Sunday Game coverage

Did anyone else think the Sunday game was pitiful last night . I was at the Laois Longford game and the highlights paid lip service to it . They showed four of Laois' 12 points . And on a great day for Longford we were left watching Donie Shine talk about Frankie Dolan . A needless gimmick . It was obvious that none of the panelists were at the game or even watched a tape of it . That's disgraceful . These so called experts are supposed to inform peoplse who couldn't attend . I mean it s hardly expert analysis to tell us Paul Barden is a great footballer . Everyone knows that for years . I thought the whole thing was sloppy and unprofessional.

Malonemagic (Laois) - Posts: 817 - 21/05/2012 18:02:00    1177443

ye i agree with you they were to busy concentrating on stupid theme songs and gimmicks like Dan Shanahan and donie shine..Its like they were trying to copy match of the day

sam1996 (Meath) - Posts: 436 - 21/05/2012 18:16:02    1177466

Was thinking that meself. It was cat. Showing tipperary when talking about barden. And why at the start was there a big build up for Davis and mcstay and nothing said for Des Dolan.

walkinglunchbox (Longford) - Posts: 334 - 21/05/2012 18:19:11    1177471

Felt the coverage was poor alright.the two penalties in the Donegal Cavan game weren't even looked at.I personally felt both were exceptionally tight calls.in fairness the Cavan one made little odds but these major points of the game weren't even discussed.

In relation to showing tipp v Kerry,firstly thought it was Longford v Kerry but am open to correction but felt this clip was shown to highlight the square ball issue and how the new rule now means a goal scored like this would stand.would have been good if they explained but instead it looked like a mistake was made.

jono (Mayo) - Posts: 350 - 21/05/2012 18:34:11    1177486

I have to agree that the editing of the matches is extremely poor and has been for a long time - not just this year. The scores shown should illustrate the overall process of the match, but instead usually makes the losers look even worse than they might have been. Not a lot of thought appears to go into the editing.

Midleton (Cork) - Posts: 644 - 21/05/2012 18:39:02    1177491

Never got to see it but the lads in work were saying it was very poor coverage...

DUB1 (Dublin) - Posts: 5583 - 21/05/2012 18:42:54    1177496

I'd agree. Tony Davis was on his game I thought, even knew what date Waterford beat Limerick in the league earlier this year!

Pope_Benedict (Galway) - Posts: 4148 - 21/05/2012 18:43:01    1177497

Didn't see the programme myself, so just wondering if they showed much of the Limerick Waterford game? Ian Ryan's late goal was worth the admission fee alone: a great move, and super strike.

football first (None) - Posts: 1259 - 21/05/2012 18:51:28    1177506

tony davis is never on his game!!!...he just talks in mindless cliches all the time...rte are well down the pecking order now in terms of their gaa coverage...tv3 and tg4 have much better analysis, they do not have footballpundits who set out with a negative default at the very outset of the championship..what other sport has a set of pundits who have an agenda to deliberately criticise the game

mayotyroneman (Tyrone) - Posts: 1821 - 21/05/2012 18:55:34    1177514

Try watching BBC NI's coverage of the Ulster Championship, now that REALLY is awful! Mark Sidebottom is a horrendous commentator, with his up-and-down accent and his lack of understanding of basic GAA rules. His poor side kick Oisin McConville has to race to make a point before 'Marvelous Mark' shouts over him with irrelevant dribble. When a player hits a shot he decides to unleash this groan until he's sure of the outcome, instead of just doing himself and the rest of us a favor and taking a silent breath. If this is an attempt by the BBC to keep the viewer ratings down so they can eventually scrap the program then all's going according to plan id say!

Topa_the_left (Antrim) - Posts: 250 - 21/05/2012 19:29:29    1177550

Match selection was terrible. I think in the last five years I have seen maybe two Connacht games that were any use. Both Leinster matches were always going to be good, tight, tough encounters. the Galway-Roscommon match was dreadful. Why must RTE show EVERY Connacht and Munster football match? Other than Cork-Kerry or Galway-Mayo they are almost always very poor!

icehonesty (Wexford) - Posts: 2575 - 21/05/2012 19:50:43    1177572

Coverage of the Westmeath Louth game was brutal also. The cameras (or was it just one) were down close to pitch height. Westmeath had a goal effort in the first half that was cleared of the line and wasnt even mentioned. And that was just one example......

