Kildare v Tyrone - Division Two League Final...

Congrats to Kildare, the much better team on the day. Kildare played some very tidy football, and gave Tyrone no space whatsoever. Everytime Tyrone plays a team with some blanket defence, we usually get beaten i.e Donegal, Dublin last year and now Kidare this year. Tyrone can play the blanket but cannot whatsoever play against it. Tyrone were poor, the team selection wasnt great but hopefully Mickey is keeping his cards close to his chest with Armagh coming up. But that performance simply wont do in the athletic grounds. Kildare - great power in that team and look very hungry. Will be a threat to anyone this season.

cacsmckilly (Tyrone) - Posts: 1294 - 30/04/2012 09:47:09    1162831

Well done kildare better team young Fogarty looks a prospect but hopefully they'll ease him in the weight of expectation won't be based on the 25 minutes yesterday.
I have believed always we weren't quite as good as our league form showed but also belive we are not as poor as yesterday.
Kildare's ten day training camp had them primed and ready. My suspicion was that Tyrone started the year ahead of most teams in terms of fitness. I hope this is not the only differentiator this year.

Royaldunne and Clondalkin not sure how much you two really know about football based on these posts. Clondalkin in particular is the most sensistive of posters yet appears well able to lob a few bricks. Royaldunne - puke football blanket defence..are you sure that's what you seen from Tyrone yesterday?

Tyronetim (Tyrone) - Posts: 1254 - 30/04/2012 10:33:27    1162883

Tyronetim I wouldn't pass much heed on Royaldunne's remarks on yesterday's match as while he pretends to congratulate Kildare he is so blinded by envy at our limited success that he can't recognise good honest football when he sees it.
As for Brendtheredhand I don't know what match he was watching when he remarks "total lack of real conviction from both sides". Is he saying that the Tyrone number 2 was lacking conviction when he put his body on the line defending his goal or that each and every player ran their legs off attacking and defending?
I say to all posters please give credit where credit is due and not be blinded by your hatred or envy of outher counties success.

OntheWhiteSide (Kildare) - Posts: 452 - 30/04/2012 11:04:57    1162933

Thanks Tyronetim...suprised during his speech Johnny Doyle forgot to mention our two unsung heros royaldunne and clondalkindub for their tireless support and motivation which keep us hungry for success.....

Kildare30 (Kildare) - Posts: 603 - 30/04/2012 11:13:58    1162941

Happy enough with the win. The bottom line is that compared to the first day of the league Kildare had a stronger side than when geezer was still showing loyalty to the fringe players who had performed well in the O'Byrne Cup whereas yesterday we had the more established players who won back their places during the league and Tyrone were weakened by injury. Still it's encouraging that we learnt some lessons from the first game and weren't get dragged out of position the whole time and leaving big gaps for Tyrone to run into. Great strong finish to the game too and delighted with Fogarty doing so well. People might not rate Kildare's starting 15 that highly but ye'd have to admit we now have the makings of a seriously strong squad.

Having a good laugh reading the comments from the posters giving out about the standard of the game. I'm not sure if ye moved off the couch yesterday but there was an unbelievable wind with the odd drop of rain thrown in. There was never going to be anybody spraying the ball around the place in those conditions which is what made Doyle's sideline ball point even more special. Doubt anyone is going to get too carried away with the win, especially within the Kildare camp but it's better to be there and have won it than be where we have been for the last couple of years.

doublehop (Kildare) - Posts: 4172 - 30/04/2012 11:34:51    1162979

Can someone please tell me what I said that was so bad? 'was it Dublin will walk Leinster'? Hardly the worst thing ever said on hs. I congratulated Kildare and was very impressed with the sub that came on who won the game for them. But up to forgarty coming on it was a poor game and neither team impressed me. As boring as Cork our they are very good at it and To me it's between them Kerry and Dublin.

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 30/04/2012 11:43:13    1162992

stekhli

1162776 tyrone were actually so overhyped coming into this match , found out big time today againsta far better team , tyrone are so negative as well

Any hype about Tyrone came from outside the county by the likes of your fellow county men. Found out big time? Level going into the last 10 minutes against a gale force wind hardly suggests being found out. Kildare were stronger in the last 10 minutes and showed more desire. With no disrespect intended, had that been a championship match I don't think that Kildare would have hit the last 5 points. Maybe still won but would have had to fight a lot harder.

