Who has the strongest second team?

These days is a squad game lads. So pick your "second" 15 and lets see who has the strongest second team?
When I look at the Dubs subs, I realise just how well PG has used the league in the last 2 years
This Dubs seconds would stand on its own two feet in the championship I would think

Michael Savage

Paul Conlon

Sean Murray

Darren Daly

Craig Dias

Paul Casey

Johnny Cooper

Dennis Bastick

Ross McConnell

Dean Kelly/Dean Rock

K Mac

Paul Brogan

Paddy Andrews

Eoghan O'Gara

Mossy Quinn

Liamwalkinstown (Dublin) - Posts: 8170 - 30/03/2012 10:26:56    1139817

Maybe in Leinster Liam, but the championship proper, no chance.

brendtheredhand (Tyrone) - Posts: 10897 - 30/03/2012 10:35:25    1139828

Tyrone.

OLLIE (Louth) - Posts: 12224 - 30/03/2012 10:39:15    1139833

That team of Dublin subs would clean out any team in the land!!

.....amazing how a lad from an Ulster team whom Dublin have wiped the floor with for two years thinks that the Dublin subs would only do well in Leinster while his own countys first team would struggle to raise a gallop in Leinster these days!!!

Snufalufagus (Dublin) - Posts: 8100 - 30/03/2012 10:44:45    1139839

Thank god for the wisdom of snuffy, thats all I can say.

brendtheredhand (Tyrone) - Posts: 10897 - 30/03/2012 10:48:17    1139843

dont get me wrong lads, I am not atall saying they would win Leinster or anything
i am only saying as a second team they are not too shabby atall
I would think that team would be a top 10 all the same tho

Liamwalkinstown (Dublin) - Posts: 8170 - 30/03/2012 11:09:47    1139866

As it stands now ,Kildare's first and (second) choice would probably work out as follows:
Connolly
(McCormack)

P. Kelly Foley McGrillen
(MacLochlann) (Fitzpatrick) (Lyons)

Flanagan M.O'Flaherty Bolton
(White) (T.O'Neill) (Moolick)

Flynn Lynch
(P.O'Neill) (Earley)

Callaghan Conway Doyle
(E.O'Flaherty) (Sweeney) (R. Kelly)

Smith O'Connor Kavanagh
(Dowling) (Fogarty) (Ennis)

I actually think Kildare have a very strong squad, we've done very well at junior level which is taken more seriously in Kildare than in any county bar maybe Cork and have competed very strongly in the O'Byrne Cup with a lot of non-first choice players. Our problem is while we have an awful lot of very good players who can probably interchange with no loss to performance we have very few from this bunch who are making the step up to become great players and who really improve the team.

doublehop (Kildare) - Posts: 4172 - 30/03/2012 11:10:07    1139867

Some reserve half forward line there Doublehop! quality

U dont think Eearly will make the team this year no?

Liamwalkinstown (Dublin) - Posts: 8170 - 30/03/2012 11:15:36    1139871

It is a decent team and if they were playing regularly in the same team... as in starting on the same team.

They'd only get better as a unit.

I think you're right Liam I think they could challenge in the top 10

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20763 - 30/03/2012 11:17:14    1139872

Its frightning the amount of quality Dublin have in reserve.. Kildare dont look too bad either it must be said.

Stephen Cluxton (Michael Savage)

Michael Fitzsimons (Darren Daly/Paul Griffin)
Rory O'Carroll (Sean Murray)
Cian O'Sullivan (Philly McMahon)

James McCarthy (Johnny Cooper)
Ger Brennan (Craig Dias)
Kevin Nolan (Darragh Nelson)

Michael Dara MacAuley (Denis Bastick)
Eamonn Fennell (Ross McConnell)

Paul Flynn (Paul Brogan)
Bryan Cullen (Barry Cahill)
Alan Brogan (Mossy Quinn)

