Ulster Football Championship

Well one thing about "The King" other than being one of the best ever is that he's not short of an opinion so you might be right on that Ballybannon.

Tyronetim (Tyrone) - Posts: 1254 - 21/05/2012 16:21:53    1177316

So Frank McGuigan is against us now... Does Frank McGuigan know this? What has Frank McGuigan got to do with anything? How is he the custodian for what's acceptable and what's not. Is he in charge of how teams should play?... Lads make your arguments on facts not on the supposed fantastical notions of a past great. Once again ridiculous posting.

Al_Maguire (Donegal) - Posts: 335 - 21/05/2012 16:41:11    1177335

Its interesting to note that the majority of the Tyrone posters are intelligent enough to see through the southern anti-northern nonsense being spewed on here. Like ourselves our fellow Tyrone Gaels were subjected to the same tirade of abuse back in 2003 when they took the way Gaelic football is played to a level and intensity other counties couldn't cope with...that Tyrone team did their talking on the field and followed up with three all Ireland's and are accepted as one of the great teams of the modern era. Similarly with Armagh in 2002. It's the sheep mentality in full force here....the majority of ye can't see past a few cheap sound bites... Donegal played attacking football yesterday when it was needed and played defensive football when the game demanded....it took a level of fitness that Cavan couldn't cope with....if that bothers ye down south then too bad....no rules broken, 1-16 on the scoreboard....when ye have a decent argument to back up the sound bites maybe then ye might have some crumbs of credibility

Lifford Gael (Donegal) - Posts: 1925 - 21/05/2012 16:46:42    1177348

Like most people, I hated watching Donegal play last year. But to be fair to them, from what I saw on the Sunday game last night, they played a much better brand of football against Cavan & as some posters have already alluded to, 1-16 is very good scoring.

So hopefully Jim will continue this faster, attacking football for the rest of the summer as Donegal have plenty of talented footballers at their disposal.

Rebel.Og (Cork) - Posts: 519 - 21/05/2012 16:53:08    1177357

Al
My issue is simply that the brand of football Donegal play is extremely unattractive. I don't have an anti-Donegal agenda. I have been vocal in condemning Down in the past for hand-passing the ball to death going from one side of the pitch to the other. I don't agree that the end justifies the means if you win playing boring, unexciting football.
Look at attendances. they are nowhere near what they were a few years back and its not all down to the recession. if I had been offered a ticket for yesterdays match I genuinely would have declined and that's coming from someone who has previously gone to numerous county matches not involving Down including league games. The entertainment value simply isn't there. The frustrating thing for me is that it doesn't have to be this way. Michael Murphy is a super Full Forward and you do have other very good footballers as good as the class of 1992. But you will never win an all Ireland with these tactics as the blanket defence might get you close but its not enough against the best sides as you saw last year.

ballybannongael (Down) - Posts: 547 - 21/05/2012 17:08:27    1177382

@ballybannon Do you think an attacking style of football and keeping only 6 defenders back would mean we would beat the best teams then?

benjyyy (Donegal) - Posts: 1447 - 21/05/2012 17:28:57    1177403

I'd like to say congrats to Donegal,not all Cavan fans are begrudgers, I thought Donegal attacked quite well yesterday and aren't deserving of all the abuse they're getting,I though Cavan for the first 20 mins were very good but did'n't believe they could win it and that showed up as the game went on,from a Cavan perspective minors performance was far more dissapointing in my view as there was far more expected of them and a very good team underperformed massively ,

dickchicken (Cavan) - Posts: 144 - 21/05/2012 17:45:30    1177418

Have to say i was waiting for sunday game last night expecting a boring game with negative tactics after what was said on here yesterday ,granted the coverage was condensed but donegal looked a lot more adventurous than last year, defended in numbers when they had to and attacked in numbers when they had to ,dont see the problem .

AthCliath (Dublin) - Posts: 4347 - 21/05/2012 18:53:44    1177510

It's hard to believe that Cavan fans are giving out about Donegal. It was a very poor attendance by Cavan fans at the game were donegal fans far outnumbered them. from what I seen was Cavan tried to play Donegal at there own game and were not fit to do it and there number 8 spent the game trying to get Neil Gallagher sent off.

red1980 (Donegal) - Posts: 106 - 21/05/2012 19:21:55    1177538

Congrats to Donegal on their win. Instead of complaining about Donegal's tactics which works very well for them people should be working on how to play against it. Donegal play to their strengths and have a very effective game-plan. They won in second gear yesterday and have much more in the tank. They will go far in this Championship.
As for Cavan, they are young and this experience will bring them on. At least they were not hammered. Getting out of Div 3 should be their goal for the year ahead. If they got a game in the Qualifiers against the likes of Waterford who they should beat then that would bring them on too.

Cavan_Slasher (Cavan) - Posts: 10253 - 21/05/2012 19:55:16    1177577

Well, the blanket defence tactics were still there but Donegal aren't the only team guilty of that, they just took it to a new extreme last year.

Still, I thought they were more committed to attack, particularly on the breaks which was an improvement and good to see. Only thing is it was against a poor enough Cavan side who obviously haven't yet nailed the transition from the younger teams to senior, but hopefully it will happen one day for them. Shame to see a county with such footballing tradition be in the doldrums for so long.

Anyhoo, it remains to be seen if Donegal will continue that against better sides or will they try to smother the game again. Either way, it's up to them. They're not breaking any rules in playing that way, people don't have to like it but they really should just live with it by now.

