arock County: Dublin Posts: 713
Have to agree with you, plus aside from what you say, if there are rules and I assume he has been denied on the basis of rules.
They were denying it on the basis of rules, but now that they have run out of rules they are bring ethos into it.
A dangerous precedent that they may regret
dhorse (Laois) - Posts: 11374 - 19/05/2012 12:49:50
Well done the cccc great call. The cheek of him sitting on the Kildare bench.
clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 19/05/2012 13:09:27
richiej County: UK Posts: 1281
1175700 Sergeant_Slash County: Cavan Posts: 1473
1175492 I can't help but feel Seanie has been left with egg on his face. If he doesn't get this transfer on appeal, there's no way Cavan will have him back after this.
Lets see how the Cavan forwards do tomorrow without him before we see who has what egg on whos face
How much did he score against Donegal last year? In fact, what did he score in the championship last year? I rest my case.
Number 2...... Seanie would never play for Cavan again while the present management or CB are anywhere near it.....so dont worry about that ever happening The only reason i wanted him to go and play for Kildare was to make the Cavan management the laughing stock of the country..which they probably are anyway.. and if they are not, they will be after tomorrows performance!
This is the first game for the new manager and you want him to fail already. You're cheer-leading for an individual to the detriment of your county team. That's no use to anyone.
Sergeant_Slash (Cavan) - Posts: 2182 - 19/05/2012 14:10:15
i find it strange that this transfer has caused such a fuss surely the thomas walsh transfer was much more controversial in that he gave several differing accounts of where he lived who owned it etc and was infact living somewhere else, but the gaa just let that go through
Barrowsider (Carlow) - Posts: 1711 - 19/05/2012 14:37:39
That was my point all along Barrowsider. The media got a hold of this and decided that its what people wanted to hear. These same people lapped it up. Yes indeed the Thomas Walsh transfer was just as controversial but if you go back over these threads it'll become obvious which counties are most voiciferous. Obviously the anti brigade won't admit it but the reason for their vemon is where he is going and nothing else. Don't believe the 'ethos' argument because there wasn't half the coverage over Thomas Walsh.
At least the Kildare people who are against it have genuine concern for players currently on the panel.
sedico (Kildare) - Posts: 1682 - 19/05/2012 14:59:27
Barrowsider County: Carlow Posts: 463
It is all very strange indeed. would be interesting to see the home adrees compared to actual address of some of the people behind that move. Was there any verification involved
dhorse (Laois) - Posts: 11374 - 19/05/2012 15:08:36
i have mentioned the thomas walsh transfer before barrowsider but as i said this transfer is put under the microscope probably because he is a good player,its kildare he is transfering to, mc geeney, etc which is reasonable but by god go through every other transfer with a toothcomb aswell seanie is been treated very very different than any other transfer before him. many transfers in the past where passed under the red carpet im even hearing of lads playing for clubs in armagh still but linning out for donegal! they turned a blind eye for years to transfers like the thomas walsh one and SJ meets the criteria for a transfer if there rules are outdated thats croke park's fault not seanie's all the chap wants to do is play football and he is been denied this.. it is been reported he appealed to the cac yesterday straight after getting the no from the cccc as we all know the cac just uphold what ever the decision of the cccc makes so.. going to the cac is just a formality (going through the process) so he can go to the dra. the dra would want to make the correct decision because it could end up very well in the high court as somebody posted SJ seeking an injuction because they are denying him to play.
lilywhitemagic (Kildare) - Posts: 1693 - 19/05/2012 15:16:46
fixxer
'' Once that genie of ignoring rules is out of the bottle and they get away with it it won't be long till they do it again. The problem is it won't be Kildare or SJ next time it will be your County or player.''
Seanie Jonhnston is not your player. You must be dillusional also if you think some terrible wrong has been done on your county. They tried to take a player from a county of pop. 70k and failed. If you haven't noticed while they gained nothing, they also are no worse off.
I agree that the GAA are less than consistent in applying any of their rules but for a Kildare man to come on here and cry victim is hilarious. I suppose you packed a flask of tea and sandwiches for Tompkins and Fahy when they went South? Most Kildare lads I know want nothing to do with Johnston and wish him and McGeeney to fail at their transfer attempts, but then all of them lads I know are working at the coalface of club underage developing native players.
