great game between kerry and mayo and cork were worthy winners v down. however the GAA have a lot to answer for with admission fees, people voted with their feet, 11,000 people in croker yesterday was a disgrace, had they halved the price- tripple the people would have attended.
offtheground1 (Down) - Posts: 128 - 16/04/2012 11:00:51
51longago County: Mayo Posts: 1355
1152858 West Kerry, I take your point which is usually valid but I will not buy into it for yesterdays referring performance,he was dog rough to Mayo but lets put that aside for now.
Tell me this, how do Kerry get away with being in the refs ear constantly,I never seen anything like it yesterday, it was time and time again, it is wrong and completely out of order. It needs to be addressed.kh was carded straight away for protesting to ref, if the ref had of followed that line of action all day previous, Kerry would of played most of the game with twelve men, donaghy, sheehan and gooch would of been lined.
Kinsella was poor yesterday but he was not biased towards any particular team. Mayo players did enough complaining too, as did Gooch and a few others too. Discipline by both sides was poor yesterday........how many times was the ball brought forward on both sides??
Quality-wise, it wasn't a great game.
I hope Mayo supporters won't get carried away with the win, I've no doubt the players will stay grounded, and we need Mayo to be competitive later on in the year, so it augurs well for a great Championship. But I saw a few Mayo men crying after the game.......beating Kerry in a League Semi-Final is one thing but save the tears for an All-Ireland win......just a bit much in my opinion.
Cute_Kerry_Hoor (Kerry) - Posts: 2518 - 16/04/2012 11:01:26
You did not see any mayo man cry yesterday, what a load of nonsense, a complete lie to make out we are wired to the moon and see this victory as something way more than it is.
Lots of mayo people usually stick around for a few pints after a win like that, not yesterday ,fans went home, team headed for portugal. There is a workman like attitude to the horan regime, and it will remain so till we are knocked out of the championship,nobody at all running away with themselves, that might not suit you and the usual media bile but that is the way it is. Sin e
51longago (Mayo) - Posts: 2981 - 16/04/2012 11:14:15
Great to get the win against kerry, I have to admit we have been waiting on that one for a while. I was really impressed with the young players, from both sides to be fair. Colm Boyle was outstanding, my MOTM, keegan, mcloughlin and o'connor also. O'Donoghue was impressive, as was the young half back, cant think of his name, and curtin also.
It was a great match for this time of year, just the kind of taster we wanted for the championship. The only negative I would take was the behaviour of darran o'sullivan. His yellow card should have been his second, and he ran over to o'donoghue after he scored the goal and told him to go down, no need for that kind of spoiling tactics.
TheMaster (Mayo) - Posts: 16187 - 16/04/2012 11:18:17
This was posted as a new thread but because of subject matter it has been incorporated here.
Nick Posts: 766 Wexford
16/04/2012 11:17
Heard Kerry let Mayo win at the weekend
I suppose somebody needs to give them a chance. Looks like they still have no chance of winning the championship though. Nobody is that generous.
Administrator (None) - Posts: 2275 - 16/04/2012 11:22:47
The master seen that too with Darren O Sullivan when he went in and told O'Donoghue to go down after the goal, wasting about a minute. He also had a little rest for himself a short time later, awful time wasting altogether, maybe if they had them few minutes at the end they might have been able to equalise or win.
xxx (Mayo) - Posts: 1275 - 16/04/2012 11:26:20
Nick - Kerrys mistake yesterday was not putting out the B team that they put out the week before to let us win. At least the B team were able to draw with us.
xxx (Mayo) - Posts: 1275 - 16/04/2012 11:28:34
51longago County: Mayo Posts: 1356
1152885 You did not see any mayo man cry yesterday, what a load of nonsense, a complete lie to make out we are wired to the moon and see this victory as something way more than it is.
Lots of mayo people usually stick around for a few pints after a win like that, not yesterday ,fans went home, team headed for portugal. There is a workman like attitude to the horan regime, and it will remain so till we are knocked out of the championship,nobody at all running away with themselves, that might not suit you and the usual media bile but that is the way it is. Sin e
Excuse me, but I saw two grown men crying immediately after the game, one of which was sitting two seats beside me and I shook his hand. You see all sorts at a game, sure there were two Kerrymen verbally abusing eachother after the 70 minutes in relation to Donaghy's pass!!
So don't tell me what I did or did not see...............
Cute_Kerry_Hoor (Kerry) - Posts: 2518 - 16/04/2012 11:40:43
TheMaster County: Mayo Posts: 3965
1152893 Great to get the win against kerry, I have to admit we have been waiting on that one for a while. I was really impressed with the young players, from both sides to be fair. Colm Boyle was outstanding, my MOTM, keegan, mcloughlin and o'connor also. O'Donoghue was impressive, as was the young half back, cant think of his name, and curtin also.
It was a great match for this time of year, just the kind of taster we wanted for the championship. The only negative I would take was the behaviour of darran o'sullivan. His yellow card should have been his second, and he ran over to o'donoghue after he scored the goal and told him to go down, no need for that kind of spoiling tactics.
You're thinking of young Peter Crowley, he was excellent until he was replaced in extra time. I agree with you regarding Darran O' Sullivan. There's no doubting his talent.
