Did Roscommon fans burn a Dublin Flag in O'C Park?

agree with a regular extremely small group of "fans" following us. The more I think about it how would flag burning not be caught on camera though. Very doubtful.

Paddogall??????

Yes our hobby consists of harming Mayo pensioners, women and children when we win a football game. Come off it will ya. In that case Enda Kenny would be a gonner after the hospital issue.

Ros2013 (Roscommon) - Posts: 548 - 08/05/2012 13:05:57    1167726

Will this atrocity call for Banji Moon's intercession, are NATO airstrikes be inevitable?

dhorse (Laois) - Posts: 11374 - 08/05/2012 13:09:30    1167730

Look all counties have this element, to name but a few (in no particular order) kildare, dublin, meath, mayo, cork, westmeath, laois, louth, these I have mentioned I have witnessed with my own eyes and I think have the largest number of idiots , now perhaps because of 10 I do find the louth ones to be the worst, I add in that after a particular nasty incident after leinster final of 10 the culprit was apprehended by louth people so by no means can I or anyone else blame a county on a wholesale basis. I would not have included rosscommon but then it is not often that we meet them.
And also add in the counties who seem to keep this element at bay, galway, offaly, kerry, waterford, these are all counties we have met recently and have to say there behavior was exemplary and could show some of our "fans" how to behave.
Bottom line is this type of stupidity is getting worse and if it continues I would not be surprised to see segregation even if I would hate it. Fans safety must be paramount.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 08/05/2012 13:20:20    1167740

Ros2013
County: Roscommon

Mayo people don't really know how to live in Dublin, they more or less complain how the rent is too expensive, the roads are too busy and then Dublin men always use them. Often they vent this frustration on the Dublin airwaves such as FM104. I've no doubt they fabricated this story as a time passing exercise.

Is this for real??? Stop trying to go off the point. I wouldn't condem Roscommon fans until I see some evidence but would not be surprised either. I fail to see what your post means and ho it relates to this incident at the u21 final.

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11697 - 08/05/2012 13:23:55    1167745

I'm just going to confirm there was no Dublin flag burnt on Sunday. I was behind "that" goal during the match and there was some behaviour going on but no flag burning. As for the coin throwing I cant say it happened or didn't happen. I personally think that the whole situation is being over exaggerated, it was not as bad as its being made out. I will say that the Roscommon fans might have been miss behaving but the Dublin crowd behind rose to it as well, only for there was too many Roscommon fans the Dublin fans weren't shy, An elderly Dublin fan hit a young Roscommon fan twice and this was the only physical behaviour behind the goal. The Roscommon and Dublin fans were both rough at this end but Roscommon are just getting the trouble because the number of Fans simply out numbered the amount of Dublin fans, this is why it looked like Roscommon were "worse" fans than the Dublin fans.

howarethings (Roscommon) - Posts: 1 - 08/05/2012 13:30:52    1167755

dhorse
County: Laois

1167692 hurlingdub

1167681 Eh, burning a Union Jack and burning a flag of a county you are playing - especially if the flag has been stolen - are rather different things in fairness!

Do the union jack burners actually own them?

brendtheredhand (Tyrone) - Posts: 10897 - 08/05/2012 13:31:45    1167757

The Dublin UJ thing did indeed happen in 98. It was in the first match against Kildare that year. I was down in the old Canal End and you could see all the Gardai in the luminous jackets try and get into the perpetrator but the supporters around him stopping them. I think that was more of an action regarding the political situation at the time (i.e. the Good Friday Agreement had just been signed and dissident republicans in Dublin, etc) than anything to do with Kildare or the match.

doublehop (Kildare) - Posts: 4172 - 08/05/2012 13:33:19    1167758

Dubs in Roscommon:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=l5JsQlsaAUk

Snufalufagus (Dublin) - Posts: 8100 - 08/05/2012 13:35:45    1167760

it's called sarcasm yewtree. Mayo posters trying to paint all us Rossies as being loonatics who don't know hoe to behave is nonsensical

Ros2013 (Roscommon) - Posts: 548 - 08/05/2012 13:35:53    1167761

Who cares? We won the match we our here now to dominate for years to come. Kerry days are numbered meath our a joke Kildare hahaha don't make me laugh, Cork our going to be our big games in the next ten years no one else will come close. So I say burn all the Dublin flags you like as long as we keep winning all Ireland's I don't care. Has an U 21 team ever won a championship as easy as us this year??

