The pressure is on !!

21/05/2012 17:21:53

lilywhitemagic

ALTHOUGH THIS THREAD IS TARGETED AT KILDARE ROYAL ;) WE ALL KNOW IT IS

Actually lillywhite you couldn't be further from the mark. Talking to one of my colleagues from dublin today and the dublin louth game I was asking him would they sing champions! This time lol. And he told me that for first time in ages there is no real pressure on dublin. So got me thinking and said I'd stick it up hear.
So nope not aimed at kildare. But don't tell me a beating by offaly, meath or wicklow and a 1st round exit will be greeted by applause in kildare. Every manager to some extent is under pressure even banty to a certain extent as he will be looking for something to stick on cv for next year. I'd agree re jason ryan and as I've said jack o'connor too. Jimmy mcguinness after the cassidy situation. But I do think it is only fair to say mcgeeney is most under pressure even if he is guaranteed to remain, as most would question his ability to finish the job even if within county it does not matter.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 21/05/2012 17:59:22    1177442

its a long list

banty
declan ryan
jack o'connor
mcgeeney
mcnulty
luke demsey
daly
bradley
owens

Barrowsider (Carlow) - Posts: 1749 - 21/05/2012 18:04:54    1177449

No matter what sedico and co think and try to divert away from kildare banty is under no pressure. How the hell can he be ?
Where is anyone saying we will win anything meath are 10/1 to win leinster and 50/1 to win all ire.
Banty, players, supporters all know banty will not be in charge next season no matter what. Remember eob?
So where is the pressure on to win a leinster or all ire? There is none you would have to be a top 6 team to have pressure and as kildare lads keep pointing out we are not. Now who are in that bracket without winning anything?

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 21/05/2012 18:06:55    1177453

We haven't won the AI since 1928. We haven't won a Leinster since 2000. I fail to see why people consider it a must that Kildare win something this year. We have no history of success and bar a few fans who go way over the top with expectations the real fan in Kildare realises that there are 4/5 teams ahead of us at the moment. Getting over the line would be a huge welcome surprise if it happened but I'm well aware where we stand.

So to answer yoiur question, I don't question his ability. We don't have a divine right to win anything. Kildare will be giving it their all but so will everyone else.

sedico (Kildare) - Posts: 1682 - 21/05/2012 18:11:03    1177457

I do believe there is a lot of pressure on McGeeney to take Kildare to the next step but it will be tempered by the fact he should be around for another year or two. I think the two managers in football who will be feeling the heat the most this summer are probably Jack O'Connor and Conor Counihan. No Sam for Kerry in 2012 would make it three years and counting with no All-Ireland and suddenly the grumblings will grow in the Kingdom. Harsh maybe but such are the demands of managing the most successful county in gaelic football.

In Cork this is year five for Counihan and his legacy on Leeside will largely be shaped by how well Cork do this year. Win an All-Ireland and he becomes Cork's most successful manager in this code with two All-Irelands and multiple League titles. But lose and just one All-Ireland success in five years with one of the best squads of footballers Cork have ever had and the verdict changes to one of under-achievement and he himself might feel he has taken the group of players as far as he can.

In hurling, it has to be Declan Ryan. Tipp supporters have high expectations at the best of times. I know after winning in 2010 the feeling in Tipp was they could push on and win another All-Ireland or two but it didn't happen last year and another unsuccessful season this year would be hard to take. The fact they have to topple the best ever hurling teams in Kilkenny will not insulate Ryan from the fall-out of another disappointing year.

eviemonkey (Cork) - Posts: 308 - 21/05/2012 18:11:17    1177459

Can't see how pressure is determined by loosing your job or not. That's not the point I was making.
I have no doubt if offaly beat kildare by 5+ and kildare draw laois and loose by 10+ he will still be there next year.
But pressure re expectations. Even on sunday game yesterday they said he had to deliver something this year.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 21/05/2012 18:14:02    1177463

100% agree sedico
sorry royal i just saw your post on the wicklow forum the thread meath v wicklow and you were mentioning kildare and mc geeney '' been the only manager in leinster under pressure its the end for him'' for not delivered whats that got to with meath v wicklow i dont know.anyway
bluedubstar kildare fans were questioning why couldnt we win a round 1 or a qualifier match before mc geeney came in..kildare were not competitive under managers crofton or padraig nolan so who are we to question mc geeney the one man after the micko era that has made kildare competitive again. you may say is that enough to be competitive i dont think any kildare supporter has the right to be demanding leinsters when you think about where kildare were before mc geeney came in.

lilywhitemagic (Kildare) - Posts: 1693 - 21/05/2012 18:19:07    1177470

actually royal the jest of what michael lyster said was 'wouldnt you love to see kildare win to get one over the dubs'..and o rourke said kildare were making improvements year on year and there nearly there.

lilywhitemagic (Kildare) - Posts: 1693 - 21/05/2012 18:26:56    1177479

royaldunne

Mcgeeney after getting this far have to push on. And from what I've heard and red most commentators would agree.