rath_togh (Meath) - Posts: 740 - 19/05/2012 16:21:14
Dear lord the whinging by some kildare lads is pathetic. The attitude that the horah over this is because its kildare or mcgeeney are laughable , some of yous even have the cheek th refer to him as our player The facts are sj had a fall out with andrews , he had no intention of transferring , he was then approached by kildare management to come play for kildare , then and only then did he request a transfer. The kildare supporters club facilitated his move through certain actions. In beginning he wanted to solely transfer county while playing club in cavan. Please someone tell me was that same as walsh?? I doubt it. The problem is the same kildare lads would be hopping up and down if this was any other county. The only double standards hear are from those same people. I do hope that the gaa look further into this and in particular the act of having him on bench during div 2 final. Action needs to be taken. Surely this is bordering on bringing the game into disrepute
royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 19/05/2012 16:58:06
rath_togh your post re small fish is a big pond was an excellent post. I'm sure no Kildare people didn't pack lunch for Tompkins and Fahy but there was very little controversary or uproar over both those transfers. Why is it that the majority of those most noisy about this are from Meath or Dublin? Where were the ethos brigade when Thomas Walsh was moving to Wicklow? Its blatantly obvious that two or three have other agendas - one with an obvious hatred for Kildare and another with an obvious inferiority complex which is pitiful at this stage. No I don't include you in that because its obvious by your post you can see the bigger issues concerning the transfer.
sedico (Kildare) - Posts: 1682 - 19/05/2012 17:14:37
well to my memory the details of the walsh transfer were all exposed in the daily mail at the time, one of the posters on the carlow forum would have been involved in that, the carlow county board brought evidence that suggested he wasn't eligable to play for wicklow the powers that be choose to ignore it and allowed the transfer, in saying all that if he didn't want to play for carlow then away with him, but how the ethos was not in danger then but is now is what i don't understand.
so is it better that transfers are just banned altogether and if your born to a certain county you must remain with them no matter what, or do you just accept that this happens and always has
Barrowsider (Carlow) - Posts: 1711 - 19/05/2012 17:35:34
I accept that this happens and always has to a certain extent. Now this is to a whole new level where a player was approached to change counties. No one can dispute that. Despite what a few deluded kildare lads on hear think , I was against and are unfortunately old enough to remember tompkins and fahy playing for kildare. It was all over a air fare if I am correct in tompkins case. As I said I was against that. I pointed out what bernard flynn did in the 90s he moved out of meath but continued to play for his county as did sexton from kildare. Neither ever decided to line out for westmeath. If it is logistically possible to still play for county then I see no reason why a transfer be granted at ic level. Yes club level transfers can sometimes have there merits but are far too abused I plead with the powers that be, don't sweep this under carpet with, oh we didn't let him transfer, as this is a hell of a lot more than a guy transferring. Come on gaa take the necessary steps to ensure no other county does this ever again. By way just because somethings happened in other counties does not mean it is ok for them to continue. That is attitude that has this country where it is today. "Ah sure its always happened". Bull. It stops now.
royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 19/05/2012 18:20:39
19/05/2012 17:14:37 sedico County: Kildare Posts: 444
1175910 rath_togh your post re small fish is a big pond was an excellent post. I'm sure no Kildare people didn't pack lunch for Tompkins and Fahy but there was very little controversary or uproar over both those transfers. Why is it that the majority of those most noisy about this are from Meath or Dublin? Where were the ethos brigade when Thomas Walsh was moving to Wicklow? Its blatantly obvious that two or three have other agendas - one with an obvious hatred for Kildare and another with an obvious inferiority complex which is pitiful at this stage. No I don't include you in that because its obvious by your post you can see the bigger issues concerning the transfer.
@Sedico, I don't think anyone here hates Kildare, hatred is a strong word to use. What ever about inferiority complexs well one could accuse KCB of having that, if they think its acceptable to bring other County footballers into their panel. I can tell you now I can't understand why any self repecting Lilly would feel the need or in fact thinks its perfectly ok for SJ to breeze in a play football for their county, but certain posters (and not yourself before ya starting banging the keyboard with a reply!) are defending him as if he had 'I love Kildare' tattooed across his chest, now one could misunderstand that as having an infeirority complex.
But McGeeney is not from KIldare will never share the passion that John Doyle or Dermot Earley has, so bringing in a player from the outside in, well to him its just business, a win at all costs to justify him been manager. A Lilly manager would look at the bigger picture and see the damage its doing and kick this into touch.
This is a whole mess, form everyoens part, GAA HQ, but the KCB, St. Kevins and McGeeney should take a lot of responsibilty for it.
bluedubstar (Dublin) - Posts: 835 - 19/05/2012 18:33:47
Agree with bluedubstar in a lot of what he says. I believe the majority of Kildare people don't want Johnston either for the simple reason that he's not one of their own. While we're slinging mud at Kildare Co board though I think those of us that are so excited about how Dublin have freshened up the top 12 of late let us not forget that they have 2 of their own Seánie Johnston's also. Lads who felt they should be on their home teams and rather than knuckle down and fight to be noticed again, they took the easy option. So bluestar would you equate O'Brien & O'Dwyer playing under a Clare manager in Dublin to your flagging an outside manager of Kildare trying to slip a Cavan man in? For what its worth I agree with your reasoning.
