Did Roscommon fans burn a Dublin Flag in O'C Park?

Eh, burning a Union Jack and burning a flag of a county you are playing - especially if the flag has been stolen - are rather different things in fairness!

I am not pretending that Dublin does not have its quota of imbeciles but they do not have the 'critical mass' to get away with that sort of nonsense and it would not be tolerated by other supporters.

And of course the O'Connor Park incident does not reflect on the vast majority of Rossies.

hurlingdub (Dublin) - Posts: 6978 - 08/05/2012 12:19:24    1167681

So much for Rossie Day!

keeper7 (Longford) - Posts: 4088 - 08/05/2012 12:24:09    1167683

Agreed HD
I am only highlighting it in case I am accused of some kinda witch hunt against the Rossies here and in case it seems i am saying all our fans are exemplary!
I'm not atall
I am genuinely curios as to what actually happened here and if indeed some Rossies did actually throw coins at Dubs fans and Burn a dubs flag on the terraces
if it is true its a new level

Liamwalkinstown (Dublin) - Posts: 8170 - 08/05/2012 12:25:49    1167685

paddyogall will ya get over yourself. Who in their right mind would harm a woman, child or pensioner. I dont know any Roscommon people that would and if there are they are probably in Castlerea prison. You sound like a right wailer. ThAT was over ten years ago ( Connaught final) and If i can remember correctly everyone from roscommon was on the pitch in a good mood. Not assaulting our Mayo brothers and sisters.

I hope that there wasnt a flag burning incident and I certainly didn't see anything in the ground. If it did happen it would have been behind the goals because thats where 30 ****bags from Roscommon usually gather. They have the combined intelligence of the collie dog I have out the back garden. Sorry thats an insult to the dog. Everywhere you go now there seems to be stupid carry on at Gaa matches. I witnessed a mass brawl between drunken Kildare and Donegal supporters, serious abuse given to Meath suppporters after Kildare annialated them a couple of years ago, the Meath and Dublin drama, etc etc, etc. Flag burning is disgraceful though and it hgas no place at our GAA games. Won't take a lecture from Mayo supporters though. They have some of the roughest towns in Ireland!!!

Give it a rest. Ros2013

Ros2013 (Roscommon) - Posts: 548 - 08/05/2012 12:32:03    1167690

hurlingdub

1167681 Eh, burning a Union Jack and burning a flag of a county you are playing - especially if the flag has been stolen - are rather different things in fairness!

Do the union jack burners actually own them?

dhorse (Laois) - Posts: 11374 - 08/05/2012 12:32:48    1167692

Roscommon is one of those really quiet counties you dont hear much about (I mean that in a good way) so it is awful to think that they have this going on. I am sure it did though as I dont think it is something Dubliners would make up (afterall we have been on the receiving end of so many makey uppey stories its unreal)!

Are the mayo lads and a galway lad really genuine when they proclaim that Roscommon have 'form' when it comes to this?.....most will understand what I mean when I say 'the boy that cried wolf' when it comes to mayo lads on here!!

.....and on a final note, I will not have any other county come in for more abuse when it comes to bad behaviour than us Dubs, its a GAA tradition we cannot let slip, so before we go and blame Roscommon are you all not sure it wasnt Vaughan and Whelan just wearing Rossie jerseys?!

See!!!

Snufalufagus (Dublin) - Posts: 8100 - 08/05/2012 12:33:44    1167693

Liamwalkinstown

Your very innocent about Roscommon people Liam!

paddyogall (Mayo) - Posts: 5110 - 08/05/2012 12:34:00    1167694

Theres no way also Roscommon fans would throw coins. We're too tight and they are hard enough got at the moment.

Ros2013 (Roscommon) - Posts: 548 - 08/05/2012 12:35:00    1167695

Disgraceful incidents. There must be soimething in the water in the midlands because garrycastle fans burnt a crossmaglen rangers flag during half time at the All Ireland final replay in Cavan, this also occurred while stewards stood about watching! I can also honestly say that Dublin fans are among the best I have ever encountered and that fan behaviour seems to be worse in more rural areas.

