moomoo County: Kerry Posts: 1768
1200686 Culann County: Dublin Posts: 302
1200666 moomoo County: Kerry Posts: 1766
What does competing mean?
They've been hammered by Kilkenny the last 2 times they played thats hardly copmeting is it?
If you are talking about last years Leinster final I would call that a hammering. What was in it again? Kilkenny usually 'hammer' everyone they play. Obviously you do not count league wins as an achievement for the Dubs? Waterford got a bad beating by Tipp last year in the Munster final. Do you rate them? Galway took a beating off the Dubs last year. Do you call that competing. Cork took a few beatings over the last few years. Do you reckon they compete.
My guess is that you just don't like the Dubs. If thats so that is fair enough.
Culann (Dublin) - Posts: 2306 - 23/06/2012 21:19:47
Snufalufagus County: Dublin Posts: 4803
1200685 Very disappointed today! Didnt even put in a challenge!
That happens.....but its still great to be a dual county and have both hurlers and footballers to support at the highest level rather than just a 'one code non embracing of the full range of GAA sports' county!!!
Let begrudgers remember that the same way in which every county looks at KK and says: "If only we could just get over them" should remember that for years and years now the Kilkenny minor hurlers have been saying the same thing about the Dublin minors!! (U21's the same!!).
Great to be a dual county!!!!
Snufalufagus.....Laochra Gael
How did the Dublin Under 21's hurlers get on this year Snuf? Also was it not you that said ''its a poor county that gets off on underage success''?
moomoo (Kerry) - Posts: 4023 - 23/06/2012 21:22:44
tipptothetop County: Tipperary Posts: 421
1200689 Kk played well today but were not awesome by any stretch of the imagination and they won in second gear, Dublin have alot of question to ask themselves, whoever gets Dublin in the qualifiers will not be afraid of them after their performance today. 23/06/2012 21:17:21
Unfortunately I'd have to agree with that. Daly should keep all heads down and as far away as possible from the media. no one is expecting anything from them any more. If they can regroup they can turn the season around.
Culann (Dublin) - Posts: 2306 - 23/06/2012 21:23:07
I was at the match today and there was 14k there which I thought was a good crowd considering the conditions and only covered seating for 7k. Dublin brought a large following maybe 9k. I watched the warm ups kilkennys was the norma, striking, lifting and catching skills. Dublins involved very little of these and were more physical shouldering and tackling grabbing arms and tussels. When the game started Dublin looked for the physical move every time ending up with scrums and drop balls everywhere. Dublin competed very well last year in the league and in the qualifers, but fell down badly in the leinster final. I think against tipp last year they played their best and got close to a lagging Tipp team again only time will tell but I fear Tipp might be on the slide. As for underage that Kilkenny minor team sent out today looked the worst one ever know from the teams down here there is better Minors not on the county team and last years was no better.
Dzer (Kilkenny) - Posts: 29 - 23/06/2012 21:26:13
Snuffy Tipp can say the same look at our underage teams at the moment all is looking bright for our dual status. However producing at senior level has to be the goal and ye didn't even compete today, alot of questions to be asked of players and management after that performance today
tipptothetop (Tipperary) - Posts: 531 - 23/06/2012 21:27:04
Culann County: Dublin Posts: 304
1200702 moomoo County: Kerry Posts: 1768
1200686 Culann County: Dublin Posts: 302
1200666 moomoo County: Kerry Posts: 1766
What does competing mean?
They've been hammered by Kilkenny the last 2 times they played thats hardly copmeting is it?
If you are talking about last years Leinster final I would call that a hammering. What was in it again? Kilkenny usually 'hammer' everyone they play. Obviously you do not count league wins as an achievement for the Dubs? Waterford got a bad beating by Tipp last year in the Munster final. Do you rate them? Galway took a beating off the Dubs last year. Do you call that competing. Cork took a few beatings over the last few years. Do you reckon they compete.
My guess is that you just don't like the Dubs. If thats so that is fair enough.
