gigoer County: Wexford Posts: 1719
your completly going off what im making a point on that these guys represent the plastic paddys brigade not the people of ireland, also that we are probably the only country in the finals whos manager not irish would not view any player playing in the domestic league and yet when they sign pen to paper to move to britain get immediate call ups,i dont have to support a team of british rejects and plastic paddys its much choice
hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 08/06/2012 09:15:14
TheGateKeeper County: Tyrone Posts: 523
1189343 Aye, and it was buzzin for the english queen's visit last year clondalkin, it seems that dublin is always buzzin! ;)
yeah if you call buzzing been every drain and shore blocked massive security presence of gardai brought in from every county in ireland to stop anything happenning
hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 08/06/2012 09:17:02
Anyone know when will be the football qualifier draw?
Matthew (None) - Posts: 1084 - 08/06/2012 10:02:17
Exactly hill16. Gatekeeper seems to forget who agreed to permanent membership of the UK and which Deputy First Minister will be handing over a box of chocolates to HRM in a few weeks. I do beleive he represents part of the county of Tyrone ;-)
hurlingdub (Dublin) - Posts: 6978 - 08/06/2012 10:03:44
hill16no1man County: Dublin Posts: 1777
every newspaper ireland has worships england all year around be it x factor,premiership,strictly come dancing,big brother,celebrity get out here, the list goes on to the uk voice which was proven to be worse then the voice of ireland as the young fella out of fair city couldnt get by the second round here but made it to the final there
Great point except you left out Corrie, Emmerdale and Eastenders! Irish peole have an inferiority complex about all things Irish. Language, culture, music, heritage, sports, games etc...Its about time we regained a bit of pride as a nation, but I think its a bit late now!! There was an old saying about the Vikings in Ireland that they became more Irish than the Irish themselves, well we, collectively, have become more English than the English themselves - whether we like it or not!!
Culann (Dublin) - Posts: 2306 - 08/06/2012 10:08:57
Jeepers lads, leave the fully blown politics to politics.ie.
Culann (Dublin) - Posts: 2306 - 08/06/2012 10:11:13
Ah lads why can we not go one thread without descending into the usual political clap-trap? I don't like this thread's chances of surviving a lockdown til lunctime!
Lockjaw (Donegal) - Posts: 9819 - 08/06/2012 10:35:16
Hill I'm am working class no one have us free flags or bunting.
clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 08/06/2012 10:48:47
Bags packed, ready to go. Doubt I'll find anywhere to watch the Cork/Kerry & Armagh/Tyrone double header in Poznan though. Its a shame, because I was really looking forward to those games. But an opportunity like this is rare, no way was I going to turn down the chance to travel to a major championships. Why cant all our sports live in perfect harmony together? I dont see the problem
OffalyBigBall (Offaly) - Posts: 635 - 08/06/2012 11:56:01
OffalyBigBall County: Offaly Posts: 425
1189614 Bags packed, ready to go. Doubt I'll find anywhere to watch the Cork/Kerry & Armagh/Tyrone double header in Poznan though. Its a shame, because I was really looking forward to those games. But an opportunity like this is rare, no way was I going to turn down the chance to travel to a major championships. Why cant all our sports live in perfect harmony together? I dont see the problem
All the best big man! Jealous as! As for your last question have a wee read through the previous posts on this thread alone for your answer.
Lockjaw (Donegal) - Posts: 9819 - 08/06/2012 12:03:33
Culann County: Dublin Posts: 249
1189506 hill16no1man County: Dublin Posts: 1777
every newspaper ireland has worships england all year around be it x factor,premiership,strictly come dancing,big brother,celebrity get out here, the list goes on to the uk voice which was proven to be worse then the voice of ireland as the young fella out of fair city couldnt get by the second round here but made it to the final there
Great point except you left out Corrie, Emmerdale and Eastenders! Irish peole have an inferiority complex about all things Irish. Language, culture, music, heritage, sports, games etc...Its about time we regained a bit of pride as a nation, but I think its a bit late now!! There was an old saying about the Vikings in Ireland that they became more Irish than the Irish themselves, well we, collectively, have become more English than the English themselves - whether we like it or not!!
yes true its sad to see how bad alotof people are in ireland it all stems from our so called irish media if they were to promote anything in ireland as much as they promote the british stuff people would buy into it and we would have people watching our programmes instead,just look at the thousands of sheep who have bought into euro 2012 since the media has gone into overdrive on it
hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 08/06/2012 13:25:00
yes true its sad to see how bad alotof people are in ireland it all stems from our so called irish media if they were to promote anything in ireland as much as they promote the british stuff people would buy into it and we would have people watching our programmes instead,just look at the thousands of sheep who have bought into euro 2012 since the media has gone into overdrive on it hill16no1man , 08/06/2012 at 13:25
I was just looking on you tube at a load of Irish fans booing the English players as they arrive. They were given dogs abuse. This doesn't seem fair or make sense to me. These same Irish fans follow the English players' soccer leagues (and call them their own 'us', 'we, etc..), watch their programmes etc...They were also singing the fields of Anthenry with a sort of English twang.
