Ulster Football Championship

Ulsterman You know your history, fair play.

peter_venkman (Down) - Posts: 320 - 31/05/2012 11:45:02    1184312

There was alot more to it than that ulsterman!
My comments where tongue in cheek, this is a
GAA forum not the history channel! Too serious!

TheGateKeeper (Tyrone) - Posts: 2843 - 31/05/2012 12:32:19    1184358

Ulsterman

I think not gatekeeper. All the Tyrone kings ran away to France on the 14th September 1607. It was called The Flight Of The Earls and it doomed the native Irish in Ulster to The Plantation and England's oppression for the next 4 centuries. It wasn't Tyrone's finest hour!

A fairly simplistic description of a very complicated issue. Thank God you are not a history teacher

omaghredhand (Tyrone) - Posts: 3656 - 31/05/2012 14:14:28    1184498

Incorrect Ulsterman it didn't doom us, Cavan or Monaghan!!

Tir Conaill Abu (Donegal) - Posts: 1677 - 31/05/2012 14:24:12    1184518

Joke Tyrone lads joke I just couldn't resist it. It was actually the other Irish Chieftains, mainly in Munster and Leinster (surprise surprise!), who let the Ulster clans and O'Neill's down and who betrayed them when they had England at the sword; once again the Irish conspired to defeat the Irish. Wasn't it Brendan Behan who said that the first thing on the agenda at an Irish Rebel meeting was the split?

Ulsterman (Antrim) - Posts: 9837 - 31/05/2012 14:29:56    1184524

Big Murphy back in training for Donegal this week. It doesn't look like Rory Kavanagh's injury is as bad as first feared so fingers crossed we'll have a full, injury free panel to choose from come June 16th against Derry! Can't wait!

Lockjaw (Donegal) - Posts: 9972 - 31/05/2012 15:25:57    1184602

Big Murphy back in training for Donegal this week. It doesn't look like Rory Kavanagh's injury is as bad as first feared so fingers crossed we'll have a full, injury free panel to choose from come June 16th against Derry! Can't wait!

Is there still room at the back for him?

ballybannongael (Down) - Posts: 547 - 31/05/2012 16:41:45    1184700

ballybannongael Does it matter where we play him? He's a match winner in any position!!!

Tir Conaill Abu (Donegal) - Posts: 1677 - 31/05/2012 16:57:44    1184711

Ulsterman...bait or no bait ..they were the last resistors of British Rule...they went in the hope that Phillip would provide the reinforcements needed unfortunately Anglo-Spanish relations took a turn for the worse (From an Irish viewpoint) and attempts continued to get an army to return to Ireland.
The people who remained in Tyrone were starved (Man made famine) and tortured to submission but they're still there Irish and resistant.

The problem was marching through an ice-age to Kinsale when we had them on their knees...and the ingratitude shown by Kerrymen still to this day persists.

Tyronetim (Tyrone) - Posts: 1254 - 31/05/2012 17:16:48    1184726

jaysus lads , why dont yous set up a history society or something.

AthCliath (Dublin) - Posts: 4347 - 31/05/2012 17:47:52    1184753

Some of you Southerners would do well to listen, AthCliath, you seem lacking in your own history at times.

OgraAnDun (Down) - Posts: 406 - 31/05/2012 17:52:59    1184758

Our history is a continuing story unfortunately. It's still our present.

Tyronetim (Tyrone) - Posts: 1254 - 31/05/2012 17:53:15    1184759

ograundun,

i know my history about the whole island of ireland, just not that uneducated to that off with you southeners or you northeners.

AthCliath (Dublin) - Posts: 4347 - 31/05/2012 18:01:09    1184766

Ulsterman

1183755 I think not gatekeeper. All the Tyrone kings ran away to France on the 14th September 1607. It was called The Flight Of The Earls and it doomed the native Irish in Ulster to The Plantation and England's oppression for the next 4 centuries. It wasn't Tyrone's finest hour!

Were they not the ones who had carried the fight in the first place ? Had they not the most able general of the day in their midst ? Shrewd, calculating, meticulous in his planning, tremendous tactical awareness with a string of stunning victories behind him. The truly great Hugh O Neill. Come to think of it there is a certain Tyrone man involved in the Ulster championship to whom those characteristics also apply. History does after all repeat itself.

Greengrass (Louth) - Posts: 6194 - 31/05/2012 18:03:56    1184768

ograundun,

i know my history about the whole island of ireland, just not that uneducated to that off with you southeners or you northeners.

----------

That's my point, the amount of times I've had people say (not while trying to wind me up) "Well, in Ireland we do..." or "I know it's different in Britain, but here". I live 15 mins away from some of these buck eijits.

OgraAnDun (Down) - Posts: 406 - 31/05/2012 18:09:06    1184771

Nice sentiment Greengrass but hope history doesn't repeat itself and the boul mickey doesn't take flight - though who could blame him with what he's had to contend with.

Tyronetim (Tyrone) - Posts: 1254 - 31/05/2012 18:34:57    1184790

ballybannongael
County: Down

1184700 Big Murphy back in training for Donegal this week. It doesn't look like Rory Kavanagh's injury is as bad as first feared so fingers crossed we'll have a full, injury free panel to choose from come June 16th against Derry! Can't wait!

Is there still room at the back for him?

Don't you worry about that lad. We may meet in the Ulster final God willing and we'll see then if he's playing at the back...

Lockjaw (Donegal) - Posts: 9972 - 01/06/2012 10:34:24    1185030

Tir Conaill Abu

1184518 Incorrect Ulsterman it didn't doom us, Cavan or Monaghan!!

Suppose when u look at the financial state of affairs at the min, maybe we were the doomed counties :-)

Brolly (Monaghan) - Posts: 4472 - 01/06/2012 11:39:28    1185084

Gaa_lover
County: USA

1182979 Derry v Donegal - Donegal by 3 points
Armagh v Tyrone - Tyrone by 4 points
Down v Fermanagh - Down by 3 points

Tyrone v Donegal - Donegal by 2 points
Down v Monaghan - Down by 2 points

Donegal v Down - Donegal by 5 points

I'd agree with most of your predictions. I think the Armagh v Tyrone game will now be alot tougher for Tyrone. The loss of Cavanagh added to that of Coney and O'Neill is tilting the tide in Armaghs favour i think. I was dissapointed to hear Mickey Harte say he had asked a retired Tyrone verteran ( Not Dooher ) to come back now to replace Cavanagh. If i was Mickey Harte, i would have given some younger players a chance to shine. Granted it may diminish Tyrones chances this year. But it would do them good to gain valuable championship experience.

Donegal to win Ulster i believe

GaryMc82 (Derry) - Posts: 3032 - 01/06/2012 21:21:51    1185522

TheGateKeeper

the O'Neill County is still where the kings of ulster reside!
Long live the kings! Lol

I think Donegal is were various Kings of the Ui Neill ( Northern Ui Neill ) were crowned and sat for nearly a millenium, on the Donegal/Derry border.
The Kingdom of Aileach ( Modern day counties Donegal, Derry, Tyrone, Fermangh ). :-)

Could Donegal or Derry be the true kings ;-)

GaryMc82 (Derry) - Posts: 3032 - 01/06/2012 22:01:17    1185542