Dublin and the 'Back to Back'

Tyrone and Armagh are not regular winners of the All Ireland.

hurlingdub (Dublin) - Posts: 6978 - 15/05/2012 10:21:36    1172453

Armagh?

doublehop (Kildare) - Posts: 4172 - 15/05/2012 10:21:42    1172454

Oh dear Cacs. You do realise when you post something it's there forever don't you?

Take a look at what you posted previously!

cacsmckilly

Its a fair enough statement, Kerry , Cork and Dublin are the teams to beat this year as it has been for a number of years. Top three teams for sure with plenty of experience of late Summer football. Tyrone arnt in the reckoning, Quater Finals at best

Jackeen (Dublin) - Posts: 4097 - 15/05/2012 10:27:09    1172466

You should be in the Law Library Jackeen :-)

hurlingdub (Dublin) - Posts: 6978 - 15/05/2012 10:32:20    1172473

Hhahahahahahaha good man cacs hahahahahaha. Loving your work jackeen.

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 15/05/2012 10:32:53    1172475

Haha!!! I have a great memory!

Jackeen (Dublin) - Posts: 4097 - 15/05/2012 10:34:39    1172477

Odds of rolling one number are 16.67% - 5/1.

Would 20% not be 5/1?

Either way my point is all teams start on as level a playing field as they did last year. It's a new championship. There's nothing that makes Dublin's task harder because they won it last year.

doublehop (Kildare) - Posts: 4172 - 15/05/2012 10:45:52    1172484

I agree doublehop! I think that if you're good enough you'll win end of.

Jackeen (Dublin) - Posts: 4097 - 15/05/2012 10:49:20    1172490

You got me Jackeen, Jaysus i will have to be more careful round here lol

Ok post on here was WUM, I admit it. Will behave in future! (walks away in shame)

cacsmckilly (Tyrone) - Posts: 1294 - 15/05/2012 10:49:55    1172491

No doublehop, it's based on the % chance which is one in six and expressed in odds as 5/1.

Just my pedantic betting head on :-) Few people understand how bookies set prices. Hence few people beat them!

hurlingdub (Dublin) - Posts: 6978 - 15/05/2012 10:50:34    1172493

Ah cacs I knew it was a wum just every now and then I'll call ye on it! I'm cute like that ;)

Jackeen (Dublin) - Posts: 4097 - 15/05/2012 10:58:50    1172509

It's difficult enough to reach back-to-back Finals, nevermind winning both. Dublin have a great chance this year and should be flying in the Summer.

Cute_Kerry_Hoor (Kerry) - Posts: 2518 - 15/05/2012 11:05:20    1172514

There seems to be a lot of posts, regarding Kildare as top 4/5 side and serious contenders for Sam.

Can someone tell me why this hype is about Kildare? I can't honestly work it out, I can't remember them in a final since 98,I understand they are not a bad side and of course they are the new media darlings but it still has me baffled as to how they are held in such high esteem.

51longago (Mayo) - Posts: 2981 - 15/05/2012 11:27:22    1172536

There seems to be a lot of posts, regarding Kildare as top 4/5 side and serious contenders for Sam.

You're right there's hundreds of them which makes me wonder why you decided to reply on a thread that has nothing to do with it.

doublehop (Kildare) - Posts: 4172 - 15/05/2012 11:41:45    1172551

There was posts on kildare previous to mine.

Anyhow doublehop, maybe you can inform me about this mighty kildare team, I'm genuinely lost about it all.

51longago (Mayo) - Posts: 2981 - 15/05/2012 12:21:18    1172586

in this order for 2012 Sam

1 CORK
2 TYRONE
3 KERRY
4 KILDARE
5 DUBLIN

No one else has a chance

Oooh spot the sore loser!

bluedubstar (Dublin) - Posts: 835 - 15/05/2012 13:31:18    1172654

Dublin like Cork the year before are a one hit wonder. Both will not be back to win Sam for another ten years or so. I think the cup will be going back to one of the regular winning outfits such as Kerry or Tyrone and Armagh

Yeah dublin and the one hit wonder, ...after beating Tyrone twice in succession, definitely a one hit wonder! Still if anything this Hoganstand forum highlights how many genuine stand up comedians that are all over Ireland never make it to the big stage, what a pity :(

bluedubstar (Dublin) - Posts: 835 - 15/05/2012 13:34:23    1172658

Don't think dubs will do it this year but see a bright future for them,I think cork will do it and bore us to death doing it

duncanknows125 (Down) - Posts: 123 - 15/05/2012 13:42:35    1172668

Some Dubs are obviously playing down their chances citing league performances. But their is one big difference in that they play all their championship games at home. I know Kerry won well there in the League but as we all know this is a totally different ball game.
I do believe Dublin will be very strong contenders again this year and Pat Gilroy and co will be continually hammering two big points into them:
1. They have taken a lot of flak that Kerry threw last years final away
2. Back to back wins will mark them down as a great team

ballybannongael (Down) - Posts: 547 - 15/05/2012 14:40:50    1172743

1. They have taken a lot of flak that Kerry threw last years final away
2. Back to back wins will mark them down as a great team

yep that will inspire them,dublin for sam 2012

superbluedub (Dublin) - Posts: 2842 - 15/05/2012 15:19:58    1172769