Sunday Game coverage

Lads the BBC Ulster coverage of the Ulster Championship is worse, the South Armagh accent was not made for TV

TheHedge (Tyrone) - Posts: 22 - 22/05/2012 11:37:40    1177885

Looking forward to seeing McHugh and Brolly slog it out some day. I have read Brolly take the hand out of him a few times so Im guessing there will be some tension there (especially if they do the Derry Donegal game)

I like Side**** - its one of them so bad it's good things. If you compare with with BBC's Jackie Fullerton, Sidebottom wins hands down.

McConville reminds me of the priest from Father Ted, Fr Fitzgerald "I have an awful dreary monotonous voice, God help me... "

Derry_ledd (Derry) - Posts: 2093 - 22/05/2012 11:46:09    1177895

I'm looking forward to Ger Loughnane's return for the hurling.

I don't even like him that much, (that said, I'm delighted for him & his family after his recovery) but he always puts himself across with conviction and gets a good barney going when he wants to.

gigoer (Wexford) - Posts: 1998 - 22/05/2012 11:46:25    1177896

Des Cahill, poor in my opinion, pundits not bad, Whelan should be on more. Program editing, unoriginal and poor.

lilypad (Kildare) - Posts: 1363 - 22/05/2012 11:47:53    1177899

Anyone remember when Larry O Gorman used to be employed for RTE's hurling coverage? I thought he was a poor pundit but a gas man all the same.

Rebel.Og (Cork) - Posts: 519 - 22/05/2012 12:01:26    1177914

Dead right about McStay and any new rules. He loves it and thinks he's the only one smart enough to get his head around it.

The introduction of an easy on the eye lady or two might also boost the coverage a little. TV3's Champions League coverage had a period a while back when they used to have this absolutely gorgeous blonde girl with a Scottish accent doing a little segment on the show. I'm not asking for wall to wall ladies ala Sky Sports News, just something to spice up the coverage. Here, I know I'm gone completely off the point now, but I dont really care.

OffalyBigBall (Offaly) - Posts: 635 - 22/05/2012 12:03:05    1177918

Ya i remember McStay with the new handpass rule demonstrating it with a football in the strudio last year, comical stuff.
As regards to coverage i dont think its too bad, i had to mute the commentary on BBC , the main fella didnt have a clue whaty he was on about and mcconville was putting me to sleep. Im all for introducing a bit of skirt to the panel lads

Patchy (Kerry) - Posts: 74 - 22/05/2012 12:24:08    1177946

Lyster - Great Host
Brolly - talks a load of c**p but he is entertaining all the same
O'Rourke - Excellent analyist
Spillane - The Glen Beck of the GAA. Fox news would love him. OTT on purpose, he is no mans fool!
Des Cahill - Painful. Very uncomfortable when talking about the Dubs, very poor.
Tony Davis - Excellent IMO. The best of the Night time analysts
McHugh - I cant stand this man and his agendas and bias. Talks nonsense
McStay - Also a very good analyst and good tele
B Flynn - Brutal!!
Whelan - Very good first season, lets see can he maintain it.

Cyril - This man is a national treasure and should be appreciated more in his own time! Once saw him analyse a football game as the hurling was called off at the last second so they had hurling analysts doing a football game! And you can tell he is as into the football as much as the hurling!
Duignan - Calls it as it is, balls of steel. Cant bate honesty
P Flynn - Drab, boring, monotone.
Tomas - More interested in the sound of his own voice than the hurling
Ger - Another who calls it like it is. No fecking around, if its c**p, its c**p Des!
Sheedy - Not too sure yet to be honest lads.

Liamwalkinstown (Dublin) - Posts: 8166 - 22/05/2012 12:42:16    1177964

Liamwalkinstown

1177964 Lyster - Great Host
Spillane - The Glen Beck of the GAA. Fox news would love him. OTT on purpose, he is no mans fool!
Des Cahill - Painful. Very uncomfortable when talking about the Dubs, very poor.
B Flynn - Brutal!!

Cyril - This man is a national treasure and should be appreciated more in his own time! Once saw him analyse a football game as the hurling was called off at the last second so they had hurling analysts doing a football game! And you can tell he is as into the football as much as the hurling!
Ger - Another who calls it like it is. No fecking around, if its c**p, its c**p Des!

So, overall you think they have a very good panel/product???

Culann (Dublin) - Posts: 2306 - 22/05/2012 12:48:55    1177974

it is beyond belief how bad sidebottom is , how does he have that job? he just mumbles, I respect Oisin McConville but he isnt a great commcentator

cboyle92 (Down) - Posts: 184 - 22/05/2012 12:54:19    1177977

You should try listening to Northern Sound's match coverage sometime, then you'll have something to complain about! We got a history lesson about World War 1 during the Cavan /Donegal game, and a player was referred to as a whale of a man! Usually they don;t even give the score, and sane people have been known to throw their radios against the wall in pure frustration. Oh, and that's not to mention the elderly folk of Maghera who always seem to have a birthday party looming in some local hostelry in Virginia! They have a direct hot-line to the commentators!

