Dublin and the 'Back to Back'

It is obviously going to be talked about coming into championship. But it is very hard to do. In last 30 years only 3 counties have managed kerry from 83 to 86. Meath 87/88 cork 89/90 and kerry again more recently. Would it surprise me. No. But it is very difficult.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 14/05/2012 18:17:18    1172183

5/1 aint a bad price. They have the team to do it again especially with the lads from u21 level coming threw. It all depends on how badly they want it and is the hunger still there...

DUB1 (Dublin) - Posts: 5583 - 14/05/2012 18:21:11    1172189

lilywhitemagic

Who did Kerry beat in them two finals to win back to back again?

2006-Mayo
2007-Cork

OLLIE (Louth) - Posts: 12224 - 14/05/2012 18:23:56    1172190

seany16

Its no secret in the capital that were are building for 2013. We have a good team at the moment but our U21's will bolster our midfield and forwards in the very near future. Quarter/Semi-final territory will be expected this year but id hope that 2013 will see us seriously challenge for Sam again! The future is very promising for Dublin football.

2013? Are ye writing of 2012 already?? It mightn't be a secret in the capital but it sure is one to the rest of us, was 2011 a secret back in 2009 for ye too??

Richieq (Meath) - Posts: 3748 - 14/05/2012 18:37:04    1172204

No we're not writing off 2012 I for one am very confident about this year. Once we avoid Cork/Kerry we should make the final were one of them will be waiting. But the draw has been horrible for us since it started in 01, so no doubt if we win Leinster we will draw Cork or Kerry.

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 14/05/2012 18:51:59    1172228

Richieq

2009 has nothing to do with anything. The analogy your making doesn't work. Back to back is extremely difficult. IMO your team needs to be head and shoulders above the rest to do it. In fairness we are collectively as good as Kerry and Cork but its premature to say we are better than them. We've problems in midfield and we are a forward or two short of what we know were capable of. Its a huge ask to throw in our U21's to fill the gap given they have yet to kick a ball at senior yet. These lads coming through are quality and i predict many of them will be household names but they may need another year. Some of them are only 18/19.

Anything can happen during the summer. Our lads could prove me wrong and reach another final and win it. Its also very possible that we could experience the fate of other AI winners in the recent past. What i will say is that we will have a team full of quality in 2013. Its then i reckon we may see a couple of AI's landed in a short space of time. I'll be happily proved wrong though!

seany16 (Dublin) - Posts: 1663 - 14/05/2012 19:03:41    1172239

seany16

Richieq

2009 has nothing to do with anything. The analogy your making doesn't work. Back to back is extremely difficult. IMO your team needs to be head and shoulders above the rest to do it. In fairness we are collectively as good as Kerry and Cork but its premature to say we are better than them. We've problems in midfield and we are a forward or two short of what we know were capable of. Its a huge ask to throw in our U21's to fill the gap given they have yet to kick a ball at senior yet. These lads coming through are quality and i predict many of them will be household names but they may need another year. Some of them are only 18/19.

Anything can happen during the summer. Our lads could prove me wrong and reach another final and win it. Its also very possible that we could experience the fate of other AI winners in the recent past. What i will say is that we will have a team full of quality in 2013. Its then i reckon we may see a couple of AI's landed in a short space of time. I'll be happily proved wrong though!

It is overly presumptuous I feel to believe that most or some of the current minor and U-21 batches in Dublin will make the grade at senior level, this has been proved before in hurling with Limerick (three U21 titles in a row in the early noughties) and Galway (frequent underage successes) and in football with Laois and Westmeath who both got a poor enough return at senior level from their underage successes, even Tyrone who were predicted to be making an eternal dynasty from underage performances haven't lit up the skyline as many people thought they would. This current Dublin squad have reached the summit and proved many, including myself, quite wrong. I would look at getting the most out of this current Dublin squad and hope that some U-21 players have the ability and temperment for senior football, there is a world of difference between underage and senior and not all great minor or U21 players have made great seniors, if Dublin can add three or four quality players from the current U21 squad over the next year or two then they will be doing better than most and it would augment their current squad nicely. I would be more likely to assess Dubin from what we know of them now than presume in two or three years that the youngsters will be surfing the "blue wave" if it happens fair play to them but their are no guarantees at that age

Richieq (Meath) - Posts: 3748 - 14/05/2012 19:39:49    1172259

A huge undertaking but not an impossible task but I can't see it happening. But in saying that it would be very nice to win Leinster and progress the normal route, if we got a good quarter and semi final draw who knows?

bluedubstar (Dublin) - Posts: 835 - 14/05/2012 19:42:53    1172263

No we're not writing off 2012 I for one am very confident about this year. Once we avoid Cork/Kerry we should make the final were one of them will be waiting. But the draw has been horrible for us since it started in 01, so no doubt if we win Leinster we will draw Cork or Kerry.

