Kerry Dublin 2011 Final - Unfair Analysis

look jimbo i only posted what emmet moloney predicted nothing wrong with that heres the link..http://liam.anfearrua.ie/viewdoc.aspx?id=2808

but i agree move on dublin and 2011 is in the history books now and lets look forward not back in 2012!!

lilywhitemagic (Kildare) - Posts: 1693 - 23/05/2012 16:35:31    1178974

Exactly kelf spot on!

Jackeen (Dublin) - Posts: 4097 - 23/05/2012 16:37:41    1178977

8 steps.

Who started this discussion?!

legendzxix (Kerry) - Posts: 9800 - 23/05/2012 16:39:57    1178978

When anyone wins or loses a tight game like last year's Final there is always plenty of room for the 'what-if' debate. Kerry folk will bemoan one or two mistakes (and it was only a couple of key incidents) they made near the end but they made those errors because the Dubs pressurized them into making them.

The games are 70 plus minutes. Just because a team finishes stronger than the other doesn't mean one team 'bottled it'. It just means one team coped better with the pressure when the game was on the line. Last September that team was Dublin.

eviemonkey (Cork) - Posts: 308 - 23/05/2012 16:40:41    1178980

MesAmis

moomoo

Seeing as the rule is if the ball is touched on the ground in the square its a free might have had something to do with it. Then again i suppose Dublin are used to having rules of there own....

If the ball's touched on the ground in the small square by the defending team then it is a penalty.

That is what happened in the incident that Dubbydave was referring to.

I know Kerry are used to having their own rules...........

If thats the rule why is it anytime is happens a free is given and not a penalty? Do the rule not say you cant take 8/9 steps without a play? Or is that just in the Dublin rule book?

moomoo (Kerry) - Posts: 4023 - 23/05/2012 16:44:42    1178984

legendzxix

1178978 8 steps.

Who started this discussion?!

if we got the penalty and not the goal dublin would have still won im going to end it ;-)

dubbydave. (Dublin) - Posts: 3927 - 23/05/2012 16:44:56    1178985

legendzxix

Yeah we should have just cynically dragged O'Sullivan/Gooch to stop that goal in the first half....

Worked well for you boys when M D Mc was through on goal... wha!

Of course we should have also had a peno. Stone wall. Baffling decision...

Two goals denied. The ref obviously knew as much so let Kev Mc on with it.. plus he did it very well - as do all top players who have a football brain.

Theres always a couple of steps extra in the best players...

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20763 - 23/05/2012 16:47:24    1178988

ah lads just when the banter is in full swing ive to head off bit of coaching to attend but ill be back later ;-)

dubbydave. (Dublin) - Posts: 3927 - 23/05/2012 16:47:28    1178989

moomoo

I only counted 7 steps ;)

Stone wall peno. Theres no arguing it. Thats the rule man.... end of.

Of corse we should have just jumped on O'Suulivan / Gooch in the first half when they were through on goal... as per the Kerry ploy :)

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20763 - 23/05/2012 16:49:31    1178995

Sure we were only lucky lads... we've no chance.

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20763 - 23/05/2012 16:55:23    1179001

an ageing Kerry team didnt have legs for 70 minutes

Gael85 (Dublin) - Posts: 1433 - 23/05/2012 17:11:15    1179016

moomoo

I only counted 7 steps ;)

Stone wall peno. Theres no arguing it. Thats the rule man.... end of.

Of corse we should have just jumped on O'Suulivan / Gooch in the first half when they were through on goal... as per the Kerry ploy :)

Still over carried but like i said Dublin have there own rule book. As i said have you ever seen a penalty given what thats happened?? If it was the rule then we would see it all the time would we not?

moomoo (Kerry) - Posts: 4023 - 23/05/2012 17:12:40    1179019

an ageing Kerry team didnt have legs for 70 minutes,they never win seem to win All Ireland finals in last 10 minutes,they hammered Mayo and Cork twice each in finals, all games well over with 15 minutes to go,lets get back to 2012

Gael85 (Dublin) - Posts: 1433 - 23/05/2012 17:14:35    1179023

moomoo

It was a peno. Honestly man you're arguing against the rule book. Pointless.

Sure they even said it on the commentary during the live game... they even bloody knew it! haha

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20763 - 23/05/2012 17:16:22    1179025

Gael85

an ageing Kerry team didnt have legs for 70 minutes,they never win seem to win All Ireland finals in last 10 minutes,they hammered Mayo and Cork twice each in finals, all games well over with 15 minutes to go,lets get back to 2012

We hardly hammered Cork in 2009.

Cute_Kerry_Hoor (Kerry) - Posts: 2518 - 23/05/2012 17:18:24    1179027

First of all dublin were the team of 11 and deservedly won it. Yes decisions went there way. It happens.
And unfortunately people with envy will always try to take away from victory. No matter what 2011 will always read dublin all ire champs.
And even though regardless of what happened in 2010 leinster champs will always read meath.
Sorry liam people won't let it go two years on we still get the same accusations as dublin ok maybe ours is more deserved but still time to move on.
But for some kildare lads to go on about letting it go etc is laughable. They still on about benny coulter and how they should have beaten dublin only for dodgy free. In football some decisions go your way some don't. Accept move on. Any team who wins ai are deserving champions.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 23/05/2012 17:30:11    1179038

ye had Cork beat from the moment Kennelly took out Nicholas Murphy,even though Cork were ahead five points at one stage, ya always knew Kerry who win,Cork didnt have the bottle and were going through the motions in last 10 minutes kerry should won by a lot more

Gael85 (Dublin) - Posts: 1433 - 23/05/2012 17:33:00    1179039

So I think everyone is agreed so far. Kevin mc took 8 steps, Dubs were very lucky and the GAA got their way by ensuring that the Dubs were successful last year.

Why is the thread still going if everyone is in agreement?

sedico (Kildare) - Posts: 1682 - 23/05/2012 17:33:01    1179040

I presume thats aimed at me, I don't remember bemoaning any of our past losses, unless I'm totally mistaken... Don't tar everyone with the same brush, every county on here has its moaners, I am not one of them.

lilypad (Kildare) - Posts: 1363 - 23/05/2012 17:35:38    1179045

Get over it.

(Jesus, it's a sad state of affairs when you have to say that to All Ireland winners.)

gigoer (Wexford) - Posts: 1998 - 23/05/2012 17:36:51    1179046