Euro 2012 vs AI Championship

Medway I can see your point about the diaspora. However, like hill16man, I just don't have any emotional attachment to them. Nothing against them mind you! But just don't find myself engaged in all of this. Whole flags and bunting thing is a bit false as well. Harmless enough I suppose.

hurlingdub (Dublin) - Posts: 6978 - 06/06/2012 20:10:28    1188553

ffgg
County: Longford

your attitude hill is both stupid and ignorant..of course none of them play in ireland or live there because the league is crap and they are obviously going to live in the country their league is in

so what your saying is the airtricity league is crap thats why nobody will support or watch it ok but the irish soccer team are crap too so why do the same people support them if their only interested in supporting good teams?
when was the last time longford won a provincial or all ireland title but yet you support them
can you see my point?

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 06/06/2012 20:26:53    1188563

ffgg

you cant associate with irish lads playing aussie rules either with that argument hill

obviously i dont play or watch the sport so why would i?

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 06/06/2012 20:28:08    1188564

hill16no1man

dublin to win sam and liam anyday over ireland
reop of ireland to me is of no interest i wouldnt support them because of a few facts
1 must be the only country in it with not 1 player playing in their domestic league
2 not 1 player on the irish panel or management possibly live in ireland
3 there is far too many non irish players play for ireland,its more like the british reserves team then rep of ireland,alot of the english born guys are not good enough to play for their own country so ireland gets them,now the management are not even from ireland,just like most of the managers through the years were english and now italian.i dont feel you can associate with guys like this

Fair enough man. I, like youself, would prefer to see Sam or Liam (especially Liam!) in Dublin in 2012.

However just a couple of points.

1. True we've no LoI players in the squad and I don't have the time or space to post about the reasons for the short comings of our domestic league! But there is a strong LoI connection in the squad. Stephen Ward (The Bohs), Shane Long (Cork City), Kevin Doyle (St. Pats/Cork City) and James McClean (Derry City) all came through in the league. Keith Fahey (St. Pats/Drogheda Utd) would've of been in the squad if it wasn't for injury too. Add Séamus Coleman (Sligo Rovers), who was knocking round the squad during the qualifying campaign and you'll see that the league is represented in a small way.

2. A lot of mangement teams aren't from the countries that they manage. Our own hurling manager doesn't live in Dublin!

3. We've 6 players not born in Ireland out of the 23. We'd only have 5 if Fahey was fit. Also Aiden McGeady could've easily played for Scotland but chose to represent the country of his people as he considers himself to be Irish. So imo the 'Plastic Paddy' element that has existed in the international team over the years isn't as big a thing as it used to be.

Now not trying to say anything about how you feel about the Irish team as that's up to you but just a couple of points about the reasons you've posted above man.

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13819 - 06/06/2012 20:44:58    1188570

gigoer
County: Wexford

Mes, it is absolutely NOT impossible for Ireland to get out of that group. I see it going one of 2 ways:

we beat Croatia something like 1-0 in a boring defensive game, we try to conatin Spain but lose & then try to score early against Italy and play 11-0-0 again & sneak through

Or, we draw against Croatia, lose against Spain and go hell for leather against Italy. Up to other results after that.

My prediction is we end up with 4 points and it not being enough. (We're doing a pool in work & that's how I worked mine out)

4 points could be enough but at the same time!

We're easily the fourth best team in the group but both the Croats and the Italians are beatable. Both teams could obviously also beat us though!!!

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13819 - 06/06/2012 20:47:52    1188574

MedwayIrish

londons participation i see generaly no harm i dont think county boards having to travel over like the idea of the cost like we saw in the league where i think was leitrim had to go over twice for 1 match cost effective,where as new york being in the championship is pointless realy,they have 1 match a year in connaught how are they ever going to get better when they have no games until the following year and is basicaly a holiday for the ref of the match.
yes but the attitude of the irish set up is to go down the granny rout famously said by steve staunton and trap agrees with this.
well take a person whose parents are from nigeria but the person was born rared and lives in ireland and more then likely never even visited nigeria why would they consider themselves nigerian,so yes if i was born in england i was born and live in england i would consider myself english just like alot of people whos parents are from differant countys they dont consider themselves from their father or mothers county.
dont pressume to think you know me or my family if people want to leave thats their choice good luck to them but it doesnt mean that becuase somebodys grandparents sisters dog was from ireland i should get out a green jersey and support them its my opinion

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 06/06/2012 20:50:20    1188578

MesAmis

Fair enough man. I, like youself, would prefer to see Sam or Liam (especially Liam!) in Dublin in 2012.

