Kildare vs Cavan

Since Kildare are a top 4 side and all that they should have no problem beating a Division 3 side!!! ;)

Cute_Kerry_Hoor (Kerry) - Posts: 2518 - 02/07/2012 17:24:43    1207592

I can see it now, SJ scoring the winning point and ends up leaving the field minus two shins.

What a laugh.

ahsure. (Galway) - Posts: 1709 - 02/07/2012 17:33:36    1207607

Can't wait for the game hopefully pressure gets to kildare, if mc geeney has signed him up he clearly thinks he needs him and is willing to annoy others from the county so therefore will have to play him! I hope he does! would love to see cavan do them

redhanddefender (Tyrone) - Posts: 913 - 02/07/2012 18:04:07    1207642

Bring on the Lillies!! We will give ye all a great welcome, the most loved football county in Ireland!!!!! Anyway Seanie might even train with us over the next 2 weeks as it would save him the long trip to Cill Dara 3 or 4 times a week. Or maybe Geezer is doing a little detour on the way up to Armagh to drop Seanie off.
Ah dear, all great Kildare men!!

BreffniDub (None) - Posts: 377 - 02/07/2012 18:13:59    1207657

What a potential disaster! A lot of people speculating that SJ won't feature in the game; well hypothetically what would happen if Kildare were to lose? Another year to wait for championship football? And would McGeeney still have a job if they lost? I know SJ is a good lad, if he knew in the beginning it was gonna be this much hassle would he have bothered? Crazy thing is if he had waited in the wings till Vals inevitable departure he'd no doubt be lining out in this game in his blue jersey v Kildare

JamsieMac (Cavan) - Posts: 482 - 02/07/2012 18:14:48    1207659

Jaysus could you imagine if cavan were to win poor seanie would get some agro. Or even if S.J. was to score winning point madness...

DUB1 (Dublin) - Posts: 5583 - 02/07/2012 18:44:26    1207702

Ok I'm not going to go on a anti kildare rant. I've done enough of that, but then we were in same division, and lined up to play in leinster since last october. Let's be honest we all thought that would be outcome
We have won our bragging rights so ill look at this dispassionately. Pros and cons
Pros. Kildare lack a serious forward, meath have shown other counties how to beat kildare. Seannie would counter that. He is a outstanding player. Pro 2 after all the hassle , the fact that so many ducks were lined up to ensure he got transferred, what's the point if he won't even play? When kildare can see they clearly need him?
Cons if he does not play and kildare loose? What happens to mcgeeney and seannie? I think we could hazzard a guess.
2, jesus the guy is only human. Not since joe sherridan got that late goal has one man been so mentioned in national media, he could do without the hassle. Con 3. His family still live in cavan and no matter what every county has idiots this would be unfair on them if he was to play and same goes for his job.
This is something that will have to be given serious consideration before a decision is made one way or other.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 02/07/2012 19:00:54    1207722

Rumour has it Seanie Johnston handed in a transfer request after yesterdays game ha =)

1loyalroyal (Meath) - Posts: 61 - 02/07/2012 19:03:04    1207726

"but i think he should sit this one out and tell mc geeney hes not playing"

bisto I wonder what would happen if SJ was told he was playing by Geezer and he refused. Would he have enough time to transfer to another county for this years championship? This lad could end up being in more counties than the famine.

danpaddyandy (Kildare) - Posts: 260 - 02/07/2012 19:03:22    1207727

Kildare slabber on about how easy it will be to beat Meath!.....KARMA!!

Another word for Karma that I like......'CUMUPPANCE'!!!!

Kildare and McGeeney are just not good enough!!.....4 years on and no silverware but lots more excuses!!!!.....and this was the year they were tipped to beat the Dubs and win Leinster no probs!!!

Dont ever mention kildare to me again!!

