kildarecat22 County: Kildare Posts: 31
1208676 foxyrrr it turned into a farce mainly because the GAA is full of farcical rules, the gaa not only needs to become more centralised but the archaic rule book needs a thorough overhaul to bring the organisation into the 21st century and rid it of the dinosaur mentality that still has it routes in 1884.
As for the Kildare Cavan game?, after all the media frensy and the bad karma from rival supporters it would be better if Seanie doesn't set foot on the Kildare bus, it will be a major distraction for not only the Kildare players but the Cavan players too and not fair on the player himself, I bet when he elected to try and play for Kildare he never thought it would turn into a circus and he'd be the circuses star clown.
Shouldn't be an issue as he can wander down to Breffni from home at 2.55
Breffni40 (Cavan) - Posts: 12400 - 03/07/2012 17:01:38
It was the GAA rules i was referring to, on looking at my post i can see that I didn't really make that clear, & yes the media have a major input into the saga. I totally agree that the rulebook needs refreshing, because as it seems even some referees are struggling to keep up... With regards to Walshes transfer, while i partially agree with your point theres a bit of difference between transferring 25kms up the road as opposed to 125kms up the road, I do take your point too. I still believe that the transfer came from the fall out with the cavan manager Val Andrews & not the so called new home...
Foxyrrr (Wicklow) - Posts: 5 - 03/07/2012 17:31:24
I must have heard a different interview !!
Andrews and thew County Board played their part in the whole sorry affair and could have done plenty to fix the problems too !! Our CB seems to be full of Trappist Monks who have taken a vow of silence. As I said before, Seanie is not innocent but neither are they. A mediator should have been used to sort out the whole mess with all sides taking a step back before it even became public !!
Cavan_Slasher (Cavan) - Posts: 10253 - 03/07/2012 17:43:08
Cavan slasher listening to Andrews on radio on Sunday we admitted that Seanie was dropped for non footballing reasons. That being the case he was never going to play while Andrews was in charge.
richiej (UK) - Posts: 1430 - 03/07/2012 17:53:57
kildarecat22 County: Kildare Posts: 32
The GAA is not full of farcical rules, it is full of farcical people who will bend, twist, tell untruths, make up stories and do anything at all to win at no matter what age or level and screw the rules that attempt to make and protect the games. This affair has just exposed those in Kildare who are like that, the VAST majority are not like that. You are a fan of Kildare so its understandable you will dismiss things you don't like because they show your county in very poor light. The rest of us can see this, it is unfair that Kildare as a whole has been tarnished by this, but it was meath a few years ago over that goal, Louth over their reaction etc etc. But as long as SJ is involved with Kildare his presence will be be an affront to a lot of fair minded GAA fans. Some of these fans don't like Kildare - they are just using this to beat them with, but a lot are just upset that it sets a precident and bigger counties can know freely cherry pick talent of the smaller counties - it is a free-for-all. Its not the GAA rules and regulations at fault these rules are there to supposedly protect and make the games fair - in this case it has been quite shocking the public way this has been carried out. Now surely even for a die-fan like yourself the ridiculous embarressing sight of him togging out in a hurling match must have left you feeling even a little bit uneasy. I feel sorry for the lad I really do, life will never ever be the same for him again. But remember other individuals invloved in this can just walk away - he can't. More thought should/could have been put into place to make this a straight forward process, but it was done without any due regard for anyone or anything. Transfers if contentious always cause trouble, in this case there was NONE and yet ask yourself how in the name of god has it ended up like this.
arock (Dublin) - Posts: 4954 - 04/07/2012 09:13:11
Does the rule not state residing in a county or county of birth of either parent? Seanie paperwork showed he was living in kildare, from tenancy aggreement , to wage slips, to bank statements. Now whether he was or wasnt he produced paperwork that he was. His teaching job with summers free make things easier to see the thing through. The new rule that congress brought in was exposed through the hurling loophole last Saturday..No rule was broken just exposed.
Now thats all that has been done here , farcical out of date, not thought through, rushed in, rules being exposed...
richiej (UK) - Posts: 1430 - 04/07/2012 09:54:18
arock County: Dublin Posts: 822
1209058 kildarecat22 County: Kildare Posts: 32
The GAA is not full of farcical rules, it is full of farcical people who will bend, twist, tell untruths, make up stories and do anything at all to win at no matter what age or level and screw the rules that attempt to make and protect the games. This affair has just exposed those in Kildare who are like that, the VAST majority are not like that. You are a fan of Kildare so its understandable you will dismiss things you don't like because they show your county in very poor light. The rest of us can see this, it is unfair that Kildare as a whole has been tarnished by this, but it was meath a few years ago over that goal, Louth over their reaction etc etc. But as long as SJ is involved with Kildare his presence will be be an affront to a lot of fair minded GAA fans. Some of these fans don't like Kildare - they are just using this to beat them with, but a lot are just upset that it sets a precident and bigger counties can know freely cherry pick talent of the smaller counties - it is a free-for-all. Its not the GAA rules and regulations at fault these rules are there to supposedly protect and make the games fair - in this case it has been quite shocking the public way this has been carried out. Now surely even for a die-fan like yourself the ridiculous embarressing sight of him togging out in a hurling match must have left you feeling even a little bit uneasy. I feel sorry for the lad I really do, life will never ever be the same for him again. But remember other individuals invloved in this can just walk away - he can't. More thought should/could have been put into place to make this a straight forward process, but it was done without any due regard for anyone or anything. Transfers if contentious always cause trouble, in this case there was NONE and yet ask yourself how in the name of god has it ended up like this.
arock
This is the best post I've read here on this whole debacle. Fair play to you !
