Kilkenny V Dublin

I must say I am baffled by Dublins performance today. Their handling was shocking, I know it was a wet day but I am very surprised at this, they have good players. kk look very strong though, they won nearly every position today, they found themselves in acres of space in good attacking positions in numerous occasions, alot of times in which they didn't punish Dublin. Has Daly lost the team?

tipptothetop (Tipperary) - Posts: 531 - 23/06/2012 19:12:47    1200589

tipptothetop
County: Tipperary

1200589 Has Daly lost the team?

Take it easy man. A bit of an over reaction. A terrible day at the office, but take it easy.

Culann (Dublin) - Posts: 2306 - 23/06/2012 19:21:24    1200599

Culann I am disappointed with Dublin today, with their league run and that performance today, the question has to be asked, it would in every other county?

tipptothetop (Tipperary) - Posts: 531 - 23/06/2012 19:27:28    1200603

tipptothetop
County: Tipperary

1200603 Culann I am disappointed with Dublin today, with their league run and that performance today, the question has to be asked, it would in every other county?

I understand that but the last real Championship game they played they pushed Tiobraid Árann all the way. There is no way Daly has lost the dressing room. The only question I would ask would be can he bring the Dubs any further. My instinct tells me he can based on our underage success of the last few years. His toughest challenge now is to lift the dressing room. We need a handy draw to kickstart things. I am still hopeful we will still be around competing in August.

I think people here, in general, are over reacting. A poor poor performance from the Dubs. There is no doubt about that but no need for anything rash.

Culann (Dublin) - Posts: 2306 - 23/06/2012 19:38:54    1200610

Jaysus im gutted thought the lads would of put in a better fight than that. They just looked sluggish , could not string too passes together. It looked at one stage kilkenny had an extra man on the pitch. So dissappointed in that match...

DUB1 (Dublin) - Posts: 5583 - 23/06/2012 19:52:50    1200619

It happens you know, one week a team plays like world beaters, another like as you say can't even rise it, but thats hurling for you. No teams management puts players out to play like that, no players train to play like that. We've seen Galway caught like rabbits in the KK headlights too and you know what? we'll see them again do exactly the same. Thats the beauty of the game one week you look like the real thing, but KK (who are even better than the real thing) just have a habit of getting inside a teams head and messing it up.

Maybe but we will see on the 8th. Tonight Dublin were s***e. Suck it up Buddy!

gaillimh73 (Galway) - Posts: 669 - 23/06/2012 20:19:20    1200633

I was shocked.

Expected the Dubs to give them a challenge for 40/50 mins anyway but it was over after 10 mins.

What is frightening is that Fennelly & Rice will be back and Henry will be approaching fitness.

Doyle, Paddy Hogan just fitted in like gloves & they have more of the same in the background,

Over to Galway now

KELF (Kildare) - Posts: 775 - 23/06/2012 20:30:57    1200638

I'm surprised by all the GAA folk on here saying they are 'surprised' by Dublins defeat today and that they expected Dublin to challenge Kilkenny! The whole idea of Dublin being one of the top hurling counties is a myth created by the media and the Jackeens .............. They are NO where near The Cats, Tipp, Cork or Galway for that matter!

Ciarrai Abu (Overseas) - Posts: 1050 - 23/06/2012 20:41:12    1200648

Ciarrai Abu
County: Overseas

1200648 I'm surprised by all the GAA folk on here saying they are 'surprised' by Dublins defeat today and that they expected Dublin to challenge Kilkenny! The whole idea of Dublin being one of the top hurling counties is a myth created by the media and the Jackeens .............. They are NO where near The Cats, Tipp, Cork or Galway for that matter!

How do you figure that? They have been competing with them for the last two years.

