tipptothetop County: Tipperary Posts: 438
1202007 Hill ye beat Galway under Daly they would in my lifetime nearly always have been rated better than Dublin, that is a big scalp. I get it you don't like Daly but there is no way he has hindered Dublins progress, as you suggest. I was never a fan of Daly but I respect what he has done in hurling both on the pitch and sideline. What if Daly brings Dublin down to Ennis and gets a win, that would be another big win for Dublin. We all have our own ideas about who should be on our team but it doesn't work like that. Where do you think Dublin are rated?
yes i already said the win over galway last year and the win over wexford in his first year were the only two wins against teams rated better then dublin at the time. im not saying he has hindered dublin progress im saying he gets too much praise for not doing anything realy,no beating clare would not be classed as a big win as clare have been operating at a level below dublin over the last 4 or 5 years dublin beat them in qualifier couple years ago already so if we win i wouldnt say we have beaten a team rated better then us it would be a morale boost after the hiding last week but if we loose it will be a massive step backward for a team who made it to an all ireland semi final last year. at the start of the championship i would have had kilkenny out in front with tipp,cork,waterford,dublin and galway in the pack
hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 25/06/2012 18:18:56
Jaysus silly season is upon us...
As far as I know we were lways more than likely be going through the back door
The likelyhood of reaching two Leinster finals on the bounce was always going to be very very hard with the way the draw worked out in 2011
You boys are so over the top.
jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20763 - 25/06/2012 19:30:38
Hill I hope you boys get it sorted anyway, its great to see Dublin hurling coming through but as you said ye need to take a big scalp to be really recognised.
tipptothetop (Tipperary) - Posts: 531 - 25/06/2012 21:09:24
tipptothetop County: Tipperary Posts: 440
1202171 Hill I hope you boys get it sorted anyway, its great to see Dublin hurling coming through but as you said ye need to take a big scalp to be really recognised. ----
They bet Galway. It doesn't get much bigger.
ahsure. (Galway) - Posts: 1713 - 25/06/2012 21:13:18
ahsure that is what I was saying in a previous post but that happened a couple of years ago. What about ye this year surely ye fancy yerselves to give kk a right good cut?
tipptothetop (Tipperary) - Posts: 531 - 25/06/2012 21:35:05
tipptothetop County: Tipperary Posts: 441
1202199 ahsure that is what I was saying in a previous post but that happened a couple of years ago. What about ye this year surely ye fancy yerselves to give kk a right good cut? -----
They bet us in the Leinster semi final just last year.. I do hope we do but in all honesty expectations low in Galway, llower than last year. I don't think we will beat the cats but the aim is to get to the All Ireland Semi.
Lads are training well and mood is good in camp but we have an awful lot of sorting to do, especially in the back line. A lot of new young talented hurlers brought in, but Rome wasn't built in a day.
ahsure. (Galway) - Posts: 1713 - 25/06/2012 21:45:17
Ahsure at least ye are giving the new blood a chance, ye have won so much underage that a good lot of these lads should be well capable of winning an all-ireland. Look at the young hurlers Cork have now and they never really done it underage, so you would imagine that yer boys ye should be capable of producing at senior
tipptothetop (Tipperary) - Posts: 531 - 25/06/2012 21:53:51
This notion of who is & who isn't a scalp is a moot point.
The facts are Daly has led Dublin to beat sides they hadn't beaten in the previous 20 years - Clare, Limerick, Galway, Wexford. Each of those victories deserves a lot of credit for management & players.
The problem is that expectation has rightly risen to a point where Dublin feel they should be champions of Leinster. But to do that you need to beat Kilkenny. Now that is something that only Wexford, Galway, Cork & Tipp have managed in the last 10 years, each county producing a huge performance to win against them. Everyone's goal has to be to beat Kilkenny, unfortunately for Dublin & the other Leinster sides, they have to do it in June/July too.
My verdict on Daly is that he has done a very good job & brought solidity, but if Dublin don't win the Leinster title or All-Ireland title under his tenure, it may be seen as failure.
slayer (Limerick) - Posts: 6483 - 26/06/2012 09:24:18
Does anyone on here think that Dublin's morning training sessions are playing a part in holding them back? I'm sure all of us on here have hurled before or still are playing but I for one know that I would not enjoy playing the sport if it meant getting up at half 5 in the morning to train before work. It's crazy, to me that makes hurling a chore and takes the enjoyment out of it.