As for being negative, this old chestnut yet again. Listen, Are Dublin a negative team? They defend in great numbers and break forward quickly much like Tyrone do. Looking at the league tables only 3 teams have outscored, Kildare and Wexford if you take out the 273 points Kilkenny handed out in Div4. An average of almost 18 points a game hardly smacks of negativity. The free flowing Dubs only managed 16 points a game and a third of them racked up against Armagh's reserve team so stop with the negative bull. What is it they say about staying quiet and letting people think you are stupid?

omaghredhand (Tyrone) - Posts: 3656 - 30/04/2012 12:22:18    1163036

1162992 Can someone please tell me what I said that was so bad? 'was it Dublin will walk Leinster'? Hardly the worst thing ever said on hs. I congratulated Kildare and was very impressed with the sub that came on who won the game for them. But up to forgarty coming on it was a poor game and neither team impressed me. As boring as Cork our they are very good at it and To me it's between them Kerry and Dublin..

Based on what exactly? Dublin's big defeat of Armagh's reserves or pulling away from Donegal only after Murphy gets injured or beating the powerhouses of Laois? If you are using league form or yesterday's games played in a gale then surely Dublin will not be within an asses roar of winning anything this year. Beaten by a Down team that Cork hammered the first time and then toyed with the second, taught a lesson by Kerry in your own backyard and beat that far out the gate by Mayo that yous were half way back to Dublin by full time. However unlike yourself I know that the league and yesterday will mean very little come championship time

omaghredhand (Tyrone) - Posts: 3656 - 30/04/2012 12:28:26    1163047

omaghredhand

1162992 Can someone please tell me what I said that was so bad? 'was it Dublin will walk Leinster'? Hardly the worst thing ever said on hs. I congratulated Kildare and was very impressed with the sub that came on who won the game for them. But up to forgarty coming on it was a poor game and neither team impressed me. As boring as Cork our they are very good at it and To me it's between them Kerry and Dublin..

Based on what exactly? Dublin's big defeat of Armagh's reserves or pulling away from Donegal only after Murphy gets injured or beating the powerhouses of Laois? If you are using league form or yesterday's games played in a gale then surely Dublin will not be within an asses roar of winning anything this year. Beaten by a Down team that Cork hammered the first time and then toyed with the second, taught a lesson by Kerry in your own backyard and beat that far out the gate by Mayo that yous were half way back to Dublin by full time. However unlike yourself I know that the league and yesterday will mean very little come championship time

Was just about to ask him the same question

moomoo (Kerry) - Posts: 4023 - 30/04/2012 12:38:44    1163068

Well this wasnt a shock result at all... in fact I called it fairly spot on.

To be honest it's a result that doesnt mean so much... they had both already won promotion - and reached the Final.

That's what I'm sure they would have set their sights on at the start of the campaign. Kildare are a good team in the top 5 so losing to them is no disgrace.

Tyrone were the more consistent team through the league. Just like Dublin in Div 1 last year and well we ended up losing the final too.

It went along way in our preparation for the Championship. I dont see yesterdays game as important.

Kildare are moving well.. a good win against an in form team.

I see the two favourites for Sam as being either Cork or Kerry. I dont think we'll be able to put two back to back. Its a very very difficult thing to do...and from what I've seen so far this year from Dublin. There is no evidence whatsoever to suggest otherwise.

We can only base a judgement on what we've seen... not on ifs or buts.

and here if I'm really honest... it suits me down to the ground. We've no chance, we're rubbish, we're lucky... ye are all right about us.

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20763 - 30/04/2012 12:42:43    1163076

Yesterday's defeat could actually be a God send. This team is by no means close to being the finished article and Kildare showed that there's still much work to be done, if we make the last 8 this year I'll be pleased. Still overall though the League has been a great success, getting back to Division 1 was of paramount importance and to do that by winning every league match was a bonus. Well done to Kildare, fully deserved victory

pplocal (Tyrone) - Posts: 5878 - 30/04/2012 12:47:50    1163084

Based on the fact that were all Ireland champions. I've never seen all Ireland champions being written off the very next season.