Diarmuid Connolly (Kevin McMenamon)
Eoghan O'Gara (Dean Rock)
Bernard Brogan (Paddy Andrews)

Thats still leaving out the likes of Nicky Devereux , Mike McCarthy, Davy Byrne, Dean Kelly and a few more.

waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13655 - 30/03/2012 13:15:57    1139986

Snufalufagus

1139839 That team of Dublin subs would clean out any team in the land!!

.....amazing how a lad from an Ulster team whom Dublin have wiped the floor with for two years thinks that the Dublin subs would only do well in Leinster while his own countys first team would struggle to raise a gallop in Leinster these days!!!

they havent won an All ireland for years and now they have a second team thats every bit as good as the first we would probaly be better just to have a game between their first and second teams and award the Sam maguire to them (oh that game would have to be in croke park) the rest of the counties could play some sort of B championship as we are obviously only wasting our time. Thank god Tyrone dont play in leinster as its so strong these days

rahillyman (Tyrone) - Posts: 314 - 30/03/2012 13:30:46    1140000

Brendan Kealy (Tomás Mac a t'Saoir)

Marc Ó Sé (Shane Enright)
Aidan O' Mahony (Daniel Bohane)
Killian Young (Peter Crowley)

Tomás Ó Sé (Peter Crowley)
Eoin Brosnan (Daniel Bohane)
Brian McGuire (Jonathan Lyne)

Bryan Sheehan (Seamus Scanlon)
Anthony Maher (Johnny Buckley)

Paul Galvin (Barry John Keane)
Darran O' Sullivan (Dáithí Casey)
Kieran Donaghy (Donnchadh Walsh)

Colm Cooper (James O' Donoghue)
Declan O' Sullivan ( Dáithí Casey)
Paddy Curtin (Kieran O' Leary)

Working off a panel of 26/27 so some lads can operate in a few positions. All in all, I'd say we have a much stronger panel than last year.

Cute_Kerry_Hoor (Kerry) - Posts: 2518 - 30/03/2012 13:36:35    1140008

Kerry Hoor, that Bohane must be some man for one man, and casey :)

Liamwalkinstown (Dublin) - Posts: 8170 - 30/03/2012 13:40:41    1140009

U dont think Eearly will make the team this year no?

Hard to know, I'd never write the man off but it's very hard to see him starting although if we don't have a league final to play after next Sunday we won't have a game for nearly two months so I suppose he has the time to get himself back to full speed. But sure even if he only gets on in the second half of games (either midfield or possibly full-forward) that would really give everyone a lift and hopefully that can help push us on.

doublehop (Kildare) - Posts: 4172 - 30/03/2012 13:48:41    1140013

Liamwalkinstown

Kerry Hoor, that Bohane must be some man for one man, and casey :)

Bohane could be worth two men if he could just stay fit!! ;)

Cute_Kerry_Hoor (Kerry) - Posts: 2518 - 30/03/2012 13:48:54    1140015

Kerry Hoor
I wager that Dubs second team would beat that Kerry second string handy ;)

Liamwalkinstown (Dublin) - Posts: 8170 - 30/03/2012 13:54:32    1140020

Liamwalkinstown

Kerry Hoor
I wager that Dubs second team would beat that Kerry second string handy ;)

I would too!!

Cute_Kerry_Hoor (Kerry) - Posts: 2518 - 30/03/2012 15:28:19    1140128

Ah jaysus Hoor its no craic if we keep agreeing with each other :)

Liamwalkinstown (Dublin) - Posts: 8170 - 30/03/2012 15:36:53    1140138

in dublin's case how many of the second team get medals if/when the first team win's silverware ?

Gammy_Knee (USA) - Posts: 1482 - 30/03/2012 15:53:43    1140155

Liamwalkinstown

Ah jaysus Hoor its no craic if we keep agreeing with each other :)

haha I'm just living up to the username a chara!! :)

Cute_Kerry_Hoor (Kerry) - Posts: 2518 - 30/03/2012 16:05:47    1140168