St.Conleth (Kildare) - Posts: 1728 - 04/07/2012 10:00:49
http://www.balls.ie/2012/07/04/who-needs-seanie-johnston/
We've signed a replacement for Seanie anyway, hopefully get his registration in for Sunday week.
Breffni40 (Cavan) - Posts: 12400 - 04/07/2012 12:34:43
good to see duffer is a fan of the Ramones too.. great taste.. he will be a great man to spring from the bench. is he eligible for Sunday against Kildare.
s goldrick (Cavan) - Posts: 5522 - 04/07/2012 12:55:07
This was posted as a new thread but because the subject matter already exists it has been incorporated here.
Eastmeath Posts: 29 Derry
04/07/2012 15:48
Cavan v Kildare- So overhyped
This 'eagerly anticipated' match must be one of the most hyped up matches of all time,over one player who wasn't going to play for Cavan anyway and may not even feature in this game! Personally I believe this game has no greater significance as any other qualifier happening that weekend and with it being on Sunday, will be overshadowed by the Connaght final and Munster hurling final. It reminds me of a game last year ironically in Breffini Park between Louth and Meath which ultimately was an easy win for Meath and didn't live long in the memory. Cavan secretary Liam Mc Cabe believes that only 8,000 will turn up for the game, not a sell out thats being claimed, and he is correct,it will be nowhere near full, people aren't going to a match just to see what a single player does, they go to watch the game, which has no need to be any more badly tempered than any other game. So this talk of extra security and sell outs needs to be relaxed a little, the football element has all ready been forgotten...
Administrator (None) - Posts: 2275 - 04/07/2012 15:54:29
Don't know what all the fuss is about here? Kildare will win this easily.
suncroft_abu (Kildare) - Posts: 298 - 04/07/2012 16:31:44
GPA want to give Seanie a break as per main page. I hope they send him abroad because if he gets a week in Kerry or somewhere he might want to transfer there.
xxx (Mayo) - Posts: 1275 - 04/07/2012 17:02:35
I heard kildare won't play seanie because they are worried he doesn't have the balls to step out on the pitch. They are worried he would bottle it if the whole cavan support jeer him the whole match. They are probably right so why bother with the transfer at all.
fredflint (Cavan) - Posts: 1485 - 04/07/2012 20:17:58
Kildare vs Cavan I heard kildare won't play seanie because they are worried he doesn't have the balls to step out on the pitch. They are worried he would bottle it if the whole cavan support jeer him the whole match. They are probably right so why bother with the transfer at all. fredflint , 04/07/2012 at 20:17
Someone's winding you up again !! Why would he worry as he is a very good footballer? He transferred because he was no longer part of the Cavan set-up and was told so. Did you expect him to sit at home or give up altogether?
Cavan_Slasher (Cavan) - Posts: 10253 - 04/07/2012 20:45:34
Cavan folk haven't been this excited since electricity reached them! Just shows how far down they are in terms of football when they only get excited when an ex player of theirs could line out against them. Grow up will ye!
suncroft_abu (Kildare) - Posts: 298 - 04/07/2012 21:19:03
Best of luck Seanie. Show Cavan what they are missing.
KingOfJacks (Kildare) - Posts: 361 - 04/07/2012 21:34:42
Well said Cavan_Slasher. Seanie Johnston wasn't wanted by Val Andrews. So if he does play in Breffni Park, I doubt he'll be lacking in motivation. It's funny how many of those most critical of Johnston and Kildare on here, have no problem with outsiders playing for their own counties.
Ailteoir (Galway) - Posts: 913 - 04/07/2012 21:47:20
Ahh suncroft delighted to see you, I was getting worried that you weren't on since sunday, I recall you making similar predictions for our match and how we had a cheek to even think we could beat kildare and the best one how not one player from meath would get on kildare team. Hahahahaha. Kingofjacks I'm sure you will start a thread about the best team loosing if cavan win so it won't matter to you either way. Cavan supporters, said it all along kildare are all hype and no substance, it has been proven year in year out. Top 4 team my eye, lucky if they in top 10. No surprise if cavan wins with a few to spare yous have the better forwards. And there best forward kildare have is a cavan man.
royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 05/07/2012 09:43:42
royaldunne County: Meath Posts: 1648
1209917 Ahh suncroft delighted to see you, I was getting worried that you weren't on since sunday, I recall you making similar predictions for our match and how we had a cheek to even think we could beat kildare and the best one how not one player from meath would get on kildare team. Hahahahaha. Kingofjacks I'm sure you will start a thread about the best team loosing if cavan win so it won't matter to you either way. Cavan supporters, said it all along kildare are all hype and no substance, it has been proven year in year out. Top 4 team my eye, lucky if they in top 10. No surprise if cavan wins with a few to spare yous have the better forwards. And there best forward kildare have is a cavan man.
Royaldunne/bobjaffa
We'll have to turn you down on your offer to support Kildare. We'd have to run a bus to get you, bobjaffa, jimmy creamcracker, mary marshmallow and any other characters you might conjure up. Hope to see yous all real soon.
St.Conleth (Kildare) - Posts: 1728 - 05/07/2012 09:56:21
suncroft,
you are from Kildare and may speak for your county however I dont think you can reflect the feeling of people from Cavan you dont understand them, Cavan people get excited all the time about football, we won two Ulster u21s and a minor recently and got excited about that, we are getting excited about what our you team will achieve over the next 4 or 5 years
so if you want to argue the pros and cons of football OK
by the way we all need to be careful in terms of judging a young man who made a decision and be proportionate and reasoned
ochonlir (Cavan) - Posts: 4343 - 05/07/2012 10:45:11