Old Hill 16 is now divided into the Dinneen Hill and the Nally Hill
A decent portion of the Nally Hill was part of the Real Hill up to 10 yeats ago
back in the 90's there used to be a crowd of headbangers at the top left of the hill as you looked at it on tele, thats now classed as "Nally" ...well it is in its ring...its as much a part of Hill 16 as it ever was

its a seperate entrance and section and the point i was making is that they dont sell nally terrace tickets unless all hill16 tickets are sold out this is the first game this year that this section will be open

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 18/07/2012 18:16:43    1221878

yeah they do have good forwards but i just think that we have better especially with the ones who can come off the bench and make an impact, look thats just my opinion, in saying that i still wouldnt be overly surprised if some of forwards didnt play as well as they usually do on sunday because they can have off days like that but i hope they have a good day and if they do i think we'll win. and with our forwards i just think we have a variation who can have a really big day and win the game nearly just by their performance alone and i think thats a good thing to have. like anyone of our forwards could have a really good day against dublin where they score alot and cause dublin trouble but most dublin people are just looking for the brogan brothers to have a good day. i think that shows the difference.

meathalltheway (Meath) - Posts: 789 - 18/07/2012 18:22:57    1221886

Doublehop
Ok let's look at this.
Goalie gallagher former all ire u21 winning captain and has a senior all medal too.
Back line tobin, young agile and will hit you on the break
K reilly, one of the best full backs in the game
Menton, cleaned out o'connor last day, the county has been waiting for him to explode on inter county scene, he has arrived and will only get better
Keoghan, another one of those we have been waiting on for a few years, want reference ask j doyle
Mcarney, captain and has filled the role with exception
Burke, he is a very strong man and has pace and speed in bucketfulls
Gillespie, motm v kildare , has speed to go with his ball winning and will defend as if life depended on it
Meade was weakest player v kildare so will need to step up, fantastic v carlow. Off day gone now
Forde, would put usain bolt under pressure to out sprint him
G reilly, player of THIS year so far by a country mile, best player in country and irreplaceable, guaranteed 3/ 4 points from play, magnificent is too small a word.
Carroll, mini giles, his vision is outstanding will get by you like a greasy eel, good eye for scores
Farrell, outstanding sets up scores , takes his own scores, and great from frees
Joe aka god, always can nip in with a goal or three, organises the young lads, leader supreme and will score from distances and angles no other man would even try
Ward, has been deployed further outfield and is doing fine job and can always pop up with scores including goals,

Subs. All star bray one of the best forwards in the game, what a sub !! Best sub on any team by a long shot
Byrne 2 games 3 goals, need I say more?
Harrington, if anything not clicking in backs he is in,
Queeney, again 2 touches 2 points,
Add into that b sherridan, lenehane, gilsennan, collins, walsh, etc
I can see nothing only a royal victory.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 18/07/2012 18:45:50    1221913

B Brogan is putting alot of pressure on himself by saying he wants to make up for his performance against Wexford. And what is with his fellow team mates commenting on it?..Fennell: "He is doing the work now and a lot of extra on the side as well and hopefully he'll have a good final." Alan:"he's had that before and he's come out the next day and he's performed"....You rarely see players commenting on each other like this..

ClassApart (Meath) - Posts: 1200 - 18/07/2012 18:47:44    1221916

Facts:

- David Gallagher has never won an All-Ireland Under-21 championship
- Graham Reilly is a great player but in fairness no-one outside of Meath would claim he is the best footballer in the country
- Meath's fowards individual scoring totals over the last number ofseasons would not that be anywhere near as consistently high as a good few other teams and way behind Dublin.

I've no doubt you've every confidence in Meath but they are inconsistent and to win this they'll have to play at a level ye have never reached in the last 5 years.

doublehop (Kildare) - Posts: 4172 - 18/07/2012 19:12:25    1221952

Our team will do their talking on the pitch if they are good enough and IF our forwards click they will be on fire.

ClassApart (Meath) - Posts: 1200 - 18/07/2012 19:23:24    1221959

ClassApart

Our team will do their talking on the pitch if they are good enough and IF our forwards click they will be on fire.

As will ours!!

Jackeen (Dublin) - Posts: 4097 - 18/07/2012 19:43:54    1221981

doublehop
- Meath's fowards individual scoring totals over the last number ofseasons would not that be anywhere near as consistently high as a good few other teams and way behind Dublin.

Really??? last year cian ward was 6th top scorer with the only dublin player infront of him being bernard brogan, he finished on a score of (24) Bernard brogan was 3rd with (29), to me now thats pretty good considering meath only got to the 3rd round of the qualifiers and for Cian to only be 5 points behind Bernard brogan who played more games and who won an all Ireland last year.