Snufalufagus (Dublin) - Posts: 8100 - 02/07/2012 20:08:48    1207789

Good post royaldunne, another thing, if he were to come on as a sub there'll be some boos from sections of the Cavan crowd! I wouldn't like to see that to be honest

JamsieMac (Cavan) - Posts: 482 - 02/07/2012 20:25:52    1207813

Good post royaldunne, another thing, if he were to come on as a sub there'll be some boos from sections of the Cavan crowd! I wouldn't like to see that to be honest

JamsieMac (Cavan) - Posts: 482 - 02/07/2012 20:45:14    1207852

For the sake of football, 31 counties will be shouting for Cavan. I've always admired Kildare and shouted for ye in practically every contest ye have had mainly because of the Dermot Earley connection.

However I think Kildare have become a little too big for their boots. This whole SJ thig should have been put to bed from the start.... by the fans and the county board.

Ye had a fine team capabale of winning SAM as it was. The only mistake ye were making last year was bringing Jonny Doyle out the field taking the main scoring threat away from goals. Hence Kildare did not have a scoring forward line ( belief from media and Kildare fans ) Low and behold SJ comes on the scene to bring ye to the promised land. Whole thing stinks and If i was on the Kildare team I woulodnt want him coming in. Sort yourselves out, drop Sj out of it altogether and start anew.

Kieran McGeeney has also lost a lot of my respect and I idolised him as a footballer.

Ros2013 (Roscommon) - Posts: 540 - 02/07/2012 20:52:00    1207861

Jamsiemac I compleatly understand. I remember colm coyle been booed by 2 idiots beside me when we played monaghan in quali when he was manager. It sickened me

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 02/07/2012 20:58:07    1207870

danpaddyandy

1207727 "but i think he should sit this one out and tell mc geeney hes not playing"

bisto I wonder what would happen if SJ was told he was playing by Geezer and he refused. Would he have enough time to transfer to another county for this years championship? This lad could end up being in more counties than the famine.

fair point but mc geeney even expects him to play hes not on seannies side ,hes still a cavan man works in a school full of teenagers his family lives in cavan,i had no problem with him going when val droped him why should he wait around for the next manager ,i was looking forward to see how he played against meath ,but hes a silly man making loads of bad choices ,when mc geeney goes from kildare where does he go from there ? ive seen it in cavan with nesty smith and rory gallaher gone with the manager that brought them in , to be fair you couldnt care less how unpopular the kildare saga is making him . again sit this one out ,if he comes on the boos will be heared all around the county -his parents will hear them from there house and say " ah sennies on "

bisto kid (Cavan) - Posts: 492 - 02/07/2012 21:16:58    1207882

its a tough call for s.j. he is on the team and should play but to play cavan as another poster said the game will be overshawed if he does come on,if it was me id be thinking strongly about sitting this one out and if kildare get through which i think they will give him a run then...

dubbydave. (Dublin) - Posts: 3927 - 02/07/2012 21:17:48    1207885

I hope and pray for Cavan to do them

LohansRedHelmet (Clare) - Posts: 2697 - 03/07/2012 08:47:15    1207971

Look sj did not demand to be part of div 2 celebrations in croke park , he was asked, or told to be there. While he was still a cavan representative , transfer had not gone through,
That was when it became a bit too much. Sj moved to kildare to transfer , not transfer because he moved. So that is the gaa ethos thing that people go on about.
Do I blame him? Not one bit , he was told you will have a leinster medal, and promised the earth moon and stars. How many would have refused ? Very few. The only thing sj has done wrong is been naïve. There was serious amount of stuff going on to facilitate this move, and it was not been done by seannie. Since this is a cavan thread surely there is people looking at this that may have seannies best interest at heart. Talk to the guy. He needs to be given advice from outside the firm

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 03/07/2012 09:46:57    1208014

Stand up if you hate kildare!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Kildareby10 (Kildare) - Posts: 92 - 03/07/2012 09:51:08    1208017

I think its all about McGeeney not SJ, he'll want to be seen to "making the tough call" its SJ that will have to make the really tough one. A hopeless position for the man to be in.

arock (Dublin) - Posts: 4954 - 03/07/2012 09:57:21    1208029