Dublin and the 'Back to Back'

Ah those Dubs are untouchable are they not. One in a row and we do not hear the end of them. Get humble lads, we all like ye just shut up about yourselves a bit. I am originally from a county that has won both senior codes and appreciate victory but also know you lose more than you win. So mind yer attitudes the Fall opens the door to a cold Winter most years!

lostintime (USA) - Posts: 533 - 15/05/2012 19:25:29    1172975

I am a Dub and I will give you an honest opinion. I do think Dublin have a shout this year. I think the days of the exceptional teams is gone and will remain so, as long as the current style of play prevails. There is no question but that Kerry have the best collection of individuals in Ireland, no doubt. But thats not enough anymore. If all these teams with the same players met in the 90's, Kerry would be going for 5 in a row! But its not like that anymore.
It is , for me, down to 3. Dublin, Kerry, Cork.
I tip Cork. Not because I want to down play our chances or anything like that. I tip Cork as I think the hunger will be back for them. And for much the same reasons, I would give the Dubs the nod in 2013.
I have a feeling with the make up of the 2 panels, with the way football is now played and with the age profiles of the teams, that Dublin and Cork could dominate for a few years, much the same as Cork and Meath did in the 80's.
Kerry of course have a shout, it would be madness not to think so. And if they are to win Sam this year, no one would be in the slightest bit surprised. But with Donaghy far from his best for a few years now, the O'Se's not getting any younger and Declan struggling for the brilliant form of past years I can see them being vulnerable this year. Kerry have been unbelievably lucky in recent times with their 1/4 final draws. I have a feeling a sticky 1/4 final this year (Kildare, Mayo) could see for them.
If however they make a final, then you would have to fancy them against either Dublin or Cork.

But I do feel this year and for the next few years we will see Dublin and Cork dominate. Dublin already have a very strong panel. Weak panels dont win All Irelands. We also have a very very young panel, especially in the backs. And with the addition of some exceptional All Ireland winning U21's plus the new talents such as Craig Dias, I cant see Dublin falling off any time soon. And then the dust settles in September, we will be there or there abouts again.

But If I was to think with my head and call a winner right now, its Cork. Keep C O'Neill and Sheehan fit, Get DOC and DG to maintain their levels of consistency and another year like 2 years ago from Kerrigan, O'Neill, Walsh, AOC and Cork will be the team to beat in 2012.

Depending on how the draw works out, Dublin Cork final, Cork win.

Liamwalkinstown (Dublin) - Posts: 8166 - 16/05/2012 08:55:24    1173166

I reckon Dublin are in with a huge shout for 2 in a row - and it's as much to do with the opposition as it is themselves.... there is no single dominating force in gaelic football right now. This is a chance for the dubs to make that position theirs.

We have a little bit more in the tank for this years championship. Dublin will take to the pitch in every game as reigning all Ireland champions - this should not be underestimated, also Dublins pedigree and history demands more than just one title - make no mistake the hunger will be there.

It's easy to be critical and for every reason you give me why Dublin won't retain sam I can give you 10 reasons why any other county wont win it... of course sport being sport anything can happen but I'm optimistic.

Floops (Dublin) - Posts: 1623 - 16/05/2012 11:01:50    1173278

16/05/2012 08:55:24
Liamwalkinstown

Thats not a bad post. Best of the rest is in no particular order, Mayo, Tyrone, Kildare all could make the AI final if the draw favors them. In relation to Dublin I do think that an injection of U21 players will help the panel.

bluedubstar (Dublin) - Posts: 835 - 16/05/2012 11:02:51    1173280

As a Dub I fancy Cork this year. They were devastated by injury last year and now with some of their players back they will be a real threat. I would be seriously worried about the fitness of the Brogans this year, as for that reason I don't fancy the Dubs to do 2 in a row.

Drummerboy (Dublin) - Posts: 85 - 16/05/2012 11:21:10    1173310

Liam, if Dublin were to get to a final against Cork i would fancy us to get one over on them. We owe them a beating given the nature of our last two loses to them. What worries me is a quarter final exit or even a high profile qualifier exit should things go wrong. If we were to get to a semi, id be fairly confident on pushing on.

Giller has a lot of choices to make. This will be the key to the summer. Many feel that win or lose this is his last year. If it is his last i reckon he will stick to the tried and trusted. In doing this i don't see where we improve on last year. We are too weak in the middle unfortunately. But still, we have a good as chance as any and were definitely in the top 3.

seany16 (Dublin) - Posts: 1663 - 16/05/2012 11:33:44    1173324

Dublin are in with a great chance but the idea that some of the minors or under 21 will play a huge part is madness, they have not even played some of these players in the league and to expect some of these players to shine in senior championship against the likes of Cork or Kerry is not going to happen. No doubt Dublin have huge talent coming along but patience is needed when it comes to younger players otherwise some of these players could be ruined if they are rushed. The Dubs have enough talent already in there panel to win the All Ireland without rushing these young lads to play senior. A good example of this is the kk hurling team who has the same amount of talent coming along every year and the young players are never rushed in to the team, there brought along nicely and make the team when there ready around the age of 23 or 24. I do understand some times you do get an 18 year old who breaks straight onto the team but this is rare.

therealtmo (Tipperary) - Posts: 1292 - 16/05/2012 11:46:07    1173333

Snufalufagus

Kerry did not win 'back to back' AIs in 2006 - 2007!!

They lost their province to Cork remember and the old saying is: "An AI 'won' without winning your province is not an AI 'won' at all!!"

