The pressure is on !!

therealtmo
County: Tipperary

1177611 If the Kildare and Meath lads want to have it out, go off and do it on your own county page, sick off ye high jacking ever thread. Not intended for the decent posters of both counties.

I admit I can be guilty of the above. Yes you are right its ridicilous at this stage. Most of it very petty and childish.

sedico (Kildare) - Posts: 1682 - 21/05/2012 20:44:19    1177640

royaldunne

1177612 Dub1. He wil not be staying as manager. He knows that. His review is at end of championship and he will not be offered another year. His position is already known. Even if meath win leinster I cannot see him been retained. So for that alone he is under no pressure at all.

Cheers for insight royaldunne and with that i retract me statement about banty then...

DUB1 (Dublin) - Posts: 5583 - 21/05/2012 21:12:57    1177671

Hope I wasn't coming across as patronizing dub1. I can see why some people would think he is under pressure. Its just in my view I don't think so. Now maybe he is. I don't know I just can't see why he would be. But with banty anything is possible. Again dub1 wasn't been dismissive of you just giving what I think

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 21/05/2012 21:48:32    1177720

I think Jason Ryanwill be under big pressure to get his team past Longford. I have to say I fancy Longford to get past Wexford as long as they are not cleaned out in midfield as they were against Laois.We all know Kildare need to win a Leinster this year and I think they will but an All Ireland will probably just be out of our reach but yes ROYALDUNNE Kildare and McGeeney are under pressure it that keeps you happy.

sashman (Kildare) - Posts: 465 - 22/05/2012 09:07:59    1177757

Another thread with turns into Kildare & Meath posters bitchi*g at each other. This is getting old lads. Anyway I think the two managers under most pressure this year are Jack O Connor & Declan Ryan.

Rebel.Og (Cork) - Posts: 519 - 22/05/2012 10:36:56    1177827

Jason Ryan
You cant keep coming so close but never crossing the line
Banty
absolutely, but then that begs the question, what does he have to do to ease the pressure? Whats a good year? I would say beat the dubs and win Leinster and nothing less
McGeeney without question is under pressure. Kildare have been the number 4 team for 3 years now. A leinster would soften the critics cough
James Horan - Mayo have to get to the final and wether they win it or not, once they then dont capitulate, thats progress. Anything else is a failure to progress
And finally, Jack O'Connor and Conor Counihan. As Kerry success goes, this is a drought!! The Everton motto could just as easily be applied to Kerry, Nil Satis Nisi Optimum.
Counihan...if this cork team with that panel of players only win one all ireland, he is indicted as a failure

Liamwalkinstown (Dublin) - Posts: 8170 - 22/05/2012 11:39:01    1177889

Us Kildare lads can play it down all we want but as far as I'm concerned, and if lads/lassies are honest with themselves, we DO expect at least something this year. The pressure is very much on, I'm not saying McGeeney will lose his job, but the fans crave silverware, and if it doesn't come this year a lot of Lily fans will be very very disappointed.

lilypad (Kildare) - Posts: 1363 - 22/05/2012 12:04:38    1177921

lilypad I have nothing but respect for the Kildare team and their passionate fans and I hope you do win Leinster this year as your endeavors over the past few years definitely deserve it.
Unfortunately I find it difficult to wish success to Mc Geeney as he was a thorn in Donegal's side for so many years. I still haven't got over his on pitch antics during our ulster final clashes but times a healer!!
Just a question to the Kildare fans - Do you think you've improved from last year?

Tir Conaill Abu (Donegal) - Posts: 1686 - 22/05/2012 13:22:54    1178022

Definitely!

lilypad (Kildare) - Posts: 1363 - 22/05/2012 13:35:44    1178043

TirConail

I think we have improved from last year. Eoin O'Flaherty and Conway are proving to be very accurate freetakers, something I thought was a weakpoint in last couple of years (Flaherty scored 10pts in club game at weekend, 9 frees). I think Conway is a major boost this year and he seems to be getting better each game. We have slightly more midfield options, at least enough to let Johnny play at his best, closer to goal. Connolly is a big goalkeepeer which is a plus with the new squareball rule.
The panel overall is very strong and young Fogarty and Dowling are very promising prospects.
The team is capable of pulling games out of the fire like Meath and Galway in the league and will fight to the last second of a game. We have plenty of leaders. Earley is a big plus too as an impact sub and is just inspirational.

St.Conleth (Kildare) - Posts: 1745 - 22/05/2012 13:45:00    1178051

Anthony Daly if the hurlers follower their League form with the same in the Championship.

