What annoys me is the fact that they show the matches that were shown live earlier in the day first leaving less time to show the other matches. AthboyGael (Meath) - Posts: 75 - 28/05/2012 11:46:50 1181726 Link 0 |
TheGateKeeper fortyfive (Tyrone) - Posts: 5929 - 28/05/2012 12:04:26 1181747 Link 0 |
In response to forty five:- billclinton (USA) - Posts: 26 - 28/05/2012 12:30:34 1181787 Link 0 |
fortyfive Here, here! Let's hope someone in the BBC sees sense and installs him as television match commentator where he belongs! I agree with gigoer and Coylers Elbow too. Tony Davis is never done talking nonsense, and Ciaran Whelan, much as I disliked him when he was a player, he certainly knows his stuff. peter_venkman (Down) - Posts: 320 - 28/05/2012 12:35:03 1181795 Link 0 |
Lads, i know the bbc's coverage isn't great, but fair play to them for attempting to promote our games. UTV is a disgrace, sends cameras to all Irish League games when most of them attract crowds of no more than 200. Laughable. MourneArmy (Down) - Posts: 1787 - 28/05/2012 14:08:19 1181905 Link 0 |
sedico sportsfan14 (USA) - Posts: 281 - 28/05/2012 14:12:27 1181910 Link 0 |
Have to say have been very disappointed with the opening two evening programmes of the Sunday game so far this summer,last week they showed less then 5 minutes of the Laois V longford and Louth v Westmeath games,yet showed longer highlights of the Roscommon and Galway watch dispite showing it live a few hours earlier!!!! macca999 (Fermanagh) - Posts: 1168 - 28/05/2012 18:03:27 1182186 Link 0 |
A great game of football yesterday between Armagh and Tyrone. The only thing that was disappointing watching it was Tony Davis' awful cliched soundbites. This guy, in my opinion, is by far the worst of RTE's deadwood analysts. He adds absolutely nothing in terms of analysis. He adds a sentence every now and again but nothing ever that would stir debate. We know that if your hamstring goes, it is a difficult to play on! He admitted that in his research for yesterday's game he watch tyrone and Westmeath playing each other in the league and then spoke about how good Kyle Coney was that day (a player not even on the field yesterday). It was quite simply awful awful awful awful. bennybunny (Cork) - Posts: 3917 - 11/06/2012 11:13:33 1191489 Link 0 |
I don't think that he's as bad as Joe Brolly, who after watching a team shoot 19pts in an excellent game of football starts comparing them to George Graham's Arsenal, even mentioning the old 1-nil cliche. It was puke analysis not puke football yesterday. Lyster had to plead more than once that he 'enjoyed that', but I'm afraid that Joe was having none of it. Pope_Benedict (Galway) - Posts: 4148 - 11/06/2012 11:32:59 1191510 Link 0 |
They didn't have their homework done re Seanie Johnston last night either. Suggesting that Kildare manipulated fixtures in order to get Seanie to play was blatantly wrong. Even when they realised their mistake I didn't hear Ciaran Whelan apologising either. If you're man enough to say it you should be man enough to apologise. Shocking stuff. sedico (Kildare) - Posts: 1682 - 11/06/2012 11:40:20 1191522 Link 0 |
RTE coverage of GAA very poor. It is clear that the groupthinkers there dont like to cover it. The sports section of the Kenny show today for instance covered Rugby Euro and tennis no GAA. The highlight show of the GAA games on Sat which was supposed to run from 10:15 to 11:10 finished at 11:00 no analysis and no Clare v Limerick footage just Sligo v Gal. The short GAA section on the Sunday news highlighted 2 nasty tackles of Cork v Kerry. Still it is testament to our national game that they attracted 40 - 50 thousand spectators this weekend in spite of the lack of hype. mod (Mayo) - Posts: 859 - 11/06/2012 12:31:29 1191609 Link 0 |
Tony Davis was awful yesterday. He was mixing things up for the whole game. Whenever any type of incident would occur, he would give his opinion, then see the replay and realise he was wrong. He never corrected himself though. I think it was Darragh Maloney, not sure though, commentating with him and I could picture him cringing beside Davis at some of his analysis. mayoboy1 (Mayo) - Posts: 1654 - 11/06/2012 13:49:04 1191743 Link 0 |
I'm afraid Mayoboy it wouldn't take much to be the best GAA analyst on RTE, they all are just aweful. As for Tony Davis I can't understand how he gets on the panel and to make it worse he's been there for years. There has to be better past or present players who are more in touch with the modern game and who would be prepared to do their homework before coming on. But then RTE are just happy to provide the minimum cover for GAA. OntheWhiteSide (Kildare) - Posts: 452 - 11/06/2012 14:04:31 1191770 Link 0 |
the TV3 pundits are much better to listen to. BettystownRoyal (Meath) - Posts: 3353 - 11/06/2012 14:20:28 1191799 Link 0 |
I must say I heard Brolly mention some Ty players in very complimentery words which surprised me. Now I was switching between stations so may have missed his worst. KELF (Kildare) - Posts: 775 - 11/06/2012 14:36:32 1191824 Link 0 |
AthboyGael arock (Dublin) - Posts: 4954 - 12/06/2012 09:03:53 1192366 Link 0 |
The highlights of the Galway - Sligo game were appalling. I was looking forward to sitting down and seeing how this game panned out after Galway were so impressive against Roscommon. The highlights were edited in such a way that they had post match interviews mixed in with action from the match. There was also a filter on the camera, which gave a blurred and blackened effect and made watching the highlights near impossible. Whoever in RTE thought that was an appropriate way to show highlights of a match should be sat down and made watch it forty or fifty times so it never happens again. Disgraceful. RoyoftheRoyals (Meath) - Posts: 36 - 12/06/2012 09:44:29 1192385 Link 0 |
what are ye on about it was des cahill who broke the stroy to whelan and mcstay by saying we believe seany johnston played his first match for the kildare club today which would make him eleigable so obviously the two guys whelan and mcstay thaught he ment they changed the championship fixture list to get him to play as i thaught this myself when cahill said it and both of them said as far as i know this wasnt going to happen that they must have manipulated the fixtures list which is what they would have had to do to put a championship fixture on that wasnt due to be on. hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 12/06/2012 10:29:15 1192437 Link 0 |
Have to agree with the comments on Davis, in my opinionhe's always very poor on his analysis. If you listen to the comments he makes, they are very inconsistent and he changes his views on football every week. He continues to berate teams for playing a defensive game on the Sunday Game yet thought it was a great effort by Tyrone on Saturday Live when Penrose was back on his own 14 making a tackle and Tyrone had got men behind the ball. This is only the most recent sway in his opinions. Tir Conaill Abu (Donegal) - Posts: 1677 - 12/06/2012 10:46:20 1192452 Link 0 |
hill16no1man KELF (Kildare) - Posts: 775 - 12/06/2012 12:13:43 1192536 Link 0 |