However just a couple of points.

1. True we've no LoI players in the squad and I don't have the time or space to post about the reasons for the short comings of our domestic league! But there is a strong LoI connection in the squad. Stephen Ward (The Bohs), Shane Long (Cork City), Kevin Doyle (St. Pats/Cork City) and James McClean (Derry City) all came through in the league. Keith Fahey (St. Pats/Drogheda Utd) would've of been in the squad if it wasn't for injury too. Add Séamus Coleman (Sligo Rovers), who was knocking round the squad during the qualifying campaign and you'll see that the league is represented in a small way.

2. A lot of mangement teams aren't from the countries that they manage. Our own hurling manager doesn't live in Dublin!

3. We've 6 players not born in Ireland out of the 23. We'd only have 5 if Fahey was fit. Also Aiden McGeady could've easily played for Scotland but chose to represent the country of his people as he considers himself to be Irish. So imo the 'Plastic Paddy' element that has existed in the international team over the years isn't as big a thing as it used to be.

Now not trying to say anything about how you feel about the Irish team as that's up to you but just a couple of points about the reasons you've posted above man.

yes and all of the above players were making a big impact on the domestic front and were not even considered for the squad unless they played with a british club.
so the league is not represented at all these players particularly fahey was playing here for a long time and with differant clubs and when moved over to britain was not young he did not improve his game he is the same player.
take murphy the goalkeeper he was playing with bohs and was deemed not good enough the week he signed for club in england he was called up for ireland you cannot believe he improved in one week of being there?
i agree and i have always disaproved of daly managing us and inter county managers not being from the county
we had alot more over the years looking back to most of the competitions ireland qualified for the teams were backboned by foreign players and foreign managers.
you say 5 players in squad but there was plenty more guys who helped get them to the finals by playing in the qualifiers who were not irish born.
i understand and everyone is entitled to their opinion i have no probelem having a good debate on them haha

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 06/06/2012 21:07:33    1188602

bad.monkey: "Rep of Ireland winning the Euros would be fantastic for the country, I'll make the patriotic decison and choose that over Dublin winning an All-Ireland"

Ah but if Dublin hadn't won the All- Ireland last year would you have said the above?

lilywhite1 (Kildare) - Posts: 3033 - 06/06/2012 21:23:12    1188620

Hurlingdub speaks for me on this matter. Thankfully being a resident in the US I will be spared the full impact of this event.

festinog (Galway) - Posts: 3151 - 06/06/2012 21:23:36    1188621

hill16no1man

yes and all of the above players were making a big impact on the domestic front and were not even considered for the squad unless they played with a british club.
so the league is not represented at all these players particularly fahey was playing here for a long time and with differant clubs and when moved over to britain was not young he did not improve his game he is the same player.
take murphy the goalkeeper he was playing with bohs and was deemed not good enough the week he signed for club in england he was called up for ireland you cannot believe he improved in one week of being there?
i agree and i have always disaproved of daly managing us and inter county managers not being from the county
we had alot more over the years looking back to most of the competitions ireland qualified for the teams were backboned by foreign players and foreign managers.
you say 5 players in squad but there was plenty more guys who helped get them to the finals by playing in the qualifiers who were not irish born.
i understand and everyone is entitled to their opinion i have no probelem having a good debate on them haha

No bother man.

I was just pointing out that the League has helped to develop some of players in the squad. Fahey is a good example of someone who didn't make it in England but came back and developed his game more here and then went over again.

I don't think there was any other non Irish-born player who participated in qualifying who isn't in the squad, although I'm open to correction on that.