Tom1916 (Armagh) - Posts: 2001 - 08/05/2012 12:36:52    1167696

It was Vaughan and Whelan. I saw them with my own eyes.....

Ros2013 (Roscommon) - Posts: 548 - 08/05/2012 12:36:55    1167697

I am afraid there has always seems to have been a very small **** element following us, a bunch of young fella's that always group together behind the goals. No doubt were just being "brave" on Sunday as they were in bigger numbers than the dubs. They are very much am embarrassment. I did see a Garda go stand in front of them during the first half. I was too far away to see what actually happened though.

Rosineri1 (UK) - Posts: 2099 - 08/05/2012 12:38:58    1167700

Typical, ye wouldn't throw coins at the Cavan fans during the semi-final!! We wouldn't have complained!

Breffni40 (Cavan) - Posts: 12457 - 08/05/2012 12:41:43    1167702

Ros2013
County: Roscommon

Theres no way also Roscommon fans would throw coins. We're too tight and they are hard enough got at the moment.

haahahaha i was just thinking that myself,maybe the stewards were collecting the coins

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 08/05/2012 12:44:18    1167705

Jebus Crisps!! So it is true?
Its mad cos i GENUINELY presumesd it wasnt and was expecting a hail of abuse at me for even suggesting it!

Rossies, dont be apologising, Its not ye're fault if a gang of ******** wanna throw on a county jersey and act the maggot. Owning a jersey doesnt make the rest of your county responsible for you.
The more worrying thing here is the behaviour of the so called stewards as outlined by Jackeen. They need to be shown the door

Liamwalkinstown (Dublin) - Posts: 8170 - 08/05/2012 12:45:31    1167706

With the ban on turf cutting they have to burn whatever they can get their hands on

dhorse (Laois) - Posts: 11374 - 08/05/2012 12:47:49    1167708

Liamwalkinstown

I wouldnt go as far to say it's true yet. Havent see any pictures ( There was about fifty cameramen at the game ) a shot like that would get you a tidy sum, haven't seen any posts saying they actually saw it. For all we know ( paddogall and his other Mayo custodians ) have made it all up. Mayo people don't really know how to live in Dublin, they more or less complain how the rent is too expensive, the roads are too busy and then Dublin men always use them. Often they vent this frustration on the Dublin airwaves such as FM104. I've no doubt they fabricated this story as a time passing exercise.

Memories of 2001 still sore...

Ros2013 (Roscommon) - Posts: 548 - 08/05/2012 12:53:12    1167711

Rosineri1
County: UK

Dont be giving us that "very small minority" nonsense. You and I both know that isnt true.

paddyogall (Mayo) - Posts: 5110 - 08/05/2012 12:53:36    1167712

Ros2013 its Jackeens evidence i am basing my presumption of truth on
she claims to have been there and seen it
and to be fair to her she is one of the more sensible reasonable posters here
dont think she would make it up
also a few of your own have referenced gardai in the terrace accosting Ros fans behind the goals etc and regular gangs of **** following ye???

Liamwalkinstown (Dublin) - Posts: 8170 - 08/05/2012 12:59:17    1167717

Ros2013
my friend at the time was 13 and had a bottle thrown and hit him and hit him on the head he still has the scar ros2013 so stop trying to deflect that fact that 10 years ago ross where doing the same thing it's just passed on to another generation.

Tomlangan (Mayo) - Posts: 406 - 08/05/2012 13:01:35    1167720

Ros2013
It was Vaughan and Whelan. I saw them with my own eyes.....
------------------------------------------------------

The only man around here talkin a bit of sense is Ros2013!!!

Snufalufagus (Dublin) - Posts: 8100 - 08/05/2012 13:02:51    1167723