I don't think the result is a true reflection of where Dublin are, they were too hyped up and their warm up baffled me. While Kilkenny were doing drills with the ball, Dublin were pulling and dragging out of each other. Game started and the Dublin players couldn't control the ball. On a day like that surely ball work in the warm up is vital.
They will beat Clare and either Wexford or Limerick in the next round I'd imagine to get to the quarter final where I'd say it could go either way then.
Daly has done a good job in my opinion, he's a young manager and needs time to learn. Someone mentioned O' Grady for Dublin, I don't think they could use his handpassing game at the minute. His Cork team were made up of fast skillful players, this Dublin team are built for strenght rather than speed so I don't think it would work. Give Daly a chance to prove his worth.
Faithfull (Offaly) - Posts: 573 - 26/06/2012 09:59:18
slayer County: Limerick Posts: 4271
1202243 This notion of who is & who isn't a scalp is a moot point.
The facts are Daly has led Dublin to beat sides they hadn't beaten in the previous 20 years - Clare, Limerick, Galway, Wexford. Each of those victories deserves a lot of credit for management & players.
The problem is that expectation has rightly risen to a point where Dublin feel they should be champions of Leinster. But to do that you need to beat Kilkenny. Now that is something that only Wexford, Galway, Cork & Tipp have managed in the last 10 years, each county producing a huge performance to win against them. Everyone's goal has to be to beat Kilkenny, unfortunately for Dublin & the other Leinster sides, they have to do it in June/July too.
My verdict on Daly is that he has done a very good job & brought solidity, but if Dublin don't win the Leinster title or All-Ireland title under his tenure, it may be seen as failure.
the clare and limerick teams we beat were nowhere near top sides they both had slipped down the pecking order as i said the galway and wexford wins are the only of note the rest you would have expected to win.we have been knocked out by a limerick side in turmoil,antrim and only a morale boosting performance against tipp last year throw in the heavy defeats by kilkenny and you would have to ask what he has achieved in championship hurling
hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 26/06/2012 10:00:11
Snufalufagus County: Dublin Posts: 4849
1201799 ahsure,
This will be the fifth year that Galway will fail to make an impact in Leinster so!.....Ye were better off staying in Connaught where at least ye won yer Province every year!!
And please dont come out with the old: "Galway just dont really care about winning Leinster" which in real speak means: "We just hope that someone else beats KK so as we dont have to face them and then we will have a better chance and be more confident of winning silverware!"
Remember the old saying: "An all Ireland 'won' without winning yer Province is not an All Ireland 'won' at all!!"
So if Dublin win the hurling All Ireland this year it wont count?
moomoo (Kerry) - Posts: 4023 - 26/06/2012 13:31:10
Have to say i completely agree with Hill16no1man on this one. It seems people are afraid to criticise Daly. I understand since Daly took over we have won a national league title an reached a semi in championship but this is more to do with the players than him. You have to remember this is probably the best set of Dublin hurlers we have had in 50years. He came in at a time where our undergae teams had made a serious breakthrough. (Our underage teams are probably the strongest in leinster now, beating Kilkenny on a regular basis). He inherited a good,skillful team and their hurling has gone backwards. There is absolutely no excuse for that inept performance on Sunday!!! I hate this ''its all the players fault but Daly is still a god'' stuff. He has alot to answer for if you ask me!
ConnollyDub (Dublin) - Posts: 2007 - 26/06/2012 14:15:33
Have to say i completely agree with Hill16no1man on this one. It seems people are afraid to criticise Daly. I understand since Daly took over we have won a national league title an reached a semi in championship but this is more to do with the players than him. You have to remember this is probably the best set of Dublin hurlers we have had in 50years. He came in at a time where our undergae teams had made a serious breakthrough. (Our underage teams are probably the strongest in leinster now, beating Kilkenny on a regular basis). He inherited a good,skillful team and their hurling has gone backwards. There is absolutely no excuse for that inept performance on Sunday!!! I hate this ''its all the players fault but Daly is still a god'' stuff. He has alot to answer for if you ask me!
