Sunday Game coverage

I have to agree Fair Shoulder, RTE will do in depth analysis on Garryowen and some other game with no one at it and which the majority of people dont care but wont even attempt to do a decent GAA show. As a Louth man i felt my own county(and Westmeath) deserved better from RTE on sunday night. Our game was completely belittled. There was no commentator, only one camera at the game and really it said that the Sunday game couldnt care about the game. Also i think a certain Louth player put it well when he said how can Mc stay or Davis be previewing our game against Dublin when they showed little or nothing of our last game on their programme.

PK57 (Louth) - Posts: 1661 - 22/05/2012 16:55:44    1178230

Thank you, thankyou, thank you....... this is a post which needs to be addressed - RTE coverage of our games is very poor. The sunday game was anotherexample. poor analysis, no results, lip[ service.

I tried to post a comment last week about the Armagh v Sligo N. Rackard Cup in which aertel notified the public that Sligo won comfortably, this was taken up by Saturday sport which praised sligo and seriously criticised the armagh performance - didn't check their facts - armagh won the game,
This is not the first time, rte had a major blunder.....
I would like to see less waffle on the sunday game and more analysis - asa previous poster noted there were 2 penalties in the Donegal-Cavan game - were they justified....no analysis,
this idea of skipping half the scores especially frees .... no coverage of minor, junior or other games.

cuchulainn35 (Armagh) - Posts: 1688 - 23/05/2012 12:45:45    1178732

perhaps if more managers adopt the mickey harte approach and boycott the station.............refuse to do interviews etc etc

Gammy_Knee (USA) - Posts: 1482 - 23/05/2012 12:53:44    1178740

22/05/2012 16:55:44
PK57
County: Louth

1178230 I have to agree Fair Shoulder, RTE will do in depth analysis on Garryowen and some other game with no one at it and which the majority of people dont care but wont even attempt to do a decent GAA show. As a Louth man i felt my own county(and Westmeath) deserved better from RTE on sunday night. Our game was completely belittled. There was no commentator, only one camera at the game and really it said that the Sunday game couldnt care about the game. Also i think a certain Louth player put it well when he said how can Mc stay or Davis be previewing our game against Dublin when they showed little or nothing of our last game on their programme.

Nothing wrong with RTE showing any club rugby game(and they dont show that many at all- they show about 5 or 6 max every season)
RTE do work at the GAA, maybe its just a lot of the analysts are poor.

ormondbannerman (Clare) - Posts: 13473 - 23/05/2012 13:07:55    1178753

Gammy_Knee
County: USA

1178740 perhaps if more managers adopt the mickey harte approach and boycott the station.............refuse to do interviews etc etc

Yeah Im sure boycotting the show and managers giving them even access to interviews will certainly improve the coverage they provide.

I take it you believe that Mickey Harte refused to speak to them out of protest of their coverage was it? Why else would you make that reference unless it was related to the issue.

Jinxie (Meath) - Posts: 6347 - 23/05/2012 13:19:04    1178764

The Sunday Game has been rubbish for years. The highlights are never long enough, lots of great scores aren't shown. The graphics are terrible aswell, the whole thing is very amateur.

Adler (Monaghan) - Posts: 754 - 23/05/2012 14:13:51    1178830

Look what I said originally is. That the live show is good. Lyster is a fantastic host. Orurke is good and as for the marmite duo they do what they do intentionally be controversial to het headlines.
Its the night show. Now my point about des is he comes across as uninterested. I know he is not. But he cannot do tv. Even though he is saying nothing of importance its a kinda of what are you talking about? He does not put the right questions to the panel. Davis would be passable at best mcstay and flynn are just boring (even though I adored bernard as a player). This show has gone down in recent years and needs revamping as I can't see point in watching it anymore. Maybe a bit of eye candy would help lol.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 23/05/2012 14:47:56    1178864

i think the whole shooting gallery on the sunday game should be axed............presenters, analyst's, commentators etc etc...........micheal lyster , o'rourke marty etc etc are all out dated fuddy duddies.............................bring in a new host someone like craig doyle and build a team around him.......... bring in some new fresh faced recently retired inter-county players as analysts...............ditch all the current lot now.

