Junior A Football Championship thread

Ratoath to bottle it again, Ashbourne to spring a surprise

summerhillof69 (Meath) - Posts: 228 - 06/10/2012 14:45:21    1279097

rath_togh
Ratoath hopefully will take strength from all of this. Bottlers? Thanks for the added incentive![/i

Ratoath have won nothing yet, nor will they.

B4J (Meath) - Posts: 12 - 06/10/2012 15:11:04    1279108

Best of luck to Ashbourne from all in Dunshaughlin, when the squeeze come on, Ratoath will bottle it

Count (Meath) - Posts: 93 - 06/10/2012 16:05:18    1279129

Ratoath to win this, by about 5-6 points in the end but I expect a very tight game throughout!

Royalroller (Meath) - Posts: 86 - 06/10/2012 16:32:04    1279143

Why would ratoath bottle it, their promoted. So theres no pressure to win, only to pitut in a performance. Just a thought! Plus,any team managed by Sean Kelly with a pick of hundreds is to be considered capable of winning a poor junior championship. Clubs of same size as DA have two senior teams seen ratoath play, pretty good , better than a second string senior team.......NO. it will come down to who wants it more n day, simple. are ratoath happy just to be promoted?

milkybar (Meath) - Posts: 27 - 06/10/2012 16:38:41    1279151

Best of luck lads.
No matter what the result tomorrow, they'll be up against Kilcormack Killoughey in Offaly in the Leinster Junior championship tomorrow week. It'll be great to go in as champions.

Ratoath Royal (Meath) - Posts: 1394 - 06/10/2012 21:42:56    1279310

Very proud of our lads today, showed plenty of bottle when needed. Well done Donaghmore, Seán Kelly got his blanket defence tactics spot on and am very happy he is going into the Meath set-up

Summerhillof69

The last 7 games in the JFC you predicted wrongly while throwing in insults at teams, without going to a game at all. Paddy Power won't be getting you to set odds.

B4J

Great shout

rath_togh (Meath) - Posts: 740 - 07/10/2012 18:45:04    1279585

Oh reading over this thread, the last few pages especially, is extremely satisfying. By no means a great performance by the lads, but they showed great bottle to pull it out of the fire. These types of games were the ones that were lost over the past few seasons. Nerves of steel from Brian McMahon to point that free at the end. Despite the referee's obvious desire to play for a draw (6 minutes of injury time after only 2 minutes signalled), we held out.
Well done lads.

Ratoath Royal (Meath) - Posts: 1394 - 07/10/2012 18:56:34    1279593

Did ratoath win? what was score?

bobjaffacake (Meath) - Posts: 1400 - 07/10/2012 19:04:54    1279604

well ratoath royal you might either listen or buy a watch , if the ref wanted a draw he would have given ashbourne a few soft frees like he gave your lot.

the ref signalled at least 3 minutes of injury time that what the lady said on the tannoy. the key there been at least 3 , he actually played 4 and half.

that included the extra for the ratoath forward kicking the ball away,

i thought ratoath were the better side but i dont think they are as good as you and the other lads from ratoath make out ,

Terrible to think your star centre forward was completely out of the game from the 20minute mark.

Mc Mahon in the corner was excellent and the captain done well to get to half time

good luck in the leinster

dnewlad (Meath) - Posts: 137 - 08/10/2012 08:08:02    1279739

dnewlad

Yes there was 3 minutes added on and there was al ot more time added on for the ball being kicked away.
People play well and don't play well in county finals I don't know why you'd pick out one player who didn't deliver for special mention. Ashbourne played very well with everyone bar Devine & Morgan (who were excellent) filtering back behind the ball into a blanket defence when Ratoath were in posession. Our forwards found this hard to break down which is why 3 of them were replaced. I don't know who you're referring to regarding our star forward because that is and has been Bryan McMahon for 2 years now. He wasn't found wanting yesterday. Whatever strings were pulled for his scores were mostly done by Franco Coyne in patches and particularly Bobby O'Brien all throughout the game.

We kicked about 8 wides in the first half against the wind, and had 4 goal chances saved in the first half against the breeze. When Ashbourne weathered the storm they played the best football in the 1st 10/15 minutes and had they won we could have no complaints today. I said all week they'd be strong! Like LMFM said this morning the lead changed 4 times in the last 7 minutes, Ashbourne could just as easily be champions today.

But when a lead changes like that at the end of the game and the team, while outplayed at times, that are fashionably called bottlers on this forum come out on top it gives both them and their supporters great satisfaction.

Ultimately the big difference between the 2 teams yesterday were the 3 subs Ratoath brought on. Lenny Browne into midfield, Emmet Boyle to wing forward and especially Eamon Wallace the fastest man in Ireland under the age of 19.