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=QghVWu0d6Oo
It seem very hypocritical to me, after all it is the British they probably owe their culture to! It's a pity these same Irish people cannot express their Irishness by doing something thats uniqely Irish like going to see Kerry, Kilkenny, Tipp or the Dubs play or sing about Éire abú.
I know I am gereralising and steriotying but I'm just making my point.
Culann (Dublin) - Posts: 2306 - 08/06/2012 13:49:16
I agree with a lot of what you say Hill16no1man. Only a year ago people were largely apathetic towards the national soccer team after they were completely outplayed at home by Russia & Slovakia but a few facile wins later against very poor opposition (it sure was no Group of Death!) look at all the bandwagon-jumping that has gone on since. Having said that, I do hope they do the country proud & give us all a lift.
And what of our rugby "heroes"? Hardly a mention of them taking on the world champions in New Zealand. If we had won the Grand Slam this year there'd be a helluva lot more about it!!!
keeper7 (Longford) - Posts: 4088 - 08/06/2012 14:03:14
GAA coverage on our national broadcaster very poor!!! no mention of the Cork v Kerry Armagh v Tyrone and all the other matches on this Sat and Sunday on thr sports section of the RTE news at any time during this week. Soccer for obvious reasons and rugby was covered in a number of these same programmes. No build up on RTE for the Championship unlike the pre 6 Nations and pre Euro coverage. There no mention of GAA during the October to Jan period when soccer and rugby gets RTEs full attention unless there is a fight at some junior club match. There is very slight coverage by RTE during the league this is the only time when GAA coverage should come to the fore yet once again it gets the hind teet.
mod (Mayo) - Posts: 859 - 08/06/2012 14:03:52
All Ireland championship .. All day every single day
waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13654 - 08/06/2012 14:08:07
OffalyBigBall County: Offaly Posts: 425
1189614 Bags packed, ready to go. Doubt I'll find anywhere to watch the Cork/Kerry & Armagh/Tyrone double header in Poznan though. Its a shame, because I was really looking forward to those games. But an opportunity like this is rare, no way was I going to turn down the chance to travel to a major championships.
Why cant all our sports live in perfect harmony together? I dont see the problem
Because there are some folk in the GAA & its following who are too clannish, self centered and perhaps even greedy to think that our other sports have a right to exist.
Anyhoo, enjoy yourself out there, have a great time and fair play to you for giving them your support
gigoer (Wexford) - Posts: 1998 - 08/06/2012 14:15:00
just look at the thousands of sheep who have bought into euro 2012 since the media has gone into overdrive on it
So what? It's bringing about a bit of excitement and buzz in these terribly dreary times. More power to them I say!
Lockjaw (Donegal) - Posts: 9819 - 08/06/2012 14:34:30
Gigoer your statement beggars belief, All GAA followers want is fair play from our national broadcaster, Check out RTE player 6:01 news there is NO pre match coverage to very major GAA matches this weekend. It doesn't get much bigger than Cork v Kerry Tyrone v Armagh. Why? Lets deal with the facts here. To paraphrase yourself is it because there are some folk in RTE & its following who are too clannish, self centered and perhaps even greedy to think that our GAA have a right to exist. There is no coverage of GAA during Oct to Jan club championship ignored focus on Premiership and Heineken Cup + Rabo pro 12 + and autumn internationals. Minimal coveage of league football and hurling Jan to May focus on Premiership FA Cup Six Nations Heineken and Rabo. Now we are in June the heart of the GAA season and all week the focus is on Euro and New Zealand (rugby). We all pay a licence fee GAA are our national and most popular sports and are being starved of coverage unless it is negative.
mod (Mayo) - Posts: 859 - 08/06/2012 15:24:03
The following is the main sports page on the Irish Times website
http://www.irishtimes.com/sports/
These above headlines are on the home page as well without as much as a mention of Corcaigh in aghaidh Chiarraí, Ard Mhacha in aghaidh Thír Eoghain nó Gaillimh in aghaidh Shligigh but to name a few...and this is meant to be one of our better newspapers.
The following is the Independents main sports page
http://www.independent.ie/sport/
Not a mention of Gaelic games on either of them!
Culann (Dublin) - Posts: 2306 - 08/06/2012 15:56:50
Culann: I saw that video as well, and to be honest I thought it was pretty sad stuff. Of course the few who were jeering the English bus represent a tiny fraction of the Irish travelling to these games who will (hopefully!) be able to avoid this kind of nonsense.
With regard to our obsession with all things British, of course it goes well beyond pop culture. To find out what policies or initiatives the government is going to launch, you need only watch the BBC news the week before to see what's happening in Westminster. Our inability to look beyond Britain for inspiration is truly depressing and highlights, to me, the real lack of leadership that this country has suffered since Lemass. Haughey, it has to be said, had a few great ideas, like the Discovery Program, but for the most part our political class seems to be totally in thrall to our nearest neighbours. Of course that isn't to say the Brits aren't capable of the occasional stroke of brilliance, but to limit ourselves to them has stymied the political and social development of this country. Which is a real shame, because at heart, and historically, we're much more European in mindset than the British.
festinog (Galway) - Posts: 3151 - 08/06/2012 16:01:45