Even the excuse of been All-Ireland Cruciate Champions will not hold much longer

witnof (Dublin) - Posts: 1604 - 22/05/2012 13:49:29    1178055

Brian Cody as he could lose the all ireland final by 8 or 9 pointas again at the hands of Tipp

thurlesblues (Tipperary) - Posts: 4475 - 22/05/2012 13:52:37    1178059

Us Kildare lads can play it down all we want but as far as I'm concerned, and if lads/lassies are honest with themselves, we DO expect at least something this year. The pressure is very much on, I'm not saying McGeeney will lose his job, but the fans crave silverware, and if it doesn't come this year a lot of Lily fans will be very very disappointed.

yay! a bit of honestly at long last! Of course you should be expecting to win something, all the tools are in place but I believe that hype will be your biggest opponent this year. I was flabbergasted by Colm O'Rourke and his assessment of yis in the Sindo and the lack of respect he paid to Mayo in the same article. Its that kinda of attention could (and I type this with in-trepidation of fearing a backlash from Kildare folk) cause a false economy.

But the other hand nobody seems to be giving the Dubs a hope in hell chance of retaining the Delaney Cup (with the exception of Paidi but that always comes with a health warning especially if one is a Dub). The meeja, commentators, bloggers are in a group think that it is pre ordained in some form of destiny for Kildare, maybe it is. But with respect to everyone theres a lot ball to be played between now and LF and that goes for the Dubs and the lillies. A lot could happen. Meath Wexford... who knows.

Though if Dublin and Kildare where fortunate enough to meet in the LF I have to admit I would fancy our chances.

If KIldare did win I take my hat of to them for approximately 20secs. And then its business as usual!

bluedubstar (Dublin) - Posts: 835 - 22/05/2012 13:52:56    1178060

Bluedubstar is that what you wanted to hear. Thats the opinion of one Kildare fan. I just happen to have a different one.

Besides if the majority of Kildare fans came on here and said they expected to win Leinster they would be accused by the usual Kildare obsessives of hyping them up. Damned if you do and damned if you don't.

sedico (Kildare) - Posts: 1682 - 22/05/2012 14:41:29    1178114

I agree with others hear. This thread has nothing to do with meath or kildare. It is all counties and those who maybe under pressure to win something this year or perform to another level. That's it despite what some may think. I don't want another thread turned into a kildare and meath slagging fest. I am just as guilty as others for the slagging on other threads but in fairness a lot of them are quite clearly set up for that. This is not. Yes I do think mcgeeney and is under pressure to win at least leinster. Meath team are under pressure to perform as a team. I don't think banty is as I'm sure he knows is outcome. I think jack o'connor is and so is jason ryan. And others too. So let's keep it to what its about. Myself and meath and kildare have plenty of other threads to slag on.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 22/05/2012 17:09:26    1178248

I'd imagine it is the opinion of a lot of Kildare fans, or am I the only one feeling confident this year? I doubt it! I'd say a lot are afraid to admit it for fear of stick from the vultures lying in wait if it all goes pear-shaped. I'll take it on the chin if I'm wrong.

lilypad (Kildare) - Posts: 1363 - 22/05/2012 17:10:51    1178253

I'd imagine it is the opinion of a lot of Kildare fans, or am I the only one feeling confident this year? I doubt it! I'd say a lot are afraid to admit it for fear of stick from the vultures lying in wait if it all goes pear-shaped. I'll take it on the chin if I'm wrong.

lilypad (Kildare) - Posts: 1363 - 22/05/2012 17:16:34    1178259

22/05/2012 17:16:34

lilypad

Fair play lillypad. A bit of honesty. That's all I think anyone can expect. There would be something wrong with you as a fan if you'd been knocking on door past few years and weren't optimistic of success. Thus the pressure is on. Its how you deal with the pressure that matters.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 22/05/2012 19:22:56    1178385

Is this Kildare squad not mainly the same players who have been about for the past 5 or 6 years so why will this year be any different? Going after Seanie Johnston is surely an admittance that Kildare cannot depend on who they have already got. I don't think Dublin will feature at all in the mix up for Sam.

Ulsterman (Antrim) - Posts: 9840 - 22/05/2012 20:08:27    1178428

Ulsterman

1178428 Is this Kildare squad not mainly the same players who have been about for the past 5 or 6 years so why will this year be any different?

Well yes and no. Kelly back this after after doing his cruciate. only played in 2010. Conway last played in 2009 after a cruciate. Connolly only there a couple of years. Ollie Lyons only really becoming a regular thisi year. Fogarty & Dowling new kids on the block. Other than that yea its more or less the same crew since Geezers first couple of years.

Why will it be different? Good chance it won't be.

sedico (Kildare) - Posts: 1682 - 22/05/2012 20:20:56    1178436