Cill Dara v An Mhi

Congratulations to Meath. Much the better team in every aspect of the game yesterday. Kildare were very poor, very ponderous on the ball and while changes could have been made a lot faster very few players showed as real leaders on the field yesterday either. What can ya say? Didn't see it coming but then no-one did from any county. Meath's best performance since probably the AI QF in 2009. Best of luck in the final. Perform like that again and it could be a great match.

doublehop (Kildare) - Posts: 4172 - 02/07/2012 09:33:27    1206998

The beginning of this thread makes for entertaining reading in hindsight.
I think the most surprising thing to come out of yesterday's game was that royaldunne was 100% spot on.

Ratoath Royal (Meath) - Posts: 1391 - 02/07/2012 09:49:10    1207029

Classapart. That is my main fear. They will treat this as the leinster. To be honest dublin are the real deal, forget about been rusty yesterday. Look at how even playing well below their standards they still won. The have massive strength in depth (something we are acquiring but our lads still very young an inexperienced).
I pray the go out again all guns blazing and put it upto dublin. Who knows we might squeak it but I am a lot less confident than I was against kildare.
This time we are playing a real top 4 team probably no 1. This is a massive ask. But one I hope we can achieve.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 02/07/2012 10:00:39    1207058

Rathoathroyal. THANK YOU. I was hoping at least one person would say it lol.

Look I'm probably old enough to be most fellas father on hear. I have been watching meath play for well over 30 years. I could see the problem wasn't the players the problem was the team. If you get what I mean. They never gelled after league game v kildare , became disjointed and despondent. After 20 mins in wicklow game they looked like a team and even in first game v carlow but they had work to do and I said replay would bring them on and it did just that.
What I'm really looking forward to is heading down to paddypower in afternoon. 4/1 my eye. Put up a price like that and get deservedly taken to cleaners hahahahahaha.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 02/07/2012 10:10:03    1207077

02/07/2012 10:00:39
royaldunne

Classapart. That is my main fear. They will treat this as the leinster. To be honest dublin are the real deal, forget about been rusty yesterday. Look at how even playing well below their standards they still won. The have massive strength in depth (something we are acquiring but our lads still very young an inexperienced).
I pray the go out again all guns blazing and put it upto dublin. Who knows we might squeak it but I am a lot less confident than I was against kildare.
This time we are playing a real top 4 team probably no 1. This is a massive ask. But one I hope we can achieve.

Meath will raise there game 10% against us. This Meath team have great potential. They will more than put it up to us. My biggest fear if Connolly gets suspended we have no game charges like Kev Mc on the bench. But after watching the young lads for Meath I would look at starting Kilkenny. Eoghan O'Gara against Kevin Reilly now that would be well worth watching.

bluedubstar (Dublin) - Posts: 835 - 02/07/2012 10:10:53    1207078

Id love to see kilkenny play. Meaths young plaers were because of all the injuries I'm sure many of the older guys are now worried about getting place back

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 02/07/2012 10:52:43    1207126

Ah well.. jimbo is right again.

Well done to Meath. Thats a huge blow for Kildare and especially the management. Questions have to be asked...

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20763 - 02/07/2012 12:01:17    1207170

Meath showed how to play football yesterday, the best footballing display this year, fast and long ball into the corners. Jack O' Connor take note please.

Cute_Kerry_Hoor (Kerry) - Posts: 2518 - 02/07/2012 12:58:00    1207237

mcgeeney playing long ball ?

curnew (Wicklow) - Posts: 449 - 02/07/2012 14:03:20    1207326

with all the talk about the young players I think it has to be said that Brian Farrell, Joe Sheridan and Graham Reilly all payed very well yesterday too

s goldrick (Cavan) - Posts: 5522 - 02/07/2012 14:11:07    1207339

s goldrick

with all the talk about the young players I think it has to be said that Brian Farrell, Joe Sheridan and Graham Reilly all payed very well yesterday too

Yes agree was a total team performance, but the thing was Kildare had marked out Brian and Graham being the biggest threat as they were the main men v Wicklow and Carlow. They paid no heed to the younger playes, probably never heard of most of them and thats why they played so well. Reilly didn't actually get on the ball that much but every time he did he neary scored I think he got 3 in the end. Brian was being marked pretty tight also.

