Cill Dara v An Mhi

I'm sure people from Meath and Dublin would love to see this great rivalry renewed

ziggy32001 (Meath) - Posts: 8354 - 01/07/2012 20:53:21    1206745

Gammy Knee, any chance you could wish Dublin all the best before the Leinster final? As someone pointed out, every Meath championship game you wished the opposition all the best, we've won.
HON THE ROYALS!!!!

Ratoath Royal (Meath) - Posts: 1391 - 01/07/2012 20:56:39    1206757

Hello everyone :-).

Congrats to Meath. I'll admit I didn't see it coming but credit where its due. We were cleaned out at midfield which was the basis of the Meath win. Makings of a great Leinster final.

sedico (Kildare) - Posts: 1682 - 01/07/2012 21:04:14    1206771

Sedico

Gillespie surprised me and Tobin won an awful lot of breaking ball,but Meade was poor..

With Meath it's a case of can they put in two good displays back to back...

ziggy32001 (Meath) - Posts: 8354 - 01/07/2012 21:10:07    1206788

The so called experts have got it all wrong. Yest and today has proven that. Kildare beat a Tyrone team in the league final and suddenly Kildare were up in the top 4/5 teams. The truth as we now know is that Tyrone had started preparing for their championship opener with Armagh and werent one bit worried about a division 2 trophy. they had already topped the league table. Donegal are the ones to beat along with Cork After watching 20mins of todays match I had to leave but at that stage it was obvious who was the hungrier team. Meath was playing far the better stuff and I wasent surprised to learn the result.

border Gael (Monaghan) - Posts: 920 - 01/07/2012 21:14:44    1206804

Don't have the program on front of me but think it was Forde who was like speedy gonzales throughout the game. Very very pacey. Gillespie caught some great ball ok as did Mention who incidentally doesn't look thta tall going by the programme.

Had a good long think about the game during my 2 and a half hour journey home and I couldn't take any positives out of the game. Meath looked the hungrier side to me and if I was being honest six points probably flattered us. Ah well thats sport.

sedico (Kildare) - Posts: 1682 - 01/07/2012 21:18:59    1206814

We were told we had a cheek to even contemplate a meath win and that we had the cheek to say we could beat the mighty kildare.
We didn't beat them we stuffed them, another year without leinster lads? Who are the deluded ones now?
We played very well. There is no hard luck stories from kildare. If the want to look for reasons look at some of the decisions from the sideline. Why was doyle left on when keoghan was taking him to cleaners? Why was earley brought into ff menton never gave him a sniff neither did reilly. Also earley may have a meeting later on in week.
The clear better manager today was banty , got every call right. Lenehan was not having a good day banty saw it and replaced him with harrington.
Lyons, doyle, and a few others were left on even though the were been outplayed. Why?
Joe brolly said (and hs can check this before the post this) that there is a sort of cult thing around mcgeeney what he says goes. You are not allowed to question him, now ok this was in relation to sj. But I think anyone on hs can see this goes to the heart of every kildare supporter. You say nothing that is perceived as negative re geezer as they call him. If kildare are to improve under him this must change. No one is above reproach.
Meath may have done the lilies a favour today. Grow a pair and ask why? Why sj? And why another 100 times.
Meath showed they had the natural forwards, it is obvious why sj was brought to kildare. They don't have forwards. Well develop them from within like banty has done with forde, carroll, etc. That's what a good manager does and if you not up to it bring in help, like banty did. And I am so happy to be eating my words in relation to banty. Well done seamus you proved a lot of people wrong including me and I'm delighted that you did.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 01/07/2012 21:34:04    1206848

sedico

Fair play Sedico. Hard luck today.

Jinxie (Meath) - Posts: 6347 - 01/07/2012 21:35:22    1206852

no silverware was won today............you'd have to say that after today's two semis meath would have to be the overwhelming favourites going into the final now.......I FANCY MEATH TO WIN IT NOW.............BEST OF LUCK IN THE FINAL

Gammy_Knee (USA) - Posts: 1482 - 01/07/2012 21:39:53    1206858

We seen today why kildare are not what they are made out to be. This bit about being the fittest team ever was shown today to be much exaggerated. How anyone can be saying they are in the top 3 in the country is beyond me.
Fair play to meath, took their chances and didnt buy into the kildare hype for a second.

TheMaster (Mayo) - Posts: 16187 - 01/07/2012 21:50:52    1206877

Why Bluedubstar? I'm an out and out Lily and I agree 100% with Hangsandwich. Well done Meath the better team won today and there's no doubt about that and the best of luck in the Leinster Final. Banty outmanouvered Geezer to day and there's no doubt about that either. As for Royaldunne a bit of magnanimity would not go astray and why were you so worried about the referee, he didn't do ye any harm today.

OntheWhiteSide (Kildare) - Posts: 452 - 01/07/2012 21:53:57    1206887

Hey royaldunne, do you still think we'll hammer ye in the LF?

