Ulster Football Championship

It really frustrates me when refs allow so much of this. How can two men tackling or in some cases actually holding a man down and physically preventing him from getting on his feet not be a foul against??

Yep its a joke, The problem is the ref can only go by the current rule book and if the player in possession is not actually being fouled but only prevented from doing anything technically it aint a foul. Until a rule change comes in that favours the player in possession what can we do but sit back and watch in comtempt.

cacsmckilly (Tyrone) - Posts: 1294 - 05/07/2012 13:15:29    1210119

Wise up letterkenny

Your not falling for that old one about the economic crisis and all that. Its about the football on show, no one wants to see it. I asked alot of people why they didnt go and the same answer ..."Sure you couldnt watch it....." Its awful stuff and the final will be the same. There is zero entertainment value from watching a player in possession being surrounded by 6 players anytime he gets the ball anywhere on the field of play. Come on now its got nothing to do with the economic situation, sure a few years back if you hadnt any money you would make sure you'd get it for a big match, it simply wouldnt be missed - the credit unions would be milked dry. BUt who wants to see the rubbish on nowadays when you can watch that rubbish at home

cacsmckilly (Tyrone) - Posts: 1294 - 05/07/2012 13:24:04    1210128

God all I can sense is pure and utter bitterness! Wud yas all stop and remember that Donegal r getting results at the way they are playin. We r playin a more attackin game this yr and the critics have mentioned it. Some ppl on here think they know everything. Jealously gets u no where. As for the foulin at the Tyrone match. Come on nw!Tyrone fouled numerous times. And after wee Paddy McBrearty got that great pt Ryan McManamin was over in his face. He is the biggest fouler of all time. And Owen mulligan bein taken off simply cos he was outclassed. Every ball that came into him he was dispossessed.
Enough boout Tyrone, We look forward to an Ulster final meetin with Down. Its going to be very touhg and McCartan will have them well prepared. Heres hopin 4 a gud day out. Dun na nGall ábu!

dgl2012 (Donegal) - Posts: 26 - 05/07/2012 13:57:55    1210171

dgl2012

Typical blind loyalty again from another Donegal poster....

cacsmckilly (Tyrone) - Posts: 1294 - 05/07/2012 14:41:38    1210218

In fairness to Ricey, you usually have be to in the vicinity of an opposition player to foul him. So the above criticism is probably unfair.

DLGael (Donegal) - Posts: 111 - 05/07/2012 14:45:21    1210226

I don't buy into all of this in depth tactical nonsense. Its 15 v 15, and whoever scores the most wins. I want to see Down come out all guns blazing. I think we're going to need at least a couple of goals to win it, and we have the forwards capable of scoring these goals. Running at the Donegal defense with pace is key, moving the ball at pace is also crucial. Having support runners breaking off the shoulder of whoever is in possession when on attack is how to break through the blanket defense, also attacking the wings, and switching play time after time and recycling the ball to the half backs breaking through. These aspects coupled with hard work and determination will see Down with a good chance of winning Ulster.

MourneArmy (Down) - Posts: 1787 - 05/07/2012 15:17:11    1210269

It seems to be lost on a lot of Tyrone people that of the two teams last Saturday Tyrone played the most defensive football. At various stages there were 14 Tyrone men behind the ball. Your best forward Martin Penrose spent most of his time in the second half defending. It was Donegal on this occasion who pushed out and attacked in the second half when they needed to. Tyrone needed to be further ahead at half time to be able to hold on in the second half. But in fairness Tyrone did have chances and did get through our backs at times (especially in the first half).
But lets face it the Donegal style of play is just a variation of the Tyrone / Armagh style of the 00's. It's a bit rich Tyrone supporters accusing another team of cynical tactics - you and Armagh were masters of it yourselves for years but of course that was ok for you to do it when you were winning All Irelands and Ulster titles.

supporter (Donegal) - Posts: 205 - 05/07/2012 15:30:26    1210288

I don't buy into all of this in depth tactical nonsense. Its 15 v 15, and whoever scores the most wins.

That's what we used to say - but unfortunately it's not that simple....

supporter (Donegal) - Posts: 205 - 05/07/2012 15:39:59    1210298

MourneArmy
County: Down

I think we're going to need at least a couple of goals to win it, and we have the forwards capable of scoring these goals.
Yes you will need goals and you are capable of getting them.

Running at the Donegal defense with pace is key, moving the ball at pace is also crucial. Having support runners breaking off the shoulder of whoever is in possession when on attack is how to break through the blanket defense, also attacking the wings, and switching play time after time and recycling the ball to the half backs breaking through.
No, this will not work against Donegal or ( Tyrone ). Having been at the Donegal v Tyrone game, I had the benefit of the naked eye that tv does not give you, and I can tell you this - There will be absolutly no space to run through Donegal and you can switch, recycle and attack the wings all day long but you will only tire yourselves out. I think you should move your heavy artillery to mid field and kick to the big men on the full forward line, then you can get goals. I repeat, there will be no space to run through Donegal.

