Always dubious of claims where its always told that 'kids' and 'elderly people' were the ones upset at the behaviour of opposition fans at a game....smacks of wanting to make it sound as 'terrible' as possible!!
Heard it all before!!
Snufalufagus (Dublin) - Posts: 8100 - 25/06/2012 13:42:02
Dont mind the KK boys lads they are just not used to beating Tipp shure 2009 was the first time since the 60s and then last year that they beat us its gone to their head a little bit. I mean after that its been 2010 1991 1971 1964 the list goes on as we are well used to winning handy All-Ireland titles against them and that trend will continue. 1964 was an absolute 14 point slaughter and 2010 was close to that if Lar had got the penalty after Tennysons rugby tackle on him. Cats would have got a free of course if twas at the other end a bit like their flukey win in 2009. Anyway I agree that Tipp are bit cuter this year and 5 or 6 points will do against Waterford and save the big performance until the first Sunday in September as yes Tipp peaked in last years Munster final and would have beaten the pick of Kilkenny and Cork that day.
thurlesblues (Tipperary) - Posts: 4475 - 25/06/2012 13:58:17
Well snuffy how do ye think yer 'Dublin men' will do against Clare?
tipptothetop (Tipperary) - Posts: 531 - 25/06/2012 14:07:26
All the pretenders have been put to one side, Dublin have been given a lesson on how to hurl against the masters. Now the best two hurling teams in the Leinster Championship will go at it Sunday week. We'll try to give the cats a good game and prove how inept the Dubs are.
Early morning training sessions me h*le.
ahsure. (Galway) - Posts: 1713 - 25/06/2012 14:41:05
Manufatured is the best word I have heard to describe Dublin Hurling. The dubs whinged about Johnston's move yet their hurlers were from all over the Country. Daly will be gone soon sick at the lack of stomach the dubs have or the fight.
fixxer (Kildare) - Posts: 202 - 25/06/2012 14:50:54
I wouldn't agree with some of the comments here about Dublin but Daly has been with them 4 years and I think he has brought them as far as he can. I'm sure they will be on the head hunt and Donal O' Grady must be top of their shopping list.
tipptothetop (Tipperary) - Posts: 531 - 25/06/2012 14:55:34
ahsure,
This will be the fifth year that Galway will fail to make an impact in Leinster so!.....Ye were better off staying in Connaught where at least ye won yer Province every year!!
And please dont come out with the old: "Galway just dont really care about winning Leinster" which in real speak means: "We just hope that someone else beats KK so as we dont have to face them and then we will have a better chance and be more confident of winning silverware!"
Remember the old saying: "An all Ireland 'won' without winning yer Province is not an All Ireland 'won' at all!!"
Snufalufagus (Dublin) - Posts: 8100 - 25/06/2012 14:55:39
tipptothetop County: Tipperary Posts: 434
1201798 I wouldn't agree with some of the comments here about Dublin but Daly has been with them 4 years and I think he has brought them as far as he can. I'm sure they will be on the head hunt and Donal O' Grady must be top of their shopping list.
how has he brought dublin as far as he can what exactly has he done.in four years he has been in dublin job he was won two big championship matches against teams rated better then us thats all,in his first year we beat wexford to get to the leinater final and we were already knocking on the door the year before against them only beaten by a point,then last year we beat galway,in the last 3 years we have lost to kilkenny in leinster by 19 points,11 points and 18 points that is not a great record for him to have so why is he given the credit,his tactics are one dimensional he has liam rushe on the edge of the square and pumps high ball in on him it was clear for anybody at the laois match that was the gameplan and saturday night cody had that easily spotted and when rushe wasnt in the game he had no plan b and chickened out of taking rushe and brady off who were both getting destroyed out there instead he used mccormack and corcoran as fall men.
hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 25/06/2012 15:45:32
Snufalufagus County: Dublin Posts: 4847
1201799 ahsure,
This will be the fifth year that Galway will fail to make an impact in Leinster so!.....Ye were better off staying in Connaught where at least ye won yer Province every year!!
And please dont come out with the old: "Galway just dont really care about winning Leinster" which in real speak means: "We just hope that someone else beats KK so as we dont have to face them and then we will have a better chance and be more confident of winning silverware!"
Remember the old saying: "An all Ireland 'won' without winning yer Province is not an All Ireland 'won' at all!!"
an old saying from 1997 then?
a few clarifications - almost all the dublin panel are born and bred dubs. Corcoran, o'dwyer, moss o'brien are from another county. Hardly a huge amount!
