FL Division One semi-finals

As no one else is saying it, I'd like to say well done to our own lads and hard luck to Down. Thought Cork looked a lot more like the side that won the All Ireland the year before last. Its early days and the time to produce the football is at the business end of the season but overall Cork football is looking strong with the under 21's winning away against the old enemy as well. Also like to mention Tipp minor footballers, having won the All Ireland albeit luckily against Dublin last year, they travelled to Tralee midweek and beat Kerry by 7 pts playing with 14 men for last 30 mins. Changed times indeed.

corkcelt (Cork) - Posts: 4388 - 15/04/2012 18:33:37    1152508

Great result for Mayo in the end. Showed great character to come back twice from the dead.

Kerry got complacent towards the end of normal time no doubt, what Donaghy was doing with that crossfield ball across his own 20 is beyond me. Also they seemed to pass up a couple of good opportunities to put 4 or 5 between the sides late on by overelaborating. Looked a bit haunted by the All-Ireland last year, similar to then, went messing around near the end rather than going on and knocking over a couple of scores to finish it.

There really is no stand out team this year. Mayo have shown to themselves that they can put it up to any side.

Mayo will remember what happened after reaching the league final against Cork a couple of years back. Cork will be out to get revenge for the Q/F last year. I think it'll be a good final.

Stuckinthepast (Galway) - Posts: 472 - 15/04/2012 18:40:49    1152515

Delighted with that win, as much as it might sound like getting carried away, twas great to beat Kerry in croker.

Gutsy,classy performance all Round,although we were beat in midfield I thought, but I'm fresh in from the game so ill have to take another look at it on TV,.

Referee was bad for mayo, Kerry went unpunished for several cases of barging and actually got a free for it, someone has to clarify the rules of the game for me as I was baffled by that today.

Kerry would want to get over themselves too, there are no special rules for Kerry. The intimidation tactic they play in the refs ear the whole time is sicking.

51longago (Mayo) - Posts: 2981 - 15/04/2012 18:46:03    1152520

Mayo have now beaten Cork and Kerry in Croke Park in the last year. A national league title would probably mean more to them but a beating like 2010 could be a big set back.

Byanthon (Tyrone) - Posts: 1792 - 15/04/2012 20:33:54    1152641

Great justice served today after the way that little twit Darren O'Sullivan and Young tried to waste time in the end, fair play to Mayo they deserved it.

The kick up the h*le badly needed by Kerry.

ahsure. (Galway) - Posts: 1711 - 15/04/2012 20:57:13    1152668

Home from Dublin and heading for the pub now. All I have to say is YES YES AND F****NG YES. Nobody is getting carried away but that result is big for mayo. After all the hammering's we have gotten from kerry down the years it is sweet to beat them at least once.

Kerry fans very gracious in defeat I must say. Mayo always seem to win, when we least except it.

UP MAYO!

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11656 - 15/04/2012 21:08:21    1152683

believe it was a great game cant say to much as im only going on what i heard,believe mayo deserved it fought from start to finish and kerry gave away alot of silly balls k donaghy had a terrible day so i believe any ...

dubbydave. (Dublin) - Posts: 3927 - 15/04/2012 21:21:58    1152707

Great result for Mayo today, fair play to them, I said last year that James Horan had drilled a bit of steel into the Mayo boys and that was shown again today. He is proving to be a shrewd appointment thus far and I like his style and approach. The final with Cork will be an interesting match and a close one, hard to pick a winner from these two although a win over the Kingdom in Croker could and should be a big boost to Mayo, might be the deciding factor.

Richieq (Meath) - Posts: 3749 - 15/04/2012 21:23:35    1152708

Well done to Mayo. Disappointing aspects with ourselves which is natural after any defeat. I'd like to wish them well for the final. I've been saying all winter ye'll be in the All-Ireland shake-up. While the crowd was low in numbers, the semi-finals seem worth while in division 1. We all know the rules that top 4 gets a semi-final berth. Personally I don't think there can be any qualms about topping the division and going out. If a team qualifies with a game or two to spare it gives an opportunity to try new players. As for ourselves, it's all about Tipperary now in the Munster Championship and noone should be looking beyond that.

legendzxix (Kerry) - Posts: 8965 - 15/04/2012 21:26:55    1152713

51longago & Ahsure..

Mayo won today and they deserved it for the fight ands the guts they showed in not giving up..