May the best team win.

drumlinbelt (Monaghan) - Posts: 179 - 05/07/2012 15:48:07    1210307

Seems a fair enough analysis Drumlinbelt. However Down will need to play guys out of position to have the type of target men inside that they need. I don't think Down can match us physically or tactically. That's essentially where I see the game being lost for them. Well that and the fact that Derry probably have as good a back 6 as Down. Only my opinion now so keep the nags on.

DLGael (Donegal) - Posts: 111 - 05/07/2012 15:58:34    1210315

supporter

Supporter please dont blame Tyrone and Armagh for Donegals style, such a post has been tried before and successfully argued against umpteen times. Donegal has 14 men running up and down the field. Tyrone never did that neither did Armagh! We were little more subtle about it with the half forwards helping out in defense when needed. I dont blame donegal or Mcguinness as all you want to do is win at any cost and means necessary. The game just is suffering as a result for the neutral and is losing its appeal.

cacsmckilly (Tyrone) - Posts: 1294 - 05/07/2012 16:01:55    1210320

cacsmckilly I agree with you but also Donegal are changing this tactic now. In 2003 tyrones half forward line moved back all the time and now in 2012 thats what donegal do. We have for most parts always had mcfaddan and mcbrearty in FF line and murphy goes between FF and Midfield.

I also agree that Tyrone were as defensive as Donegal in the last game. Before the throw up tyrone already had an extra defender (atleast donegal wait for the match to start before defending).

I think what donegal are trying to acheive is Tyrone football of 2008 where Tyrone showed how to play Total Football where defense and attack are both equally important and all 14 men defended and all 14 men could kick socres. Donegal are still building on this.

I must say I disagree with all the haters similar to how I disagreed with the Puke football tag given to the Tyrone footballers back in 2003. I think that football has progressed so drastically and now there are several managers who are so tactically aware that it makes for great matches. 2 of these great managers were there in clones last week.

dstuction (Donegal) - Posts: 1209 - 05/07/2012 16:49:13    1210376

From a quick scan of this whole thread it is obvious that the likes of Lifford Gael, Lockjaw and Supporter will have to defend Donegal's system right up until they get knocked out of the All Ireland or even right up unitl they win it. So far criticism on here has come from Cavan fans, Dublin fans , Tyrone and Down. I dont think it will stop there and it will be equal to if not greater than the lambasting they got last year. It is evident Donegal play unattractive football, an extreme form of defensive football in their back line and forward line. They have created a new game - mixed between basketball and Rugby league.

As the season continues the criticism will continue and the attractiveness of Gaelic football is the greatest casualty of it all - an innocent victim of Donegals win at all costs approach. One thing is for sure there will be no neutral at the Ulster Final.

cacsmckilly (Tyrone) - Posts: 1294 - 05/07/2012 20:03:31    1210551

cacsmckilly

1210551 From a quick scan of this whole thread it is obvious that the likes of Lifford Gael, Lockjaw and Supporter will have to defend Donegal's system right up until they get knocked out of the All Ireland or even right up unitl they win it. So far criticism on here has come from Cavan fans, Dublin fans , Tyrone and Down. I dont think it will stop there and it will be equal to if not greater than the lambasting they got last year. It is evident Donegal play unattractive football, an extreme form of defensive football in their back line and forward line. They have created a new game - mixed between basketball and Rugby league.

As the season continues the criticism will continue and the attractiveness of Gaelic football is the greatest casualty of it all - an innocent victim of Donegals win at all costs approach. One thing is for sure there will be no neutral at the Ulster Final.

I'm a neutral, and having been to the semi final in Clones, im currently looking to get tickets to the Final.

Overall I disagree with your comments. As for attractive football, and attracting neutrals to games. Most counties can't attract their own fans/people to games, nevermind the neutral spectator. You sound like a GAA marketing rep, trying to attract Americans to the sport with the promise of high scoring and free flowing football. Donegal have seen their crowds increase hugely from last year. Donegal are fresh, a break from the norm in Ulster so to speak.
What you call boring and dull, is a team with a system that most teams in Ulster have not been able to crack. Why is that? Because its not simply the system that makes them succesful, the system hides the truth that they have actually a very good team. And to be fair to them, they havent been all out defensive this year.

Every system can be countered and overcome. Its always been that way, rock paper scissors. You just need effective counter tactics, and the players to implement them.

