Soccer supporters at GAA games

Hilarious listening to the hypcrisy and nonsense about Antrim from other counties particularly hurlingdub. All counties have a few sk*ngers and ciderheads with the Dubs, Tyrone, Meath, Cork and Mayo at the forefront. A few years back Cavan ones were belting out "What's it like to have a Queen" at Antrim fans so spare us this sanctimonious rubbish about soccer chants.

Ulsterman (Antrim) - Posts: 9828 - 29/05/2012 14:57:53    1182874

Spot on boss, down with sanctimoniousness in all it's forms

dhorse (Laois) - Posts: 11374 - 29/05/2012 15:40:34    1182928

Down with downing everything in Down.

sedico (Kildare) - Posts: 1682 - 29/05/2012 16:20:39    1182975

Antrim should hang their heads in shame.

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20763 - 29/05/2012 16:37:46    1182990

Jackeen. That's all

Topa_the_left (Antrim) - Posts: 250 - 29/05/2012 17:14:17    1183036

Tomlangan you raised a point about Molly Malone -I have noticed over the years that the Irish Rugby Supporters have abandoned poor old Molly Malone and she has been assigned to the dustbin (or Hill 16) the new rugby supporter only knows the words to the fields of Athenry and it is sang over and over again and over again. It used to be great to hear thevariety of Irish songs when Ireland were playing Rugby. The Dubs on Hill16 are the most soccer like supports with their chant of come on ye boys in blue, Every county should have a song eg Green Glens of Antrim, Long way to Tipp, The wests awake, Galway shawl, the hills of Donegal, etc nothing rebel or sectarian.

Brian_Coyote (Antrim) - Posts: 346 - 29/05/2012 17:59:49    1183092

Topa_the_left

Jackeen. That's all

Moi?

Jackeen (Dublin) - Posts: 4097 - 29/05/2012 18:09:33    1183100

MEAGHERS PUB IS DUBLIN ONLY,

Just another wonderful written gaa chant sung by the boys in blue.

AthCliath (Dublin) - Posts: 4347 - 29/05/2012 18:57:57    1183129

Brian_Coyote
Every county should have a song eg Green Glens of Antrim, Long way to Tipp, The wests awake, Galway shawl, the hills of Donegal, etc nothing rebel or sectarian.

Think your thinking of the rose of tralee.

AthCliath (Dublin) - Posts: 4347 - 29/05/2012 19:34:02    1183150

Brian_Coyote

eh Leinsters main song is Come on You boys in blue. Don't hear anyone say, ugh why are you copying the Dubs or singing that Irish soccer chant hear. It's a good song and it suits leinster so whats the problem. Didn't hear any Wicklow fans complaining about the Meath lads behind the goal creating a bit of an atmosphere during the game. One thing I know is that players much prefer the singing and chanting that rarely goes on in some counties.

As long as the song or chant is related to their team then there's nothing wrong with it.

BettystownRoyal (Meath) - Posts: 3353 - 29/05/2012 20:39:52    1183220

I've no problem with "soccer style" chants (not even sure what that means) but the idea of those fans singing an anti-treaty civil war song annoys me. Get over it lads, you lost!

How are we ever going to get Unionists to start playing their national games with stuff like this going on? How is any Unionist going to feel welcome at a ground where that is being sung? And how is it supposed to spur your county team on the perform anyway? Did "No Surrender to the IRA" save Portsmouth FC from relegation? Did "the Billy Boys" save Rangers from......whatever is about to happen to them? I don't think so.

Count_Awesome (Kildare) - Posts: 736 - 30/05/2012 16:36:29    1183850

kinda funny the title of this post, when the GAA have been campaigning to draw crowds to our own games instead of soccer and rugby

Topa_the_left (Antrim) - Posts: 250 - 30/05/2012 18:08:51    1183945

hahaha the people complaining are pathetic! Theyre would be more craic at a funeral if it wasnt for our singing and most songs were in relation to Antrim. I would also say most of us know more about GAA than the majority of use losers complaining

AntrimLad (Antrim) - Posts: 1 - 31/05/2012 13:25:17    1184413

good to see no 'real' Dubs getting involved in this one..they cant after all, they are famous for 'come on you boys in green' er..em sorry i meant blue! for the sake of the GAA hopefully ROI dont go too far in the euros, the hill will be empty this summer :/

offtheground1 (Down) - Posts: 128 - 31/05/2012 15:02:42    1184572

I am watching the GREEN IS THE COLOUR documentary series and it states:

"When the League of Ireland started to fade in the early to mid 70's the Dublin GAA was an outlet for all the Dub soccer fans who had latched on to the county GAA success; they brought their soccer chants, banners and behaviour to the Hill".

Game, set and match Dubs; you were the original gloryhunting soccer hooley types who jumped on the GAA bandwagon. Do be wearing it well Jacks and Jackeens! Ah Jeeeeezzuusssss! How low do ye aawwwllllll feeeelll, are ye reealllly feeeeeling de blooooooo...... cue leather outfits, dwarf (small person) and horn.

Ulsterman (Antrim) - Posts: 9828 - 31/05/2012 15:17:23    1184587

Ulsterman, perhaps you could explain to me why being a soccer fan who is also a GAA fan or better still a soccer fan who then "latched onto the GAA" is a bad thing??
Can you tell me why you think we should want less fans following GAA than soccer fans? to follow your theory should lads whose parents werent dyed in the wool Gah head be forbidden from playing/supporting the GAA? And note that these lads you talk of were fans of IRISH soccer teams......like Bohs, Drumcondra, Shels......

And all this coming from a fan of a British based Scottish soccer team!!

And once you have told me, will do you us a favour and take your angry, anti-southern, over the top, hate filled, paranoid,bitter, stuck in the 1940's **** back where it came from!
Good man!

The ban is gone my friend, you should have went with it!

Liamwalkinstown (Dublin) - Posts: 8170 - 31/05/2012 15:33:19    1184610

Ulsterman

1184587 I am watching the GREEN IS THE COLOUR documentary series and it states:

"When the League of Ireland started to fade in the early to mid 70's the Dublin GAA was an outlet for all the Dub soccer fans who had latched on to the county GAA success; they brought their soccer chants, banners and behaviour to the Hill".

Surely you are not been taken in by anything that comes by way of the southern Media.

dhorse (Laois) - Posts: 11374 - 31/05/2012 16:12:27    1184674

Topa_the_left

1183036 jimbodub

Jackeen. That's all

_______

Ah man... I was only having a laugh at Ulsterman.

I wouldnt have a bad word to say about Antrim. In fact I love Belfast... lots of Union Jacks flying.

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20763 - 31/05/2012 16:36:04    1184696

Poor oul ulsterman someone says something about antrim supporters and he has to go and find a documentry about ireland to deflect attention. not able to stick up for your own.

AthCliath (Dublin) - Posts: 4347 - 31/05/2012 16:42:04    1184701