FL Division One semi-finals

Kerry at an all time low. Losing to,would you believe it, both Dublin and Mayo in Croke Park in such a short space of time is really beyond being excusable. Lowest since the late eighties/early nineties.

Real Kerry Fan (None) - Posts: 2957 - 16/04/2012 13:42:20    1153088

cuchulainn35 I think you'll find there are a number of reasons for our poor turnout, also may I add Kerry support was just as bad!

Cork supporters don't travel until things are at the business end of the season as most feel there is a good chance that we will get there again for the latter stages of the AI. Factor into this that we are also a successful hurling county and most people that attend the games regularly tend to be those who follow both teams. In order to save a few bob we tend to save our trips to Croker until we are playing AI finals/semis in one of the codes and through history it has been our hurlers that do best so traditionally corkonians will hold off going to Dublin until the hurlers are in town in the latter stages of an AI, this has not been the case of late with the footballers doing better.

In the case of yesterdays match in particular I feel that both sets of Cork and Kerry supporters were thinking ahead to a probable Cork V Kerry League final so they were holding off on the €130, and loss of an entire day due to travelling, for the anticipated final.

For a lot of other counties its a novelty to be playing in big games so when they get there the supporters go in numbers as they can't be sure when they will be back in these type of games again.

Finally as with almost every other county I think the promotion of the games is brutal. The GAA and the county boards seem to put little effort into promoting the games and I think this is a serious oversight. I would start by getting TG4 to commentate in both Irish And English, give the viewer the choice via a red button like what is done with the welsh channel. People think that televising the games will have an adverse effect on the games but I think the more exposure the better, just look at the rubbish that goes with the premiership and AFL while the GAA really has the bare minimum. Pricing is still an issue and I think even with the double header yesterday €15 was enough to be paying not to mind the €20 they got.

tj09 (Cork) - Posts: 481 - 16/04/2012 13:56:25    1153101

I think a bit of adversity at this time of year will do Kerry good. If people start writing them off then it will be an excellent motivator for them.

Tyronetim (Tyrone) - Posts: 1254 - 16/04/2012 14:06:33    1153116

M.Stack, 'dont push it'? Are we not allowed to comment or what? Nobody said mayo were angels, what was said was darran o'sullivan was particularly bad for it, which some kerry posters agreed with. You are always going to get a few incidents in a game, like you said there was a few instances of mayo boys holdin on in the tackle, as there were kerry lads doing the same, but when one person is repeatidly guilty it is fair game to point it out. His behaviour was questionable, just like keith higgins in the AI semi last year. I have no issue admitting that, so why do you?

TheMaster (Mayo) - Posts: 16187 - 16/04/2012 14:11:46    1153129

Stop being an eejit like Enda getting his headed ruffled in Europe and just look ahead to the final. If we're not making anything of anything that happened during the game on both sides, just get over it and look forward to ye're final against Cork, and win it!

legendzxix (Kerry) - Posts: 8965 - 16/04/2012 14:30:58    1153152

Good win for Mayo. Hopefully it'll give us the wake up call we need re playing for 70 mins +

But did anyone else notice on at least 3 occasions a Mayo player winning a free after a Kerry player put the hand in and the Mayo player went down ,holding the Kerry player's arm between his elbow and body?

I did. Thought the Mayo lads were trying to bring us out to dance a set they'd such a grip of the arm.