But pressure re expectations. Even on sunday game yesterday they said he had to deliver something this year.

Fair enough people outside the county, and people in different sections of the media might be talking us up and saying we have to win something, but if the fans aren't then does the pressure scenario really apply?

If pressure isn't gauged by job safety then what way should we measure it? By one's own expectations? By what the fans say? Or by what people with little connection to the county, and no input into how we perform or play say?

Internal pressure and external pressure are two completely different factors here, yes both can motivate or indeed cause you to buckle, but is external pressure really something that should matter to how a county manager prepares a team and how results are measured?

Success is all relative, pressure should be too.

if_in_doubt (Kildare) - Posts: 3694 - 21/05/2012 18:28:35    1177482

Banty, would Brennan be worth a mention if the poor string of results keep up..

DUB1 (Dublin) - Posts: 5583 - 21/05/2012 18:37:10    1177488

I still believe that the 5 managers under the most pressure this year are
Mcgeeney
O'connor
Mcguinness
Ryan
Mcnulty.

I maybe wrong but there is a lot expected of these managers teams. I cannot see if any were to bow out at a early stage that it would be ah sure there's always next year. In particular mcnulty now.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 21/05/2012 18:47:54    1177503

Dub1 still can't understand why banty would be? It can't be a fear of loosing his position and expectations are low so its not that either.
Where is the pressure coming from?

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 21/05/2012 18:51:04    1177505

Lillywhite you left out end of what o,rourke said that after 5 years they at least had to win a leinster

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 21/05/2012 18:53:46    1177512

It's about time kildare started winning a trophy or 2 ... pressure is on mcgeeney but i fancy them to finally make a burst this year and take leinster

TheTownEnd1994 (Roscommon) - Posts: 11 - 21/05/2012 19:11:29    1177527

Sedico

You're a shrewd man. Trying to deflect expectation by portraying Kildare as a minnow with an attitude of "just happy to be competing with the top teams". Kildare have been knocking on the door since 2009 now and were very lucky not to be in an All-Ireland final in 2010. Continued success comes with greater expectations and Kildare have been building and priming themselves over the last few years for a real shot at the big time. To say there's little pressure on Kildare this year to deliver is a bit crazy because what will be seen as progress for Kildare this year..? Anything less then a quarter final appearance will be seen as a backward step..

As for Meath and Banty..? Pressure..? Really..? The level of expectation for silverware in Meath this year is 0.. people are tipping Wicklow to beat us and a lot of Meath people would find it hard to argue with them. Banty probably knows he's got one foot out the door anyway so he'll just be preparing Meath for the metaphorical "Last Stand" come the Leinster Championship.

RoyalClass (Meath) - Posts: 790 - 21/05/2012 19:35:51    1177558

Declan Ryan id say is under most pressure, anything less than liam will be greeted with calls for change.
jack o conner will be under pressure to get to a final at least (remember what paidi said)
mc geeney himself will put himself under pressure with his own targets, all ireland semi or win leinster and quarters will be seen as keeping things on track anything less and he will feel it as a step backward,
banty is a dead man walking unless meath win leinster or lose closely in the leinster final showing a bit of steel.
pat gilroy only has this year anyway (winning sam and beating kerry in the process has lifted a few monkeys of the back) this year dub fans are hoping more than expecting,

AthCliath (Dublin) - Posts: 4347 - 21/05/2012 20:04:10    1177586

royaldunne

1177505 Dub1 still can't understand why banty would be? It can't be a fear of loosing his position and expectations are low so its not that either.
Where is the pressure coming from?

No pressure on winning anything just pressure on him staying on as manager...

DUB1 (Dublin) - Posts: 5583 - 21/05/2012 20:09:42    1177597

Jack O' Connor most definitely, especially after the criticism received last September. Unless Sam is brought home this year the knives will be out. Eamon Fitzmaurice is being groomed for the job.

Cute_Kerry_Hoor (Kerry) - Posts: 2518 - 21/05/2012 20:11:12    1177600

If the Kildare and Meath lads want to have it out, go off and do it on your own county page, sick off ye high jacking ever thread. Not intended for the decent posters of both counties.

therealtmo (Tipperary) - Posts: 1292 - 21/05/2012 20:20:14    1177611

Dub1. He wil not be staying as manager. He knows that. His review is at end of championship and he will not be offered another year. His position is already known. Even if meath win leinster I cannot see him been retained. So for that alone he is under no pressure at all.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 21/05/2012 20:20:26    1177612