Finally, hill16, you obviously don't know alot about hurling. Taking off rushe would be insane, not only is he dublin's best hurler in general but he was trying hard yesterday to get into the game. As for brady, he was doing no worse or better than anyone else of the backs. Taking off Corcoran was just as big a call to make and it was made. The failure of the dublin team was in not having the stomach to fight. They did fine for 15 minutes and then gave up after the first goal. I think Daly overall has done a good job.
hurlinspuds (Cork) - Posts: 1494 - 25/06/2012 15:56:06
Did Daly not bring a professional set up to Dublin or was that someone else? Daly should have left last year I thought but I guess with all the injuries ye had he thought he might have fared better this year. Some of the fault has to fall at the players feet too hill, you don't seem to realise this. The players wer shocking on Saturday, simple stuff they couldn't do, that is not Dalys fault is it?
tipptothetop (Tipperary) - Posts: 531 - 25/06/2012 16:04:17
hurlinspuds County: Cork Posts: 99
rushe had a nightmare was cleaned out in the air for every single ball just becuase he has been our best player up till now doesnt mean he is not allowed be called a shore if he is not playing well,whats the point leaving a fella on who is getting hammered,brady was awful he was at fault for a lot of scores didnt even look fit enough to be out there he was way off the pace of the game,cracks were papered over by giving laois a hiding it was no kind of examination to see if hiney brady and keeney were fit enough to play so it was a terrible call to start all 3 in this match as keeney was gone after 10 mins and brady should have gone too.
hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 25/06/2012 16:15:51
tipptothetop County: Tipperary Posts: 435
1201870 Did Daly not bring a professional set up to Dublin or was that someone else? Daly should have left last year I thought but I guess with all the injuries ye had he thought he might have fared better this year. Some of the fault has to fall at the players feet too hill, you don't seem to realise this. The players wer shocking on Saturday, simple stuff they couldn't do, that is not Dalys fault is it?
he has not brought a good enough set up letting fellas shout their mouths off to the papers the week of a match is bad managment. he has only copied the set up pat gilroy has with the footballers with the early training sessions and the conditioning work but at the end of the day it was kilkenny who were far more fit and stronger to every ball then dublin so obviously its not working for the hurlers like it does for the footballers. of course some of the fault goes to the players they were awful but the manager is responsible for getting his players to perform and picking the right team and tactics and gameplan and he clearly got it wrong on saturday and his lack of any plan b after rushe was stopped says it all. he went and got shane ryan to join the hurlers and leave the football set up and he never gave him a chance in the 2 or 3 years he was there. any time he played he cause havoc for defenses but yet was never given a real chance.he loves to take praise for days like the league final win but yet removes himself from the blame for days like the weekend
hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 25/06/2012 16:22:47
I really think they are suffering now that they are established on the scene. In the past few years other teams would be somewhat dismissive of the dubs and this element of surprise suited them. To this day it could be argued that we really don't know if this is a good team or if they have just flattered to deceive. The next game or two for the dubs will tell a lot as far as knowing where they stand, loose to Clare and it could well prove very damaging for their future as football will once again have the fans full attention.
tj09 (Cork) - Posts: 481 - 25/06/2012 16:23:03
ahsure,
----------
Just to clear up one or two things here. This is our fourth year in Leinster, starting off in 2009 when we ran the cats close in the semi final.
We do care about winning Leinster, that's the whole point of us being in it. We haven't been good enough to win it, it's a simple as that. But I am confident we will put on a better show in HQ in the final than that shambolic Dublin display Saturday last.
The best two teams in the "province", I fully believe are participating in this final.
And my dear Snuff, as the other old saying goes..
"An All Ireland "won" with players from outside your own county is not an All Ireland "won" at all"
Fitting.
ahsure. (Galway) - Posts: 1713 - 25/06/2012 16:30:56
"Remember the old saying: "An all Ireland 'won' without winning yer Province is not an All Ireland 'won' at all!!"
Oh Snuf, just because you came up with it, and have written it down once or twice on a blog, doesn't mean that this little refrain of yours is an "old saying". But bless, you do try.
And anyhow, as Galway is the only team in Connacht to field a senior team, we are de facto Connacht champions every year.
YAH! UP GALWAY! THE ETERNAL CHAMPIONS!!!!!!
festinog (Galway) - Posts: 3152 - 25/06/2012 16:34:14
Alveoli, are you deluded….. Most real Kilkenny fans know that whilst this is the greatest team of all time, we have 3 serious games to win if we are to win another AI. It's never gonna be easy win an All-Ireland, if it was we'd all have a few. This Tipp team is showing signs of weakness but so did Kilkenny in September 2010 and look what happened that day. I haven't missed a championship match since 2005 and I have never met a county that doesn't have cocky fans so judging us all the same cause of a mindless few is a bit silly.
