Square Ball Amended

The day of the huge, slow full forward is back!!

qwertyu (Galway) - Posts: 7 - 22/04/2012 09:56:25    1157377

Gammy Knee, fair point about the existing rule being retained for dead balls, it should be abolished completely.

Tir Conaill Abu (Donegal) - Posts: 1677 - 23/04/2012 09:25:46    1157939

The text of the motion:
Amend Rule 4.9, Technical Fouls, Playing Rules of Football, O.G. Part 2 as follows:
"For an attacking player to enter opponent's small rectangle;
(a) During Play (excluding Set Play), before the final play of the ball into the small rectangle
(b) In Set Play, before the ball enters the small rectangle."

Retain Exception (i).

In the fifth line of Exception (ii) insert the words "otherwise illegally" between the words "been" and "within".

I believe that this means that you can enter the small rectangle after the ball has been played, but not beforehand. This means that camping in the small rectangle will lead to a foul. However, you can run into the small rectangle after the ball has been played but before the ball gets there.

Tacaí Liatroma (Leitrim) - Posts: 1199 - 25/04/2012 21:59:50    1160171

Big joe will have a field day. Top goal scorer in championship?

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 26/04/2012 10:41:00    1160251

Donaghy will be licking his lips..he's far better there than left half back.... Tommy Walsh has the suitcase packed...the Twin Towers return

Might be the return of the beardy boys too.

Tyronetim (Tyrone) - Posts: 1254 - 26/04/2012 14:11:51    1160484

This was posted as a new thread but as the subject matter is the same it has been incorporated here.

nevergivein
Roscommon
15/05/2012
10:35

SQUARE BALL

Mickey Harte is right. The change in the square ball rule is probably going to create more problems than it is supposed to solve. There was no problem with the rule as it was. What was missing were officials able to detect when a forward was in the square before the ball. If our officials were unable to detect that one simple thing, imagine how they are going to deal with ten possible things inside the square !!!!!!! A nightmare ahead...........!

Administrator (None) - Posts: 2275 - 15/05/2012 10:53:08    1172497

Sometimes you have to feel for the GAA. Damned if they do and damned if they don't. I'm sure this happens in every sport but for some reason the media are always more eager to quote anyone in the GAA who wants to complain about the rules. Negative publicity before they changed it and now just as much after. Opinions are like f*rts in the GAA, everyone elses stinks except your own.

doublehop (Kildare) - Posts: 4172 - 15/05/2012 11:21:47    1172531

Actually getting a little tired of mickey at this stage. Every second day its another complaint. Perhaps he should stick to what he is good at. Managing tyrone. This rule has been unenforceable for the last decade or more. It worked well when it was changed in league a few years back , no controversy during its trial. A change is what majority of people wanted. I think mickeys opinion on this might be that it has potential to nullify the blanket defense of the likes of tyrone. Ie plop a 6.4 guy in square and lob ball into him play as many as you like behind ball it will not stop that. Heaven forbid it may make teams kick the ball a bit more. No disrespect to the man. But the championship is not even properly started and we have this already. Let's see how it goes before making judgment.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 15/05/2012 12:22:17    1172589

always think the first few games where new rules have been applied are interesting as players forget at times could be very interesting in the first few opening games of the championship this year

lillymadfan (Kildare) - Posts: 1085 - 15/05/2012 12:54:08    1172623

I think its funny people mentioning it not making difference for donegal. It actually give murphy more reson to stay up front. He will give goalkeepers a very hard time.

Overall Im both for an against the change. What was there wasnt working however I do believe this will add more scrappyness in the square

dstuction (Donegal) - Posts: 1209 - 15/05/2012 13:37:32    1172662

Am a big mickey harte fan but disagree with him on this , as I think the square ball rule before was hard and I think this new rule is good . Only thing is protect the keeper so give it a go

Dellboypolecat (Tyrone) - Posts: 15069 - 15/05/2012 13:55:47    1172682

Am a big mickey harte fan but disagree with him on this , as I think the square ball rule before was hard and I think this new rule is good . Only thing is protect the keeper so give it a go

Dellboypolecat (Tyrone) - Posts: 15069 - 15/05/2012 14:28:35    1172731

The problem was caused by poor refereeing. I.e. A ref stamping his authority on a game by making the decision himself and NOT consulting with the umpires or (as in mr sluddens case) telling the umpire to just put up the flag.
Previously the ref could see the player kicking the ball, follow the flight of the ball and determine whether the ball was in the square first or the player-albeit from 30 or40 Yrds away. Now the ref has to watch the player kicking the ball and the square at the one time(ridiculous and impossible).
What I'm saying is, there was reay nothing wrong with the rule if applied and officiated correctly - that is that the umpire was allowed to call it straight away.

