Kerry Dublin 2011 Final - Unfair Analysis

Lets move on lads, we won it fair and square.

bluedubstar (Dublin) - Posts: 835 - 23/05/2012 13:37:16    1178786

Just a quick point and a massive decesion missed that contributed to the Dubs winning it, Kev McMenamin who's goal was a massive boost for us bounces the ball twice 45 yards from our own goal with about 5 mins ago. Should have been a free in and Sheehan would certainly have tapped it over and put the game beyond us probably. But all champions need luck along the way.

AB13 (Dublin) - Posts: 100 - 23/05/2012 13:54:36    1178800

Boys and girls, i will "move on" when people stop referring to Kerry handing the AI to Dublin
When that stops happening.....I will gladly "move on" ....

And as for that Thierry Henry fella............!!

Liamwalkinstown (Dublin) - Posts: 8170 - 23/05/2012 14:01:57    1178813

fair play to you liamo we won it and we deserved it...

dubbydave. (Dublin) - Posts: 3927 - 23/05/2012 14:18:04    1178835

AB13

1178800 Just a quick point and a massive decesion missed that contributed to the Dubs winning it, Kev McMenamin who's goal was a massive boost for us bounces the ball twice 45 yards from our own goal with about 5 mins ago. Should have been a free in and Sheehan would certainly have tapped it over and put the game beyond us probably. But all champions need luck along the way.

what about kev mc's first chance on goal were the ball is passed by cahill only to be closed down and in the end we got a free surely if the ball was touched on the ground by a kerry lad is that not a penalty how about that point for a massive decision that would have contributed to the game?????,at the end of the day imo anyway the main factor in kerry loosing sam last year was dublin were the better team also our impact sub did the job while our opposition brought there impact sub on way too soon galvin would have been an ideal candidate to come on in the last quarter of that game...

dubbydave. (Dublin) - Posts: 3927 - 23/05/2012 15:36:58    1178908

Donegal lost the semi-final though ;-)

squareball_1988 (Donegal) - Posts: 343 - 23/05/2012 15:50:46    1178924

dubbydave.

AB13

1178800 Just a quick point and a massive decesion missed that contributed to the Dubs winning it, Kev McMenamin who's goal was a massive boost for us bounces the ball twice 45 yards from our own goal with about 5 mins ago. Should have been a free in and Sheehan would certainly have tapped it over and put the game beyond us probably. But all champions need luck along the way.

what about kev mc's first chance on goal were the ball is passed by cahill only to be closed down and in the end we got a free surely if the ball was touched on the ground by a kerry lad is that not a penalty how about that point for a massive decision that would have contributed to the game?????,at the end of the day imo anyway the main factor in kerry loosing sam last year was dublin were the better team also our impact sub did the job while our opposition brought there impact sub on way too soon galvin would have been an ideal candidate to come on in the last quarter of that game...

Seeing as the rule is if the ball is touched on the ground in the square its a free might have had something to do with it. Then again i suppose Dublin are used to having rules of there own....

moomoo (Kerry) - Posts: 4023 - 23/05/2012 15:51:07    1178925

Just a quick point and a massive decesion missed that contributed to the Dubs winning it, Kev McMenamin who's goal was a massive boost for us bounces the ball twice 45 yards from our own goal with about 5 mins ago. Should have been a free in and Sheehan would certainly have tapped it over and put the game beyond us probably. But all champions need luck along the way.

...Or the deliberate foul on Sheehan on MDMA when he was on route for a possible goal chance. At the end of the day we scored more points than Kerry over the course of the match. For the first time in my adult life we where as good as them over 70mins and thats what won it for us. Every team gets away with little misdemeanors over the course of 70mins, every team.

bluedubstar (Dublin) - Posts: 835 - 23/05/2012 15:59:13    1178935

moomoo

1178925 dubbydave.