Superglue (Kerry) - Posts: 1283 - 16/04/2012 14:36:40    1153161

M.Stack, 'dont push it'? Are we not allowed to comment or what? Nobody said mayo were angels, what was said was darran o'sullivan was particularly bad for it, which some kerry posters agreed with. You are always going to get a few incidents in a game, like you said there was a few instances of mayo boys holdin on in the tackle, as there were kerry lads doing the same, but when one person is repeatidly guilty it is fair game to point it out. His behaviour was questionable, just like keith higgins in the AI semi last year. I have no issue admitting that, so why do you

@ The Master
yes that's exactly what I meant, I hereby ban all Mayo fans from freedom of speech. Cheer up, you're in a league final after beating Kerry, yet for some reason you're being what I can only call a Bad Winner.And since when did I have issue questioning Darran S's behaviour , can't remember mentioning him. Lighten up :)
(P.S. I also like how you can lip read wee Darran talking to James o Donoghue, it's an impressive skill ;) )

M.Stack (Kerry) - Posts: 22 - 16/04/2012 15:09:04    1153200

Lads can we move on from this argument now? There were elements of foul play from both sides yesterday, it happens in every game up and down the country every day! We beat Kerry in croker, finally! It was great but it count's for nothing if we don't beat Cork Sunday week.

killer_88_ (Mayo) - Posts: 2040 - 16/04/2012 15:21:19    1153219

100% right killer_88_

Superglue (Kerry) - Posts: 1283 - 16/04/2012 16:16:40    1153287

'Cheer Up' and 'Lighten Up'? It isnt me who cant accept the fact that one of our players spent more time trying to engage in negative play than he did positive play. The guy could easily have gotten the line for numerous blatent professional fouls, and he instructed a teammate to go down and waste time, and then done it himself. Dress it up whatever way you want, but that is what happened in the game and it is a talking point. As someone already pointed out, Im sure he was lamenting those few minutes himself and o'donoghue spent on the ground when he seen sheehan's late effort sail wide. As for being a bad winner, Im only posting on the talking points of the game, I posted on many aspects, all positive, and this one was only a sidenote at the end, however it was only this one that you chose to respond to. Maybe a few more need to 'cheer up' around here.

TheMaster (Mayo) - Posts: 16187 - 16/04/2012 16:46:56    1153325

'Cheer Up' and 'Lighten Up'? It isnt me who cant accept the fact that one of our players spent more time trying to engage in negative play than he did positive play. The guy could easily have gotten the line for numerous blatent professional fouls, and he instructed a teammate to go down and waste time, and then done it himself. Dress it up whatever way you want, but that is what happened in the game and it is a talking point. As someone already pointed out, Im sure he was lamenting those few minutes himself and o'donoghue spent on the ground when he seen sheehan's late effort sail wide. As for being a bad winner, Im only posting on the talking points of the game, I posted on many aspects, all positive, and this one was only a sidenote at the end, however it was only this one that you chose to respond to. Maybe a few more need to 'cheer up' around here.

I blame his rugby connections!!! :)

Cute_Kerry_Hoor (Kerry) - Posts: 2518 - 16/04/2012 16:52:21    1153335

Awful crowd yesterday, there are club championship games that could get near the same crowd. I don't know why we need a semi final, could the top two teams not just play in the final or don't even have a final, who ever finishes on top is the league winner and leave it at that. Many posters on here predicted the turnout would be little over 10'000 but the boys in Croke Park couldn't see this. They should have played these games at provincial grounds or tossed for home atvantage. Regardless of this Cork and Kerry both have awful support. A lot of people here talk about them waiting for the AI semi final, so supporting one of the best teams in Ireland entails traveling to two games a year. That is hardy support.

Louth Gael (Louth) - Posts: 1227 - 16/04/2012 17:11:45    1153369

Louth Gael
County: Louth

Awful crowd yesterday, there are club championship games that could get near the same crowd. I don't know why we need a semi final, could the top two teams not just play in the final or don't even have a final, who ever finishes on top is the league winner and leave it at that. Many posters on here predicted the turnout would be little over 10'000 but the boys in Croke Park couldn't see this. They should have played these games at provincial grounds or tossed for home atvantage. Regardless of this Cork and Kerry both have awful support. A lot of people here talk about them waiting for the AI semi final, so supporting one of the best teams in Ireland entails traveling to two games a year. That is hardy support.

The Cork and Kerry supporters that were in Dublin yesterday are the loyal and ever-present supporters, who travel to every game, no matter where and when. In saying that, a return train from Kerry yesterday was costing over 70 euro for an adult, not everybody can afford crazy prices like that these days.