How can you call yerselves true champions and masters of all men if another team beat you along the way and furthermore back in the days when men were men and it was old style knockout before the 'backdoor' system a beaten provincial finalist would never have got to an AI Final now would they?!

There was no 'back to back' in 06 - 07!!!

The old saying ha your the only person thats ever said that! Had Dublin won the hurling All Ireland last year or the football in 2010 i wonder how worried you would have been that they didnt win Leinster...

moomoo (Kerry) - Posts: 4023 - 16/05/2012 11:52:00    1173343

The Real Tmo, you misunderstand
I was saying longer term with the 21's
have another read
Apologies if that wasnt clear in my post
My point is the next few years could see Dublin and Cork dominate given the youth of both squads and whats coming through with the 2 underage structures

There is not a hope any untried senior level players will play for us this year

Liamwalkinstown (Dublin) - Posts: 8166 - 16/05/2012 11:59:21    1173349

I am hesitating between two opinions on Dublin 2012.

a. the League was a true reflection of form which means we could win Leinster (should) but then need a kind draw or bounce of the ball to get us further.

or

b. Giller pulled a master stroke by having some strange team selections (players out of position/many changes) to ensure a mediocre League campaign and so there is ZERO hype around Dublin going into the Championship. Never seen it so low key and we are All-Ireland Championship. Deliberately didn't throw in the 21s to hold them back, and we have some good ones to come in, and it has been shown many times that at 19 or 20 you can hold your own.

Heart and Mind say b!!! But there is this bloodly gremlin that keeps nagging away at mean saying a!!

The lack of noise around Dublin going into the Championship is something I like.

witnof (Dublin) - Posts: 1604 - 16/05/2012 12:19:01    1173373

Liam what I was saying about the younger players was in regards to earlier post not your one but do agree with your post the Dubs will win a few titles in around no doubt about it, its just a matter of how many. As for this year it will be a Cork Dublin All Ireland.

therealtmo (Tipperary) - Posts: 1292 - 16/05/2012 12:20:14    1173375

Real TMO i wouldnt say we will win a few without a doubt
If this team wins another one in the next 2 years it will have been a magnificent achievment. 2 Sams in 4 years is a huge achievment, Thats the aim I think myself.
Better teams than this Dubs team have not dominated in their time
it aint that simples

Liamwalkinstown (Dublin) - Posts: 8166 - 16/05/2012 12:30:10    1173384

Liam you reckon no u 21 player will get game time this summer?

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 16/05/2012 12:40:46    1173397

Snuf i guess if Dublin lose leinster and win the AI Dublin will give it back .
You wont have to worry because Dublin will be gone in the early stages
Kerry gave them the AI last year

wfkerry (USA) - Posts: 933 - 16/05/2012 12:41:25    1173399

wfkerry
County: USA

Snuf i guess if Dublin lose leinster and win the AI Dublin will give it back .
You wont have to worry because Dublin will be gone in the early stages
Kerry gave them the AI last year

Yeh yeh keep telling yourself that! Makes it all the sweeter for us!

Jackeen (Dublin) - Posts: 4097 - 16/05/2012 12:46:43    1173406

Nothing was 'gifted' to Dublin and its nothing is your managements fault!

6 mins to go and being 1-01 up to then conceeding a total of 1-03 in that small space of time to lose an All Ireland Final!....get with the reality of that!....and ye call that a 'gift' and blame it on the management!.....the mind boggles!

Get real Kerry....ye are a spent force!!!

"An AI 'won' without your Province is not an AI 'won' at all!!"......Thats what the old saying is because another county proved to be your master along the way!!

Snufalufagus (Dublin) - Posts: 8100 - 16/05/2012 13:07:46    1173427

Clondalkindub the only "irregulars" that have a hope of starting this summer or even getting game time are Cooper and Dias

PG is what he is and nothing he has done in the recent past suggests a man that will bring in a fella to a championship match with zero experience at SIC level before

So with that, I absolutely 100% do not see anyone that has not already played a SIC game getting game time for Dublin this year whatsoever.

Liamwalkinstown (Dublin) - Posts: 8166 - 16/05/2012 13:35:46    1173459

Snufalufagus

Nothing was 'gifted' to Dublin and its nothing is your managements fault!

6 mins to go and being 1-01 up to then conceeding a total of 1-03 in that small space of time to lose an All Ireland Final!....get with the reality of that!....and ye call that a 'gift' and blame it on the management!.....the mind boggles!

Get real Kerry....ye are a spent force!!!

"An AI 'won' without your Province is not an AI 'won' at all!!"......Thats what the old saying is because another county proved to be your master along the way!!

How is "An AI 'won' without your Province is not an AI 'won' at all!!" an old saying when its only be possible to do so since 2001?

moomoo (Kerry) - Posts: 4023 - 16/05/2012 13:52:43    1173478

Liam what did he do with Rory O Carroll in 09 against Westmeath?? We're not talking about any joe soap here were talking about Ciaran Kilkenny the best underage talent Dublin has ever produce. Gilroy is quoted as saying he will have no problem throwing in any of the 21s this summer.

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 16/05/2012 14:36:53    1173537

"were talking about Ciaran Kilkenny the best underage talent Dublin has ever produce"

Lads, seriously, we all need to calm the feck down!!! Thats a crazy statement!!!!!

Liamwalkinstown (Dublin) - Posts: 8166 - 16/05/2012 14:54:11    1173560