Culann (Dublin) - Posts: 2306 - 23/06/2012 20:47:18    1200653

Sad day for Dublin hurling Kilkenny are simply awesome but I honestly don't think Dublin are that bad but still nowhere near Kilkenny's standard. There's only one team that maybe could beat Kilkenny and that's Tipp. But in saying that Tipp could easily lose tomorrow. As for some of the smart comments coming from posters from hurling stronghold counties like mayo Kerry Derry Tyrone Kildare come back to me when yous even have a hurling team that doesn't play in the mickey mouse cup.

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 23/06/2012 20:48:11    1200654

Culann

Ciarrai Abu

1200648 I'm surprised by all the GAA folk on here saying they are 'surprised' by Dublins defeat today and that they expected Dublin to challenge Kilkenny! The whole idea of Dublin being one of the top hurling counties is a myth created by the media and the Jackeens .............. They are NO where near The Cats, Tipp, Cork or Galway for that matter!

How do you figure that? They have been competing with them for the last two years.

Have they really? When did they last beat Tipp or Kilkenny?

moomoo (Kerry) - Posts: 4023 - 23/06/2012 20:49:02    1200656

Ciarrai Abu

I'm surprised by all the GAA folk on here saying they are 'surprised' by Dublins defeat today and that they expected Dublin to challenge Kilkenny! The whole idea of Dublin being one of the top hurling counties is a myth created by the media and the Jackeens .............. They are NO where near The Cats, Tipp, Cork or Galway for that matter!

Fully agree with the above. It's only a couple of years ago Antrim beat them in the championship and they've done nothing since then bar give a disinterested Tipp half a run. Pure media hype and hearsay. Just haven't got the quality in the capitol to challenge the big guns. The only reason they're competing underage is because of the money being pumped in. Once these lads get to senior level they'll be found out for what they really are like their current seniors.

derfil1 (Kildare) - Posts: 1612 - 23/06/2012 20:53:22    1200663

moomoo

What does competing mean?

Culann (Dublin) - Posts: 2306 - 23/06/2012 20:55:23    1200666

You're not from a hurling county either, its the most manufactured exercise in GAA history.

51longago (Mayo) - Posts: 2981 - 23/06/2012 21:06:46    1200679

I would have to agree with my Kerry friend,
1. Alot of media hype especially from the tablods mostly notably the indo and the star, now hype is good but is it warrented
2. vvery poor crowd which probably means that people didn't listen to the hype.....
3. in saying that Dublin have improved but who can live with kilkenny

cuchulainn35 (Armagh) - Posts: 1688 - 23/06/2012 21:08:09    1200682

Manufactured team, please explain that one to me 52 years ago?

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 23/06/2012 21:09:59    1200684

Very disappointed today! Didnt even put in a challenge!

That happens.....but its still great to be a dual county and have both hurlers and footballers to support at the highest level rather than just a 'one code non embracing of the full range of GAA sports' county!!!

Let begrudgers remember that the same way in which every county looks at KK and says: "If only we could just get over them" should remember that for years and years now the Kilkenny minor hurlers have been saying the same thing about the Dublin minors!! (U21's the same!!).

Great to be a dual county!!!!

Snufalufagus.....Laochra Gael

Snufalufagus (Dublin) - Posts: 8100 - 23/06/2012 21:11:00    1200685

Culann

moomoo

What does competing mean?

They've been hammered by Kilkenny the last 2 times they played thats hardly copmeting is it?

moomoo (Kerry) - Posts: 4023 - 23/06/2012 21:12:10    1200686

Kk played well today but were not awesome by any stretch of the imagination and they won in second gear, Dublin have alot of question to ask themselves, whoever gets Dublin in the qualifiers will not be afraid of them after their performance today.

tipptothetop (Tipperary) - Posts: 531 - 23/06/2012 21:13:12    1200689

Listen to yourself. Your only there through financial investment. Nothing to do with any tradition or hard volunteer work. Can't think of a better word then the one uses already for Dublin Hurling - Manufactured.

kingpuck71 (Derry) - Posts: 691 - 23/06/2012 21:17:21    1200694