I know if Wexford played like that and got us our first Leinster in decades, we wouldn't be complaining even though everyone else would. And I'm sure the same can be said for many other counties even if they haven't the stones to admit it.

gigoer (Wexford) - Posts: 1998 - 21/05/2012 20:27:09    1177622

BettystownRoyal

hill16no1man

first off i wasnt at the match so im only seeing what rte cameras want you to see but on sunday game donegal looked to have evolved alot better
certainly on the counter attack they were kicking the ball alot more then last year and half backs and corner backs getting into good positions so i wouldnt be in the lets slaughter them camp just yet.it certainly looked a step forward from the way they set up against us last year

well said if donegal play like that for the whole year we can't complain. it was enjoyable to watch.

I also thought it was a decent game, for the first Ulster Championship game. Donegal were naturally going to show caution as the reigning Ulster champions, as in fairness Cavan were a potential slip up waiting to happen.
I don't agree that Cavan are the worst team in Ulster as stated by Martin McHugh, although i realise Cavan are a team close to his heart and he was likely frustrated at how they played.
A word of warning for Cavan though. Lots of remarks about their young team yesterday with a bright future, Which may well come true. But remember the average age of that Donegal team who beat you yesterday. Apart 3 or 4 players maybe, Donegal's squad of players are mostly Under 23 years of age.

While Donegal do play a defensive unit system, they looked better than last year. More confident look about them, and their shooting was better and diverse. I was impressed at how they moved forward at pace as a unit. And how they stayed tight throughout the game. Cavan were very good for the first 20 minutes, but after that Donegal took control.
I think their system is unique, and there is more talent involved than people make out. They have a stronger squad than Kildare, and more grit than Mayo. Definitely in with a shout for the All Ireland this term.

GaryMc82 (Derry) - Posts: 3032 - 21/05/2012 21:49:56    1177722

Agree with Lifford Gael above that it's a bit rich some Tyronies jumping on the Donegal bashing bandwagon.

What I saw from Donegal yesterday (on TV) impressed me and it is certainly the tough side of the Ulster draw, as I'm sure Derry won't roll over, along with Armagh and Tyrone.

Down should make it to make the final from the other half of the draw.

MiseMuineachain (Monaghan) - Posts: 212 - 21/05/2012 21:56:55    1177730

Ulster Football Championship. Or in short... UFC.

mayoboy1 (Mayo) - Posts: 1654 - 22/05/2012 08:49:50    1177747

mayoboy1

Ulster Football Championship. Or in short... UFC.

brendtheredhand (Tyrone) - Posts: 10897 - 22/05/2012 11:21:39    1177868

Mise

Recommend you actually read what Lifford wrote rather than agree with it and proceed to lecture Tyrone posters. I've read very little negative comments from Tyrone people but even if they have they're entitled to their opinion and don't feel they should censure it.

Lifford's post was accurate and valid and to use it as a platform for "a bit rich" Tyrone people Donegal bashing is errant at best.

Tyronetim (Tyrone) - Posts: 1254 - 22/05/2012 11:39:05    1177890

Sergeant_Slash

Mayo play good football and it has worked for them, they contested a league final a few weeks ago. I hope they play yous at some stage, open attacking football will bury that style of your's that we all know and hate. And yesterday you beat what amounted to little more than an U21 team, and couldn't win by more than six points? We had 2 teenagers in the full back line for God's sake, as well as 3 other debutantes. And with a bit more luck (hitting the crossbar, and post twice) we would have given yous quite a scare.

Donegal first team played the Mayo first team just 2 weeks ago in Mayo, and Donegal beat them. Donegal also beat Mayo in the NFL this year too, and by a tidy margin. So clearly your wrong about that. Anyways i remember Donegal have been always beat Mayo, even when playing Open football in the past decade. Can't think of too many games were Mayo actually beat Donegal in the league even.

I think you should also look at the average age of the Donegal squad. What Cavan were playing yesterday was on average not that much older than themselves.
So that excuse won't wash im afraid.

I don't think Derry will stop Donegal, altho id prefer if Derry were in their position. While i do think Derry are the most underachieveing team in Ulster, maybe even Ireland. Donegal look far better than last year, more confident and stronger. Even with both the Bradleys back, i just dont think we can beat them. I think Derry will stick it to them alright, but will fall short.
This Donegal outfit are not the Donegal of old, more focused and determined look about them. I'd say Mickey Harte would list them as the team Tyrone view as their chief threat in Ulster.

GaryMc82 (Derry) - Posts: 3032 - 22/05/2012 17:45:45    1178293

Donegal's first team played our subs. Only three players that started the league final started against Donegal and one of them was in a different position. You can't say that the two first teams played each other.

mayoboy1 (Mayo) - Posts: 1654 - 22/05/2012 18:17:09    1178326

Personally I have no gripe with the way Donegal play. The play intelligently. They obviously have a manager who knows what he is doing. their players are extremely fit and play as a team. the support each other and every player stays in the move. when they lose the ball it's all hands to the pumps. Cavan would do well to look and learn especially our mgmt team who made some very strange decisions (or non-decisions) on Sunday. I honestly would not bet on us beating anybody bar maybe waterford or London at the minute. we are that bad.

s goldrick (Cavan) - Posts: 5522 - 22/05/2012 19:09:30    1178374

mayoboy1

1178326 Donegal's first team played our subs. Only three players that started the league final started against Donegal and one of them was in a different position. You can't say that the two first teams played each other.

Regardless of the challenge match lineup, the league match lineup was quite strong. And Donegal seemed to be equipped to handle that.
Arguments stating that if they meet Mayo in the championship, Donegal will get torn apart seem unrealistic. I think it would be a tight game if the two teams met in the later stages of the Championship.

GaryMc82 (Derry) - Posts: 3032 - 23/05/2012 12:14:59    1178708