Therealtmo I'm sorry to hear that if it's true but I have been spat on in Ennis, kneed in the back continuously in Thurles as a winding up method and called a fat so and so in Cork all because I cheered on my team (I don't go over the top on it, I must have matured) so it's not uncommon.
Thurles, we can all quote history, how about 1 out of 5 this century…. The records show ye have beaten us more championship games, but they also show we have 7 all Irelands more… I don't know about you but I'm more than happy to have been beaten 5 times more and have 7 all Irelands more. It's all well and good speculating that ye would have beaten the pick of KK and Cork but that's not how hurling or life works. It's a pity I didn't get to the shop Saturday night cause I would have played all the numbers that came out…..
With regards to the game I thought Kilkenny were strong especially down the middle, and this was the catalyst for the win. I was sitting VERY close to the Dublin bench and it was plainly obvious that when Conal Keaney went down injured the 1st time they were struggling to decide how to attack KK. Treacy isn't a ball winner and the loss of Keaney and Liam Rushe's poor game combined gave them no outlet in the forwards. After the 16th minute goal by Reid P Ryan won 1 ball, Sutcliffe won 1 and Rushe broke one down to McCormack who failed to pick it up. That was the whole possession for the Dublin forwards till half time. All the others were scraps and there was not enough fight in the forwards. The backs and midfield were always in trouble when KK were having an easy time in the back line and it was made to look like a game of backs and forwards from 15 - 35 mins. As hard as it is to say, cause I like the man Daly really got his ideas mixed up on Saturday and having watched it again the lack of a target man the likes of Keaney or even someone like Liam Ryan (retired) was evident. All the fitness and strengthening doesn't mean you have a forward who will win his own ball enough. That is the main difference between Kilkenny and the Dubs.
Lastly I want to say I thought Barry Kelly did very well on Saturday, I am never quick to give him credit usually but on a horrible day on a bad football pitch he refereed in a very understated way which is not usually his style so have to say well done Mr. Kelly.
By the way talking about KK being Cocky and thurlesblues there spouting on is a bit of a joke don't you think?
KKid (Kilkenny) - Posts: 421 - 25/06/2012 16:42:56
Hill you are expecting alot out of Dublin it is not automatic that you will be successful senior just because you have had very successful underage teams, just ask Limerick and Galway. Was Shane Ryan always carrying niggly injuries for those years, and that was more to do with why he didn't get an extended run? Its make or break against Clare but Dalys days are numbered in any case. Would you fancy Donal O Grady as a potntial manager?
tipptothetop (Tipperary) - Posts: 531 - 25/06/2012 16:45:21
tipptothetop County: Tipperary Posts: 437
1201933 Hill you are expecting alot out of Dublin it is not automatic that you will be successful senior just because you have had very successful underage teams, just ask Limerick and Galway. Was Shane Ryan always carrying niggly injuries for those years, and that was more to do with why he didn't get an extended run? Its make or break against Clare but Dalys days are numbered in any case. Would you fancy Donal O Grady as a potntial manager?
you may say im expecting alot but then i say what has daly actualy achieved with dublin in 4 years as i have pointed out he has only achieved wins over teams who were considered worse then us in the championship no major scalps so why all the praise for him and talk of he has taken dublin as far as he can? he has got nothing out of the players this year 1 win between 3 competitions like i say any other managers job would be under real pressure so why not him? shane ryan wasnt always suffering with that he played in walsh cup games at the start of each year and won the walsh cup final in parnell against galway for us by scoring 1-03 in the final he never got a start after that match he brought him in far too late against tipp and he still nearly created a goal. no i dont agree with outside managers but if they were to go outside again i do think he would be the one they will go for
hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 25/06/2012 17:02:26
Kilkenny stand out for two reasons
1 - first touch: seeing a Kilkenny player fumble a ball is a rarity. They get on the ball & control it first time. 2 - physicality: they take it to the very letter of the law but when you play them you need to be ready for a battle if you're level with them as they'll work like beasts to win every battle.
Those who want to beat them have to look at both these options. They are the greatest hurling county of all time.
slayer (Limerick) - Posts: 6483 - 25/06/2012 17:07:20
Hill ye beat Galway under Daly they would in my lifetime nearly always have been rated better than Dublin, that is a big scalp. I get it you don't like Daly but there is no way he has hindered Dublins progress, as you suggest. I was never a fan of Daly but I respect what he has done in hurling both on the pitch and sideline. What if Daly brings Dublin down to Ennis and gets a win, that would be another big win for Dublin. We all have our own ideas about who should be on our team but it doesn't work like that. Where do you think Dublin are rated?
tipptothetop (Tipperary) - Posts: 531 - 25/06/2012 17:53:05