Junior A Football Championship thread

Head to head if two involved. Score Differance if more than two. Bective lost out on score differance last year as three teams tied on same points them Kwood and OMahonys.

On another rule as i mentioned a few days ago Simonstown and Don/ash if they draw tomorrow they both qualify and Dunboyne go out. This breaks Rule 9 of the Championship regulations which says that when games have a bearing in penultamate round they should be played together. Tut, Tut or great CCCC may have made a booo boo.

What odds on draw tomorrow......................

glenny (Meath) - Posts: 1119 - 11/08/2012 21:45:53    1243566

Big shock D/A losing to Simonstown in Walterstown tonight. Anyone at it?

MeathHerald.1 (Meath) - Posts: 14 - 11/08/2012 21:50:02    1243567

Well Simonstown beat Donaghmore this evening so that throws that theory out!

updaroyal (Meath) - Posts: 1132 - 11/08/2012 21:52:23    1243570

just on a side note lads,

is the league also based on head to head or score difference if 2 teams are level on points?

dubsout (Meath) - Posts: 220 - 12/08/2012 11:48:30    1243610

dubsout

just on a side note lads,

is the league also based on head to head or score difference if 2 teams are level on points?

I think its score difference for the league, provided no walk overs are given during the campaign, otherwise it may go to playoffs (Im sure someone will correct me on this )

NAIL_BAR (Meath) - Posts: 457 - 12/08/2012 12:24:11    1243635

not dead in the water yet don/ash play simonstown on monday

glenny (Meath) - Posts: 1119 - 12/08/2012 15:19:43    1243787

Trim W/O : SCR Slane

Does this mean Slane are automatically Junior B bound?

The_Ripper (Meath) - Posts: 184 - 13/08/2012 09:25:15    1244200

No unless they opt for that they will be fixed to play in last round as Meath Championship is on a League basis. Even if they give a walkover next week the Relegation part of the Championship is classed as a different competition and they can play in it.

On the games at the weekend my predictions where good and bad

Group A panned out as I said with Cortown and Dunsany getting tru with a round to spare. Moylagh I was wrong on they now have a chance to avoid relegation playoff (which I suspect wont happen as Slane will apply to go Junior B) as St Bridigs now need to get a result to stop them from being bottom.

Kilmainham snuck tru and now Summerhill face Kilmainhamwood for 2nd spot. Not too long ago the Wood could handle Summerhill's 1st team but will not now handle the B team. Oh how the mighty have fallen.

Group C is now really interesting. Drumbaraghs draw with Ratoath a great result leaves them with a great chance. If Bective beat Ratoath Bara will get the 2nd spot on score differance. If Rataoth beat Bective then Drumbaragh go out and Bective will get 2nd spot. No doubt the Kells men will beat a poor Drumcondrath side handy. Once again Ratoath could cough up the poits under pressure for the umpteenth time in a row.

Meath Hill fell badly and their victors Dunboyne are also out as Simonstown beat Donaghmore to ensure both quailify.

Great stuff now the Quarter Finals look like;
Cortown v Don/Ash
Dunsany v Simonstown
Bective v Summerhill
Drumbaragh v Kilmainham

How about Drumbaragh v Dunsany now for the Final

glenny (Meath) - Posts: 1119 - 13/08/2012 11:02:37    1244288

im a ratoath man i fear bective next week. i went to watch their game yesterday against nom who were the runners up last year in this grade and they blew them away.

daboy (Meath) - Posts: 56 - 13/08/2012 13:08:58    1244413

Re: glenny

Don't take this the wrong way but you haven't got a clue what you are on about when it comes to Junior A football.

You have got most of the predictions wrong,

Especially in group D when you thought Meath Hill would qualify and last week you fancied them to beat Dunboyne. As for Don/Ash getting beat by Simonstown well not too many saw that coming I grant you that.

eyeinthesky (Meath) - Posts: 44 - 13/08/2012 13:50:00    1244453

Well I am thick skinned enough not to burst into tears not that ye can see me anyway.

I did say good and bad and in the minefield that is the Great JFC 6 out of 11 is just that.

Ones I got wrong.
Moylagh drawing with Curraha not too many seen that
Drumbaragh drawing with Ratoath I did say it be tight but got it wrong in predicting Ratoath
Skyrne beating Drumcondrath have to be a bit of a suprise
Simonstown beating Donaghmore as you say bit of a shock
I will admit was way out in saying Meath Hill would take Dunboyne but genuinely taught Hill would get out of group.

glenny (Meath) - Posts: 1119 - 13/08/2012 14:05:44    1244471

I was at the Simonstown - Ashbourne game , i was down visiting a friend and we popped in for a look.

The ref was poor for both sides, went over to talk to the Simonstown bench at one stage at 5 blanty frees were not giving to them , then completely turned around to side with simonstown for the last 20 mins , Missed a double hop pt in the first half. 2 blant fress against ashbourne in the 2nd half .

When the ball hits the ref whats the outcome is it a throw up , i thought it was but he played on resulting in s/town getting a pt. Simonstown kicked about 12 wides in the first half. best side won

dnewlad (Meath) - Posts: 137 - 13/08/2012 14:15:07    1244486

What is happening in Slane?? They surely cant be this stuck for players

Crawley_JuniorD (Meath) - Posts: 211 - 13/08/2012 21:24:01    1244928

slane seriously stuck for players, and will struggle even more next year

Lad (Meath) - Posts: 136 - 15/08/2012 11:16:36    1245589

Yes its sad to see a club such as Slane struggling so badly. not so long ago they were in the mix for Senior honours.

NAIL_BAR (Meath) - Posts: 457 - 15/08/2012 11:33:30    1245603

are clonard out of this??

overthehill72 (Meath) - Posts: 334 - 24/08/2012 13:25:43    1251080

Cortown and Dunsany beat CLonard which knocks them out, Clonard are poor enough but have a few nice ballers. No depth to their squad

Footballonly (Meath) - Posts: 128 - 24/08/2012 16:47:51    1251280

Would have to agree 100% with eyeinthesky in relation to glenny,
I have followed this tread and seriously glenny give up the predicting winners of games anyone can get lucky and hit a few correct , All the guys on here comment on how many Junior clubs have lost out to emigration , yet you see fit to slag off clubs like Slane and Kilmainhamwood both of whom have dropped down through the grades in recent years , i think it was 95 that both teams played each other in a senior semi final ,
So " HOW THE MIGHTY HAVE FALLEN " is all very well but have a bit of cop on we are all football fans here

countylegend1 (Meath) - Posts: 95 - 29/08/2012 09:52:22    1254555

Not sure what countylegend1 is getting at there? Rant? Anyway, I expect Kilmainhamwood to beat Summerhill who have now lost a few players to their Senior team, and then go on to win Junior A.

Harribo (USA) - Posts: 28 - 29/08/2012 10:15:29    1254571

Rant ??? Yea a bit of a one , Just dont like to see clubs belittled because they loose players I have seen clubs come up and down its swings and roundabouts but it is tough for small rural clubs that was my point

countylegend1 (Meath) - Posts: 95 - 29/08/2012 11:09:42    1254613