Will Wicklow beat Meath?

4 championship debuts named on team including one mark collins making his first ever appearance for meath. Talk about a baptism of fire. I hope they all enjoy it and don't let the nerves get to them.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 24/05/2012 21:59:38    1180056

24/05/2012 21:59:38
royaldunne

4 championship debuts named on team including one mark collins making his first ever appearance for meath. Talk about a baptism of fire. I hope they all enjoy it and don't let the nerves get to them.

He should have recalled Cindy and Antony Moyles back into the Panel. Whats the craic with that other big lump of an O'Rourke, one that plays for Skyrne, I'd be putting him the square with Joe as HF.

bluedubstar (Dublin) - Posts: 835 - 25/05/2012 08:38:36    1180066

Wicklow now at 5/2.

Derry_ledd (Derry) - Posts: 2093 - 25/05/2012 09:30:42    1180098

He would be more seen as a goalie. Tried last year as ff didn't really work.
Cindy hasn't played a club game all year and moyles has not made himself available. The 4 guys that have came in ar really going to have to hit the ground running. Tobin had a few games in league , gillespie is still quite young despite been on panel for a bit. He reminds me of niall quinn plenty of ability but looks awkward even though he's not. Forde saw him in obyrne electric pace but very raw and I think would be better next year. Collins not many know much about him, trevor giles did a interview awhile back and said he was fantastic and will be a great player has pace and skill in abundance. Was talking to a guy from area he plays for said he will be better than giles and geraghty. Big claim I hope he is right.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 25/05/2012 09:36:52    1180101

If it was in Aughrim perhaps. They always raise their game against 'better teams' there. Banty's neck is on the line, however, and Meath are fighting for their pride. A defeat would be massive loss of caste on top of the relegation. Can't really see them being beaten but if Wicklow are on form it could be one hell of a game! Is it been shown anywhere?

hurlingdub (Dublin) - Posts: 6978 - 25/05/2012 09:41:21    1180104

Why the Hell did RTE not put this game Live on Sunday,Local derby..Meath in dissaray..Wicklow coming outta div4....Big hype in both counties..big joe is back....Na instead they will show Kerry v Tipp which will be over by half time

shea (Kerry) - Posts: 409 - 25/05/2012 09:49:19    1180111

I can't figure out the TV listings. Bookies have four games all to be shown. Tipp/Kerry is at 2 so that's one of the RTE games. I'm assuming (hoping) they will then show Tipp and Limerick. Both Meath/Wicklow and Monaghan/Antrim are both at 3.30 but both down as being shown. Are TV3 showing Meath and BBC the Ulster game?

hurlingdub (Dublin) - Posts: 6978 - 25/05/2012 09:56:56    1180124

Shea

''Why the Hell did RTE not put this game Live on Sunday,Local derby.''
That's some geography horse, Next you'll be telling us Kerry V Galway, Louth V Antrim and Cork V Wexford, Donegal V Mayo are local Derbies too?

rath_togh (Meath) - Posts: 740 - 25/05/2012 10:03:11    1180132

@ hurlingdub

I noticed that too on the PP website. They have a 'live' symbol on all SFC games aswell as the hurling this weekend but what they mean is there will be live betting on all the games!

gaelicgab (USA) - Posts: 884 - 25/05/2012 10:04:09    1180134

rté is in thurles for live football & hurling...............tv3 has no live game............bbc is showing live golf with deferred coverage of antrim & monaghan on @ 7.................tg4 has live rugby with rté2 broadcasting live racing & rugby.................wicklow & meath will probably get the same couple of minutes air time @9.30 sunday night as longford,laois westmeath and louth got last sunday night.

Gammy_Knee (USA) - Posts: 1482 - 25/05/2012 10:17:33    1180154

Thanks gaelicab and Gammy Knee. Would like to see the Meath game.

hurlingdub (Dublin) - Posts: 6978 - 25/05/2012 10:26:09    1180162

hurlingdub

Worth checking if RTE have it on their website. I know a few years ago they used to stream games live on rte.ie that werent being shown on tv that day.

Jinxie (Meath) - Posts: 6348 - 25/05/2012 10:38:28    1180171

Thanks Jinxie. Might do that. If I can get my technological act together (okay if I ask the little one :-) I might be able to have your boys on the laptop and the hurling on the TV. Who'd have thought we'd have ever lived to see such wondrous things?

How do you think you will do? I have sort of a relation from Trim and he is apparently on the verge of a nervous breakdown in advance of Sunday. Much to the consternation of his Dub in laws of course ;-)

hurlingdub (Dublin) - Posts: 6978 - 25/05/2012 10:44:18    1180182

Hurlingdub your trim relation is not only one on verge of a nervous breakdown. Myself included lol
Its a must win game for so many reasons. If we win against a emerging team from wicklow with a mostly young inexperienced team the future will not look so bleak. If we loose well I won't even say
Can't understand rte for not showing this match it is stand out game of weekend as no one knows what way it will go.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 25/05/2012 10:59:55    1180195

Agree shea. Can't understand it.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 25/05/2012 11:02:55    1180198

hurlingdub

The honest answer is that I dont know.
But I'll tell you one thing, Im looking forward to it more than any other game in a long time. I honestly dont think theres any real pressure on Meath at this stage with all thats gone on. So hopefully we will be treated to a game of open football with two teams you are playing with the shackles off so to speak.

Irregardless of wether either team will be good enough to go any further, I think between them they can serve of a cracking game.

Theres being a bit made of the 4 newcomers, but Im gonna go with the positive side and that is the fact that young lads can be fearless. They also wont carry the baggage and pressure of the previous cuple of years failures.

A few people have eluded to some of them being raw. But raw can be good at times. Look at Francie Bellew when he was at his most feared best.

Heres hoping for a tradional championship game. And of course a Royal county win......

Jinxie (Meath) - Posts: 6348 - 25/05/2012 11:03:21    1180200

Definitely has the ingredients of a good old fashioned Leinster duel. There will be no-one thinking of back doors! Indeed I imagine that if Meath in particular lost that they would probably not look forward much to another go. Real defining game for them in the light of a proud history. I reckon that if there is anyhting in them at all that will see them through.

I am conflicted. I do have a soft spot for Meath (as do many Dubs after playing them :-) but have also enjoyed watching some of Wicklow's big days as well. Then of course there is the relation ..... Come on Wicklow :-)

Only joking!

hurlingdub (Dublin) - Posts: 6978 - 25/05/2012 11:09:27    1180207

Will be very high-scoring,Meath missing a lot of players and they are fragile mentally. Wicklow came close to beating Armagh last year,and in recent times have beaten Kildare and Down. Still think Meath have better individual players,but Wicklow have more confidence

Verdict - Wicklow

ziggy32001 (Meath) - Posts: 8354 - 25/05/2012 12:31:55    1180279

Sun is shining, team have been promoted, playing well.

Might as well crack open a tinnie.

sponger (Wicklow) - Posts: 3010 - 25/05/2012 12:36:42    1180285

Well for you sponger I stuck in a room roasting. Ah well ill have a tinnie sunday eve to celebrate or drown my sorrows. Either way I'm having a tinnie.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 25/05/2012 12:45:43    1180293