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13819 - 06/06/2012 21:24:19    1188623

ffgg

i would have to disagree with you in relation to rugby gigoer..soccer has a way bigger feel of importance and magnitude around than any rugby match and we go into the tournament expecting to do terribly..there is nothing quite like a major soccer tournament...even the gaa cannot touch it

don't agree. despite the over the top media coverage nobody i know is talking or excited about it. meath to win any day. was in dublin today and there are 10 times less ireland flags up compared to belfast. nearly more dub ones.

if you lived in a big GAA county like meath dublin or kildare you might think differently about it.

BettystownRoyal (Meath) - Posts: 3353 - 06/06/2012 22:00:07    1188672

did my stint followin the national team all over the place..... id take the dubs double this year though

damodc43 (Dublin) - Posts: 9 - 07/06/2012 08:11:15    1188676

well take a person whose parents are from nigeria but the person was born rared and lives in ireland and more then likely never even visited nigeria why would they consider themselves nigerian,so yes if i was born in england i was born and live in england i would consider myself english just like alot of people whos parents are from differant countys they dont consider themselves from their father or mothers county.

-------------

I think your attitude would be considerably different if you were born and lived abroad. Many parents way of keeping their Irish roots and heritage when they are forced to emmigrate is by instilling in their children that they are Irish. This is especially true in places like Glasgow were all the Irish lived together, passing on the idea that they are Irish and not Scottish. It is their way of staying attatched to their homeland.

Moving from one county to another is not the same as being forced to emmigrate out of the island totally, and so that sense of identity is not as firmly instilled (if at all) on a county basis.

OgraAnDun (Down) - Posts: 406 - 07/06/2012 09:05:23    1188690

Betty that's a complete lie, there's no way there's more Dub flags up than Ireland blunting and flags in Dublin. Everywhere you go there's Ireland bunting and flags outside Dublin houses and everyone is talking about the euros in Dublin. Maybe I've picked you up wrong cause I'm only awake and just read your last post from last night.

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 07/06/2012 09:09:38    1188692

We should all get together and support the team no matter how boring they play. A good run by the team could really lift everyones spirit in the Country. Imagine the craic we'd all have in the pubs if they got out of the group or managed to beat the Spanish. I remember in 2002 the local pub opened at 6 for our first game, windows blocked and doors shut, room lit only by the tv and the opening of the toilet door. Great times.

Faithfull (Offaly) - Posts: 573 - 07/06/2012 09:10:38    1188694

im sick of hearing this nonsense that somehow a soccer team doing well lifts the country, it's media driven bs. at one stage they were claiming it started the economic recovery, it had nothing to do with it. with any luck croatia will give them a good hiding and they can all go home to england, nearly a quarter of the squad are not even irish. the plastic paddy's will be out in force this weekend following a sport that supports partition

Barrowsider (Carlow) - Posts: 1711 - 07/06/2012 10:00:31    1188734

i don't know why we are allways referred to as "the republic of Ireland" surely it should be "Ireland"

s goldrick (Cavan) - Posts: 5522 - 07/06/2012 11:28:25    1188799

ig·no·rance   Show Spelled[ig-ner-uhns] noun
the state or fact of being ignorant; lack of knowledge, learning, information, etc.

e.g.

Barrowsider
County: Carlow

1188734 im sick of hearing this nonsense that somehow a soccer team doing well lifts the country, it's media driven bs. at one stage they were claiming it started the economic recovery, it had nothing to do with it. with any luck croatia will give them a good hiding and they can all go home to england, nearly a quarter of the squad are not even irish. the plastic paddy's will be out in force this weekend following a sport that supports partition

Lockjaw (Donegal) - Posts: 9819 - 07/06/2012 11:32:32    1188803

It's not 'Ireland' though. Team represents the southern state not the whole island although many northern nationalists support it above the NI team.

hurlingdub (Dublin) - Posts: 6978 - 07/06/2012 11:33:52    1188806

Nicely done Lockjaw!

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13819 - 07/06/2012 11:50:17    1188815