Tyrone v Armagh

Great to see the kick passing coming back into Ulster football !!

Cavan_Slasher (Cavan) - Posts: 10253 - 11/06/2012 11:07:19    1191477

MissDownFanatic
County: Down

1191438 Woah woah, Down jealous of Tyrone????? Well that has made me laugh something shocking.

Would you rather be third in Division one or come top of Division two unbeaten bar the final (been there done that by the way)
Who has most recently got to an All Ireland final?
Who had to depend on the back door to gain two all irelands? (and depend on diving to win another)

To sum it up, Tyrone fans can come back and argue when they have five all irelands to their name.

Well Fanatic, explain why is it that Down people hate the sight of Tyrone? Look at the language there that you have just posted, i can feel the anger and hate in your words. Whats it all about if not jealousy? Never would you hear a Down person supporting Tyrone if we make an all ireland final or semi. Ross Carr i remember said before the Kerry, Tyrone final in 2008 that Kerry would win it. Is there a Superiority Complex in Down when it comes to gaelic football. Do you only support Down and any other team that plays against Tyrone? Sad stuff

cacsmckilly (Tyrone) - Posts: 1294 - 11/06/2012 11:08:02    1191478

Great game of football. One incident I notied by Peter Harte fell to the grounf holding his face when the reply showed in got a knock to the chest.....now it was not the worst incident of this type I have seen (Our own Donal Vaughan has done worse in the League Final) but why ignored by the sunday game panel.....Brolly of course didnt mention it

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11747 - 11/06/2012 11:12:01    1191485

10/06/2012 19:19:44
Lifford Gael

1191157 Some Tyrone posters losing the run of themselves I think....two best teams in Ulster....?..... Think you're forgetting the Ulster Champions who beat ye out the gate at semi final stage last year...:-)

What planet are you on? Tyrone were by far the better team last year. Donegal only won after McCloone took Joe McMahon out of it and Molloy stole the game with a late goal. Tyrone missed chance after chance that day. But sure keep thinking Donegal are the better team. You will get a fierce reality check in a couple of weeks!

paddywack09 (Tyrone) - Posts: 150 - 11/06/2012 11:31:29    1191509

Tyrone dont have to fear any team in Ulster but they will have to play like they did today against Armagh. The other counties will not fear Tyrone either so I guess as usual it will be on the day.

Byanthon (Tyrone) - Posts: 1792 - 11/06/2012 12:01:53    1191558

Typical of SOME Tyrone fans. Put forward a valid criticism of their team and it's immediately seized upon as evidence of a Tyrone prejudice, get over yourselves.

artisan (Down) - Posts: 1795 - 11/06/2012 12:02:11    1191559

Great post 8596, great post.

TheGateKeeper (Tyrone) - Posts: 2843 - 11/06/2012 15:07:09    1191858

I can't understand all this bitching and whining to be honest. Yesterday I watched two fabulous games of football both of which Armagh could be proud of their performances and could justifiably be aggrieved at losing. Tyrone also played some excellent football in both games and I have to say it is a fair while since I enjoyed such a days football. The standard was very good, committment total and atmosphere brilliant. The hospitality in the Pearse Og's club was brilliant and the venue as a whole was easy in and out of, had good facilities and good seating. Now, whether or not Tyrone or Armagh are the best two teams in Ulster, we will have to wait and see. Donegal are a side very difficult to beat and deservedly are considered favourites. However, such is the beauty of Ulster that it would not surprise me one iota to see Derry turn them over next week. Down are also a good side although possibly more inconsistent than Donegal and Tyrone, however they are fully capacble of beating anyone (bar Cork) on their day. Again, it would not surprise me to see Monaghan beat them, and Antrim should have beaten Monaghan. The point is that Ulster is supremely competitive and for this we should be thankful.