AB13

Seeing as the rule is if the ball is touched on the ground in the square its a free might have had something to do with it. Then again i suppose Dublin are used to having rules of there own....

i stand corrected but if the ball is touched on the ground inside the box its penalty ????

dubbydave. (Dublin) - Posts: 3927 - 23/05/2012 15:59:14    1178936

this topic is going to start getting messy to much if's and's and but's at the end of the day dublin won kerry lost there will always be winners and losers but the most important thing to take away from the game is we got some entertainment watching it wether people were in croke park on the day or in their arm chairs fantastic all ireland final great display by both teams...

dubbydave. (Dublin) - Posts: 3927 - 23/05/2012 16:03:40    1178938

As I see it, according to many posters on HS first Wexford SHOULD have beaten us, then the Laois match, then Kildare SHOULD have beaten us then guess what, Donegal also SHOULD have beaten us then whaddya know Kerry also should have beaten us. But guess what!!! THEY DIDN'T!! I for one have enjoyed my year as All Ireland Champions. I wish it could last forever but I look forward to the summer no matter what it brings. Up the Dubs!!!

Jackeen (Dublin) - Posts: 4097 - 23/05/2012 16:09:10    1178942

jackeen

get in there straight to the point no messsing about ;-)

dubbydave. (Dublin) - Posts: 3927 - 23/05/2012 16:14:19    1178945

moomoo

If the ball's touched on the ground in the small square by the defending team then it is a penalty.

That is what happened in the incident that Dubbydave was referring to.

I know Kerry are used to having their own rules...........

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13846 - 23/05/2012 16:16:26    1178947

I dont know why the Dublin Poster are arguing with the wum's over this subject. Bottom line is Dublin were the best team in the country in 2011 & proved that by deservedly winning Sam. Ye shouldnt have to justify that & anyone who says different is only winding ye up. Now lets look foward to the 2012 championship that's already underway.

Rebel.Og (Cork) - Posts: 519 - 23/05/2012 16:23:17    1178954

ah i dont know ill post this all the same..
''The Dubs. Ah the Dubs. If the suits in Croke Park could buy an All-Ireland they would mortgage the stadium to ensure a Dublin victory in September. Nothing wrong with that by the way. Bums on seats and all that.''

emmet moloney great man for the championship predictions he was only a year out here. :D he predicts in dec each year for the following championship
he predicted the dubs would win in 2011 and gave the nod to kildare for 2012 ;)

lilywhitemagic (Kildare) - Posts: 1693 - 23/05/2012 16:24:11    1178956

Pack it in lads, it's getting childish now. Dublin won, Kerry lost.................had to happen sometime. Few lads on here that can't take defeat on the chin.

Cute_Kerry_Hoor (Kerry) - Posts: 2518 - 23/05/2012 16:26:37    1178959

Yep

Stone wall peno. FACT. END OF. SIMPLE AS...

The ref gave a free. It should have been a peno.

Probably one of the worst decisions ever in an AI final. I was screaming my head off from the Hill...

Kerry were lucky it wasnt 3 points. It was a peno. Thats the rule...

Kerry were blessed. A moment that hasnt even been mentoned by a Kerry poster on this site.

Dublin were robbed of a peno. Kerry were lucky but their luck ran out.

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20763 - 23/05/2012 16:29:44    1178965

lilywhitemagic

Yeah Yeah Yeah...

What guff from a Kildare man... pffffhh. I've been watching Dublin make a show of Kildare my whole feckin life...

Mmmmhaaaa Mmmmmhaaa...

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20763 - 23/05/2012 16:31:42    1178966

Shouda, wouda, couda

In 50 years when my descendant, at the All Ireland, buys a programme and reads the list of previous winners, it will have 2011 Dublin

All that matters, and my own county (Offaly) are a million miles away from getting back on the list.

So Dubs, ye won, end of ............................................................

Now onto the 2012 discussion ..........................

KELF (Kildare) - Posts: 775 - 23/05/2012 16:31:49    1178967

yeah your Right rebel og 2011 is well gone!! now that the weather has picked up COME ON CHAMPIONSHIP 2012!!

lilywhitemagic (Kildare) - Posts: 1693 - 23/05/2012 16:33:12    1178968