Regarding the Ref i think when you support your own county 51longago its hard to see what your own team are doing, Mayo got away with constant fouling on Gooch and bodychecking runs by O'Sullivan and Gooch. Thats the game calls go for you and against you..

Ahsure we dont need a lecture from you given the state of football in your own county.

westkerry (Kerry) - Posts: 1250 - 15/04/2012 21:32:31    1152718

So Kerry get done by a late goal and point in Croke Park they obviously havent learned their lessons since last September

Well done Mayo and Cork

b.mullins (Dublin) - Posts: 1413 - 15/04/2012 21:35:57    1152727

Yew tree all ten of them were gracious? Mayo will beat Cork, as I said earlier Mayo are serious contenders this year. Cork=hand pass hand pass hand pass hand pass hand pass hand pass hand pass hand pass and it goes on and on and on. Boring.

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 15/04/2012 21:37:55    1152731

Thanks for all the good wishes lads. Make no mistake that was a massive win for the lads psychologically. No-one will be getting carried away though, Horan and Co won't let them. And us supporters have no intention of getting carried away either, the 2010 League Final is still a vivid memory. UP MAYO!

killer_88_ (Mayo) - Posts: 2040 - 15/04/2012 21:47:18    1152749

should be an interesting final mayo beat cork already and i think this year they are a better team,they should win but its all on the day...

dubbydave. (Dublin) - Posts: 3927 - 15/04/2012 21:53:05    1152759

Delighted for Mayo. I'm telling ye you can't put a price on hunger and this team is starving!! I hope they go on to win it but if they don't it might be a good thing for their championship preparation.

Jackeen (Dublin) - Posts: 4097 - 16/04/2012 08:20:59    1152773

I did not think the gooch was being fouled yesterday but he was very well marked, both mayo corner backs were very good yesterday. If anything I taught cooper was guilty of trying to fool the ref, one free in particular looked manufactured from where I was but maybe a reply would show some contact.

This could be the kick Kerry required to drive them on for this season, they will not be happy and pressure will be on for them to finish off games. It was strange in that Kerry looked in total control for most of that second half yet panicked and ended up loosing out.

Mayo looked good, I was wondering how they would get the much needed goal then up steps donaghy with the answer.

tj09 (Cork) - Posts: 481 - 16/04/2012 10:39:58    1152845

Firstly, well done Mayo for the comeback, it was a great win for ye and should be an interesting final now. How Kerry contrived to throw away a 4 point and 5 point lead I will never know. Same thing happened in the All-Ireland. Yesterday, Kerry were cruising to a win without having played remotely well but instead of kicking on, we ended up with 15 men behind the ball. Donaghy's mistake was awful. But how he ended up back there from doing very well at full-forward is something Jack will have to look at.

I won't lose sleep over it and one good thing to come from it on our side is that we won't play Cork till June. We didn't need a League Final against them. A good kick in the backside was received yesterday and at least we know what has to be sorted going forward. We have found a few new players so onwards to the Championship.

Also, yesterday was a PR disaster for the GAA.

Cute_Kerry_Hoor (Kerry) - Posts: 2518 - 16/04/2012 10:49:08    1152855

replay even

tj09 (Cork) - Posts: 481 - 16/04/2012 10:49:32    1152857

West Kerry, I take your point which is usually valid but I will not buy into it for yesterdays referring performance,he was dog rough to Mayo but lets put that aside for now.

Tell me this, how do Kerry get away with being in the refs ear constantly,I never seen anything like it yesterday, it was time and time again, it is wrong and completely out of order. It needs to be addressed.kh was carded straight away for protesting to ref, if the ref had of followed that line of action all day previous, Kerry would of played most of the game with twelve men, donaghy, sheehan and gooch would of been lined.

51longago (Mayo) - Posts: 2981 - 16/04/2012 10:50:03    1152858

Kerry yesterday were persistantly fouling and seemed to get away with it, Galvin should have got the line with a second yellow but stayed on the pitch, Darren O Sullivan must be training for the olympics with the diving as was the gooch. Ref was bad for Mayo, Kerry seemed to get away with alot of travelling and barging and not being pulled up on it, there was a couple of occassions where the kerry man went to ground and mayo surrounded him but mayoi got penalised. I think Mayo's backs done well against the forward line, in the last few minutes Kerry tried to run the clock down and kill of the game and spread the ball from left to right looking to see a gap and this lead to the goal for Mayo. I think the final will be a good one with Cork a good footballing team, im hopeful of a mayo win.

saddam (Mayo) - Posts: 414 - 16/04/2012 10:58:24    1152869