4-17 to 1-15 looks like a hammering to me. No good winning league games if you cant do the same in the championship. Waterford have won 4/5 Munster titles in the last 10 years been in and All Ireland final and a number of semi finals based on that i rate them higher then Dublin. Galway have been in All Ireland finals the last 10 years as have Cork and they have won 2. What have Dublin done to say there competing?
moomoo (Kerry) - Posts: 4023 - 23/06/2012 21:30:56
Sick about todays performance, , feared before match this could happen but hoped it wouldnt happen . The result is very demoralising , only thing now is to put in good performance in qualifiers and just accept that youre watching your team which has improved competively from minor upwards hugely over the last 6 or 7 years play against probably the best hurling team of all time and something like this can happen when a team like kilkenny click. sometimes ye just have to appreciate class . Having said that i seen enough in the strength of underage and minors coming through that dublin hurling is still gonna be very strong in the future.
well done kilkenny in victory , special side .
AthCliath (Dublin) - Posts: 4347 - 23/06/2012 21:40:00
moomoo County: Kerry Posts: 1772
4-17 to 1-15 looks like a hammering to me. No good winning league games if you cant do the same in the championship. Waterford have won 4/5 Munster titles in the last 10 years been in and All Ireland final and a number of semi finals based on that i rate them higher then Dublin. Galway have been in All Ireland finals the last 10 years as have Cork and they have won 2. What have Dublin done to say there competing?
Moomoo, I said Dublin had been competing over the last two years. Please take the time to read my posts if you are going to respond to the. Over the last two years Dublin have Killkenny in a national final, Tipp and Cork in the league, Galway in the Championship, Waterford in the championship, Limerick in the Championship, Wexford in the Championship (when they were number two in Leinster). If you can reasonably argue that that is not competing i'll accept you're arguments. Regarding Kilkenny, they have lost one game in the last 7 years in the Championship and they have hammered many a team in the meantime.
ps. you mention that Galway have been in All Ireland finals over the last ten years. When? They lost to Cork in 2003 or 2004 but when were the other times they were in an All Ireland final?
Culann (Dublin) - Posts: 2306 - 23/06/2012 21:48:40
ps. you mention that Galway have been in All Ireland finals over the last ten years. When? They lost to Cork in 2003 or 2004 but when were the other times they were in an All Ireland final?
2001 and 2005.
Marooned (Galway) - Posts: 2397 - 23/06/2012 21:52:55
2001 was eleven years ago.
Culann (Dublin) - Posts: 2306 - 23/06/2012 21:54:50
No signs of Kilkenny easing of the throttle, really it was set up for them though as Dublin were being built up in many quarters with little real justification. Good league form can sometimes give a false impression of where a side is but you can't be as bad as Dublin were for most of the league and then expect to match up to Kilkenny.
Dublin are better than they showed today and could still make it back to the semis but any thoughts they were taking a fast track to the All-Ireland in the next couple of years have been well scuppered.
With Galways backline far from watertight it could be a long day at the office for our lads at Croke Park. Kilkenny don't look like complacency is setting in any time soon.
Stuckinthepast (Galway) - Posts: 472 - 23/06/2012 21:55:44
Culann ,
There is no point in arguing with moomoo, he doesnt like the dubs and just wants to revel in their misfortunes about anything. hes like a little dog wanting to be scratched when they lose, he has nothing constructive to say ever , i wouldnt bother.
AthCliath (Dublin) - Posts: 4347 - 23/06/2012 21:56:35
Stuckinthepast County: Galway Posts: 275
fair post.
AthCliath (Dublin) - Posts: 4347 - 23/06/2012 21:59:15
Kilkenny were certainly ready for Dublin yesterday. They did the basics right like lifting or rising the ball first time. Dublin were very poor at the basics especially rising the ball and passed to players less than a yard away... which did not make sense. It seemes to me that Kilkenny were wound up right while Dublin mentally were not fully primed. If they were then the basics would have been executed better. The Dublin swarming of Kilkenny players did put them under pressure but it did leave several Kilkenny players in greater space and no better team to punish you.
As for the view expressed that Dublin are a 'manufactured' team... what a load of nonsense. Dublin like all other teams have worked their best to get the best out of themselves. Dublin clubs, schools and county board have knuckled down a lot ot improve their playing base, have worked on skill development and have agaisn brought Dublin natives up to the level where they can compete with the best.