GaryMc82 (Derry) - Posts: 3032 - 05/07/2012 21:41:49    1210609

Fair enough Gary, you obviously see the whole thing different to what I see it and anyone else ive spoken to. Gaelic football is about entertainment, its a spectator sport meant to give pleasure to those watching it. The GAA is where it is today because of the paying public. Take away the entertainment then take away the paying public. If a win at all costs system is devised by a team that is sore on the eye then your gonna loose the paying spectator. Thats the be all and end all. Enjoy your big day out at the final, dont worry there will be plenty of Tickets. Yes lots of Donegal fans of course, sure the bandwagon is in full swing. Watch out for the dude with the bag pipes, he's good craic in the green and gold kilt.

cacsmckilly (Tyrone) - Posts: 1294 - 06/07/2012 10:25:37    1210723

Ah, the infamous cacs stirring it up again..... A wind up merchant at his best...... The majority of Tyrone posters on here have been most gracious in defeat and fair play to them so don't be attempting cacs to label them all with your tarnished brush. In fact the most revealing thing of all to me is that you aren't even a Tyrone supporter as you insinuated you weren't even at the Tyrone Donegal game stating that the ground looked half empty.....if you had been there you'd hav seen the ground was three quarters full apart from behind the goal at the Roslea Road end..... 17500 wasn't a bad crowd considering the awful rain that day.

I'm not sure if you're au fait with the Irish language and the meaning of 'cách' as suggested by your username but if not, let me tell you that you're full of it... (cách that is)....

Lifford Gael (Donegal) - Posts: 1925 - 06/07/2012 10:46:37    1210740

cacsmckilly

Fair enough Gary, you obviously see the whole thing different to what I see it and anyone else ive spoken to. Gaelic football is about entertainment, its a spectator sport meant to give pleasure to those watching it. The GAA is where it is today because of the paying public. Take away the entertainment then take away the paying public. If a win at all costs system is devised by a team that is sore on the eye then your gonna loose the paying spectator. Thats the be all and end all. Enjoy your big day out at the final, dont worry there will be plenty of Tickets. Yes lots of Donegal fans of course, sure the bandwagon is in full swing. Watch out for the dude with the bag pipes, he's good craic in the green and gold kilt.

I'm not so sure about the paying public as at most club games (which are the mainstay of the GAA there is very little money changing hands. in some case there is nobody collecting at the gate at all. I agree that the public do fund via club lotto and other fund raising events but gate receipts would be a small part . the county team also has supporters clubs that raise quite alot of money towards the cost of running the team and of course there is the sponsorships.

s goldrick (Cavan) - Posts: 5522 - 06/07/2012 10:51:45    1210745

Cacsmckilly, Honest to god you chat some Bull, the truth is simply sour grapes, the sooner you accept that the Power of Ulster Football has finally swifted away from Tyrone and Armagh (THANK GOD) and most people in Ulster i think would agree with that, i find it insulting that a tyrone supporter has to neck to come on here and give out about Donegals tactics, when yous tried the exact same last saturday but we know what happened there.............. Also as other posters have highlighted both your selfs and Armagh won All-Irelands with these tactis off men behind the ball, the only difference in the way yous played and the way we play is that yous both kicked Long Ball into the full forward Line whereas Donegal are a running team as they always have been, you can dress it up all you like but the long and short of it is that yous also had 10/11 players behind the ball.

I think Tyrone (Supporters) feel they have the god given right to be winning Ulster Championships year after year or even getting to the final, this is summed up by the fact that i notice a Thread on the Tyrones Hompage suggesting that Tyrone should change the Management, its bloodly lauaghable considering what that man is going through never mind the fact that he won yous 3 All Irelands and probably 5/6 Ulter Titles....................... Just Proves my Point id Suggest

beenthere (Donegal) - Posts: 37 - 06/07/2012 11:05:03    1210756

Lifford and been there - all i see from you is blind loyalty. If Donegal played soccer for the entire ulster final you would be saying theres nothing wrong with it. Tyrone has been playing sublime free flowing football all year in the league and against Armagh. They played the borefest anti football system against Donegal as this was the only way to play against a similar system. Tyrone had to mirror what Donegal was going to do.... the difference with Donegal is that they go into every single game with the intention to not actually play any Gaelic Football.

cacsmckilly (Tyrone) - Posts: 1294 - 06/07/2012 11:34:34    1210782

cacsmckilly

1210723 Fair enough Gary, you obviously see the whole thing different to what I see it and anyone else ive spoken to. Gaelic football is about entertainment, its a spectator sport meant to give pleasure to those watching it. The GAA is where it is today because of the paying public. Take away the entertainment then take away the paying public. If a win at all costs system is devised by a team that is sore on the eye then your gonna loose the paying spectator. Thats the be all and end all. Enjoy your big day out at the final, dont worry there will be plenty of Tickets. Yes lots of Donegal fans of course, sure the bandwagon is in full swing. Watch out for the dude with the bag pipes, he's good craic in the green and gold kilt.

Aye the bag pipe man in the green & gold came in behind us into the main stand last saturday :-) I think the Enniskillen band werent too impressed.

My main point is that we should not sacrifice the Sport in Gaelic football for the sake of entertainment. Otherwise it will end up like wrestling
with the GAA being rebranded Gaelic Entertainment Association/GEA. That of course is a bit of an extreme comparison, and me joking.
Donegal devised a system to win, and didnt concern themselves with the entertainment end of things.

GaryMc82 (Derry) - Posts: 3032 - 06/07/2012 20:46:49    1211227