ConnollyDub (Dublin) - Posts: 2007 - 26/06/2012 14:23:04
I agree with Faithful about the warm up. Whatever about physicality being essential for hurling these days, you don't prepare for hurling by bumping into lads! I also thought they were out too early in the conditions unless it was to get a feel for the sod and get the touch in. Anyway, they just were not at the races and need to pick themselves up if capable before Clare.
Overall, Daly has been positive for the team I think. Although he was coming in at a time when the panel was already by and large there. Dublin had also come close to beating Wexford and Cork before he took over. It may be the case that Dublin are just not good enough to beat the Cats and therefore will not win an All Ireland anytime soon.
Would still be hopeful that we can at least maintain ourselves as competitive at all levels and I think the underage scene augurs well for that. There was a time when minors beating the Cats would be huge. Now. it's almost expected!
hurlingdub (Dublin) - Posts: 6978 - 26/06/2012 14:32:33
He is a big unit is Daly, no wonder you dubs are scared to criticise him.
Nick (Wexford) - Posts: 1100 - 26/06/2012 14:38:32
Faithfull County: Offaly Posts: 218
Re: Morning training this has been much discussed among supporteers, but also all this conditioning rubbish, hurling is not about running through 18" thick walls or taking a hit from a tank. The subtilities of the game are paramount with hair trigger reflex's required first rather than biceps and thighs that look like a cyclist's. I think we've lost our way a bit.
arock (Dublin) - Posts: 4955 - 26/06/2012 15:59:15
hill16no1man
Fair points.
But do you think another manager could lead you to more success & if so whom?
My one criticism of Daly is he seems to have concentrated heavily on the physicality of the players to beat Kilkenny when Cork, Wexford & Tipp have shown work rate & skill can take you to victory over the Cats too.
slayer (Limerick) - Posts: 6483 - 26/06/2012 16:13:08
hurlingdub County: Dublin Posts: 4025
1202623 I agree with Faithful about the warm up. Whatever about physicality being essential for hurling these days, you don't prepare for hurling by bumping into lads! I also thought they were out too early in the conditions unless it was to get a feel for the sod and get the touch in. Anyway, they just were not at the races and need to pick themselves up if capable before Clare.
Overall, Daly has been positive for the team I think. Although he was coming in at a time when the panel was already by and large there. Dublin had also come close to beating Wexford and Cork before he took over. It may be the case that Dublin are just not good enough to beat the Cats and therefore will not win an All Ireland anytime soon.
Would still be hopeful that we can at least maintain ourselves as competitive at all levels and I think the underage scene augurs well for that. There was a time when minors beating the Cats would be huge. Now. it's almost expected!
In fairness Kilkenny in form are likely to beat any team by large scores. Dublin have made huge progress in last few years, looking at last weeks match in isolation is not a fair reflection on this progress. I hope Dublin dust themselves down and reassess their strengths and weaknesses. They've put too much into it to stop now. Maybe everyone expecting too much too soon ?
St.Conleth (Kildare) - Posts: 1730 - 26/06/2012 16:32:20
slayer County: Limerick Posts: 4287
1202787 hill16no1man
Fair points.
But do you think another manager could lead you to more success & if so whom?
My one criticism of Daly is he seems to have concentrated heavily on the physicality of the players to beat Kilkenny when Cork, Wexford & Tipp have shown work rate & skill can take you to victory over the Cats too.
i think daly will be gone at end of season and i would like to see shay boland as the new manager he has been very succesful at underage level for dublin and has already coached most of the current senior panel at minor levels his record at beating kilkenny at them levels surely would put him in line
hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 27/06/2012 09:30:23
i think daly will be gone at end of season and i would like to see shay boland as the new manager
He has a good record, however the fear is that you could have a situation like Galway where Mattie Murphy did & does a lot of work underage but stepping up to Senior level is a different kettle of fish. Same with PadJoe Whelehan who was a great club manager but his tenure in Limerick ended in ultimate failure.
slayer (Limerick) - Posts: 6483 - 27/06/2012 10:41:40