Kildare vs Cavan

Talking to a few supporters and friends and funny how many were saying they wouldn't feel comfortable going up to the game against Cavan. Not from a crowd trouble perspective or anything but just that if the squad and supporters are getting stick from the home crowd how do they act when they agree with the sentiment that the whole thing is wrong. If he comes on would you feel right cheering him when he's playing against the clubmates and neighbours he turned his back on for a county he has no real link to? I obviously hope Kildare win but I really resent the fact that Kildare supporters have been put in this position by the misguided county officials and supporters groups who thought they were helping Kildare by facilitating this transfer.

doublehop (Kildare) - Posts: 4172 - 03/07/2012 09:58:02    1208030

Thats their choice not to go. I'll be in Breffni Park have no doubt. Understandably the Cavan fans will be throwing digs and thats why the team needs as many as possible to get there. We cant give up on them now.

sedico (Kildare) - Posts: 1682 - 03/07/2012 10:13:44    1208049

I still can help but think this draw was a fix . Was it fixed to deter other transfer wannabes that this is what could happen if you transfer to a county that you have no allegiance to.. (play your home county in their backyard as your baptism of fire!!) it's just all too much of a coincidence..

richiej (UK) - Posts: 1430 - 03/07/2012 11:03:57    1208106

Seanie Johnston is an ambitious but confused young man,he is also multi talented. The villains in this whole affair are the Kildare GAA board and officials,they worked their way around the GAA rules,against the whole spirit of everything the GAA is built on.We have small resources in terms of players in Cavan,Longford,Leitrim,Fermanagh and Monaghan. Yet a weak kildare GAA ,with more money than GAA backbone spend foolishly and try to convince us you can play with anyone you want. Ill be in Breifne and Ill show respect for Seanie Johnston,a decent confused lad,but ill show contempt for a weak back boneless Kildare GAA .I hope Cavan win,but either way,our pride will be intact and we will walk away knowing our values and pride in GAA and pride in our clubs and county.Shame on kildare GAA and all their officials,at least cavan GAA officers are men of some principle and some understanding of the GAA. I was never more angry about anything in my life and finally,thank you Banty,you did us all proud.Lily white might be the colour but not the spirit. GAA values will win out,up Cavan.

gaelsarebest (Cavan) - Posts: 39 - 03/07/2012 11:35:33    1208151

gaelsarebest
Very well put. Values,principles are always to be respected.

Real Kerry Fan (None) - Posts: 2957 - 03/07/2012 11:42:03    1208158

If the Cavan players can't get themselves fired up for this game they NEVER will. [/b

ClassApart (Meath) - Posts: 1200 - 03/07/2012 12:03:42    1208179

Some of you have very short memories if you are blowing on about the ethos of the GAA. Would you consider diving to get a player sent off to be against the ethos of the GAA? Would you consider burying a red card for an intercounty player during a club game against the ethos of the GAA? Would you consider writing on these boards in anything other than our native language against the ethos of the GAA. I'm sure most of you don't even know what the ethos of the GAA says. Like puppets you just follow what the media say.

This is obviously going to turn into another anti-Kildare thread of which there are numerous on HS already. Last year it was so called whinging we were doing about the refs and it'll be something else next year. Believe me our skins have become hardened over the last few years to take notice of what a few keyboard warriors say.

sedico (Kildare) - Posts: 1682 - 03/07/2012 12:10:49    1208189

It is somewhat ironic that over the next 10 days or so Seanie Johnston will be the Kildare player that all his team mates will turn to for advice on how to win their next match, it won't be men like Dermot Early and John Doyle that have given around 15 years service to their county but a player who became eligable last Saturday.
Seanie will be asked by all Kildare players about all the Cavan players and he will tell whether they go right/left etc.
He will be the most talked to player in the Kildare dressingroom.

Breffnisbest (Cavan) - Posts: 474 - 03/07/2012 12:15:23    1208201

Fair play gaelsarebest, but do you not think the Cavan county board could have stopped this transfer at any time? Also I think you're painiting SJ in a bit of a overly naive light there. He's a lovely wee innocent fella who just fell in with the wrong crowd, is it? Hardly.. Kildare have made serious lapses in judgement throughout this thing for sure but the Cavan CB didn't even object to the transfer and like it or not Seanie has been the main driver behind it. Hate us all you want, I probably would if I was in your position but I'd take off the rose-tinted glasses when looking a bit closer to home too.

doublehop (Kildare) - Posts: 4172 - 03/07/2012 12:16:12    1208206

sedico get a grip. the whole gaa is against you now. i've never seen michael collins as bad to meaths opposition as he is to meath before sunday. i've never seen wexford fans support meath like they were their own. i've never seen any dub cheer meath on until sunday. the seanie thing is wrong and you are looking at it from a biased kildare point of view. he only left cavan to play with kildare not for work or family reasons and that's why it's wrong. there will be a tense atmosphere in breffni park sat or sun week.

good post doublehop btw.

BettystownRoyal (Meath) - Posts: 3353 - 03/07/2012 12:19:38    1208208

This was posted as a new thread but as the subject matter is the same it has been incorporated here.

sixtiesman
Meath
03/07/2012
12:11

david givney cavan

any news on david givneys injury-looked bad enough at the time.

Administrator (None) - Posts: 2275 - 03/07/2012 12:19:46    1208209

sedico

1208189 Some of you have very short memories if you are blowing on about the ethos of the GAA. Would you consider diving to get a player sent off to be against the ethos of the GAA? Would you consider burying a red card for an intercounty player during a club game against the ethos of the GAA? Would you consider writing on these boards in anything other than our native language against the ethos of the GAA. I'm sure most of you don't even know what the ethos of the GAA says. Like puppets you just follow what the media say.

