Well done Laois U-21 hurlers.

fair play to laois lads stuck with the dubs all the way and got the 2 goals at the end well done,come on the dubs keep the heads up..

dubbydave. (Dublin) - Posts: 3927 - 07/06/2012 13:48:32    1188927

well done to lais what a fantastic result for them and for hurling as well just shows that they still have quality hurlers coming through i think next few years will see a big revival in laoises fortunes. also i dont think it has been mentioned yet but due to this result its going to be either carlow or laois in the final of leinster this year which in my own opinion will be a great occasion for either team to be involved in...

ITSCHOLAR (Carlow) - Posts: 314 - 07/06/2012 15:05:53    1188992

Could not agree with you more ITSCHOLAR, lets hope Carlow and Laois both keep up the good work that both are doing.

perfect10 (Wexford) - Posts: 3929 - 07/06/2012 15:56:33    1189037

Good point SCHOLAR. Very disappointed with Dublin last night but it is good to see Laois and Carlow getting to a final. Let's hope someone other than the Cats can win it this year. No offence to the said feline chaps!

hurlingdub (Dublin) - Posts: 6978 - 07/06/2012 16:39:12    1189080

considering the drubbings the seniors have endured this year and last year, with all these threads saying 'Where now for Laois hurling?' or something to that effect, well, here's your answer.

Terrific result for them, let's hope this is a good omen for Laois

gigoer (Wexford) - Posts: 1998 - 07/06/2012 16:51:47    1189093

I started the recent "Where Now for Laois hurling" but I was one of the 1st on here to congratulate their U-21's.

keeper7 (Longford) - Posts: 4088 - 08/06/2012 13:54:13    1189736

yeh fair play Laois

waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13655 - 08/06/2012 14:06:21    1189754

yeah great. Only just one thing Westmeath are far superior in underage hurling than laois for the last 4 years , its a bit strange that they were not let into the proper u21 this year, Like im not taking anything away from a great result, hurling in Laois needed it badly.

fonejacker (Kildare) - Posts: 315 - 08/06/2012 14:39:40    1189793

John Meyler kept Kerry in the U-21 'B' grade because he claimed they got more games & a longer season. Maybe that's Westmeath's reasoning. I'd certainly imagine they'd be competitive in the U-21 'A' grade these days.

keeper7 (Longford) - Posts: 4088 - 08/06/2012 15:00:29    1189829

A great win for Laois alright but isn't it a bit odd that not a single comment on this topic is from a Laois poster? There is also no mention of this shock victory on the Laois forum! I suppose they must all be still suffering from post-traumatic stress disorder after the senior game.

Gaillimh_Abu (Galway) - Posts: 1037 - 08/06/2012 16:52:17    1189947

Lot's of comments from Laois people on Laoistalk.com forum about this win. Hopefully it's a win that can be built on,. It's great to see all the nice comments particularly from Dublin supporters.

Leixonian (Laois) - Posts: 20 - 08/06/2012 17:45:48    1189980

Congratulations to all Laois men and women who have toiled hard and long and got their reward with this great win over a fancied Dublin. Its a great fillip for all involved in laois hurling from Clonnad to Rosenallis. Its giving hope to all involved in the so called weaker counties - like Carlow, Westmeath and laois.

As IT Scholar states its either Carlow or Laois in a Leinster final. Any victory over a 'major' team is special and it must have been extra special to finish in style at the end of the game the other night. Well done to all involved again. Its great to see our neighbour win a big game. After qwatching Laois fairly pummel Carlow in senior a few weks ago it shows that Laois is not too far behind the big counties when things go your way on the day.

carlowman (Carlow) - Posts: 1881 - 08/06/2012 18:18:15    1190011

Now Laois into the final after a hard fought win against Carlow.
Any chance in the final against the cats?

Southsham (Limerick) - Posts: 752 - 21/06/2012 09:33:45    1198967

Here is what I say about Kilkenny, can we please move them to Munster for 5 or 6 years so we can win something. God it's really disheartening every year at every level.

Nick (Wexford) - Posts: 1100 - 21/06/2012 11:31:40    1199036

By the way well done to Laois and best of luck against them in the final.

Nick (Wexford) - Posts: 1100 - 21/06/2012 11:32:24    1199037

KK will be hard beaten but again Laois will go in as big underdogs, struggled against Carlow who themselves have some nice hurlers. Laois were in a no win situation tonight I guess, win well and I suppose thats what was expected (No offence to Carlow)! But Carlow showed as I expected that they are only a puck of a ball away from laois in hurling circles.

Laois have the players to do damage, and if they go in with the same mindset as against the dubs then they wont be too far away, either way now!! Giant strides have been made this year and for once its the hurlers who are the talk of the county

Number7 (Laois) - Posts: 45 - 21/06/2012 12:19:23    1199078

laois were in a no win situation!!!!!!!!!! who do u think laois are? kilkenny!!!!!. the last time the 2 teams met in the leinster u21 2 years ago we won. carlow could & should have won this game last nite, led for most of the game and played the better hurling. laois were the bigger team & when it started raining it def suited them more. however best of luck in the final hope ye put it up to kk but by god ye got out of jail last nite

carlo (Carlow) - Posts: 277 - 21/06/2012 12:30:28    1199088

I guess he meant that Laois were favourites for last night's game by virtue of their win over Dublin. Kilkenny looked a class act last night (didn't see it all, mind) & noone will give Laois a chance now. It depends if Laois are happy enough just getting to the Leinster or if are they more ambitious than that.

keeper7 (Longford) - Posts: 4088 - 21/06/2012 13:34:31    1199146

Carlo getting a bit upset are we??? I was merley saying that Laois would be expected to have been comfortable winner by arm chair suporters as they would consider Carlow a weaker hurling county than Laois. I never said that was my feelings on the issue, and I am well aware of our previous record with Carlow and how often there is never much between us.

As far as I'm concerend the best team always wins! End of story so this thing about rain suiting laois is rubbish, Isnt there also an argument that the rain suits the better hurlers!!??

Great to see us both becoming more competitive! Long may it continue....

Number7 (Laois) - Posts: 45 - 22/06/2012 10:57:57    1199699