When you watch the facile game that was played between the two giants in Munster and look at what their final pairing is, I'm glad that Ulster provides such competition. There is not one of the 5 counties left in the Ulster championship that would be confident beyond doubt of reaching the Ulster final and no matter who gets there the final will be a tense nail biting affair. In a year when an air of negativity has surrounded our games lets celebrate when we see the type of play witnessed in the Athletic Grounds yesterday. Given what we had to endure from Poznan later on last night we should be grateful for what we have

omaghredhand (Tyrone) - Posts: 3656 - 11/06/2012 16:38:42    1191954

County: Armagh

Sorry man I simply have to challenge you on some points made here. You state that Down's record of AI titles is based on one penalty decision in one match. What a load of cods wallop! You are talking about a team that is widely accepted as being one of the greatest ever to play the game. A team that changed gaelic football forever, and for the better. Paddy Doherty from Armagh! yeah right.

You have a nerve stating "help create sportsmanship, fraternal relationships and harmony in our G A A. Thats what I want to see rather than sone of the infantile posts " and you come out with this load of bull. If ever I seen jealousy in print, this is it. Eat your heart out man.

ballybannongael (Down) - Posts: 547 - 11/06/2012 16:38:54    1191955

Yes a great game as anticipated. I did fancy Tyrone and have stated previously that they are real contenders for Sam this year. Armagh's new stadium is producing some great games as last years match between Armagh & Down. It does create a great atmosphere.
Can Armagh make a go of it thru the qualifiers? I believe so but it really is the luck of the draw. A good win v decent opposition could really get them motoring

ballybannongael (Down) - Posts: 547 - 11/06/2012 17:12:32    1191985

So is Ross Carr not entitled to an opinion? Look I can't speak on behalf of the whole of Down but peronsally speaking, I can't stand the sight of Tyrone. They won three All Irelands in the previous decade and tried to compare themselves to the Down 1960s team who have three All Irelands through the front door, in other words, Won ALL the championship matches. Tyrone are known all over ireland for their diving and overacting to win free kicks, get opposition booked and even sent of. 

The so called great Peter Canavan always dived to win frees and penalties and even attempted to get two Kerry defenders sent off in 2003 before he went off himself after a dive went wrong. He also had his famous dive to secure a penalty in the Ulster final in against down.

Brian Mc Guigan got a down man sent off (Gregory McCartan) in the same game and did a great dive in the all ireland final to earn an easy free.

Sean Cavanagh got Derry man sent off that year too. 

Philip Jordan got away with the one of best dive of all time against Marsden.

The team are also encouraged to surround the referee if he blows up anything against Tyrone as well as getting them to waste time in holding the ball. in fact too many referees are scared of and intimidated by the Tyrone players and their fans who think they invented football in 2003

I believe Tyrone have introduced dirty tactics and pose a bad image on the GAA. (Especially after the Carrickmore + Dromore match along with Derrytresk) There is nothing wrong with a bit of handbag stuff during a match, it's almost natural but Tyrone bring the arguments and cheating to a new level. I suppose each player has got a away with something sneaky enough but thats on a rare occasion, Tyrone on the other Hand seem to have mastered getting the easy frees and diving perfecting and it's not a smart way or a tactical game they are playing, its a low standard, pitiful and frustrating thing to watch and experience. Tyrone have posed this image on themselves and although they believe that they will be remembered for this fantastic team who brought a change in football and inspired others, I will always remember Tyrone as the cheaters and divers of the previous decade and fair enough they brought a new change in football but definitely not for the better!

MissDownFanatic (Down) - Posts: 411 - 11/06/2012 17:14:53    1191989

paddywack09

1191509 10/06/2012 19:19:44
Lifford Gael

1191157 Some Tyrone posters losing the run of themselves I think....two best teams in Ulster....?..... Think you're forgetting the Ulster Champions who beat ye out the gate at semi final stage last year...:-)

What planet are you on? Tyrone were by far the better team last year. Donegal only won after McCloone took Joe McMahon out of it and Molloy stole the game with a late goal. Tyrone missed chance after chance that day. But sure keep thinking Donegal are the better team. You will get a fierce reality check in a couple of weeks!