Cute_Kerry_Hoor (Kerry) - Posts: 2518 - 16/04/2012 11:42:45
16/04/2012 10:49:08 Cute_Kerry_Hoor County: Kerry Posts: 655
1152855 Firstly, well done Mayo for the comeback, it was a great win for ye and should be an interesting final now. How Kerry contrived to throw away a 4 point and 5 point lead I will never know. Same thing happened in the All-Ireland. Yesterday, Kerry were cruising to a win without having played remotely well but instead of kicking on, we ended up with 15 men behind the ball. Donaghy's mistake was awful. But how he ended up back there from doing very well at full-forward is something Jack will have to look at.
I won't lose sleep over it and one good thing to come from it on our side is that we won't play Cork till June. We didn't need a League Final against them. A good kick in the backside was received yesterday and at least we know what has to be sorted going forward. We have found a few new players so onwards to the Championship.
Also, yesterday was a PR disaster for the GAA.
All times we're defeated at least we take in on the chin. Down '10, Dublin '11 and now Mayo '12 should be able to vouch for that. It's a game having lost, we'll simply move on already and learn lessons from it. If we are to make it past Tipperary to take on Cork, I'd agree it is a good thing not to facing them before then. It's usually good craic down there for games as well.
legendzxix (Kerry) - Posts: 8965 - 16/04/2012 12:01:04
For some odd reason Admin edited my comment on Darran O' Sullivan. A talented player but doesn't help himself with antics like yesterday.
Cute_Kerry_Hoor (Kerry) - Posts: 2518 - 16/04/2012 12:03:36
I think I may also have seen those two Mayo lads that CKH is on about, one guy was much older than the other but the older man may well have been crying or at least not far off it when I saw them, they left after the first game and I saw them pass me on their way out. It was a good feeling for those mayo supporters as it is always nice to win a game like that. If Kerry had won I don't think they would have been too bothered in fact the loss may ultimately be the best thing for them.
tj09 (Cork) - Posts: 481 - 16/04/2012 12:04:08
CKH- What were you at going back two rows shaking hands with people, did you shake hands with everybody in your section or what?
xxx (Mayo) - Posts: 1275 - 16/04/2012 12:16:44
Well done Mayo, a well deserved win. But to the Moaners on HS complaining about Kerry's behaviour on the pitch ,don't push your luck. You won, leave it that. Both teams were far from angels throughout the game , Kerry more so. But did anyone else notice on at least 3 occasions a Mayo player winning a free after a Kerry player put the hand in and the Mayo player went down ,holding the Kerry player's arm between his elbow and body? Less of it
M.Stack (Kerry) - Posts: 22 - 16/04/2012 12:31:06
xxx County: Mayo Posts: 872
1152974 CKH- What were you at going back two rows shaking hands with people, did you shake hands with everybody in your section or what?
If you read my post correctly you would've noticed that I said he was sitting two seats beside me, not two rows back. We had good banter with eachother and shook hands afterwards, as I did with many Dubs last September.
Cute_Kerry_Hoor (Kerry) - Posts: 2518 - 16/04/2012 12:32:32
16/04/2012 12:31:06 M.Stack County: Kerry Posts: 18
1152991 Well done Mayo, a well deserved win. But to the Moaners on HS complaining about Kerry's behaviour on the pitch ,don't push your luck. You won, leave it that. Both teams were far from angels throughout the game , Kerry more so. But did anyone else notice on at least 3 occasions a Mayo player winning a free after a Kerry player put the hand in and the Mayo player went down ,holding the Kerry player's arm between his elbow and body? Less of it
That's it in a nutshell. Nothing more can be said of it. Talk of Kerry should be put in cold storage until the championship and all focus on the NFL final to come.
legendzxix (Kerry) - Posts: 8965 - 16/04/2012 12:44:31
A very, very poor crowd. Yes we are in the middle of a recession but the biggest county in Ireland couldn't even fill a mini -bus as Colm o' Rourke says. two years ago there was 27,000 in Croke Park at the NFL final with the majority there for the Div 2 final between Down and Armagh, when the main event started the stadium was deserted. Why have Cork such a poor support when their football team is so good!!!
cuchulainn35 (Armagh) - Posts: 1688 - 16/04/2012 12:45:29
happy enough with down performance....cork are a good side and will be hard to beat. Dont agree with a lot of newpaper reports saying there were few positives , Down were missing 2 big players Dan Gordon and Danny Hughes and they stuck with Cork for long periods
cboyle92 (Down) - Posts: 184 - 16/04/2012 12:51:48
corkcelt County: Cork
As no one else is saying it, I'd like to say well done to our own lads and hard luck to Down.
Sorry corkcelt but it was too late to post when I got home last night but a belated congratulations and well done to Cork. By far the best of the 4 teams I saw on display yesterday.
By the way - is it just me or does anyone else who was at the games and saw League Sunday last night think that RTE coverage (& analysis) is now worse than useless. I don't usually bother with the threads that moan about the lack of GAA coverage but they managed to edit the "highlights" in a way that wouldn't give you an accurate picture of either match. As for the analysis, I think that Colm O'Rourke is one of the best in the business but I really don't believe that he watched either game. Even this morning RTE radio gave nearly twice as long to discussing a penalty in the English Premiership as they did to all of the weekends GAA.
I know it can be argued that they are following the market etc but they are funded as the National Broadcaster and are given preferential treatment by the GAA. I really think that if they are going to do such a p*** poor job RTE should look at their options and at least be a bit less generous with advertising with them and cut down on the number of press passes and comp tickets they receive in September.
kickpass (Down) - Posts: 208 - 16/04/2012 12:59:06
A good win for Mayo yesterday, lady luck was on their side, and she rarely is!
TheGateKeeper (Tyrone) - Posts: 2843 - 16/04/2012 13:21:22