BreffniBlue (Cavan) - Posts: 278 - 22/05/2012 12:55:44    1177978

Culann when the right analysts are on, yep
100%
i think its brilliant, day and night time
i think people are looking for a feckin GAA version of "Your on sky sports" or Sky's wall to wall saturation and OVER analysis
and that is dreadful stuff

Sunday game is still the best thing on Tele and ye can complain and moan and whinge but if it was all perfect, it would be no craic!
( i think what some people want is just to hear how BRILLAINT their own team is and nothing else)

Liamwalkinstown (Dublin) - Posts: 8166 - 22/05/2012 13:00:31    1177988

Was muck in fairness..poor highlights on the tighter games played also..even as a galway supporter, when your team wins and you can watch the highlights again at night its great, but when the game was shown live during the day or you were at it, there is no need to have it as the second game analysed on the evening programme, for 5-10mins..we all want to see the other un-televised games and how other counties are doing as we could all face them later in the year, plus all the other games of the day have their own edge.

re the hosts and analysts. lyster is best host, easy listen too, asks good questions, isnt biased and allows the lads to talk. ..maloney at night is an option.
best football analysts are -spillane-entertainer, whelan, davis and o'rourke (as although he is boring, he talks sense). brolly thinks hes gods gift talking sh** and mcstay, flynn are zzzzzzzz.

re hurling.. you cant bet cyril and ger..best of the best...no bull, good analysis...make hurling day coverage on rte alot more enjoyable IMO.
mulcahy and sheedy aint bad, paul flynn is dry but is is only retired and gives a good analyse of senior players and player mentality.

Hurling boys are kings of rte...football lads for the most part need the boot or at least a boot to liven them up!!!

pridengalway (Galway) - Posts: 327 - 22/05/2012 13:04:59    1177992

Lyster - Great Host
Tony Davis - Excellent IMO. The best of the Night time analysts One of the worst! Misses a lot of what is actually going on tactic wise and concentrates on some trivial things. Same old cliches with very little player knowledge outside the top few counties
McHugh - I cant stand this man and his agendas and bias. Talks nonsense. One of the best analysts, actually talks tactics and specifics instead of stupid cliches.
B Flynn - Brutal!! - Has always impressed me, makes great observations and I always agree with the points he makes

LOL I actually disagree with nearly of all this Liam lol but main bits are in bold

benjyyy (Donegal) - Posts: 1428 - 22/05/2012 13:07:59    1177999

Liamwalkinstown

1177964 Lyster - Great Host

Agreed

Yeah can be annoying but he at least tries to offer some genuine tactical analysis rather than pure cliche

Wouldn't say excellent but far from the worst

Should be a living legend but in reality an embarrassment. Like a petulant child most of the time, i suppose it's entertaining and at least shows he's passionate about it.

I'm indifferent to him, still a million times better than Spillane as host

Boring cliches

Big fan, should be on more, stays away from the cliches

Cliched analysis of the highest order, as posters have said the "rules expert" thing is pure cringe, particulaly biased and irritating as co-commentator

B Flynn - Brutal!!

Agreed

Dunno yet really, haven't really seen much of him

Agreed, top class

Big fan, great as co-commentator as well, makes every game interesting

Agreed

Indifferent

Big fan

Indifferent

Breffni40 (Cavan) - Posts: 12359 - 22/05/2012 13:16:20    1178013

Liamwalkinstown

1177988 Culann when the right analysts are on, yep
100%
i think its brilliant, day and night time
i think people are looking for a feckin GAA version of "Your on sky sports" or Sky's wall to wall saturation and OVER analysis
and that is dreadful stuff

Sunday game is still the best thing on Tele and ye can complain and moan and whinge but if it was all perfect, it would be no craic!
( i think what some people want is just to hear how BRILLAINT their own team is and nothing else)

Well that would be more or less where I stand on this issue. As I said above people should be careful what they wish for. Good post.

Culann (Dublin) - Posts: 2306 - 22/05/2012 13:39:17    1178048

Am i Blind or were the 2 penalties awarded in Breffni park both clearly outside the 13M line.. not mentioned on the SG.

kikfada (Louth) - Posts: 2091 - 22/05/2012 13:59:32    1178072

Lyster - Great Host
- The man is a legend
- He was five years ago, but at this stage the 'Look at me, I'm funny' act is getting old
- Agreed
- Sick of listening to him at this atge, the same thing every year
- Don't like him, although there are few alternatives currently within RTE
- I think he's fairly good too
- Looking forward to seeing how he gets on with RTE
- Smile Kevin, it wont kill you
B Flynn - Brutal!!
- DOnt mind him
- Quite good

- Legend
- Always insightful
- No comment
- Okay
- My favourite RTE analyst, great entertainment
- No comment

petejoeduff (Donegal) - Posts: 329 - 22/05/2012 15:24:05    1178145

One word - Rugby. Thats all anyone cares about now especially in RTE

FairShoulder (Armagh) - Posts: 333 - 22/05/2012 16:19:03    1178193

Two issues I see.

Firstly the Sunday Game Live has very poor commentators, Ger and Marty seem to call it from the camera not from watching the actual live action and often call many things wrong. Its dreadful stuff.

The Sunday Game highlights, the problem is that, even if they are our National Sports, are given only one hour, and then highlights shown are worse than useless. Better not to show them at all or make it 2 hours, especially at the start of the season. Have often been at games, then watched the Sunday Game highlights and wondered if it was really the same game we were at as many of the main or key turning points were missed.

witnof (Dublin) - Posts: 1604 - 22/05/2012 16:49:33    1178223