Jack_Sparrow (Westmeath) - Posts: 1039 - 21/05/2012 20:05:21    1177588

It was poor but it's early days I guess.

It is baffling how they showed such extensive coverage of a poor mis-match of Galway v Roscommon as opposed to the close dramatic encounter that was Longford vs Laois. I guess they just judge it rightly or wrongly as high profile or something. And I also thought that Dan Shanahan thing on Waterford footballers was really thick - seemingly struggling to fill the schedule, why? Why didn't they just show more extended highlights of Laois/Longford or Cavan/Donegal?

And I would also agree with the comment above re the BBC commentary. Jesus that guy just kept talking, talking, talking without any full stops, sounded like he was pausing for a breath every 10 minutes....it was awful to listen to.

Still, plenty of bigger & better matches to come, chin up lads, it was only the first Sunday game of the year.

gigoer (Wexford) - Posts: 1998 - 21/05/2012 20:07:14    1177591

Very poor and lazy I thought.
Mc stay and Davis same old same old.
Was looking forward to watching Louth Westmeath and got a 3 minute clip.
Woeful coverage. And as a previous poster ponied out the new "feature" is nonsense.

pundit2 (Louth) - Posts: 597 - 21/05/2012 20:09:02    1177595

Sorry, forgot to mention Louth/Westmeath in that post too, no offence lads

gigoer (Wexford) - Posts: 1998 - 21/05/2012 20:09:16    1177596

watching dan shanahan interviewing a waterford supporter about the lack of support for the footballers was embarassing. what was the point. whats next week henry shefflin with a mike interviewing kilkenny football supporters going into a match.

AthCliath (Dublin) - Posts: 4347 - 21/05/2012 20:16:50    1177607

pundit2
County: Louth

1177595 Very poor and lazy I thought.
Mc stay and Davis same old same old.
Was looking forward to watching Louth Westmeath and got a 3 minute clip.
Woeful coverage. And as a previous poster ponied out the new "feature" is nonsense

Not the first time we have been reduced to a three minute segment on The Sunday game pundit. The show was poor. It's a tired old format. Time to introduce real fresh blood on both sides of the camera. I feel that it is still the best there is though. TV3 is woeful. TG4 don't have championship games live and as has already been said the BBC coverage is muck. Sidebottom is quite simply atrocious.

Greengrass (Louth) - Posts: 6180 - 21/05/2012 20:24:28    1177617

Des is a awful anchor. He comes across as uninterested and incompetent. Agree mcstay and davis same old same old. Dolan should keep to the football. It is thrown out just cause it has worked before but for last couple of years it has been terrible. Need a clean out of panel. And show us what we want games at least 10 minutes each. When there is only 4 or 5 matches on. No stupid fav players etc. Pointless.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 21/05/2012 20:49:03    1177645

Very poor, reminded me of watching MNS.

The Dan Shanahan bit and the Donie Shine bit were just like the kind of crap were subjected to on MNS.

JammyD (Kildare) - Posts: 37 - 21/05/2012 21:11:35    1177668

21/05/2012 20:49:03
royaldunne

1177645 Des is a awful anchor. He comes across as uninterested and incompetent. Agree mcstay and davis same old same old. Dolan should keep to the football. It is thrown out just cause it has worked before but for last couple of years it has been terrible. Need a clean out of panel. And show us what we want games at least 10 minutes each. When there is only 4 or 5 matches on. No stupid fav players etc. Pointless.

I wouldnt call say Des is not interested or incompetent. He's very interested in GAA, you hear that when he does saturday/sunday sport when he talks up GAA even on days when there is very little GAA on compared to other sports.
Who would you recommend to go onto the tv panel to replace the current panelists
Favourite players etc is analysis. You give out about the panelists but by dong things such as favourite players etc is not pointless and shows the analysists were looking at the game and highlighted key aspects of the game

ormondbannerman (Clare) - Posts: 13473 - 21/05/2012 21:12:45    1177669