In 2009 cian was third top scorer with only michael murphy and colm cooper ahead of him. and so far this year brian farrell is 4th top scorer with only sean mccormac (longford) ian ryan (limerick) and aidrian marren (sligo) ahead of him. i dont see any dublin player ahead there and also graham reilly is 7th top scorer and he is also top scorer from play. the only dublin player that is in the top scorers in bernard brogan and hes 10th.

meathalltheway (Meath) - Posts: 789 - 18/07/2012 19:46:06    1221985

Reilly - Playing good against the minnows lets see how he goes running at the dublin defence! I have seen him run into trouble against tougher opponents and kick hopelessly at the posts...I rate him as a good forward Will give him 2 points on sunday! Opposite number Cullen will cover more ground putin the hard work and guarantee you a point....Call it even

Carroll - has played 2 championship matches and played well granted.....1 of the best 6 in the country....laughable even by your standards RD...Opposite number Alan Brogan Current player of the year.....hmmm advantage Dublin!

Forde...What has he done to be rated as a top 6 forward? Opposite number flynn...streets ahead...every bit as pacy, great fielder, strength, work rate, pitches in with goals and points...oh and proven performer and all-star...Advantage Dublin

Ward - Inconsistent, slow, and fails to deliver, great finisher if given the park....Opposite number Bernard Brogan Undoubtedly 1 of the top forwards in the game...Advantage Dublin

Joe - Dangerous player based on physicality and natural ability, Slow, Will score 2 points & maybe a goal in most games, disappears for long periods, frustrating & wasteful in posession at times...Opposite number MDMA...Oh another all-star Probably dublins most consistent performer....Advantage Dublin

Farrell - Good player will chip in a few scores from play and hit the frees well....Opposite number Kev Mc...Well I hope a few more meath men put him down here cos it done him no harm the last day ;) Lets be favourable towards Meath and call this a draw

2 draws 4 advantages for Dublin....Are forwards are streets ahead!!!

pigonastick (Dublin) - Posts: 487 - 18/07/2012 19:51:51    1221995

royaldunne

1221528 Liam I admire your optimism too. But like I said before, al brogan too old for a young meath team, b brogan will once again go walkies against meath and he did it last match too. Your best forward is suspended and apart from young kilkenny your bench is very weak in the forward department. We will have on bench byrne 3 goals this season, queeney 2 touches 2 points last day, and more than likely the outstanding bray,
you used analogy of skimmed milk well continuing with the dairy theme. You will be CREAMED. But laois won't be too difficult for you so you will reach qf anyway.

A.BROGAN is going to give a training session to the young meath lads on sunday......

dubbydave. (Dublin) - Posts: 3927 - 18/07/2012 20:14:54    1222029

Re david gallagher LEINSTER winning u 21 captain (put in ll ire as was thinking about his senior all ire medal). Which he won in 99 as sub keeper.
You would have to be totally out of touch , biased or anti meath to say graham reilly has not been player of the year so far.
Our forwards are on a par with dublins at least and I believe are better.
Those are the facts doublehop.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 18/07/2012 20:19:22    1222037

pigonastick - Do you realise Alan Forde is only 19?

ClassApart (Meath) - Posts: 1200 - 18/07/2012 20:21:39    1222039

pigonastick

1221995 Reilly - Playing good against the minnows lets see how he goes running at the dublin defence! I have seen him run into trouble against tougher opponents and kick hopelessly at the posts...I rate him as a good forward Will give him 2 points on sunday! Opposite number Cullen will cover more ground putin the hard work and guarantee you a point....Call it even

Carroll - has played 2 championship matches and played well granted.....1 of the best 6 in the country....laughable even by your standards RD...Opposite number Alan Brogan Current player of the year.....hmmm advantage Dublin!

Forde...What has he done to be rated as a top 6 forward? Opposite number flynn...streets ahead...every bit as pacy, great fielder, strength, work rate, pitches in with goals and points...oh and proven performer and all-star...Advantage Dublin

Ward - Inconsistent, slow, and fails to deliver, great finisher if given the park....Opposite number Bernard Brogan Undoubtedly 1 of the top forwards in the game...Advantage Dublin

Joe - Dangerous player based on physicality and natural ability, Slow, Will score 2 points & maybe a goal in most games, disappears for long periods, frustrating & wasteful in posession at times...Opposite number MDMA...Oh another all-star Probably dublins most consistent performer....Advantage Dublin

Farrell - Good player will chip in a few scores from play and hit the frees well....Opposite number Kev Mc...Well I hope a few more meath men put him down here cos it done him no harm the last day ;) Lets be favourable towards Meath and call this a draw

2 draws 4 advantages for Dublin....Are forwards are streets ahead!!!

great post mate.....

dubbydave. (Dublin) - Posts: 3927 - 18/07/2012 20:26:31    1222043

ClassApart

1221959 Our team will do their talking on the pitch if they are good enough and IF our forwards click they will be on fire.

Dont worry the dubs will soon put that fire out :-)

DUB1 (Dublin) - Posts: 5583 - 18/07/2012 20:27:58    1222045

Pigonstick you neglected stephen bray all star.
And Graham reilly made mince meat of dublin defence in 10, as a 20 year old. He is miles better than 5 of dublins forwards only one that might come close would be b brogan and as I said he went walkies in 10 as he did last game. And trust me he will be better marked than wexford did.

Dubby don't think our lads need zimmer frame training?

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 18/07/2012 20:31:32    1222047