Let nobody be surprised at McGeeney's attitude towards this either, he played for Na Fianna for no apparent reason when I could drive my van from Gasnevin to Mullaghbawn in an hour flat. He's not the most loyal himself.
royaldunne
I don't think Flynn needs any more pats on the back for not declaring for a Westmeath team who were third world in football terms at the time. I know he still wouldn't have joined them but there was no lure there.
sedico In fairness there was plenty of barking about Walsh's transfer and media glare to boot, but I will agree not as much because of Kildare's undoubted position as a top 6-10 team at the moment. In fairness you're a big county, a big population, with a very strong team that the media will hound on good days AND bad so that's just part of the territory. Regarding Meath/Dublin 'obvious hatred ' for Kildare I think is a small bit paranoid. I can't say there aren't Meath or Dublin people that hate Kildare, but these people are everywhere - Kildare included - and also hate their neighbouring parish, their next door neighbour and their own selves. This is black and white, I just don't agree with it.
For what its worth lads I don't think a Kildare team at full tilt with its best 18/19 player availabe to them has any place for Seanie Johnston.
rath_togh (Meath) - Posts: 740 - 19/05/2012 20:34:24
Agree with bluedubstar in a lot of what he says. I believe the majority of Kildare people don't want Johnston either for the simple reason that he's not one of their own. While we're slinging mud at Kildare Co board though I think those of us that are so excited about how Dublin have freshened up the top 12 of late let us not forget that they have 2 of their own Seánie Johnston's also. Lads who felt they should be on their home teams and rather than knuckle down and fight to be noticed again, they took the easy option. So bluestar would you equate O'Brien & O'Dwyer playing under a Clare manager in Dublin to your flagging an outside manager of Kildare trying to slip a Cavan man in? For what its worth I agree with your reasoning.
at Ragh Toah, yes I would..
bluedubstar (Dublin) - Posts: 835 - 19/05/2012 21:24:36
Dublin have a pop of 1.5 million we should not have any outsiders on any of our teams.
clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 19/05/2012 21:41:18
And kildare's population is fairly big as well. Football is the biggest sport there too, not hurling rugby or soccer. i'm glad they are delaying this, he has gone out of his way to play for kildare and i wouldn't want my rivals getting this transfer to make them stronger.
BettystownRoyal (Meath) - Posts: 3353 - 19/05/2012 21:52:01
rath_togh County: Meath Posts: 433
Let nobody be surprised at McGeeney's attitude towards this either, he played for Na Fianna for no apparent reason when I could drive my van from Gasnevin to Mullaghbawn in an hour flat. He's not the most loyal himself.
Nail on head!! That Na Fianna team was pulled together. McNulty, McGeeney, Sherlock (by the way how many clubs has Jason Sherlock played for?) - all begged to play for Na Fianna!
Culann (Dublin) - Posts: 2306 - 20/05/2012 09:54:11
were all begged to play for Na Fianna is what I meant!
Culann (Dublin) - Posts: 2306 - 20/05/2012 10:04:17
Sergeant_Slash County: Cavan Posts: 1477
1175783 richiej County: UK Posts: 1281
1175700 Sergeant_Slash County: Cavan Posts: 1473
1175492 I can't help but feel Seanie has been left with egg on his face. If he doesn't get this transfer on appeal, there's no way Cavan will have him back after this.
Lets see how the Cavan forwards do tomorrow without him before we see who has what egg on whos face
How much did he score against Donegal last year? In fact, what did he score in the championship last year? I rest my case.
Number 2...... Seanie would never play for Cavan again while the present management or CB are anywhere near it.....so dont worry about that ever happening The only reason i wanted him to go and play for Kildare was to make the Cavan management the laughing stock of the country..which they probably are anyway.. and if they are not, they will be after tomorrows performance!
This is the first game for the new manager and you want him to fail already. You're cheer-leading for an individual to the detriment of your county team. That's no use to anyone.
Hyland said he would only consider Johnston if he went back to the Gaels and proved himself. Thats Rich comming from Hyland when you look at the substandard wannabe county forwards that he has picked on Sunday. Seems now in Cavan if your not an ex u21 of Hyland your frozen out.
Johnston has nothing to prove to you, me , Andrews, HYLAND or anyone else in Cavan
richiej (UK) - Posts: 1430 - 20/05/2012 10:11:54