Cill Dara v An Mhi

Cheers dubbydave. It was brilliant to hear the dubs singing come on ye boys in green even if it was surreal.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 02/07/2012 21:53:38    1207937

can't wait for this final dubbydave!! back to the good aul days and it was funny all the dubs telling me they were delight so we can get our rivalry back on track! delight you won too i'd say wexford would have beaten us fo sure and the atmosphere wouldn't be nearly as intense. it's weird but even though dublin are so much better than wexford i'd give us a better chance against ye!

BettystownRoyal (Meath) - Posts: 3353 - 02/07/2012 21:58:45    1207951

I was looking back over some of the posts from both teams forums and this one. And so many people got it wrong.
It was said meath would use route one ball into joe, that's all we could do, while kildare could run the ball with there backs , they had speed, the better players, the better manager and the better bench.
As it turned out kildare were the ones who were aimlessly lobbing ball into o'connor even when it was obvious young menton was taking him to the cleaners, they had no plan b. Young forde and carroll left there markers trailing in there dust with speed, so did reilly, burke, tobin. We had they better players in most positions and when one was having a off day, management changed him. Management read the game so well for the royals while the lillies didn't know what to do. We brought on harrington, who easily calmed down his man. Peadar byrne got a fantastic goal, Bray who got a score when we were 3 up, queeney who had 2 touches and 2 points and kevin reilly who made early look old and unfit. Now ok he was fired up after what happened to menton but what subs what a bench to have. We have massive strength in depth. Something kildare don't have.
Someone asked on kildare forum, how many players from meath team would get onto kildares, the responses were usual, no one would get into starting 15 , maybe 2 reillys, menton, and farrell might make bench. Well after sunday I could say same about kildare. would I swap any of there's for ours? No not starting maybe o'connor as a midfield sub, and doyle as a impact sub. That's it.
And hear is the best one of all. Would I swap banty for mcgeeney? NO.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 03/07/2012 08:29:20    1207963

whrre abouts were you sitting dave? i was in the lower hogan and there was a big group of us singing boys in green but no dubs lol. although there was a group of 5 wexford lads joining in with us and cheered with us all the way! even though i really wanted dublin to win and set up a great final i had to return the favor and cheer with them for the second game :)

BettystownRoyal (Meath) - Posts: 3353 - 03/07/2012 08:40:54    1207966

Doublehop. Do you think I got the match pretty much spot on? Or not?

Well royaldunne, in fairness, you very confidently predict Meath are going to win every single match. So obviously as far as Sunday's game goes it came right for you but every other time you expected a big Meath performance since you started posting here you have been wrong. You seem to be revelling in the fact you were the only one that called it but even a stopped clock is right twice a day if you know what I mean.

Meath put in a huge performance on the day. Massively encouraging for everyone involved in Meath GAA how the young players stood up and took the game by the scruff of the neck. On top of all that a great demonstration of how to play with an extra man in the last 20 minutes sealed the win. You do seem to have implied since that this was the best Kildare could produce (It wasn't that Kildare didn't show up, it was that meath did show up, etc.) and I think a lot of people would disagree with that. The truth is somewhere in the middle which is what has made all these matches so interesting and hard fought lately.

I'm not one to fawn all over McGeeney. He did make some huge mistakes on the day and even though things were clearly going wrong I think there was a bit of arrogance there that the game would eventually come back to us. I wouldn't say that there wasn't a plan B, I would say that the management still just assumed plan A would eventually come right because of our record against Meath. People defending Geezer would say maybe that would have been the case if the sending off hadn't happened but most Kildare supporters around me for crying out for changes around the middle long before that happened. We'll never know but Meath have definitely thought Kildare a few valuable lessons. They'll need to learn from them fast.

doublehop (Kildare) - Posts: 4172 - 03/07/2012 09:45:30    1208013

Ok Kildare had a bad day at the office but they haven't become a bad team overnight just like Meath haven't become world beaters either, but I was just wondering do Kildare supporters still think mcgeeney is under no pressure and do yous still want him as your manager next year?

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 03/07/2012 09:55:11    1208027

Kildare is a top 4 team dont forget, they will bounce back :)

cacsmckilly (Tyrone) - Posts: 1294 - 03/07/2012 10:20:29    1208059

Doublehop, firstly was not confident of meath winning in omagh, was a little worried about galway in salthill. And that's just this year, didn't expect win v dublin in 10. And don't expect win in leinster final either. Said I will go in hope more so than optimism. The fact that no one in kildare had seen the younger players play, surprisingly from what I'm been told not even manager? Is that true? I can't believe that a manager would not go to a game involving potential opponents? I don't believe that is case but a kildare fan said that to me in croker, that he was that complacent. Now I can't say one way or other. Maybe you can let me know.
I had said to you that kildares focus was on dublin in leinster final, think that was evident on sunday. They hadn't there homework done on meath, believed we would do 2 things , graham reilly running through middle and when that didn't work lob ball into joe. Instead we spread it wide, and ran from deep , in other words we played like kildare had in previous meetings. And they had no answers, to be honest the sending off had very little effect meath were well on top at that stage and it was just the scoreboard that was level don't think anyone say that's where kildare lost it.
I agree with you on the whole hoping the game would come back to them. But then when subs were made they were totally off the wall, dermot earley is not a ff and his age and lack of game time was shown up badly.
I do think meath stopped kildare playing, does that make them world beaters? Certainly not. Does that make kildare a bad team? Nope it just means on the day one manager done his homework and made the right calls. There needs to be wholesale changes in kildare team. Jd is not fit for 70 mins anymore it happens to all great players. And above all if I was a kildare supporter get rid of them stupid cushions, hand them a few balls and let them practice shooting only during warm ups along with a few stretches.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 03/07/2012 10:31:44    1208071

