All Ireland Minor Football Championship 2012

Tipp are an even better team this year, to win tonight without one of there main players was unreal. Hard to believe they have ten still under age from last year.

therealtmo (Tipperary) - Posts: 1292 - 16/05/2012 21:29:12    1174028

16/05/2012 20:58:20
sedico

1173978 Looks like its Tipp in Munster unless Kerry do a Lazarus. I'm sure I'll feel the wrath of a few on here but I heard Kildare were strong enough this year. That was from someone with no connection to Kildare. Dublin of course will be attempting to continue their good work at underage level. Perhaps other poster could let us know what way their minors are fixed.

Do the bookies price up the minor?

thurlesblues
not really while the footballers are very strong, the hurlers are nowhere near as strong as teams from across the country and unfortunatly will not do as well as you think.
Sedico,
All the Bookies do price the minor championship.

ormondbannerman (Clare) - Posts: 13473 - 16/05/2012 21:33:24    1174035

Probably very hard to predict what'll happen with minors. With 10 of last years team underage with Tipp they'll be difficult to beat. The future is bright for football in the Premier.

sedico (Kildare) - Posts: 1682 - 16/05/2012 21:39:16    1174044

Great to see Tipp going so well at minor again. 10 of the lads from last year so they were always going to be strong again. Wouldnt have any info on any of the other provinces but in Leinster the Dubs are always going to be the ones to beat. Now more so than ever. By all accounts Louth and Meath wont be far behind them.

derfil1 (Kildare) - Posts: 1612 - 17/05/2012 09:23:03    1174101

Problem in Munster now is that Kerry and Tipp will have to wait till July 7th/8th for the Munster Final, but both are in the last 8 now anyway.

Cute_Kerry_Hoor (Kerry) - Posts: 2518 - 17/05/2012 10:09:51    1174142

Roscommon won connacht league with no losses and they have a good few of the team that reached the all ireland semi final last year. hopefully a good year for us again.

ros747 (Roscommon) - Posts: 160 - 17/05/2012 11:37:04    1174232

derfil1
Kildare have a very good minor side but will have a tough one against a highly rated Louth team in Newbridge on Saturday.

lilywhite1 (Kildare) - Posts: 3038 - 17/05/2012 11:43:23    1174238

17/05/2012 10:09:51
Cute_Kerry_Hoor

1174142 Problem in Munster now is that Kerry and Tipp will have to wait till July 7th/8th for the Munster Final, but both are in the last 8 now anyway.

Well a lot of players kind of have something much more important to do in the next few weeks than a football game. Its less than 3 weeks to the leaving cert so players need to study

ormondbannerman (Clare) - Posts: 13473 - 17/05/2012 11:55:20    1174252

Of course Ormond, I agree. But there is a small chance that it may put Tipp off their stride a bit but I still can't see Kerry beating them anyway.

Cute_Kerry_Hoor (Kerry) - Posts: 2518 - 17/05/2012 12:21:44    1174273

BettystownRoyal

1174018 don't know about meath but were always good at minor and as far as i know this team was good all the way up so we could be good.

Your a dreamer Betty. Yez won one leinster and zero all irelands in the lifetime of the present minors. 1993 was the last time yez got to a final and Cork hammered yez. Back to sleep Betty.

georgelee (Louth) - Posts: 523 - 17/05/2012 17:28:57    1174641

georgelee
County: Louth

1993 was the last time yez got to a final and Cork hammered yez. Back to sleep Betty.

