Counties with the Biggest Pick in Football?

Didn't Pat Spillane say (more than once..nearly as much as his Declan Nerney quote of "If I knew den what...") - that any county could provide 15 players that could win an AI

Tyronetim (Tyrone) - Posts: 1254 - 23/04/2012 15:49:20    1158329

Same in Louth Ollie.

derfil1 (Kildare) - Posts: 1612 - 23/04/2012 17:00:47    1158416

The day wouldnt be complete without the galway boys stickin the knife in.

------------

Always the victim eh? Have a word with a few of your own gobsh*tes before you say anything.

ahsure. (Galway) - Posts: 1697 - 23/04/2012 17:13:19    1158429

you would have to say for Offaly and the size of their population they have done amazingly well to have won AI's in hurling and football.

Rosineri1 (UK) - Posts: 2099 - 23/04/2012 17:15:50    1158435

Population does a have a bearing to to a point. I think those counties with a very small population are at a distinct disadvantage over othe counties. However there does come a point when population increases become irrelevant. History shows this. Some counties have been able to utilise their resources better than others.

ManFromManach (Fermanagh) - Posts: 95 - 23/04/2012 17:18:29    1158436

ahsure.

Always the victim eh? Have a word with a few of your own gobsh*tes before you say anything.

Can you explain what gobsh*tes you are on about?

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11583 - 23/04/2012 17:26:37    1158442

yew_tree

Can you explain what gobsh*tes you are on about?

-------

Thousands of ye, it would be unfair of me to just pick one. Goodluck.

ahsure. (Galway) - Posts: 1697 - 23/04/2012 17:42:33    1158454

And stop going off topic yew_tree.

ahsure. (Galway) - Posts: 1697 - 23/04/2012 17:44:48    1158457

You also have to factor in other sports and facilities. Dublin may have a huge population but they also have many other sports to choose from.

county man (Limerick) - Posts: 1145 - 23/04/2012 17:49:43    1158463

The day wouldnt be complete without the galway boys stickin the knife in

Actually I wasn't having a go at all but Mayo must have a fairly large pick of players given it's size, population and almost complete focus on football alone. Granted Galway has an even bigger population mainly though because of Galway city which is definitely not a GAA stronghold. Plus the county is split almost 50/50 between football and hurling. I do realise that population wise at least Mayo is far from the bigegst county in the country.

Marooned (Galway) - Posts: 2387 - 23/04/2012 17:51:06    1158465

ahsure, telling yew tree to stop going off topic?? Are you for real? You are the one who just called thousands of Mayo people gobshites! What has that insult got to do with this thread?

killer_88_ (Mayo) - Posts: 2040 - 23/04/2012 17:56:52    1158472

were not doing to bad considering we have around 55,000 people, very small young population and in the likes of Four Roads, Fuerty and Oran they wouldn't know a football from a handbag. Nothing but sliotars and sticks. Wouldn't mind a more recent all-ireland considering our last one was during WW2...

Ros2013 (Roscommon) - Posts: 532 - 23/04/2012 17:58:09    1158475

ahsure.

Thousands of ye, it would be unfair of me to just pick one. Goodluck.

Explain how I was going of the topic? Also how are thousands of mayo people gobsh*tes? I assume it is us you are referring to? What happened, did a mayo girl break your heart lad....grow up.

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11583 - 23/04/2012 18:00:23    1158480

Cavan have a relatively small pick, and still delivered 39 Ulsters and five Sams. :D :D

Sergeant_Slash (Cavan) - Posts: 2182 - 23/04/2012 20:50:59    1158620

OLLIE
County: Louth

RoyalClass

You could have the biggest population in the country but unless you have the right facilities and the right personnel in place to develop talent you won't go too far. Our own county is a prime example. Meath now has a population of around 185,000 and we are as bad as we've ever been.

"True enough and half them are Dubs."

I would have said Louth as most of them play what the English called football

rath_togh (Meath) - Posts: 740 - 23/04/2012 21:54:12    1158673

One glaring point has been left out here in this thread. Counties under partition will always have a smaller pool of players to choose from than their southern counterparts. Why? Because we have two communities, one who play gaelic football and the other who prefer games like cricket and soccer. So is it not fair to say the six counties will always be at a disadvantage regardless of county and population size, more vaild to look at nationalist population as opposed to the whole population. The fact that 4 out of the 6 northern couunties have won the all ireland more and sometimes more than once, is a real credit to them!!!

cacsmckilly (Tyrone) - Posts: 1294 - 24/04/2012 08:52:49    1158701

rath_togh

OLLIE
County: Louth

RoyalClass

You could have the biggest population in the country but unless you have the right facilities and the right personnel in place to develop talent you won't go too far. Our own county is a prime example. Meath now has a population of around 185,000 and we are as bad as we've ever been.

"True enough and half them are Dubs."

I would have said Louth as most of them play what the English called football

Your right as usual Rath_togh. No one in the Royal County plays what the English call football or supports an English club.

http://www.soccer-ireland.com/irish-soccer-leagues/meath-district-league.htm

OLLIE (Louth) - Posts: 12224 - 24/04/2012 09:04:22    1158704

Parts of Dublin have no GAA clubs and other area's have rather large single clubs, its the playing population that ultimately counts. Some clubs in Dublin have a bigger community than very large villages/small towns. And what of Football only counties as opposed to duel code counties?

arock (Dublin) - Posts: 4954 - 24/04/2012 09:36:43    1158720

Ahsure, as I already pointed out there is double the amount of people in galway to mayo, and therefore double the amount of gob******.

Marooned, we dont have a complete focus on football, there are lads who dont play football at all. We have a competitive hurling team so clearly our focus is not on football alone. Similarly thre is a huge amount of soccer clubs in mayo and with the insistance of the gaa and the mayo soccer league to clash every single week, guys have to choose. Yes galway have a lot of interest in hurling, but they also have double our population which means they have at least the same amount of footballers as we do, and if you factor in our bit of hurling and the fact that the majority of young fellas have to leave the county in search of work (man of whom go to galway and sign for clubs there), I would argue that galway have an even bigger pick.

Arock, every county has these areas. Since dublin is more populated than everywhere else, it stands to reason these areas will be more common.

TheMaster (Mayo) - Posts: 16187 - 24/04/2012 10:09:53    1158752

Think i agree with the Dubliiner Arock on this, it ultimately depends on the playing population as to which county has the greatest pick of footballers. Its not fair to say Cork and Dublin will automatically have the greatest pick. Of course population is high but how many of that population play gaelic football. These counties have hurling to contend with as well as Rugby and Soccer. An dont forget city and big town entertainment may keep a young fella out of the football field and in the pub.

cacsmckilly (Tyrone) - Posts: 1294 - 24/04/2012 10:40:01    1158776