Gammy_Knee (USA) - Posts: 1482 - 23/05/2012 14:49:08    1178865

is The Committee Room finished?
Des said something about a midweek programme????

Liamwalkinstown (Dublin) - Posts: 8166 - 23/05/2012 14:53:54    1178869

Lyster is the biggest problem. His days are over and he must be replaced.

Brolly (Monaghan) - Posts: 4472 - 23/05/2012 15:43:01    1178916

Craig Doyle?????????Gammy Knee, you must be JOKING! RTE are probably going to axe his night time show because of bad ratings, and you want to put him on Sunday Game!

BreffniBlue (Cavan) - Posts: 278 - 23/05/2012 16:21:36    1178951

My days are not over.

M Lyster (Antrim) - Posts: 465 - 23/05/2012 16:29:09    1178964

Gammy_Knee

i think the whole shooting gallery on the sunday game should be axed............presenters, analyst's, commentators etc etc...........micheal lyster , o'rourke marty etc etc are all out dated fuddy duddies.............................bring in a new host someone like craig doyle and build a team around him.......... bring in some new fresh faced recently retired inter-county players as analysts...............ditch all the current lot now.

Craig Doyle????????????????? LMFAO!!!!!!!!!!!!!! :p

Cute_Kerry_Hoor (Kerry) - Posts: 2518 - 23/05/2012 17:10:12    1179015

Football pundits are very poor and have very poor knowledge of squads and players! Do very little analysis of live games at half time and you can predict the comments and cliches they will utter out on the day before the game even starts! O'Rourke, brolly, davis, mcstay all need to go and bring in more pundits like whelan who know players and modern football! The current football pundits seriously lack the passion and knowledge of the hurling pundits

pigonastick (Dublin) - Posts: 487 - 24/05/2012 09:59:42    1179308

Cute_Kerry_Hoor

1179015 Gammy_Knee

Craig Doyle????????????????? LMFAO!!!!!!!!!!!!!! :p

good to hear kerry cute hoor good to hear...........lets hope this is the start of a new era for you with that part of your anatomy.

Gammy_Knee (USA) - Posts: 1482 - 24/05/2012 10:47:21    1179356

well this is what we pay the TV licence for lads rubbish like this.

agree a new panel is needed and presenter as well.the whole thing needs a facelift set as well needs a look at.

lillymadfan (Kildare) - Posts: 1085 - 24/05/2012 12:10:29    1179447

Gammy_Knee

1178865 i think the whole shooting gallery on the sunday game should be axed............presenters, analyst's, commentators etc etc...........micheal lyster , o'rourke marty etc etc are all out dated fuddy duddies.............................bring in a new host someone like craig doyle and build a team around him.......... bring in some new fresh faced recently retired inter-county players as analysts...............ditch all the current lot now.

Craig Doyle - Host
Jedward - Commentators
Rubber Bandits - Pitchside reporters
Shirley Templebar , Pat Kenny and Georgia Salpa - Analysts

FairShoulder (Armagh) - Posts: 333 - 24/05/2012 12:26:04    1179469

TG4 is the only way to go lads..

rebelsrock (Cork) - Posts: 550 - 24/05/2012 12:28:40    1179473

Ah don't be so sensitive Gammy_Knee! :)

Cute_Kerry_Hoor (Kerry) - Posts: 2518 - 24/05/2012 12:41:54    1179489

As Louth poster noted:-
This was Louth and Westmeath's big day this year - it was disrespectful to both counties in which they were treated,

The format in the old days - a 15 sec clip of the crowd coming into the venue, a snapshot of what the crowd is like, ( give out the attendence) give the lineups (rarely done now) focus on all scores , sendings off and major incidents - then a discussion on the incidents - not this partronising approach that AH isn't it good they are keeping the game alive......,
then give a statistical approach of the game - scores, wides, frees etc - present format is very lazy,
Last week we had a analysis of the hurling championship - why talk about the cork etc when they weren't playing but not focus on the 2 matches, Westmeath hada great win - poor approach,

cuchulainn35 (Armagh) - Posts: 1688 - 24/05/2012 12:45:21    1179491