Almost right george. We also reached the final in 2002 but Derry beat us. But you are right to a point. We haven't been particularly strong at minor since the early nineties - which is largely the root of our current problems. Unfortunately a lot of our supporters (and the county board) are still kidding themselves that we are a major force at underage (and indeed senior) level when the facts don't back that up. But I dont suppose you are in any way interested in facts - winding people up is what its all about.

anfearbeag (Meath) - Posts: 1134 - 17/05/2012 18:40:00    1174695

Cute_Kerry_Hoor

Tipp already beat Kerry easily,

I don't understand... so tipp already beat kerry in munster. yet kerry are still in it and will meet tipp again in the final. if tipp beat them again , they are still in it and could meet tipp again in the all-ireland final. so it will be possible that tipp can beat kerry three times in the championship in the one year. Why are Kerry still in it if Tipp already beat them ?

s goldrick (Cavan) - Posts: 5522 - 17/05/2012 18:52:53    1174704

16/05/2012 21:12:35
fredrickwood
County: Roscommon

Standard high again in Connacht this year.

Roscommon,Galway and Mayo will all fancy their chances as usual,while Sligo and Leitrim are stronger than they have been in a while

This is the draw- Leitrim v Roscommon

Winr Away v Galway

Other semi- Mayo v Sligo.

Hard to predict Connacht alright. We certainly have the quality to win again but got the short straw with the draw plus we don't have a good record of defending underage titles. If we manage to get over Leitrim,Galway that will mean a QF place & that has to be our target.

I think Tipp will win Munster again (a long wait to final)
In Ulster i'm going to go for Armagh
The Dubs will win leinster again

The_analyser (Roscommon) - Posts: 4115 - 17/05/2012 19:04:32    1174717

"Why are Kerry still in it if Tipp already beat them ?"
Back door championship in Munster & Leinster. Last year Meath had to beaten three times before they were finally knocked out.

The_analyser (Roscommon) - Posts: 4115 - 17/05/2012 20:07:01    1174749

17/05/2012 18:52:53
s goldrick

1174704 Cute_Kerry_Hoor

Tipp already beat Kerry easily,

I don't understand... so tipp already beat kerry in munster. yet kerry are still in it and will meet tipp again in the final. if tipp beat them again , they are still in it and could meet tipp again in the all-ireland final. so it will be possible that tipp can beat kerry three times in the championship in the one year. Why are Kerry still in it if Tipp already beat them ?

Kerry are still in the championship after tipp beat them as the munster gaa council have created a super format for the championship which guarantees the kids playing plenty of games and gives everyone a 2nd chance.
Yes tipp could have to play kerry 3 times but at least the championship format guarantees plenty of games for each county
The next game is the munster final and both finalists are through to the all ireland 1/4s.

ormondbannerman (Clare) - Posts: 13473 - 17/05/2012 20:26:28    1174767

ros747
County: Roscommon

1174232 Roscommon won connacht league with no losses and they have a good few of the team that reached the all ireland semi final

Only 3 off the team,most of the subs stilll der.Lads that have come up from last years U-16 team are teeming with talent the likes of Harney,Murtagh and Compton.

fredrickwood (Roscommon) - Posts: 2871 - 17/05/2012 20:31:41    1174773

Georgelee we gave your boys a lesson in football earlier this year though!

shldrs2thewheel (Meath) - Posts: 200 - 17/05/2012 21:47:15    1174859

shldrs2thewheel

1174859 Georgelee we gave your boys a lesson in football earlier this year though!

Yez did. But Betty was saying your allways good at minor which is laughable. We still will progress futher than yez this year. Watch this space and sleep tight.

georgelee (Louth) - Posts: 523 - 17/05/2012 21:57:11    1174871

Great win for Tipp the other night, fair play to them. They should go on & win Munster again this year.

Rebel.Og (Cork) - Posts: 519 - 18/05/2012 08:59:43    1174895

Meath had a big over offaly in the leinster quarter final and we beat longford in the first round. Looking like it's westmeath in the semi although it could be wicklow. either way we would be expected to win and that would be us in the all-ireland quarters. tipp, tyrone, dublin and roscommon would all be stronger but you never know on the day we ran tipp close last year.

BettystownRoyal (Meath) - Posts: 3353 - 19/05/2012 16:24:15    1175865