Cill Dara v An Mhi

I don't think Dermot Earley will start, his role is more of an impact sub now. Darryl Flynn to come in for Doyle maybe and Callaghan if hes fit but doubt he'll be risked. Can't see Bolton playing midfield due to his size so he'll switch with Doyle? Don't know much about this new Doyle lad so just a guess. That's why maybe Flynn will come in. Is Hugh Lynch injured? hes a loss if he is. He's probably one of a few out and out Kildare midfielders. If thats the team that plays I'd be hopeful of winning a bit of possession around midfield as Bolton and Kelly will be smaller than the likes of Meade, Gillespie, Byrne and Biggy. Still though, It seems likely that O'Neill or one of the 2 Doyle's will be at MF

proevo (Meath) - Posts: 296 - 27/06/2012 15:12:04    1203599

Not a pups chance of Earley starting in midfield...he may get 15/20 mins and that would probably depend on how the game is panning out and what is required of him. Theses days McGeeney usually uses him up in the forward line as opposed to midfield for height advantage and ball winning ability. In saying that if he was given a job to do in midfield i'd say he'd take your hand off....just don't think management are looking at that option. Hugh Lynch is still working his way back. Has played a few club games and by all accounts is still a little off the pace required. That leaves us with Flynn who is hopefully by now returning to full fitness. Hope we get a full 70 from him on Sunday as he's a vital cog in the wheel. Its anyones guess as to who would partner Flynn (pending fitness) in the middle??

Rob Kelly.....good primary ball winner but not so good with the breaks or winning dirty ball, height vs Meath could be tricky.
John Doyle...would do a job no doubt but would rather see him in a forward role getting on the score sheet.
Paudie O'Neill....very capable and does all the basics very well. Is able to carry the ball forward or break into space due to his pace.
Ronan Sweeney....Is very capable on his day but against really good opposition in Croke Park could be found wanting.
Emmet Bolton...just cant picture that senario at all??

What ye reckon?

Kildare30 (Kildare) - Posts: 603 - 27/06/2012 15:51:11    1203640

The team is the same 15 that started the last day. Forget about the order in their named. You can guarantee if that's the 15 that starts they will be in the same positions as they were against Offaly.

Foley full back, Bolton wing back, Rob Kelly and Paidi O'Neill midfileld and young Eoin Doyle lining out at wing forward but dropping back to help the midfield/half-back line.

Any changes will be direct replacements with the likes of Flynn, Leper , Smith and Chalky pushing for a starting place. Earley will definitely not start but will definitely get on as some point in the game.

doublehop (Kildare) - Posts: 4172 - 27/06/2012 15:54:33    1203645

27/06/2012 15:51:11
Kildare30

Not a pups chance of Earley starting in midfield...he may get 15/20 mins and that would probably depend on how the game is panning out and what is required of him.

I said it before and I'll say it again a savage player to bring in at any time of the match. I probably be killed for saying this but Cindy would of have been a good option for Meath to bring of the bench in the last ten to steady the ship for Meath.

bluedubstar (Dublin) - Posts: 835 - 27/06/2012 15:59:34    1203647

Good accurate assessment doublehop.

Kildare30 (Kildare) - Posts: 603 - 27/06/2012 16:04:59    1203656

Bolton is obviously expected to mark G Reilly so I'm guessing thats why he's named midfield. Kildare wont make the same mistake as Wicklow by putting a midfielder on him.

ClassApart (Meath) - Posts: 1200 - 27/06/2012 17:01:35    1203725

georgelee
County: Louth

Best wishes to the Kildare lads on Sunday.

Out of the 3 championship matches for meath that you've wished the opposition luck we've not lost!! lucky wee omen maybe?

BettystownRoyal (Meath) - Posts: 3353 - 27/06/2012 18:18:46    1203799

St.Conleth

BettystownRoyal

I see what you did there but let's be realistic RoyalDunne is a hero in Meath and we all stand by what he says. Him and Dubbydave will have quite the bant in the pub after the game.

Are you suggesting that Royaldunne represents the majority of Meath supporters views through these forums ?

That's what I said. Every last royal stands behind every last word he says so he represents our county in a way.

BettystownRoyal (Meath) - Posts: 3353 - 27/06/2012 18:26:03    1203803

Interesting video made by hoganstand previewing the game. worth a look

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=317g-fSiiU4

The Kildare player andrew mcloughlin makes some good points. Seems like a very likable character. He pointed out that he thought last year would be his last chance of silverware and they need something to show for the huge sacrifice made by the players and their families.

There is huge pressure on Kildare to beat Meath and I think this is a must win game. There is hardly any talk of the game in Meath compred to other years and a small crowd will travel. I hope this is a good thing and works in our favor.

BettystownRoyal (Meath) - Posts: 3353 - 27/06/2012 18:41:02    1203815

royaldunne

I will dissapoint you. Having lived in Kildare for 40 years I will support them other than when they play Offaly.

In fact I have always supported Leinster teams when they play semis, finals etc v teams from other provinces, the Dubs as I worked there) and even (God help me) M**th

It that is not to your liking , tough. I will support the teams I want, not who you decide. Try to bully somebody else now.