Agreed, much better chance of success by avoiding Kerry or Cork until the final, although that would require a favourable draw alright

Richieq (Meath) - Posts: 3748 - 14/05/2012 19:49:19    1172272

Richieq

Agreed, much better chance of success by avoiding Kerry or Cork until the final, although that would require a favourable draw alright

Dublin have a decent chance to win back to back championships this year, thats if they all knuckle down like last year and avoid serious injuries.
I disagree about avoiding Cork or Kerry until the final, Dublin should look to meet Cork or Kerry early on and hit them hard.

GaryMc82 (Derry) - Posts: 3026 - 14/05/2012 20:30:28    1172310

Kerry did not win 'back to back' AIs in 2006 - 2007!!

They lost their province to Cork remember and the old saying is: "An AI 'won' without winning your province is not an AI 'won' at all!!"

How can you call yerselves true champions and masters of all men if another team beat you along the way and furthermore back in the days when men were men and it was old style knockout before the 'backdoor' system a beaten provincial finalist would never have got to an AI Final now would they?!

There was no 'back to back' in 06 - 07!!!

Snufalufagus (Dublin) - Posts: 8100 - 14/05/2012 20:41:06    1172316

Winning back to back All Irelands in football seems to be as much of a mental thing as anything else, as it probably is in most sports at the highest level. Can Dublin replicate the same 'never say die' attitude that saw them come back in the closing stages against Donegal and Kerry last year? Tyrone seemed to struggle to reproduce the same level of focus the year after winning an All-Ireland and I would rate any one of those Tyrone outfits as a better team than Dublin now, or Cork last year.

If Dublin can return with the same intensity (and they have the right man in charge of them to do so) then they will be very hard to beat but you also need a bit of luck with the draw, injuries, suspensions. Dublin's best chance is the direct route, win Leinster, stay out of trouble, avoid the dangerous opposition for as long as possible and then produce a couple of big performances in the Semi and Final when you really need them.

eviemonkey (Cork) - Posts: 308 - 14/05/2012 20:41:34    1172317

1172228 No we're not writing off 2012 I for one am very confident about this year. Once we avoid Cork/Kerry we should make the final were one of them will be waiting. But the draw has been horrible for us since it started in 01, so no doubt if we win Leinster we will draw Cork or Kerry.

time for me to disagree lad the dubs are top team and getting better all the time if were going to do it again this year doesnt matter who steps up we shouldnt worry to be the best we have to beat the best without the worries who we come up against imo anyway,as for the final im always positive about us reaching the fnall and id love a crack at cork.

dubbydave. (Dublin) - Posts: 3927 - 14/05/2012 20:58:48    1172333

Dave I'm not saying we wouldn't win I'm just saying if we did avoid them we would defo make the final. Listen it's a toss up between the 3 of us , either team can win on any given day. Tom o Sullivan is a massive loss to Kerry that I think some people don't realise. With his pace taken out of there full back line we could do some serious damage there.

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 14/05/2012 21:05:26    1172342

1172342 Dave I'm not saying we wouldn't win I'm just saying if we did avoid them we would defo make the final. Listen it's a toss up between the 3 of us , either team can win on any given day. Tom o Sullivan is a massive loss to Kerry that I think some people don't realise. With his pace taken out of there full back line we could do some serious damage there.

ah i understand what your saying true enough just thinking were AI champs with plenty to offer and plenty of new talent coming through with no fear in them so we should be comfortable with who ever we come up against agree 100% its cork kerry or the dubs..

dubbydave. (Dublin) - Posts: 3927 - 14/05/2012 21:17:31    1172356

in this order for 2012 Sam

1 CORK
2 TYRONE
3 KERRY
4 KILDARE
5 DUBLIN

No one else has a chance.

kerryrowz (Kerry) - Posts: 833 - 14/05/2012 21:36:21    1172377

kerryrowz

1172377 in this order for 2012 Sam

1 CORK
2 TYRONE
3 KERRY
4 KILDARE
5 DUBLIN

No one else has a chance.

spot on with 1-4 but should'nt dublin be further down the line id put mayo or meath ahead of dublin come on lad sort yourself out..

dubbydave. (Dublin) - Posts: 3927 - 14/05/2012 21:50:15    1172396

If you a roll a dice your chances of getting a particular number is 6/1. If you roll that dice again your chance of getting any number is of course still 6/1.

What is it that's supposed to make this summer harder for Dublin just because they won it last year?

doublehop (Kildare) - Posts: 4172 - 15/05/2012 09:28:34    1172426

Dublin like Cork the year before are a one hit wonder. Both will not be back to win Sam for another ten years or so. I think the cup will be going back to one of the regular winning outfits such as Kerry or Tyrone and Armagh

cacsmckilly (Tyrone) - Posts: 1294 - 15/05/2012 10:09:10    1172441

Odds of rolling one number are 16.67% - 5/1.

hurlingdub (Dublin) - Posts: 6978 - 15/05/2012 10:20:43    1172451