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8808 - 01/07/2012 21:58:14    1206897

hard to believe we still have 8 or 9 players to come back from injury , great performance from the young lads who really stepped up to the mark , bring on Dublin !

AN MHI ABU :D

M.Simoncelli (Meath) - Posts: 126 - 01/07/2012 21:58:16    1206898

Come on you Royals!!!!

mightymeath1 (None) - Posts: 50 - 01/07/2012 22:00:12    1206903

This was posted as a new thread but as the subject matter already exists it has been incorporated here.

kildaregirl
Kildare

Kildare vs Meath :/

I was at the game in Croker today.... Very Dissapointing!!
Bad decisions made by management really.....

Who brings on an injured player ( Rob Kelly ) with 10 minutes to go?!!!!
Why change Tomas O Connor and James Kavanagh?!! They were probably the only two players on the team who were trying today....
And then to bring on Dermot Earley into full forward when we have NO mid field?!!!!!
In my opinion Tomas O Connor could have dropped out to mid field... He plays mid field for his club ( Clane ) so why not give it a try for his county?!!

Can anyone please explain these decisions!!!!!

Administrator (None) - Posts: 2275 - 01/07/2012 22:00:40    1206906

We were well beaten yesterday. Even if Flynn hadn't been sent off I felt Meath would still win. Fair play to them, everything was stacked against them coming into this game and they proved everyone wrong.

Disappointed, but still optimistic we can recover and have a good run in the qualifiers. Would be nice to meet again.

St.Conleth (Kildare) - Posts: 1730 - 02/07/2012 08:06:11    1206910

Look I'm going to be gracious in victory, I've had my rant yesterday.
Today I will wish kildare well in the back door. I never bought into the whole kildare top 4 team thing, I also never think its a good idea to give one person absolute power. And hear is probably where kildare have been let down. Criticism is good sometimes and you can't be afraid to criticise in case he walks away.
Martin mchugh said last night there was a reason why both boylan and banty wanted meath job so badly.
I was laughed at for saying earlier in week that gillespie, forde, carroll, menton, tobin , would be household names in the future. All I have to say is they performed like seasoned pros yesterday. Meath have massive strength in depth with awesome young talent coming through. I also said I can't see this year as ours (I hope I'm wrong). But the future of meath football looks healthier than it was thought by many pundits. Again best wishes to kildare , shook hands with many of them yesterday. But ask a few tough questions of management lads. It did us no harm.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 02/07/2012 08:21:22    1206913

Congrats to Meath on their win yesterday. I'll admit, like many others I could only see a Kildare win because of their midfield dominance & because the royals had a lot of injurys. But Meath were brillant around the middle yesterday, especially Conor Gillespie who was immense. Their young players also played without fear and really were excellent for the 70 minutes.

Back to the drawing board for Kildare, but they have a serious record in the qualifiers and should be well able to get back to the Q/F in August. Im hoping they meet my neighbours Kerry at some stage. That would be an interesting match. While if Meath keep that level of performance up for the Leinster final, then they should give the Dubs a right rattle.

On a side issue, thank god Michael Collins is from Cork because he can't ref any of our matches. He was brutal for both teams yesterday. Some very bad calls yesterday & none more so than his timing of blowing up for half time.

Rebel.Og (Cork) - Posts: 519 - 02/07/2012 08:38:51    1206920

Great performance by meath yesterday but i wont be getting carried away, we have to play the all ireland champions next.

atta (Meath) - Posts: 708 - 02/07/2012 09:14:20    1206961

Yes Royaldunne fairplay for having such belief in those young players. Hopefully it was not a once off and that they can keep it up. I knew they were ones for the future but wasn't sure if they would shine or not yesterday. Also don't think this Meath team are a division division 3 team, I wish they would take the league more seriously but thats the way, Meath were always a Chamionship team.

I though Keoghan was IMMENSE yesterday - great ability to get the ball off a player without fouling, didn't even pick up a yellow. He did it against Wicklow and Carlow but I thought against stronger players he would not be able for it but he was excellent. All Star corner back performance, he marked Johnny Doyle out of it and thats not easy, even if the years are catching up on him, he still has buckets of experience at this level. Keoghan didn't feature in the league at all and to do what he did in Croke Park deserves great credit.

I think McGeeney had his eye totally off our younger players. He obviously didn't pass any remarks of them after the Carlow game and was too busy trying to stop Reilly and our hightest scorer Farrell. That element of surprise will be gone for the Dublin game so it will be a much more difficult task. For Meath now I hope they don't think this is their Leinster and that they give the Dubs a good game. They are All Ireland Champs and are a different animal to Kildare in that they are just as fit, but have a few good footballers in the Brogans etc. One thing I like about this Meath team is that they are not depending on 6/7 players to win games. Very few teams could have beaten Kildare yesterday with the amount of players we had missing, so well done lads.

ClassApart (Meath) - Posts: 1200 - 02/07/2012 09:29:06    1206989