This is obviously going to turn into another anti-Kildare thread of which there are numerous on HS already. Last year it was so called whinging we were doing about the refs and it'll be something else next year. Believe me our skins have become hardened over the last few years to take notice of what a few keyboard warriors say.

You obviously don't have a thick skin hence the above whinging post. Sounds like a guilty conscience to me.

Breffni40 (Cavan) - Posts: 12400 - 03/07/2012 12:29:27    1208228

Ill be up in cavan on the 14th to cheer on the our lads with pride!!
COME ON THE LILLYWHITES!!!
There will be a good number of lillywhites there doublehop dont you worry your little head about that kildare fans will always support the team am I going to let a few cavan people put me off supporting them no way in hell and I doubt very much it will put kildare fans off.
Without the saga on the sideline kildare are a better outfit than cavan I feel cavan will put it up to kildare alright with the under 21's and hyland a new manager but kildare have a point to prove sunday was an off day and we can get a run in the qualifiers. We havent lost a qualifier yet under mc geeney and I think that will continue!
Will be there in brefini in the white with pride UP THE LILLYWHITES!

lilywhitemagic (Kildare) - Posts: 1693 - 03/07/2012 12:33:16    1208238

I've great time for Seanie but I feel he was badly advised from the word go. The biggest losers here are Cavan Gaels, who he has been with since childhood. Initially Seanie wanted an intercounty transfer without changing clubs. It was then the cccc smelt a rat. A transfer of convenience.. Which it is. But previous to that Andrews dropped him and told him he wouldn't be using him this year. Seanie was probably thinking Andrews is here for the long haul so there might be no way back.. It was actually a friend of Seanies who happens to be a family friend of McGeenys who alerted KMCG to the goings on in Cavan.. Thats how it all started. Seanie was badly advised from then on in.. Was too deep into the transfer when hyland took charge to back out even though hyland or forde didn't go out of their way to invite him back in, other than to say they would look at his club performances if he returns to local club football..

richiej (UK) - Posts: 1430 - 03/07/2012 12:34:38    1208243

Would be interesting if he did play .. But i think this statement is the most realistic possibility so far

"Seanie wont get any game time & Kildare will regroup & win comfortably.
The hype around this game will have dies down well before half-time"

waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13654 - 03/07/2012 12:41:28    1208254

did anyone hear Val andrews on that radio programme on Sunday evening. I think its called take you point.. it was quite interesting.He was probed time and again by the interviewer about why he dropped Seanie and what took place but he refused to discuss an amateur player's misgivings on national media and said as much. it was interesting as much for what he didn't say as did say if you know what I mean. but Val has alot of dignity. but clearly there was an issue not related to football which was hinted at but not spoken about.

s goldrick (Cavan) - Posts: 5522 - 03/07/2012 12:46:30    1208270

BettystownRoyal

1208208 sedico get a grip. the whole gaa is against you now. i've never seen michael collins as bad to meaths opposition as he is to meath before sunday. i've never seen wexford fans support meath like they were their own. i've never seen any dub cheer meath on until sunday. the seanie thing is wrong and you are looking at it from a biased kildare point of view. he only left cavan to play with kildare not for work or family reasons and that's why it's wrong. there will be a tense atmosphere in breffni park sat or sun week

Thats a Pat Spillane-esque viewpoint on things. I've let my feelings on the Seanie transfer be known for a long time. But how many times must a person say it until all the detractors get it into your heads - this is not the first time this has happened. I'm genuinelt at a loss to know where you all were when Larry Tompkins transferred, when Thomas Walsh transferred and when Billy Sheehan transferred. Where was your so called ethos then? You're either loyal to the ethos of the GAA or you're not so which is it? And don't start blowing on about how these transfers are different because you know well they are not. If you're such a GAA man why don't you put a motion to your county convention to stop this sort of thing when these transfers happened. I have my own theories on the reasons for the over the top reactions to something that prevalent in the GAA but I'll keep that to myself.

I'm sure you're well aware that people cheered against Meath last year did they not? Joe Sheridan was booed by opposition fans after that game. Meath GAA were considered GAA's devils for not offering a replay. Now the circled has turned and people are cheering on Meath. People have short memories.

I've also stated many times that I'm not overly bothered about who likes Kildare GAA and will continue to do so.

sedico (Kildare) - Posts: 1682 - 03/07/2012 12:48:51    1208274

some how you just sound bothered

the lady dost protest too much

ochonlir (Cavan) - Posts: 4343 - 03/07/2012 13:10:58    1208305

Breffni39

1208228 sedico

1208189 Some of you have very short memories if you are blowing on about the ethos of the GAA. Would you consider diving to get a player sent off to be against the ethos of the GAA? Would you consider burying a red card for an intercounty player during a club game against the ethos of the GAA? Would you consider writing on these boards in anything other than our native language against the ethos of the GAA. I'm sure most of you don't even know what the ethos of the GAA says. Like puppets you just follow what the media say.

You obviously don't have a thick skin hence the above whinging post. Sounds like a guilty conscience to me.

As a matter of interest why do you consider my post to be a whinge? Looks like no matter what I write its going to be picked up the wrong way.

sedico (Kildare) - Posts: 1682 - 03/07/2012 13:11:07    1208306

Come on Cavan there 31 counties roaring for ye

ballybannongael (Down) - Posts: 547 - 03/07/2012 13:32:32    1208349