Check back a few pages: in one post you had 5 excuses, that is whinging in my book.

KELF (Kildare) - Posts: 775 - 27/06/2012 19:22:43    1203837

Now kelf no need to get uppity just cause you deserted your home county (offaly) in there hour of need, for the more competitive kildare. Bit of bad form in my view. But if that's what your like nothing offaly can do about it.
As for me I've left my native county a long time now 25 years to be precise and apart for a brief return I have been away from my beloved royal. Never once supported another county with near the same commitment or enthusiasm. Could never bring myself to do it.
Royal to the bone until the day I die and I am returned to the soil of the royals.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 27/06/2012 20:02:41    1203864

E27/06/2012 18:41:02

BettystownRoyal

Interesting video made by hoganstand previewing the game. worth a look

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=317g-fSiiU4

The Kildare player andrew mcloughlin makes some good points. Seems like a very likable character. He pointed out that he thought last year would be his last chance of silverware and they need something to show for the huge sacrifice made by the players and their families.

There is huge pressure on Kildare to beat Meath and I think this is a must win game. There is hardly any talk of the game in Meath compred to other years and a small crowd will travel. I hope this is a good thing and works in our favor.

Excellent point bettystown.
Have said this all along. The pressure on kildare is huge compared to meath. Now the lads on hear have been trying to play it down. But there's the prove from there own player.
The pressure is immense on kildare and mcgeeney. Its now or never.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 27/06/2012 20:12:13    1203876

I think there's a big difference between saying there's pressure in Kildare and saying it's now or never. As far Andriu's career goes he's probably self-aware enough to recognise there are other players likely to take his spot that may be the case but apart from Doyle this Kildare team is young enough, have a good underage pedigree and should be there or thereabouts for a few years yet.

doublehop (Kildare) - Posts: 4172 - 27/06/2012 21:03:59    1203923

Doublehop. I recall same been said of mayo in 96.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 27/06/2012 21:22:08    1203938

Either way MacLochlann is married with a young family and that's clearly what he's talking about in the clip, how many years he's going to give it himself. He's not talking about Kildare's chances of sustaining a challenge at the top or the pressure the team is or isn't under to deliver. Kildare are under more pressure than Meath, fair enough I'll accept that but that will always comes with expectancy and good form. The fact that a lot of Meath's support have written off this teams chances isn't a preferable scenario to me.

doublehop (Kildare) - Posts: 4172 - 27/06/2012 21:38:41    1203956

jesus I hope this match doesn't end in a draw. Imagine having four in row with you lot bating each on this thread, you'll break the Internet. And to add some spice it looks like SJ will start or get on at some stage, small article in the Indo regrading him reverting to his second love of the small ball.

bluedubstar (Dublin) - Posts: 835 - 28/06/2012 08:58:44    1204003

Just think this game is make or break for kildare. They least they would be looking for is a leinster final spot and maybe a upset against the dubs.
If they fall at this hurdle it will be end of any hope of silverware this season, as not even the most optimistic fan would say they could win a all ire.
Serious pressure. Meath on other hand have nothing to loose, team missing 11 players through injury , 6/7 of the 15 in first season all in all a very young team with a sprinkle of experience. Our year is not this and most people know that including players. They will throw everything at kildare and I just think the pressure will tell. With kildare reverting to type and kicking wide after wide.
And mcgeeney making errors in rush substitutions and positional changes.
could be wrong but this is how I see the game panning out

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 28/06/2012 09:25:28    1204012

Just think this game is make or break for kildare. They least they would be looking for is a leinster final spot and maybe a upset against the dubs.
If they fall at this hurdle it will be end of any hope of silverware this season, as not even the most optimistic fan would say they could win a all ire.
Serious pressure. Meath on other hand have nothing to loose, team missing 11 players through injury , 6/7 of the 15 in first season all in all a very young team with a sprinkle of experience. Our year is not this and most people know that including players. They will throw everything at kildare and I just think the pressure will tell. With kildare reverting to type and kicking wide after wide.
And mcgeeney making errors in rush substitutions and positional changes.
could be wrong but this is how I see the game panning out

We will win the all Ireland.......... FACT

Kildareby10 (Kildare) - Posts: 92 - 28/06/2012 09:40:14    1204017

royaldunne

Our year is not this and most people know that including players.

If the Meath players have that type of attuide going into championship, then its not surprising ye have won nothing since the Leinster champ in 2001.

Rebel.Og (Cork) - Posts: 519 - 28/06/2012 09:40:51    1204018

KELF

royaldunne

I will dissapoint you. Having lived in Kildare for 40 years I will support them other than when they play Offaly.

In fact I have always supported Leinster teams when they play semis, finals etc v teams from other provinces, the Dubs as I worked there) and even (God help me) M**th

It that is not to your liking , tough. I will support the teams I want, not who you decide. Try to bully somebody else now.

Check back a few pages: in one post you had 5 excuses, that is whinging in my book.

Kelf you're a true GAA man with a sincere interest in the fares of other counties and the promotion of the GAA. A man like Royaldunne/bobjaffa will never be able to understand this so you're wasting your time trying to explain anything to him.

St.Conleth (Kildare) - Posts: 1730 - 28/06/2012 09:44:48    1204019