I agree that Tyrone could have won that Ulster semi final last year. They missed alot of chances in that game.
However i also must agree with Joe Brolley's remarks yesterday, as I dont think Tyrone are in a position to match Dublin or Cork, or have a squad at present that can do that. Tyrone are still rebuilding, and have lost quality players through injury. And despite beating a good Armagh team, i think Tyrone need more time.
Armagh were unlucky yesterday though. They had the wind at their backs, and for a moment i thought they might steal it.

While i would be more confident that Donegal can do that.

GaryMc82 (Derry) - Posts: 3032 - 11/06/2012 17:31:55    1192012

Well done to Tyrone they took some great points near the end when there was nothing in it. Stephen O'Neill and Martin Penrose were very dangerous. I thought there would be more Cross players on the Armagh team. The greatest club side ever witnessed and only 2 players on the county team? Would Paul Kernan not be the man for fullback? James Morgan, David McKenna and Stephen Kernan and even supersub Kyle Carragher are others I would have thought worth a run? Are Cross resting their star players for the 3 in a row attempt?

Grey_Wolf (Leitrim) - Posts: 236 - 11/06/2012 17:33:29    1192014

Down must be worried , Moaning minnies from the Mourne's.

fortyfive (Tyrone) - Posts: 5929 - 11/06/2012 17:34:20    1192015

Worried? You mad? I'm praying for an Ulster Final against Tyrone!

MissDownFanatic (Down) - Posts: 411 - 11/06/2012 17:37:13    1192017

Ballybannongael

Yeah Paddy Doherty was one of the greatest players ever to have stood on a pitch , both on and off the field. As for jealousy ??? obvious you didnt read my post properly as the only reason I was in Dublin at the A I semifinal was to support Down , as Armagh were out. So how could I be jealous and still be supporting your team ?.. Talk sense man. And another thing what you say re sportsmanship , fair play , etc does that you dont agree with those sentiments. Yes, that was the sequence of events that day in 1960, there was only about 5 minutes of play time left and Down had been playing second fiddle to Offaly , when James Mc Cartan got his penalty and the rest is history. Reaching the All Ireland gave you's a huge boost, so much so that you's beat Kerry in the Final. And the momentum of that win carried over to the following year, ( I was there as well ) . I was delighted to see an Ulster team come up and win the A I Football at least, as only Cavan had previously won an A I. Can we not use this Forum for all that is good in G A A. You're from the North so you should know of the endless grind G A A people have just to get a few crumbs from the table and the allocation of Public Funds always seem to be put into other sports, and when you ask we are told "theres no money left"

8596 (Armagh) - Posts: 30 - 11/06/2012 18:01:48    1192032

I hohnestly think that Derry have every chance of beating us in a weeks time. There is this big chat of Tyrone playing us in a semi. It is all on the day as yesterday clearly showed. Armagh were very close. I think that if I were forced to pick an Ulster winner this year I would have to say Tyrone, but it would involve a hell of a lot of football to do it. Anyway, fair play to both teams on yesterdays game. It was a gud un.

Donegalman (None) - Posts: 3854 - 11/06/2012 18:10:07    1192047

Great game of ball yesterday. Very entertaining thought if armagh had of kept 15 men on the pitch and had off taken there chances it would of be a different outcome. In saying that tyrone do what they always do punish you and by going up the other end and taken there scores. Thought clarke was brilliant for armagh...

DUB1 (Dublin) - Posts: 5583 - 11/06/2012 18:24:35    1192062

Good game yesterday attacking intentions by both teams [hoping donegal adopt this not holding my breath] tyrone probably will get to ulster final it wouldnt surprizse me if we ambush donegal but not to concerned if we dont because having to beat donegal tyrone and possibly down its a big ask to win ulster this year you never know with derry always a big game in them then to lose the next one so i think tyrone will be favourites now for ulster.

93vintageyear (Derry) - Posts: 301 - 11/06/2012 20:06:24    1192177

MissDownFanatic
County: Down

Haven't we an Ulster Semi-Final first to be praying for? Lol.

MourneArmy (Down) - Posts: 1787 - 11/06/2012 20:55:33    1192248