ClassApart (Meath) - Posts: 1200 - 02/07/2012 14:35:37    1207369

Kildare aren't finished by a long shot and I think they'll still make the quarter-finals. They'll regroup like they did in 2010 and last year after losses and every game they play against weaker counties will only make them strong. I wouldn't like to face them again after they gain momentum.

proevo (Meath) - Posts: 296 - 02/07/2012 15:23:04    1207445

To all posters on hs and mainly Kildare ones I think you all owe royaldunne an apology for the abuse you gave him the last two weeks. Royaldunne you know your stuff everything you said was spot on. Anyway that's the end of the love in with yous. I hate Meath people I hate everything about the royal county see you in the Leinster final we owe you big time. Hard luck to Kildare who don't turn into a bad thing over night. A good draw in the qualifiers and you will be right back in the race for Sam. The sj transfer has really been no good for this Kildare team.

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 02/07/2012 15:46:24    1207453

Kelf what game were you watching?? Wexford missed chances to win by 6/8 points are you serious?? So your just going to ignore all our missed chances? If we had of taken our chances we would have won by 10. Come on man stop being such a hater.

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 02/07/2012 15:58:13    1207461

1207461 Kelf what game were you watching?? Wexford missed chances to win by 6/8 points are you serious?? So your just going to ignore all our missed chances? If we had of taken our chances we would have won by 10. Come on man stop being such a hater.

1207453 To all posters on hs and mainly Kildare ones I think you all owe royaldunne an apology for the abuse you gave him the last two weeks. Royaldunne you know your stuff everything you said was spot on. Anyway that's the end of the love in with yous. I hate Meath people I hate everything about the royal county see you in the Leinster final we owe you big time. Hard luck to Kildare who don't turn into a bad thing over night. A good draw in the qualifiers and you will be right back in the race for Sam. The sj transfer has really been no good for this Kildare team.
02/07/2012 15:58:13

Go back to bed Clondalkindub

Breffni40 (Cavan) - Posts: 12440 - 02/07/2012 16:18:38    1207489

Its a fair point by clondalkin, if Dublin had of put away those goal chances Wexford would've folded long before the end, but they didn't, just like Wexford didn't put their frees away, result stands!

lilypad (Kildare) - Posts: 1363 - 02/07/2012 16:27:01    1207503

Ah come on breff I'm obviously having the Craic with the Meath fans. Breff what sort of reception will sj get when yous meet the Lillies?

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 02/07/2012 16:28:37    1207505

Was I at the game ?????????????

Yes and I know what I saw in both games.

Wexford absolutely threw it away. Not impressed by the Dubs.

Highly impressed by Meath, with all their young stars.

So, yes, Meath to win.

KELF (Kildare) - Posts: 775 - 02/07/2012 16:43:50    1207530

Hey Kildare lads,

You know how when a player scores a goal, and as he's wheeling away, he puts his hand to his ear as he looks at the opposing fans?

Well, I'm doing that right now!

Hahahah!

mightymeath1 (None) - Posts: 50 - 02/07/2012 17:09:12    1207565

So you seen all our missed chances? We had 3 clear goal scoring chances that we missed and Bernard couldn't score for the life of him. We also had a man sent off (it's time to grow up dermo) and yet now were no good and Meath will beat us. My god it really is a crazy world, how can people be so fickle after a game, one week your the best team in ireland next week your the worst.What do people want to see from us? Do we have to hammer every team we play? Seriously Kelf did you ever think Dublin won with there two best players having bad games , and with a man down for most of the second half, so what will they be like the next day when they have 15 players and the two Brogans playing well and micheal Dara on from the start. Micheal Dara most underrated player in Ireland by the way.

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 02/07/2012 17:16:32    1207572