Apart from the above one of the bigger game changers was the swapping of the McGill brothers with Conor going from center back to fullback where Morgan had been winning posession at ease. Conor had totally nullified this threat until Morgan unfortunately had to leave the pitch injured.

Now I'd like to congratulate the lads again and say goodbye for a few hours, I have to get last nights sleep after a brilliant night at Sean Eiffe Park.

rath_togh (Meath) - Posts: 740 - 08/10/2012 09:55:25    1279779

dnewlad, I think you're the one that needs the watch. I thought only two minutes were added on but that could be due to the poor PA system in Pairc Tailteann. However, 5 minutes and 45 seconds of injury time was played at the end of the second half. I know this because I was pretty much glued to my watch from the moment McMahon's free went over.
I also see you seem to be complaining about soft frees. I agree that there were some soft frees given to us, however it's convenient that you fail to mention the equal amount of soft ones given to yourselves. Devine is a great free taker, but he sure loves flinging himself to the ground when in scoring range.

I'm not sure where I (or others) made out that Ratoath were so good. I think they're the best Junior team in Meath and that was proven yesterday. I do believe they have the quality to survive in Intermediate, but not to challenge for honours. Midfield (again) was an obvious problem yesterday. There also needs to be a plan B in place when a team packs the defence successfully like Donaghmore did yesterday. Sort these problems out and the team as a whole will improve.

Ratoath Royal (Meath) - Posts: 1394 - 08/10/2012 10:11:44    1279791

Once again my predictions are correct Ratoath but not by much Ashboure will do fine at Intermediate level. Rataoth to have it handy next week as Offaly final in on next Friday so while Ratoath will be having the crack today and tomorrow the Ofally boys will be at it next Sat. Maybe Clara will be the other team and then the Kilcormac/Kiloughity team may not celebrate too much

Footnote; Recent efforts to have a Junior A competition with out the 2nd teams in it may gather force now as the Intermediate clubs will not be happy as Ashbourne beat a few of them and the Junior A Clubs may get more support

glenny (Meath) - Posts: 1119 - 08/10/2012 10:20:58    1279800

Congrats to Rathoath i didn't think the game would be as close as it was but from a neutural it made for a great final with incredible intensity.

Rathoath were the better team on the day, Ashbourne only had two forwards and when Morgan went off injured the whole game turned as they had no outlet upfront.McMahon was man of the match with franco in full forward winning huge amounts of possesion and laying it off well.Ashbournes defence was excellent with Carton and Finn really catching the eye.

I think Ashbourne gave Rathoath a reall fright and hopefully that will stand to Rathoath in their bid for Leinster and All Ireland junior sucess

BlackKettle (Meath) - Posts: 66 - 08/10/2012 10:41:56    1279815

congrats Ratoath and best of luck next weekend.

onehoponesolo (Meath) - Posts: 21 - 08/10/2012 12:45:58    1279905

As a neutral I really enjoyed the Junior A Final between Ratoath and Ashbourne. Ratoath could have had it in d bag after 20 minutes but for some bad misses and heroic defending by the Ashbourne backs. Fair play to the Ashbourne lads they weathered the storm and with a bit of luck could have easily won d match. Considering that Ashbourne have probably used 20 + players in d senior it was some achievement to come so close to landing the Junior A. Ratoath should kick on now and finally reach their potential now that thet have finally got out of Junior and the monkey is off their back.

kingofclubs (Meath) - Posts: 350 - 08/10/2012 13:51:33    1279959

Well done Ratoath!

Great to see both clubs producing so many good footballers.

Ollie99 (Meath) - Posts: 442 - 08/10/2012 20:23:38    1280232

Count

Best of luck to Ashbourne from all in Dunshaughlin, when the squeeze come on, Ratoath will bottle it

what do you have to say for yourself now Count????????????????

you were also being a bit arrogant to claim you were speaking for "all in Dunshaughlin" im sure the majority of gaa men and women would wish there neighbor well as long as they are not playing each other

well done to Dunshaughlin on junior B success very strong team with a lot of senior experience will do well next year

head4dblackspot (Meath) - Posts: 513 - 09/10/2012 11:03:27    1280370

Well im one dunshaughlin man that was cheering for ratoath on sunday.well done

bobjaffacake (Meath) - Posts: 1400 - 09/10/2012 11:30:57    1280384

The dog fight of the junior championship once again rears its head with not necessarily the best teams winning every year, ashbourne are a decent outfit due to the senior experience they have in panel and management, whereas ratoath are blown out of proportion to a certain degree on here. Im not sure if this is genuine ratoath supporters or people outside the club, but, blown out of proportion all the sam and I feel will be found wanting come intermediate

B4J (Meath) - Posts: 12 - 09/10/2012 12:37:15    1280433