BNF (Tyrone) - Posts: 36 - 15/05/2012 16:46:08    1172853

Totally agree with BNF and others. What was wrong with the rule? The outrage caused in recent years regarding the square ball was not about the rule but the failure of officials to execute the rule correctly......especially when the officials' mistake actually decided the outcome of very important c'ship games. I feel the GAA has once again failed to face the real problem and opted for the easy way out.

nevergivein (Roscommon) - Posts: 115 - 16/05/2012 20:00:08    1173908

What odds 20 goals this weekend in the 5 games. And 4 0r 5 penalties thrown in. And different rules at each of the 5 venues.....great craic..

kikfada (Louth) - Posts: 2091 - 18/05/2012 14:33:27    1175211

played a club game there on wednesday night only a challenge game high ball in i was practically on the goal line punched it in . Ref blows square ball then i questioned him on this rule saying im allowed be in there if its not a free the ball game from he replied o right no goal as i challenged their keeper in the square. this cant be right can it ?

dubshurling7 (Dublin) - Posts: 1017 - 18/05/2012 16:42:39    1175395

dubshurling7

played a club game there on wednesday night only a challenge game high ball in i was practically on the goal line punched it in . Ref blows square ball then i questioned him on this rule saying im allowed be in there if its not a free the ball game from he replied o right no goal as i challenged their keeper in the square. this cant be right can it ?

It wouldn't be the GAA if a rule wasn't open to interpretation.
You still can't tackle the keeper in the square but as far as I know you can challenge in the air with him as in jump beside him.
It's up to the refs then to decide when the Keeper has been fouled in all this.
Loads of roaring and shouting at refs all over the country the next few weeks is definite anyways

Superglue (Kerry) - Posts: 1283 - 18/05/2012 16:57:49    1175414

Yea I'd say there could be a rake of penalties resulting from this.

Cute_Kerry_Hoor (Kerry) - Posts: 2518 - 18/05/2012 17:10:28    1175429

Superglue

It was like in soccer when the keeper jumped up with the striker and the striker just headed it in there was no contact between us even. At least it was a challenge and we were winning handy or else my reaction may have been very different to the ref

dubshurling7 (Dublin) - Posts: 1017 - 18/05/2012 18:07:57    1175476

Why is the introduction of video evidence that hard to implement or anathema to this archaic institution?.

What a ridiculous rule change, there was nothing wrong with the square ball rule as it stood, it was there to give the keeper a modicum of protection, a tiny rectangular area which will now be used like a cattle corral especially if a team is chasing the game late on, simple video evidence was all that was required if a referee was unsure, lets be honest most of the time they're only guessing, no point on relying on your umpires to bail you out either as some of them are petrified of making a call that might invite controversy and even they can't be certain either.
All you need is a guy to look at a monitor and a few seconds later a red or green light goes on up in the stands and now play on.
Referees are once again put in a no win situation, was it a foul on the keeper or wasn't it? oh sorry I couldn't see through the mass of players surrounding the keeper!.

Do the GAA recruit their personnel from kindergartens?, sorry I might actually be doing the kindergartens a disservice there?, to solve a problem they introduce another rule with the potential to cause more problems?, only the GAA!.

How about introducing a few rules that actually make perfect sense, like stop the clock for injuries and subs like the Ladies GAA do?, which takes away the responsibility of time added on from the referee, which as we know has been less than bombproof down the years, and this should be introduced to local club championship too, I've seen it many times down the years where a teams whole season is ruined because of some biased referee adding on far more or far less than was required, remove a teams faith from the referees mouth by stopping the clock, how simple is that!.

And why not get rid of the toe pick up?, it'll speed up the game and there'll be less petty fouling.

Ah well its the GAA we're talking about here and they don't do common sense!.

kildarecat22 (Kildare) - Posts: 257 - 19/05/2012 12:17:54    1175724