Junior A Football Championship thread

could anyone tell me the quarter final match ups please and where they will probably be?? im home next week and wouldnt mind seeing 1 or 2

royalhalfback (Meath) - Posts: 92 - 29/08/2012 12:39:03    1254735

its
Dunsany v's Donaghmore/Ashbourne
Cortown v's Simonstown

other 2 quarter final games are still up in the air

in group B Kilmainham are through (top of the table) and will be joined by either Kilmainhamwood or Summerhill
in group C Bective are through and will be joined by either Ratoath or Drumbaragh....however it's not clear which teams will finish 1st or 2nd in this group yet

if Ratoath beat or draw with Bective, it's Bective v's Kilmainham and Ratoath v's Kilmainhamwood or Summerhill

if Bective beat Ratoath, its Bective v's Kilmainhamwood or Summerhill and assuming Drumbaragh win, it'll be Drumbaragh v's Kilmainham (in this case, it'll go to scoring difference between Ratoath and Drumbaragh....currently Ratoath are +31 and Drumbaragh are +30 so if Ratoath lose their max best score difference will be +30 and if drumbaragh win their min best scoring difference will be +31

(i think!!!)

onehoponesolo (Meath) - Posts: 21 - 29/08/2012 16:35:32    1255084

Cortown are looking good, defo in with a good chance of regaining their Intermediate status only a year after dropping down. Has any other club in the last couple of decades bounced back up at the first time of asking?

Crawley_JuniorD (Meath) - Posts: 211 - 29/08/2012 20:01:08    1255284

O Mahoney's bounced straight back up after being relegated from senior about 10/12 years ago

InTheLoop (Meath) - Posts: 147 - 30/08/2012 10:32:18    1255454

No I think NOM got to the final the next year they went down but got bet by Ballivor by a last min 45 by ray mckeown?? but got to the final the year after an hammered Carnaross

lagoreX (Meath) - Posts: 223 - 30/08/2012 10:57:55    1255467

I stand corrected Lagorex! Coming straight back up is a good achievement for any club, I can't think of any club that has done it anyway

InTheLoop (Meath) - Posts: 147 - 30/08/2012 11:52:06    1255503

Countylegend1 fail to see how glenny was slagging of slane, he was stating what is common knowledge around the county, that slane are applying to go down. I mean catch a grip, a mhic.

An_Oifigeach (Meath) - Posts: 220 - 30/08/2012 13:13:44    1255567

Is there Betting on this??

overthehill72 (Meath) - Posts: 334 - 30/08/2012 16:04:21    1255726

Here I am again your local guru on Junior football in Meath. I am some boy and to eyeinthesky and countylegend the good ole 2 fingers.

How the mighty have fallen is a ref to Kwood Keegan Cup winners in 1996 and now in JFC and playing 2nd teams of teams they used to bate. No snear here just a statement of fact. As to Slane who have given up for 2012 and have applied to go Junior B is again not a cutting remark just a statement of fact.... So there... Now for my wise and mostly brilliant predictions in what is the favourite Championship in the land.. Stand by for some seriously shrew calls.... Ahem..

Group A sorted Cotown have to bate Moylagh by 11 points more than Dunsany bate Brigids so that wont happen 1. Dunsany 2 Cortown

Group B. Kilmainham top and Summerhill to bate Kwood so 1. Kilmainham 2. Summerhil

Group C. Drumbaragh to bate Drumconrath by 8 or 9. and the 1st big caustalty of the year Bective to bate Ratoath by 2 points and once again Ratoath calve when the chips are down. 1. Bective 2. Drumbaragh

Group D. Donaghmore will beat Kilbride handy enough and Meath Hill who let me down last week have annoyed me enough to predict that they will take Simonstown and prove what a fantasic group of lads they really are !!!!!!!! 1 Don/Ash 2. Simonstown.

Very happy I will get 8 out of 8 on quailifers so I am So I am

glenny (Meath) - Posts: 1119 - 01/09/2012 15:30:58    1256765

glenny

Group D. Donaghmore will beat Kilbride handy enough and Meath Hill who let me down last week have annoyed me enough to predict that they will take Simonstown and prove what a fantasic group of lads they really are !!!!!!!! 1 Don/Ash 2. Simonstown.

Yet again you show that you know as much about predictions as a cat knows about its mother...

Simonstown are 2 points clear of Don/Ash so even if they lose and Don/Ash win they will be on the same amount of points,

So simonstown will top the group on head2head results.

Keep up the good work Glenny

eyeinthesky (Meath) - Posts: 44 - 01/09/2012 17:31:18    1256827

Oh yes a carefully plotted mistake to see if you lived up to your name you who sees everything from your perch up high.

Of course I knew that one all the time my sparky friend dont be getting too agitated watch my 8 sally forth to the quarters.

At least I have a go at it and dont spend my posts giving out you too will realise my powers of prediction are top notch

glenny (Meath) - Posts: 1119 - 01/09/2012 17:50:41    1256846

This auld forum would be a boring auld spot without glenny...... love it! Ratoath game is a huge one, Bective will want them gone because with them out Bective will have a glorious chance of getting to semi, depending on draw in semi and into the final assuring promotion. This year both finalists get promoted. So i think Bective will push them all the way, even though there garunteed q/final place. Keep it coming glenny!!

milkybar (Meath) - Posts: 27 - 01/09/2012 19:35:47    1256937

Summerhill beat KilmainhamWood tonight, they seem to be tipping along well. Any chance of them winning the Junior?

Crawley_JuniorD (Meath) - Posts: 211 - 01/09/2012 21:32:54    1257028

They have every chance seen them play my club trim total different level than us have a strong panel

Header33 (Meath) - Posts: 233 - 01/09/2012 21:49:59    1257054

any updates on bective ratoath?

flyer (Meath) - Posts: 815 - 02/09/2012 13:52:24    1257182

Ratoath won by 6 so they go through as winners bective as runners up

m11 (Meath) - Posts: 61 - 02/09/2012 14:47:32    1257205

Ratoath won pretty comfortably in the end. 3-11 to 2-9 I think. Bective got a very late goal to make the score more respectable. Ratoath were very poor in midfield though.

Ratoath Royal (Meath) - Posts: 1394 - 02/09/2012 14:51:33    1257207

What is the quarter final line up now

MeathHerald.1 (Meath) - Posts: 14 - 02/09/2012 21:52:19    1257682

From just looking at the tables, these look to be the quarter final pairings:
Ratoath - Summerhill
Kilmainham - Drumbaragh
Cortown - Donaghmore/Ash
Simonstown - Dunsany

I'm open to correction though.

Ratoath Royal (Meath) - Posts: 1394 - 02/09/2012 21:58:50    1257692

I think the pairing is more like this
Ratoath - Summerhill
Kilmainham - Bective
Cortown - Don/Ash
Simonstown - Dunsany

From what I heard we were lucky at times yesterday , Bective missed some easy goal chances in the first half and Ratoath got a lucky goal
and what with Bective already qualified probably didnt push themselves too hard knowing they were through. This Ratoath team a bit young
but improving every year , Id imagine Kilmainham (Div 2) or Dunsany will push on from here but Ratoath would give eithger one a good game

lagoreX (Meath) - Posts: 223 - 03/09/2012 08:46:07    1257710