Did Roscommon fans burn a Dublin Flag in O'C Park?

Heard a report on the radio yesterday that Dublin fans at the game in O'Connor Park at the weekend had coins thrown at them and a Dublin Flag was taken and burned behind one of the goals by Roscommon "fans"............

Can anyone confirm or deny this story lads? Listened to it on the radio and Carthy made no reference to it. To be honest I find it amost impossible to believe..?

Liamwalkinstown (Dublin) - Posts: 8170 - 08/05/2012 09:45:02    1167555

Some of the sheep stealing following do have a history of flag burning.....

tribeinbrum (Galway) - Posts: 4155 - 08/05/2012 10:44:39    1167589

Did you hear it on radio GaGa! ;-)

AfricanGael (UK) - Posts: 1947 - 08/05/2012 10:45:07    1167591

Thats rubbish

mat (Mayo) - Posts: 184 - 08/05/2012 10:57:58    1167599

If its true it does'nt surprise me in the least. I remember coming out of hyde park as a young child and having bottles and stones thrown at us and being told to **** off back to the west.

Tomlangan (Mayo) - Posts: 406 - 08/05/2012 11:06:24    1167604

I dont know what you find impossible to believe Liam. Roscommon "supporters" have form for this sort of thing. Ask any Mayo supporter about the 2001 Connacht final they will tell you some stories. Since then they usually fight among themselves, but 2001 was a scary occasion for women, children and pensioners in Roscommon town.

paddyogall (Mayo) - Posts: 5110 - 08/05/2012 11:08:53    1167608

Liamwalkinstown

1167555 Heard a report on the radio yesterday that Dublin fans at the game in O'Connor Park at the weekend had coins thrown at them and a Dublin Flag was taken and burned behind one of the goals by Roscommon "fans"............

Can anyone confirm or deny this story lads? Listened to it on the radio and Carthy made no reference to it. To be honest I find it amost impossible to believe..?

Couldn't be the case,sure it's only Dublin fans that carry on like that.

orange and blue (Tyrone) - Posts: 1080 - 08/05/2012 11:19:08    1167621

Where did you hear this Liam?

Southsham (Limerick) - Posts: 752 - 08/05/2012 11:25:28    1167624

Well a Roscommon supporter on the main thread on Saturday did refer to the behaviour of Roscommon supporters behind one of the goals towards Dublin supporters..

hurlingdub (Dublin) - Posts: 6978 - 08/05/2012 11:27:39    1167625

Disgraceful carry on if it happened.

Htaem (Meath) - Posts: 8657 - 08/05/2012 11:28:04    1167627

I know Roscommon were in cheering for us on 2009 due to the Earley connection but I have to say the worst game I was ever at for crowd behaviour was the Roscommon qualifier in Portlaoise in 2003. There was a high number of fights in the terraces around me from involving a lot of young Roscommon supporters who looked like they'd a bit too much drink on board. If this did happen it wouldn't surprise me a bit.

doublehop (Kildare) - Posts: 4172 - 08/05/2012 11:37:44    1167634

Just noticed Jackeen makes reference to it and another few on the last 2 pages of the U21 Championship thread there lads aswell!
FFS is this it true this is a new low

There were a few texts into FM104 bout it Sham, twas Sunday not yesterday! I am all confused with the bank holiday!
Nothing official now, just a few listener texts

Liamwalkinstown (Dublin) - Posts: 8170 - 08/05/2012 11:41:25    1167639

No excuse for that type of thing, in fairness every county has there idiots , but I would not have thought roscommon would have had this problem to this extent. Can anyone confirm or deny?

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 08/05/2012 11:48:03    1167648

paddyogall

I dont know what you find impossible to believe Liam. Roscommon "supporters" have form for this sort of thing. Ask any Mayo supporter about the 2001 Connacht final they will tell you some stories. Since then they usually fight among themselves, but 2001 was a scary occasion for women, children and pensioners in Roscommon town.

Thats what i was on about paddyogall, they scored a goal in injury time to win the connacht championship and acted live soccer holligans after the match

Tomlangan (Mayo) - Posts: 406 - 08/05/2012 11:50:48    1167650

Liamwalkinstown

It is not a new low for Roscommon, you just havent seen them before because there adventures outside of Connacht are very rare.

paddyogall (Mayo) - Posts: 5110 - 08/05/2012 11:52:55    1167653

Tomlangan

I saw one mini van with women, pensioners and Children in it being pelted with stones, bottles and other paraphernalia at one stage. The Gaurds advice to us was to get into your cars and get out of the town as quickly as possible. I am glad the antics of Roscommon supporters are being seen on a wider stage, hopefully it will be the push that HQ needs to take sanctions for the safety of opposition supporters.

paddyogall (Mayo) - Posts: 5110 - 08/05/2012 11:57:14    1167658

its a new low for GAA!

I know a Polish Meath "fan" took a Dubs flag down from a Pole before but thats more a bit of craic than anything and they werent playing us that day either

this story is another level altogether. Especially considering one of their players is a born and bred Dub! Wonder how he felt

Liamwalkinstown (Dublin) - Posts: 8170 - 08/05/2012 11:58:42    1167659

Jackeen

1167168 Rosineri1
County: UK

Only disappointment I had yesterday was the behaviour of some of the fans behind teh goal towards the Dublin supporters.

Would this be the supporters that set the Dublin flag alight much to the amusement of the stewards I might add?
07/05/2012 13:29:59
Rosineri1
County: UK

1167182 couldn't really see, but there was some sort of altercation, young Roscommon fans taking down Dublin flags, sadly you get a few idiots everywhere.

Well this is from Saturday and Jackenn is a credible witness. Bad form from stewards if they thought this was something to laugh at rather than prevent. Honestly say, I have never seen any other supporters in grounds - including on the Hill - doing this.

hurlingdub (Dublin) - Posts: 6978 - 08/05/2012 12:04:17    1167664

in the interest of fairness HD I have to say there was an incident about 10 years ago, maybe longer, I was in the Hill and a few Dubs took out a UJ and burned it
it was the Sunday after the Star ran a front page story about English Fans rioting in an Irish bar and burning an Irish Flag at some football tournament
May even have been in 98 now I think of it
this in turn also made the Star Front Page the following day!

Liamwalkinstown (Dublin) - Posts: 8170 - 08/05/2012 12:12:05    1167674

Ros v Dublin was on Sunday

If its true, disgraceful.
what were the stewards doing?

valley84 (Westmeath) - Posts: 1905 - 08/05/2012 12:16:54    1167679