Cute_Kerry_Hoor (Kerry) - Posts: 2518 - 16/04/2012 17:27:18    1153390

Louth Gael

Cork and Kerry do not have 'awful' support. The fact was yesterday, there was a full programme of games on in Cork in football and hurling leagues. In west Cork (the home of Cork football) they played the West Cork under 21 football championship FINAL which had a throw in of about 3.00 pm I think. What happened yesterday was quite simple, GAA people in Cork decided to support their clubs and not travel up to Dublin for this game. Cork and Kerry's support is excellent in the championship. I can't speak for what happens in Kerry, but in Cork it is only about two or three times a year that our county team will get the day to themselves (if they even get that) so that GAA people are free to support them. A few years ago, Cork played and lost to Mayo in an All-Ireland final at under 21 level in Ennis. There was a very small Cork crowd at it. Why? Our county bird decided to have a full round of Cork County senior hurling championship games on at the same time. In fact, one of the subs for Cork that day had to leave the game so that he could get back to Cork to play with his club that evening.

A good GAA supporter, in my opinion, stays with his/her club first. The county team comes second. Saying taht we could not even fill a mini bus is actually disingenuous in the extreme. A few weeks ago 15,000 people attended Cork/Kerry in the national football league. 6,000 attended in mid week for an under 21 final. Besides some of the Dublin games, that Cork/Kerry had the biggest crowd in national football league this year.

In conclusion, to suggest that Cork/Kerry have poor supporters is completely wrong. Congratulations to Mayo and Cork. hard luck to Down and Kerry.

bennybunny (Cork) - Posts: 3917 - 16/04/2012 17:32:24    1153392

Cute_Kerry_Hoor I understand that and fair play to those that were there yeaterday but it's not just yesterday. We played Cork in a big qualifier game in Portlaoise a number of years back and they had very little support the same as when they played Fermanagh in Croke Park in the championship and one of the commentators said the Cork fans could have fitted into one helicopter. I also understand the cost issue and that is another reason to have then game at a venue that suits both counties. That main thing is that if fans knew Croke Park would be empty then so did the people in Croke Park who made the fixture but still they didn't change it.

Louth Gael (Louth) - Posts: 1227 - 16/04/2012 17:40:56    1153400

BennyBunny, do your county board not cancel games when lads are involved for their county?

TheMaster (Mayo) - Posts: 16187 - 16/04/2012 18:59:01    1153509

bennybunny west cork is many thimgs, but the HOME of cork football its not

booboo (Cork) - Posts: 1382 - 16/04/2012 21:28:11    1153702

Louth Gael

Louth Gael what do you know about Kerry or Cork support?

Who are you to call us awful?

I was croker yesterday with other season ticket holders and we travel everywhere...

Drogheda & Dundalk are what 45 minutes to 1 hour from croke park.

Try a 8 hour round trip and all the cost involved...

westkerry (Kerry) - Posts: 1250 - 16/04/2012 21:40:56    1153722

All things considered Id bet both Cork And Kerry fans put more time & money towards following their county than any other. I wouldn't mind if these fans from other counties were filling their grounds for their own league games but that's not the case. Its poor support across the board really and something should definitely be done about it.

I like the way the hurling league has gone this year. Every game is a must win so there is a little bit more of an edge to them. Does anyone have the attendances for both league hurling and football games this year.

tj09 (Cork) - Posts: 481 - 17/04/2012 09:06:48    1153758

Booboo

I will slightly rephrase, it is home to a significant number of Cork's most loyal gaelic football followers (of course not all of them come from there and they are in no way better than people in any other part of the county/country).

Games get put off for some big intercounty championship games. However, clubs with players ionvolved would often have to play without the county players in all games except championship games (I imagine that is common everywhere??).

bennybunny (Cork) - Posts: 3917 - 17/04/2012 09:49:15    1153782