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 08/05/2012 13:38:22    1167763

I find it amazing that HS will allow this type of thread when they would'nt permit my one regarding sending teams to New York in the championship. This will incite some hatred between certain types of fans. Flag burning, so what, a group of twits behind a goal, so what, we've seen it all before, I remember a Union Jack being burnt on the Hill at the '94 final, you don't think that was a cheap shot at the Ulster team we were playing? Of course it was, but once again, it was a group of idiots, they're everywhere. It should be ignored and not highlighted on here. If you see these fools actually in the act of flag burning, and it offends you, then approach them and let them know. Do you think the same Roscommon fans would do this in Croke Park? I don't think so, but the next time we play them at HQ some of the Dublin fans will quickly remind them about it, thanks to threads like this.

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8812 - 08/05/2012 13:41:31    1167767

As we all agree each county seems to have a small rogue element, they usually found behind the goals, its not going to be too hard to identify and eject the trouble makes and give them a ban then from all GAA grounds. The ones doing it usually only attend championship games anyway.

Rosineri1 (UK) - Posts: 2099 - 08/05/2012 13:44:22    1167772

mayo fans giving about about Ros?
surprise, surprise

valley84 (Westmeath) - Posts: 1905 - 08/05/2012 13:45:45    1167773

Whenever I think of Roscommon I think of naked pool. Now I can add flag burning to that.

Derry_ledd (Derry) - Posts: 2093 - 08/05/2012 13:49:35    1167779

It's called sarcasm. It doesnt surprise me that some ( the same few ) Mayo supporters hop on the bandwagon and brandish Roscommon people as some sort of animals. All without evidence and basing it on a 2001 connaught final where apparently Mayo women, children pensioners got stones thrown at them according to paddogall.

Ros2013 (Roscommon) - Posts: 548 - 08/05/2012 13:57:01    1167788

Few things to get straight.

Most roscommon fans are good GAA people.

They do have a crew of louts that follow them also though.

There were some awful incidents in 2001,that's a fact, there were fights in 2004 on the bacon factory end in mchale pk by the same gang.

There is a bitter element towards Mayo, it is if course because of our dominance over the ross in the modern era, maybe that's a bit of human nature with the emotion of jealousy.

Then I think why don't we feel like that towards galway? I

roared galway on in 98 and took great satisfaction in seeing them bring sam back over the Shannon, I could never shout for Ross because of their attitude towards Mayo.
This is only since 01 bttw,in the nineties our circle of mates were mixed Ross and Mayo, they were all stood with me in both finals with Mayo flags, same lads were burning them in 06

51longago (Mayo) - Posts: 2981 - 08/05/2012 14:12:30    1167798

Yawn!.....ye all have very short memories with yer 'something political' comments about the burning of the Union Jack!!

Ehh, it was in relation to the at the time proposed 'Rule Changes' regarding British security forces and playing foreign games in Croker remember??!!......Sound about right there anyone??!!
I really was "Cursed with a Brain!!"

.....and the lads that burned it were Whelan and Vaughan!!

Snufalufagus (Dublin) - Posts: 8100 - 08/05/2012 14:15:05    1167802

I think this blog post accurately describes Roscomon supporters.

http://thereisalightthatnevergoesout.wordpress.com/2009/06/14/the-rossies-dont-you-just-love-beating-them/

paddyogall (Mayo) - Posts: 5110 - 08/05/2012 14:15:22    1167803

Indeed clondalkin we may be at a low point. But as I recall there was only one joke last time we met.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 08/05/2012 14:16:05    1167804

I'm just going to confirm there was no Dublin flag burnt on Sunday. I was behind "that" goal during the match and there was some behaviour going on but no flag burning. As for the coin throwing I cant say it happened or didn't happen. I personally think that the whole situation is being over exaggerated, it was not as bad as its being made out. I will say that the Roscommon fans might have been miss behaving but the Dublin crowd behind rose to it as well, only for there was too many Roscommon fans the Dublin fans weren't shy, An elderly Dublin fan hit a young Roscommon fan twice and this was the only physical behaviour behind the goal amazing how the only bad behaviour witnessed by this Rossie was from an "elderly Dub" and not a single 'MAN' in the crowd approached said 'Dub' and confronted him for hitting a 'child' even though the poster says in reference to the Roscommon fans that: "the number of Fans simply out numbered the amount of Dublin fans"..........the reason for all these anomolies is because they are lies in an attempt to make it look like the Dubs were causing trouble....poor poor poor attempt lad, must try harder!!!. The Roscommon and Dublin fans were both rough at this end but Roscommon are just getting the trouble because the number of Fans simply out numbered the amount of Dublin fans, this is why it looked like Roscommon were "worse" fans than the Dublin fans.

Snufalufagus (Dublin) - Posts: 8100 - 08/05/2012 14:24:17    1167815