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 30/04/2012 12:58:32    1163096

Jimbo..comeon. Dublin will be one of the favourites and rightly so. I'd rank Cork Currently ahead of Dublin followed by Mayo/Kerry. Based on yesterday and the progression made since the start of the league...Kildare at No.5.
For the rest of us we'll need to see whether we can be there in August and September.

Certainly a poster (Down) made reference to the Tyrone hype...most of the threads as such were started by those outside the county. Most Tyrone people still say this is a team in transition. We need natural scoring forwards like Coney and Ryan O'Neill and a fit Tommy McGuigan. SON and Mugsy are struggling without Cavanagh at his best and the loss of Brian McGuigan, Dooher, McGinley, and Cavlan. These guys were top class ..you don't replace them overnight..Coney and O'Neill are the most talented of the new branch but not to be this year.

As for Tyrone posters saying they weren't committed - rubbish Tyrone/Mickey Harte want to win every game.

Tyronetim (Tyrone) - Posts: 1254 - 30/04/2012 13:06:33    1163116

omaghredhand

And I suppose Dublin had their full strength team out each time? Very selective post! I imagine the sheer fact that we are All Irelamd champions would make us one of the top few teams to win again. Not league performance!

Jackeen (Dublin) - Posts: 4097 - 30/04/2012 13:06:53    1163118

Tyrone played well below par and were missing their most in form player in Coney. I still think Tyrone would beat this Kildare team 9 times out of 10. Also it shows what a joke the league is when Tyrone win it at a canter with maximum points while a much inferior team with two defeats and a draw get to challenge in a final. Anyway it goes to show that any team can have an off day. Sure look at Kerry in the semi.

gaelantrim (Antrim) - Posts: 1616 - 30/04/2012 13:12:11    1163126

Jackeen

omaghredhand

And I suppose Dublin had their full strength team out each time? Very selective post! I imagine the sheer fact that we are All Irelamd champions would make us one of the top few teams to win again. Not league performance!

Why is it any time Dublin lose they dont have there full strength team? After winning the hurling league last year we were told they would be in the hunt for the All Ireland, if i recall after getting to the football league final was going to be one of the reasons for winning the All Ireland and now only a year later the league doent matter.....

moomoo (Kerry) - Posts: 4023 - 30/04/2012 13:20:35    1163137

I don't think that Kildare team on yesetrday's performnce will much inderior to anyone. From their point of view they'll want to reatin the benfits of the 10 day training camp beyond Sunday.

Tyronetim (Tyrone) - Posts: 1254 - 30/04/2012 13:21:47    1163139

And now in English...

I don't think that Kildare team on yesterday's performance will much inferior to anyone. From their point of view they'll want to retain the benefits of the 10 day
training camp beyond Sunday.

Tyronetim (Tyrone) - Posts: 1254 - 30/04/2012 13:35:28    1163160

moomoo says...

Why is it any time Dublin lose they dont have there full strength team?

Are you incapable of making a point without exaggerating?

I got as far as the first the question mark after team and then said what's the point reading anymore.

PS

Man get a new hobby would you..? Blah blah Dublin this or Dublin that…

If it wasn't for Dublin GAA you'd have a hell of a lot less to talk about around here going on previous posts…

You seem to talk more about Dublin than I do… what's the fascination?

It must be hard being from the number 1 Footballing County and all you ever see are people talking about Dublin, writing about Dublin, big colour pictures, interviews in the paper…

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20763 - 30/04/2012 13:38:08    1163163

I usually don't respond to moomoo cos he is incapable of having a debate without having a dig but this but this time I'll bite.

I never said the league didn't matter. I said Dublin are in the top few teams as we area current All Ireland Champions!!
My point was directed at Cacksimily as he stated that we beat under strength teams like Armagh (the same team that whooped Kerry I might add) & Donegal only cos Murphy went off but failed to mention half our team that won the AI didn't feature in the league. It suits people if we conveniently forget this fact.

Jackeen (Dublin) - Posts: 4097 - 30/04/2012 13:53:12    1163180