Ok Kildare had a bad day at the office but they haven't become a bad team overnight just like Meath haven't become world beaters either, but I was just wondering do Kildare supporters still think mcgeeney is under no pressure and do yous still want him as your manager next year?

I think McGeeney is a great manager. He has put great belief and pride into the players and he has built up a good structure all around the team. I firmly believe Kildare would not be anywhere near as competitive as they are now. He has a strong bond with the players and they with him. We will have a few calling for his head but I think the vast majority of supporters would be delighted to see him staying another year and hopefully longer.

St.Conleth (Kildare) - Posts: 1730 - 03/07/2012 10:34:48    1208073

BettystownRoyal

You must have been sitting close enough to me too!

At the end if the game I was on tv for about 10 seconds which is disappointing!

ziggy32001 (Meath) - Posts: 8354 - 03/07/2012 11:14:08    1208120

Kildare will have to win 6 games in a row to win the AI. Hard to c it happen.

Donegalman (None) - Posts: 3853 - 03/07/2012 11:16:23    1208126

BettystownRoyal

whrre abouts were you sitting dave? i was in the lower hogan and there was a big group of us singing boys in green but no dubs lol. although there was a group of 5 wexford lads joining in with us and cheered with us all the way! even though i really wanted dublin to win and set up a great final i had to return the favor and cheer with them for the second game :)

Sorry I meant to direct this at RoyalDunne not Dave!

BettystownRoyal (Meath) - Posts: 3353 - 03/07/2012 11:25:14    1208135

haha Ziggy must have been. If you want more than 10 secs in the spotlight you'll have to dust off the boots, get out there and do the business :)

BettystownRoyal (Meath) - Posts: 3353 - 03/07/2012 11:29:25    1208137

I could be wrong but I think unless there is a remarkable change Kildare are not really in contention for the All Ireland. Correct me if I'm wrong but the only teams that have done that are ones which have in previous years won All Irelands/ Provincials with the same team eg. Tyrone, Kerry etc. Kildare have been seriously overrated and the media love hyping them up, when the best team they have beaten in the last few years is Meath.

Are Meath a top four team just because we have beaten Kildare. I don't think so.............

ClassApart (Meath) - Posts: 1200 - 03/07/2012 11:31:21    1208141

Was in the lower cusack bettystown. Actually a good few from every side was there. The dubs were pretty quite in relation to the game until joe sent the goal shot wide, and a few kildare lads started slagging him off then one dub said at least he is there own player and it started from that.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 03/07/2012 12:15:35    1208202

royaldunne

1207937 Cheers dubbydave. It was brilliant to hear the dubs singing come on ye boys in green even if it was surreal.
02/07/2012 21:58:45
BettystownRoyal

1207951 can't wait for this final dubbydave!! back to the good aul days and it was funny all the dubs telling me they were delight so we can get our rivalry back on track! delight you won too i'd say wexford would have beaten us fo sure and the atmosphere wouldn't be nearly as intense. it's weird but even though dublin are so much better than wexford i'd give us a better chance against ye!

ahh lads its going to be a cracker so long since we met in the final,meath gave kildare some going over while the dubs are doing what they always do best dig deep to get the victory and in the papers they are predicting already a crowd of 70k the atmosphere is going to be amazing hope its a good day and the rain stays off before we get down to the nitty gritty all the best lads and may the team win
COME ON THE DUBS ;-)

dubbydave. (Dublin) - Posts: 3927 - 03/07/2012 13:42:58    1208364

BettystownRoyal

1207966 whrre abouts were you sitting dave? i was in the lower hogan and there was a big group of us singing boys in green but no dubs lol. although there was a group of 5 wexford lads joining in with us and cheered with us all the way! even though i really wanted dublin to win and set up a great final i had to return the favor and cheer with them for the second game :)

i was on the hill as always got there with the young lad real early he loves the hill and was chatting with the meath lads from the off the craic was crazy lol we cheered for meath as the lads cheered for the dubs great day,have to be honest i was going for a kildare win but some performance by you guys great to watch.ill be on the hill come the 22nd more than welcome to join me ha ha ha ;-)

dubbydave. (Dublin) - Posts: 3927 - 03/07/2012 13:49:44    1208375

i really hope we get over 70k at it but just can't see it with the recession. imagine if we had a cracker and it ended a draw! 2007 all over again except in the final this time. meath minors play westmeath and you play kildare. would be great if we could make it a royal duble header (see what i did there :D)

BettystownRoyal (Meath) - Posts: 3353 - 03/07/2012 13:55:30    1208391