As for the future months ahead, I expect that Dublin will still be a force this year. It often happens that teams have an overexpectation of themselves and are so pent up that perfomance suffers. Yesteday was one of those days. I think Dublin will still be there come semi final time.
Daly has a challenge on his hands but this set of Dublin hurlers have the mettle to bounce back. It will take them a week or two to get their heads right. Lastly I was sorry to see Conal Keaney having to go off injured. I hope he recovers to play again soon.
carlowman (Carlow) - Posts: 1881 - 24/06/2012 10:38:32
carlowman I agree with you. One bad beating doesnt make a team a bad team. Dublin's work should be commended and not scoffed at for one bad day at the office. If we in Wexford gave up on the day of a bad defeat by Kilkenny, we'd be lighting fires with ash since the 1980's....
Pinkie (Wexford) - Posts: 4100 - 24/06/2012 11:21:28
Culann County: Dublin Posts: 307
1200742 moomoo County: Kerry Posts: 1772
Moomoo, I said Dublin had been competing over the last two years. Please take the time to read my posts if you are going to respond to the. Over the last two years Dublin have Killkenny in a national final, Tipp and Cork in the league, Galway in the Championship, Waterford in the championship, Limerick in the Championship, Wexford in the Championship (when they were number two in Leinster). If you can reasonably argue that that is not competing i'll accept you're arguments. Regarding Kilkenny, they have lost one game in the last 7 years in the Championship and they have hammered many a team in the meantime.
When did Dublin beat Waterford in the championship? Yes they beat Kilkenny in the league final but when Kilkenny had there full team back they were blown away by them. I dont rate Dublin and they have doing nothing to change my mind about that maybe they will but i cant see it happening any time soon
moomoo (Kerry) - Posts: 4023 - 24/06/2012 11:39:47
Stuckinthepast County: Galway Posts: 276
1200754 No signs of Kilkenny easing of the throttle, really it was set up for them though as Dublin were being built up in many quarters with little real justification. Good league form can sometimes give a false impression of where a side is but you can't be as bad as Dublin were for most of the league and then expect to match up to Kilkenny.
Dublin are better than they showed today and could still make it back to the semis but any thoughts they were taking a fast track to the All-Ireland in the next couple of years have been well scuppered.
With Galways backline far from watertight it could be a long day at the office for our lads at Croke Park. Kilkenny don't look like complacency is setting in any time soon.
That's all pretty fair and pretty much as I see it. Dublin fans, the media and a lot of neutrals have been building this team up to be something that they are not IMO. A terrible league and another hiding against Kilkenny and the evidence is begining to stack up. Dublin have good individuals but fail to click as a team consistently. Too many players hid yesterday. There was no leadership, no intensity and no tactics, other than to punt long aimless balls to forwards with lead in their boots. Kilkenny were not magnificent yesterday. I would say they were at 60%. This makes me wonder what a hiding we would have taken had they been at full tilt and had Maguie not justified why he is the best goal minder in the country at the moment. In fairness to Coady he tried to use the conditions as an excuse as to why Dublin were so poor. At the end of the day that's the problem, excuses, excuses every time but nobody really prepared to criticize Daly or the players. Well a lot of players have to look at themselves after yesterday. No excuses this time.
Joxer (Dublin) - Posts: 4747 - 24/06/2012 12:04:33
Defril some neck on you , two years ago you got bet by Louth and looked how hyped up Kildare are now even doh they have done nothing since, only beating a disinterested Tyrone in a div 2 final.
clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 24/06/2012 12:06:16
i postedmy thoughts on another thread so im not gonna repeat that! but all this talk of manufactured p***esme off.why dont ye get more money off your county board or fill morer stadiums,still dont think wed see derry or the likes competing in liam mccarthy without seriously hard work! however,ye are just jealous because ourselves and cork are the only real dual counties.keep hitting us when were down because when we finally do win it,my god it will be sweeet
dubs4eva (Dublin) - Posts: 484 - 24/06/2012 12:23:00
Hopefully the Dubs can pick themselves up from this going into the qualifiers, they just didn't play as well as they can, although KK looked very good.
ClassApart (Meath) - Posts: 1200 - 24/06/2012 12:29:51